Transport ministry wants more free parking facilities to be built, will benefit frequent commuters – Loke

The ministry of transport has revealed that it intends to build more parking facilities near train stations for the benefit of those who commute frequently. According to Berita Harian, transport minister Anthony Loke said there is presently no standard parking system established by the Malaysian Railway Assets Corporation (RAC), which is a parking operator appointed by Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTM).

“The problem arises when the parking fees imposed are not standardised. I hope the RAC will address the matter by discussing it with local authorities. The land around train and KTM stations can be leased to local authorities, and it is up to them whether they choose to appoint an operator or provide free carparks to residents living near the station,” said Loke.

“I urge the local authorities to provide free parking facilities to the rakyat, because that is the best move and will also encourage the public to start using public transportation,” he told the press after visiting the RAC’s headquarters yesterday. Loke also said it’s up to the RAC and local authorities to decide upon the best mechanism to implement the car park system.

“For example, there are two KTM stations in my parliamentary constituency in Seremban, one located in Batang Benar and the other in Nilai. Previously, the RAC planned to appoint a parking operator, but the residents opposed the idea,” explained Loke.

“So now, the RAC will not impose any parking fees, but that also means maintenance work will not be provided for the car park. We will discuss with local authorities – perhaps they may be agreeable to a low fee for the RAC. We (the transport ministry) will leave it to them to sort things out,” Loke added.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• I support this move. Please provide more parking spaces especially in KL. And please please please make sure keep your promise and make it free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:20 pm

This is a good move. But I am worried cause when there is so many free parking spaces, jaga kereta boys will come and take over these spaces. Then they ask now RM10 to allow us to park our cars.

PDRM and DBKL all got no bola. They are too scared to arrest these jaga kereta boys. Eventhough they harass and threaten the rakyat, PDRM and DBKL got no bola to protect the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
      • This is called creating job opportunity, which MY pipu shud sapot

• Fanny Chiew on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:28 am

See the jaga kereta boys. Only one type. They need re-education back again

• I hope that the new Gov will introduce ‘Jaga Kereta’ as a real job. They help to keep our cars safe

• I dont agree it should be free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • narko on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:13 pm

FREE parking facilities doable in outskirt stations; Batang Benar, Sg Gadut, KKB dan Labu.

• Later all free paking used to store abandoned cars. Lolz!

• This is Malaysia on Jun 26, 2018 at 1:27 pm

shuttle bus servicing residents living near the station, the best move.coordinate w KTM timings.

• Mikey on Jun 26, 2018 at 1:35 pm

Dear Transport Minister, please don’t introduce FREE mentality culture to us. We should be paying a reasonable amount to park our car as U need someone to maintain/guard the property hence $$$ is needed.
    I think RM2/3 is acceptable to make people use public transport for a starter. There is NO Free lunch in this world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
    • But but but PH won becoz they promise free this and free that and free everything wor….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 27
    • Yes indeed. Some parking fee are exorbitant. Don’t know what we paying for. Security? Utility? Meh…

• inb4 free parking is gravel pavement, with no lights, & no security. Pipu make big komplen and gov have to gip all of THAT, PLUS still keep it free.

• Najib’s vison of free public transport is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
    • kereta_lembu on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Najib’s version of free public transport? You mean those that uses public funds to pay for them at inflated rates?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • really on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:24 pm

AFAIK, there are none. care to elaborate?

• That I agree. Private vehicle-free public transports is best. Too bad shortsightedness cancel MRT3. What fools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 32
      • Fanny Chiew on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:29 am

ha ha ha ha ha. Trying so hard. Dah lah kalah teruk teruk, still want to be bitter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • Only get 35% u wanna crow? Lets see how this balance will last. Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
          • Rashid Asari on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:21 pm

35% of ur kind of pipu, is it? Lets see how long lazy pipu like u will last in new MY without a job. Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • is anthony loke the only minister doing actual work in the government right now…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Anonymous on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Giving free and subsid mentality has to go. Wanting to give free parking is minister blabbing without using his head. Somebody will always have to pay. Why need KTM lease out to local authority when better for KTM to create seperate entity to manage buildings and parking areas… much like M’sia Airports Bhd. manages airport terminals.

• docdevil on Jun 26, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Maybe free is wishful thinking but i understand very much why it would help . I currently pay RM4 for daily parking then another RM6.80 for a round trip with one LRT. Translate to about Thats RM216( RM136 for LRT and RM80 for parking) If u really want people to use public transport , make it cheap enough so that people dont mind roughing it out and use it.Make the parking RM1-2 per entry for maintenance i guess is acceptable.

• Moi SH on Jun 26, 2018 at 4:32 pm

A lot of train station are short of parking space, why not develop all the train station to be a commercial shopping complex, we can have big car park, supermarket, banking, cinema, post office in one building, and indirectly KTM can collect rental from the shop lot and peoples do a lot more on the complex instead just commuting by train only!

• not a good idea…when the shopping complex come on sale or function and then u started to complain too much ppl. no enough parking space o far n this n that….

• drMpower on Jun 26, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Ah loke
    Tackle the first and last mile problems
    And you dont need 10000 storey parking area
    Call me alok

• Chun Ming Tan on Jun 26, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Good move but make parking a small fee, and don’t allow overnight parking, those vehicles parked overnight will be towed away.

• Ahmadjr on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Caj la seringgit. Lepas bayar maintenance pun ok dah

• Sk9927 on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:26 am

click bait news header. … Free doesn’t work in the long run. low fees perhaps. and yes, more parking space plus last mile feeder bus services should be implemented for all the rail services.

• I request give skybridge a priority too. Where commitment can walk between the station rather than need to go down and walk at street level. Have them big enough so that orders can sell their stuff there too. Have pasar also at these skybridges.

It is a hazard to walk at street level and nuisance to drivers also.

• YB Anthony Loke, adakah jalan raya di malaysia dibawah bidang kuasa awak? Kalau ya, tolong kami rakyat malaysia dgn ambil tindakan segera ke atas jln2 malaysia yg berombak2 hatta di jln utama di kl, putrajaya dan lembah klang.. dan tentu sekali tampalan2 jln yg tidak licin serta jln2 yg berlubang2.. please.. kitorang bayar cukai kereta giler mahal, rosak abis absorber dan tayar

• transformer on Jun 29, 2018 at 12:29 am

Dear, Minister
      JB aka “Jalan Berlobang”. Please screen through whole JB road and repair where required. Don’t follow BN always wait near Election only repair here and there…