Third national car project underway by 2020 – minister

The response from the public over the topic may be cool, but the subject of a third national car – as envisioned by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad – continues to run, and the latest talk is that the project may get underway by 2020, Bernama reports.

According to entrepreneur development minister Mohd Redzuan Yusof, the government believes that the move can revitalise the country’s automotive industry, a sector which contributed 4% to the country’s gross domestic product in 2017.

““We (will) attempt to revive and grow the industry due to its tremendous potential. Besides, auto component manufacturing is also one of the sectors that drives small and medium enterprises (SMEs),” he told reporters at an event over the weekend.

“In the past, we tried to grow the automotive industry by creating our own car, but obviously, we need to work on the timeline. This had put a lot of challenges that we see today where Proton has been compromised,” he said, adding that the government would refine and improve from “what and where went wrong” (in Proton).

In June, Mahathir had mooted the aspiration to start another national car project during his visit to the 24th Nikkei Conference in Japan. It has since been subject of intense public debate, particularly on social media platforms, with many saying that the money involved for such a start-up would be better put to use on other projects such as the development of public transport.

Speaking about the matter, Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) president Datuk Aishah Ahmad was quoted as saying that “Malaysia doesn’t need another national car, seeing as the automotive industry of the country is currently thriving. Also, on its economy of scale, the market for national cars is considered small.”

The prime minister however said that having a new national car project would help Malaysia boost its engineering capability. “We need to revive them because the whole idea about investing in a national car is not just about building a national car, it’s about becoming a catalyst for growing the Malaysian engineering capability,” he said in June.

A project of such magnitude would also need careful deliberation. Last month, distinguished economist Professor Jomo Kwame Sundaram (a member of the Malaysian Council of Eminent Persons) said that starting the project would require thorough and proper consideration, especially if it were to be seen as a move to ramp up the Malaysian industrial sector.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• PH cai on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:17 am

Wish you luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Proton kick Tun out and now it’s time for revenge. Remove the plotektion of Proton and see how long it will last in level playing field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Ball Carrier on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:46 am

Time to remove Proton tax benefits and govt aid altogether … Syed Mokthar sold his soul to the Chinese to carry Najib’s …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
      • Then need to remove for P2 oso lor. If Brio comes in, see how many will buy it over P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • YB Albert on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:30 pm

Tun has a very unpleasant dream…Protiga..let it die as a dream…we don’t need Protiga or pro empathy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Same L00 on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:49 am

Stop the joke please! Malaysians are enough of paying extra for sub standard national car! Enough is enough!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • m.achai on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:19 am

great job gov! no matter how much rakyat hate it, no matter how many time rakyat rejected it, you still wanna make it happens. i hope this time the rakyat won’t stop you guys anymore. just do what you think best for malaysia. don’t listen to the rakyat voice, they don’t know anything. i love PM!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 39
    • “The prime minister however said that having a new national car project would help Malaysia boost its engineering capability.”

This is only true if the top posts are open to ALL Malaysians and not just limited to UMNO cronies like in the past. I’m sure Malaysians have the talent but the quota to bumiputera is killing it. The is the number one reason for the failure of Proton. I hope the next Protiga to be a success without the interference of bodies like PEKEMA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 18
      • rightwinger on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:13 pm

why and how would a bunch of open AP holding grey importers have any leverage or clout to interfere with the internal workings and decision making process of the then, gahmen owned business (P1)?
        care to elaborate or are you just bullshitting again?

and another thing, dont tokkok about the ‘open to all’ catch phrase- open up top management post in FTZ and Perai factories to locals who fit the bill first- walk the talk douchebag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
        • Bullshitting u say?

Zainuddin said the government has collected over RM3 billion from contributions made by every AP holder and PEKEMA member. “According to the terms of the fund, 20% would be used to assist the Malaysia Automotive Institute to build capacity, 40% for PEKEMA members to expand their businesses and the remaining 40% is to assist Bumiputeras involved in the motor vehicle industry,”

“Therefore, PEKEMA proposes that 40% of the RM3 billion, which is RM1.2 billion, to be disbursed to Proton dealers as soft loans at interest rates of not more than four percent. We ask the government to consider letting us use the funds so we can upgrade the dealerships,” Zainuddin added.

Here’s the interesting part:
          According to Zainuddin, there are 25 Proton dealerships run by PEKEMA members, 11 (or 44%) of which are still the basic 1S centre. Proton has roughly 400 dealers nationwide, and 70% (or 280) of them are 1S centres.

Summary:
          Most Proton dealers are PEKEMA members, so
          Money collected by G -> PEKEMA -> Proton Dealers

Tell me now if they can’t interfere in Proton.

https://paultan.org/2018/02/15/lengthen-protons-transition-to-3s-4s/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
          • rightwinger on Aug 07, 2018 at 1:31 pm

“there are 25 Proton dealerships run by PEKEMA members, 11 (or 44%) of which are still the basic 1S centre. Proton has roughly 400 dealers nationwide, and 70% (or 280) of them are 1S centres”

Zigwheels database alone has 521 proton dealers, so there could be more but lets go with that number.

How is it 25/521 (0.048%) Proton dealers ran by PEKEMA member= MOST PROTON DEALERS are ran by PEKEMA?

WHAT BS IS THIS?

• Stupidity at its height. Have you ever worked for Proton or any of its related companies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • Kurt Angle on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Agree, what you said is true, it’s damn true.

• Don’t make false assumptions here. Have you worked in PROTON?
        It’s like saying Edaran Tan Chong prefers Non Bumi workers.

• Dun get what i said? It’s not Proton’s preference but the protection policies of the past Gov. The new Gov better remove it if they want to have success in Protiga.

• Must delivered the competent product to rakyat, don’t do like Proton and Perodua! We deserve to get best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Petoron Sagu on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:38 am

Abis la…. Kena pakai perotiga pulak….. Baru je mampu beli toyota n nissan…. After this nak protect perotiga, kereta import tax naik lagi… Terima kasih kerajaan PH. Luv u che dead…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
  • Ksatria on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:42 am

hmm..despite all the outcry by the people..don’t let us down again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Prepare to be disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 15
      • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:33 am

Prepare! Prepare to be disappointed!
        Yeah, and make it double.
        To protect the country from importation!
        To unite all people within our nation.
        To denounce the evil of foreign cars!
        To get all people to buy our Protiga.
        TUN! CRONIES!
        New Car Project blast off at the speed of light!
        Surrender now and expect higher taxes!

Yowzers!
        That’s right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:03 am

Malaysia kena game. Ha ha ha. Thank you Malaysians! You asked for it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 22
    • Sayangi Malaysia on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:30 am

Sudah kena game for 60 yrs lah. Plotek Proton, plotek Bumis, apa lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
      • History Bender on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:14 pm

This is another history bender that claims P1 is 60 years old. Come on lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
        • Sayangi Malaysia on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Did i say P1 is 60 yrs? Come on, stop putting words into other people’s mouth lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
          • History Bender on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:20 pm

“Sudah kena game for 60 yrs lah.”
            That’s what you said la. Stop denying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • Vader on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Proton only existed for 35 years, dude. How does it plotek for 60 years? Not logical, dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Sayangi Malaysia on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:55 pm

I said 60 yrs, not P1 60 yrs! Can’t think of who ruled us for 60 yrs? Let me spell it out for u:

B N

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • Vader on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:58 pm

What does BN have to do with this article or even this blogsite? Let me spell it out for u:

PaulTan not MKini. Go away if you have nothing relevant.

• Sayangi Malaysia on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:01 am

BN got nothing to do with Malaysia or our automotive industry? Wow, what an ignorant dude. Go away if you want to keep twisting facts.

• Lets See on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:27 am

Lols! National car existed because of one man’s ego, not because of BN. Get ur facts right.

• 1Pembangkang on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:06 am

If re-badge Mercedes as 3rd national car, i will support!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Mercedes not good, must higher quality than TNH but price must half of TNH or as low as possible. This is rakyat wish to get.
      For exportation, the quality and price just need par with others brands. So rakyat won’t feel unbalanced mind.

• P1 = Mesidis

U are getting Mesidis quality form P1, didn’t u know?

• Rakyat expect Mesidis quality & gadgets at P2 prices wor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Victor on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:58 pm

No BIG DEAL whether it is Rolls Royce or Mercedes or not , The third national Car project will CAUSE:-

1) More traffic jams on the roads
      2) more accidents
      3) More demand for parking spaces and roads ( chopping down green areas to make unnecessary ways)
      4) Use more water to wash their cars
      5) Use more fuel and cos more air pollution and KL air
      temperature to rise
      6) More bailout needed if failed ( 90% surely)
      7) More money buying these junks WITH same old TERRIBLE quality ISSUES AGAIN
      8) Good luck and bye bye to japanese, korean and conti car ownerships due to high excise and import duties again
      8) Training of incompetent workers with tidak apa attitude problems on the rise coming back to STEP One again
      9) CANNOT IMPROVE PUBLIC TRANSPORT AND FEEDER BUSES SERVICES ( if improve will affect sales of Proton 2.0 sales later)
      10) Acquiring outdated dinosaur technologies into making third national car ( most countries already throwing away ) where our Engineering capabilities is very shallow without excellent R&D facilities,competent engineers, designers, workers in matching global standard.
      11) More tolls collection since more junks new cars of this type will increase without any provision for toll reductions or abolishing later on.
      12) Keep on driving these new junks till you leave this world without the freedom to chose your preference choices
      13) Export markets are limited for Malaysian cars due to better cars outside Malaysia and cheaper pricing too.
      14)Additional RM20 Billions loses forecast every years just to train incompetent engineering skills for new job seekers where should be better spent on IT engineering hardware, manufacturing Lorries, buses and construction Equipments, Light aircrafts, LRT & MRT carriages, ships maintenance , manufacturing naval vessels or deep seas fishing vessels and so on
      15) People ask to produce more babies ( 70 millions) so that later on more housing , foods and more importantly cannot find to buy only this unsellable proton 2.0 for local market share
      16) Government to intervene on Third national car venture whereby Rakyat does not want this or using rakyat funding for the wrong thing. Should be left to Rakyat to initiate and decide Not the Government whether we want to keeps on driving obsolete new junk cars or not( not keep insisting the public to so)
      17) Since the world communications are getting better and closer , Malaysia needs technologies around the world not limited ourselves to acquire back the obsolete and unpopular Look East Policy again. Japan work culture of today is different from yesterday.
      18) Does not benefit rakyat at all but only a handful of Cronies only
      19) Even close neighbour like Thailand and Singapore will not buy since they got cheaper and better choice . Indonesia may be provided it is way cheaper than Korean and japanese and continentals)
      20) Europeans and japanese only like premium and Luxury cars . So will not be able sell to japan or korea at all.
      China also got better cars and cheaper too with available and abundance of china manufactured spare parts. Why china will this 3RD NATIONAL CAR unless it is a premium car.
      21) No economical of scale since export is not priority or cannot meet export standard/requirements other than for local consumption only.

No , The third national car project is Bad for the country overall and should be put to rest before initiating. There are more negative than positive points

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • ss427 on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:07 am

SO you guys voted for this huh? Come your southern neighbor here clap for you…

Its not too late to vote BN back into power you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Not Toyota Fan on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Limpeh Singaporean don’t even have any car industry, so don’t talk big hor. You really think PAP soooooo clean & corruption free meh? Open your eyes. We took our future in our hands & booted out that corrupted regime.

Maybe the grand old man TDM have old fashion thinking but he’s OUR grand old man!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Out from the frying pan and into the fire.

• Bluergh on Aug 07, 2018 at 10:04 am

No… he is your grand old man… I doubt the new government is any better than the previous one…

• kenot on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:11 am

I like to hear they say, the government will boost national public transportation system in all region including Sabah and sarawak by 2020. Or no more toll by 2020,

instead of this national car project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • saiful on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:15 am

Using Thailand’s approach is better if they want to boost the auto industry. What we need is more local vendors and engineering firm to provide technology and solutions to car makers, not another national brand car.

• Ssang Yong rebadge old Mercedes. So maybe Mahathir can rebadge old Mercedes too instead of rebadging old Mitsubishi.

We rebadge Geely into Proton, Daihatsu into Perodua, Hyundai into Inokom. At the height of Mahathir-Rafidah AP cronism period, Toyota, Volkswagen both become Wald.

At least Honda is a bit original. Only become Boon Siew Honda for the Motorbike.

Bolehland is a nation of rebadge. I salute you all lah!!

• all this only for those who’s are the special one only, and the rest all the rakyat are being keep screwing…

• According to Minister Mohd Redzuan Yusof say, the government believes that the move can revitalize the country’s automotive industry, a sector which contributed 4% to the country’s gross domestic product in 2017…you guys are just by keep hurting n took rakyat hard earn money easily. Plus you guys got not right to say “we government” had you say that in paliment and did you get the majority on it? this is just a few guys of you think so, which later you guys get all the benefit on it..plus if you guys still want to keep on it,
      1] never ever control the price or the tax, doesn’t care that is a ‘milo tin’ car or what cause that is my own money or under my loan on it.
      2] if you guys are really good enough show to us, what you guys had created before? after for few decade so long?
      3] Plus to the Every government staff including the number 1 till number what.. all the family’s member could only use the national car only, no other brands..Specially to those keep wishing or involve to have pro3., is a must..by that only u can show us how important or how Good the pro.3 to you guys had created.

so if you guys can’t do that.. “WHY ON US?”

• machai PH on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:26 am

Hentam lah. PROTON pon x bergerak. perodua lagi. protiga pula.
    Good luck new MALAYSIA.

• dong gor on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:26 am

Really want meh, Tun? what are the engineering capabilities that you look forward for your people to own that only can come through with 3rd national car project? No secret lar, just share. Be transparent with something u can see and the ppl can’t see.

• xoxox on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:42 am

u need quality, not quantity…

• Ben Yap on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:42 am

Next GE, Tun no chance liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:42 am

next GE, PH no chance liao…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Kicking them out is just tick away.

• Leafable on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:49 am

Good luck Malaysians…you need it by past history.

• which Japanese manufacturer will collaborate? dont think Mitsubishi will come back. Most probably not Toyota, Honda and Nissan these primary manufactures.

how far can you go without a solid foundation of advanced automotive technology?

• Sammy Loo on Aug 06, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Suzuki has the chance. New Swift turbo at the price of a Myvi maybe?

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:53 am

What’s that phrase about doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting different results?

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:08 pm

How about doing a no holds barred Feasibility Study before we even start. As it is, we don’t have the economy of scale to sustain two local car manufacturers, let alone another one.

Yes, Tun always says export but look at how much P1 & P2 exports. Still not enough to give economy of scale.

It’s time we stop thinking like it’s 1999. Industrialisation only works if we have cheap workforce & an export market. Why do you think so many factories have closed over this decade & moved to countries with cheaper labour cost?

Our protectionism NAP these 30 years created a non investment friendly, protected industry that made Thailand the Detroit of ASEAN. They now is Top 14 (Global vehicle exporter by USD), one of only 3 Asian countries in the Top 15 (#2 Japan, #6 South Korea).

We don’t wish to have another Proton where tax payers money are used to bail out another uncompetitive company. The 30 years experiment has failed spectacularly & it’ll be foolish to repeat the same again.

Let’s move on & find another industry that suits this 21st century. Look forward not backwards.

• You have solid points, but you’re dealing with Mahathir here. You think here cares if you write an in depth study? Let alone a 6 paragraphs comment on some auto blog.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:14 pm

honestly if the market was more liberalised the SME’s would really thrive

• Jojmbul on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Bapak, just buy back proton. Should be cheaper than setting up new third national car project. Please don’t let your ego makes us the rakyat suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:22 pm

3rd national car would be electric car? or permanent all-wheel-drive car? or 2 seater sports car?

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Could be a junk cars comes with old carburetor engine and crap 3-speed auto (5-speed manual will NOT be offered, kononnya demand not enough)?

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:27 pm

… and as like other cut corner practice, many useful features, even the important temperature gauge will went missing.

• frankC on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Is 3rd National Car Project necessary ?- my opinion : it may just be a good bargaining chip for msian to counter Chinese (I mean China) dominance in auto industry of Malaysia thru Proton.
    In my opinion, when Geely invested into Proton, they don’t have to pay a cent for it. Just make available Bouye in Right Hand Drive version and you have the whole of Proton at their disposal. (eventhough 49% equity).
    If Dr.M didn’t come up with Pertiga how to negotiate a better term for Proton and it’s local vendors ?
    What happens to Proton’s own engine development project (the direct injection turbo engines ?) .. discontinued completely ? Geely take up from there and becomes their own ? will proton designer able to proceed development or goes back to rebadge Geely cars ?
    Well Pertiga is not a bad idea if we can identify a way to be efficient and take opportunity of market changes.
    More thinking needed for Pertiga… that’s what Dr.M is saying

• Better do investment in Electric Vehicles as initiative to be focus on future market and zero Emission. Should not consider on Engine Technology.

• All the big name are merging thier company….then my love PM try to develope new car…..why not focus on this 2 ,P1,P2…. Our market too small

• Projohn on Aug 06, 2018 at 12:54 pm

Please oh please. Do not accept job application from any proton staff, or ex staff. Especially the head designer, the after sales team (all rubbish) and also the ex R3 head. I was proven nothing happened with them on board.

• Ka Tiao on Aug 06, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Vote for PH again!

• Forget it. Tun M. It will be another nightmare. The rakyat will boot you out.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 2:22 pm

Let them do it. In the end it’s a business and if the captains of the industries don’t see a business case for it then this plan will go down with Tun when he steps down in 2 years.

• well…everyone knows that the primary reason for the inception of the third national car, is that our beloved Prime Minister has to have a ‘pet’ project, in which his band of cronies, could milk it dry…like the Proton days of yore…Perodua is close to impossible, as well as Proton, thanks to Geely….Bottom..Winning at all costs, entails wheeling & dealing with many unsavoury parties..And ultimate victims are us the Rakyat…Bottomline..be a smart consumer…choose wisely and vote with your wallet…My two cents

• carazy on Aug 06, 2018 at 3:49 pm

I believe there are tons of ways to “help Malaysia boost its engineering capability” instead of another “car” project!!! Pls used ur 93 old brain’s to figure it out!!!

• Are we going back to 1990’s. We have just cancelled bunch of rail of projects that would propel the country to developed status, and here we are moving backwards, have anyone wake up yet? Or are we still delussion to the fact the new govt can bring us unity and a prosperous unity nation? It starts with yourself.. you don’t need the govt to do it for you .

• Red jacket on Aug 06, 2018 at 4:29 pm

The stubbornness of the old man is beyond comprehension. We need better public transportation not f billion ringgit national car project. More cars, more fuel consumed hence more subsidies. This is so stupid. Get rid.

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 4:58 pm

no disrespect to Tun, but i really dont get him. he needs to run the country, not run the auto industry. he seems to have conveniently forgotten (like many others) that proton is still majority owned by a Malaysian company. Almost 100% of its staff are malaysians. You don’t have to call it a National car.. it is and always will be a Malaysian car. Besides that, everyone has been calling perodua a national car, and “malaysian” car despite it rebadging japanese cars since it started and it gets all the same benefits that proton gets. volvo is 100% owned by Geely, you dont see people calling it a chinese car.. likewise mini isn’t a german car.., or rolls-royce, nissan, skoda, lamborghini..and the list goes on..

• Rakyat The Boss on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Ok I hear your suggestion. Please submit your proposal for me to review.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 06, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Anwar and co needs to wake and remind the old man a bit. The reason PR won GE14 was because it listened to the rakyat. When the rakyat says no new national car means no national car.

• Lolz! They won cuz rakyat din wanna listen. Now the rakyat has no voice anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • He’s just too stubborn on this! Look at Thailand and Indonesia, they don’t have national car brand but it’s developed so well on this industry. Wake up! Better policy and system please. Our population isn’t that huge for third national car brand..

• P2 supporter on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:13 pm

Why dun Tun M just focus on P2 ?? and stop P2 from rebadging everything daihatsu make ? Then, I think our engineering capabilities can be improved also, right ?

• Lukman on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:27 pm

We want performance car like the miata.. Feels dem fast but biasa2 only

• fais kamal on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:21 pm

what is this? once fail is enough. dont experiment at the expense of the people. public transport and road maintenance is more critical issue requiring full govt focus.

• Jimmy on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:35 pm

Big good luck to Pakatan.

• Will we have another Japanese alliance for the development and sharing of platform and engines? Maybe suzuki will be in the picture. Or back to
    Mitsubishi. Suzuki will be great coz they pulled out malaysia and a good way to be back as an alliance to be with 3rd national Car company. Will all
    Have the Kcars and new jimny and bash Proton sub with the vitara

• KakiKlentong on Aug 07, 2018 at 6:38 am

Steady la New Malaysia. Time to bring back the goold ol’ days and to fatten up the loyal cronies again. We voted for a change, here’s the change you all wanted la.. Ah Jib gor sold Proton off..here you get back your spanking new Malaysia boleh milo tin v3.0 . Now pay your taxes and dok diam diam.

• Ooo no.. not again..

• Patrick Pan on Aug 07, 2018 at 1:40 pm

What’s the point of Rakyat going against 3rd national car project, Tun M already made up his stance to proceed. Tun M pls look at what Thailand did for the car industry and learn from them.

• Joachim on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:24 pm

I have the highest respect for Tun however in light of things, I think setting up another national car should not be on the list of things to do at this stage.
    We need to get the county back on its feet and the next thing the is beneficial to the vast majority of the nation would be public transport.

• Other than set up a useless 3d national car, isn’t it you have more important things to do?

• Dominoes on Mar 18, 2019 at 4:55 pm

Use ur brain for quality first , when I went to 3d warehouse for my 3d model project with a 3d model car called proton 4.0 and everyone argue with the name also one cause mad stuff ” Proton are useless malaysian automaker that makes lame car out of poor plastic for cheap prices ” so I agree and create chaos . The list I think proton sucks cuz : 1. poor interior luxurious design 2. copies luxurious car in bad texture like honda accord and proton x70 are no effort and worse exprovements even proton inspira don’t inspire me cuz 150 below hp than a 250 above hp lancer evo 3. shouln’t called proton mahattir argh cuz is totally nub in 2019 in same comment ” lame car made from plastic for low prices . 4. no power they should’ve bring lotus back for a 3.0 campro engine in the future cuz europa se 2.0 campro 235 bhp now dare make 150 hp below sheets ! Dont ask me trash cuz ur kid say ” WOW , new car ..which is a 2009 proton saga flx HAHAHAH XD ….. ! never …. :(