Malaysia’s engineering capability will benefit from new national car project – prime minister Tun Mahathir

Having a new national car project would help Malaysia boost its engineering capability, according to the prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in a report by Bernama.

Recalling the early days of Proton, Mahathir said when the first national car project started in the 1980s, Malaysia had no knowledge on how to build cars but gradually acquired the knowledge to design, build and produce cars over time.

“Unfortunately Proton has been sold to the Chinese who have been given the right to manage Proton. So Malaysia now is not making use of those skills,” he said during the conclusion of his working visit to Japan.

Mahathir also added there was a need to provide opportunities for Malaysian engineers in Malaysia, and that a lot of companies had to shut down because they were unable to supply items that met the demands of the new owners or managers of Proton.

“We need to revive them because the whole idea about investing in a national car is not just about building a national car, it’s about becoming a catalyst for growing the Malaysian engineering capability,” said the premier.

“All over the world people are outsourcing parts of motorcars, we can produce parts for branded cars in Malaysia and export them which will earn us a lot of foreign exchange,” he added.

While Mahathir has ambitions to start a new national car project, there is currently no concrete plans to do so. The prime minister previously said that such a project would initially require cooperation with Japan but above all, it must be owned by Malaysians. Nonetheless, Mahathir welcomes proposals for such a project.

“If the proposal is good, we have to give the opportunity to them. However, we don’t want to give the licence to people for them to sell (to another party). This is something that this government will stop. If we give the licence to that person, that person must do the work. If he’s found to be selling the licence to somebody else, we’ll take it back,” he explained.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• leilei on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:27 am

I respect and love Tun M… but i do not understand this obsession of having this all malaysian car initiative. Its already proven that it will take alot of investments to get it off the ground if all done internally with local resources. Look at KIA… it only got traction when a foreigner came in and change the design, process etc…. Also, whats wrong with a foreign company owning a national car company?… Jag is owned by Tata…. Volvo is owned by Geely….

Think its a waste of resources for another national car project.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 10
    • tabogen on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:40 am

thats why lah people say tun dictator no one believe.. even he himself dont believe it either haha ironic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
      • Operation Manager on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:10 pm

Tun harbours high aspiration for local people to improve their skills. but local people oredi so contented to simply glue & rebadge, and yet got the gall to claim OT. aint it ironic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
        • Hate it but Wat to do on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:54 pm

All the car CKD and highway concessions in Malaysia are either link to government via GLC or belong to EPF/PNB/Mara. There’s where part of Governments income came from.
          The ration why TDM want to create P3 is he want foreign maker to invest to built a national car with more local contains.
          Now most CKD car use parts from overseas as mass production parts are cheaper to make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Rahman Putra on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:54 pm

no lah john, he is not a dictator. He saved Malaysia from massive corruption and near bankruptcy.

If not for Tun, we would be like Venezuela, rich in oil but bankrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 54
        • Thanks to your TUN, if we haven’t become Venezuela then, we certainly are heading towards it with your nonsensical populist promises that they’re bound to keep now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
          • True that. Rakyat had certainly regretted and missed those promises by DS Najib,
            nonsensical populist or not. NO income tax for under 26 and 5 day FREE toll during Hari Raya. I wud rather be ripped off by 1Mdb agains… Adui apa nak kata lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
          • True dat bro Rip. Najib dun just simply make promises.

Like no income tax for under 26 is doable cuz with the higher tax barrier now thanks to GST, 95% of workers 26 yo below are unlikely to hit that barrier.

As for 5 days free, thats still doable cuz majority uses for only 2 days peak. Unlike the nonsensical promise to abolish tolls but now Uturn again on their promise.

A gov that cant keep its promises has no integrity.

• Haha! Ironic.
            Before he left, DSN at least have fulfilled his promises made even if though they weren’t as fantastic as PH’s promises. That’s like one promising me a nice comfy home to stay and live up to his promises, while the other is building me a castle in the sky but remains a fantasy. I rather trust the person who honours his promises no matter how boring it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Barely 1 month being pembangkang. Young leader oredy said the people want us to be a strong and responsible Opposition and not simply “oppose for opposition’s sake”. Behaving like dogs chasing own tails… Hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • m.achai on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:24 pm

tun is best pm in the world. the next national car project will benefit the country and the rakyat. if you don’t like the idea, you can leave malaysia anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 67
        • dong gor on Jun 13, 2018 at 5:23 pm

apa ni… You think this is your house? how much tax are you paying to own this country…check that first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • Better another car brand than a another company sold to communist chinese. (Im speaking my heart out.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Yourlabrat on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Why not utilize the engineering capability to rail technology? Just useless to add more traffic and pollution to this small country! Proton is more than 30 years now, what can we proud of?!

• Digidigi on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:50 pm

it is his dream, he is rich people, he live for dram not money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Be fair on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:14 pm

If you must know the truth. He needs to save his vendor cronies in P1. Geely is kicking out incompetent vendors in P1.
      So he needs to build another one.

• Most Malaysian had supported the previous government to make a right choice to sell the Proton and now want to repeat the mistake again. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • U-Tun on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Told ya already but people still voted him back in office. Now wait la another 5 years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • “Most Malaysian had supported the previous government”
      But then they made the mistake to back the wrong side when it really matters. Now they have to live with that decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:57 am

please just stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Bernard on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:04 pm

….”shut down because they were unable to supply items that met the demands of the new owners or managers of Proton”

Maybe the new owners know how useless they are and that’s why the above happened?
    The absolute last thing our PM should do is set up a car company. Engineering capabilities can happen in other ways, just have to be creative like the US, Japan and China.

The rakyat must oppose any plans of a car company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • How to oppose? Tunggu 5 years later lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Oppose? The rakyat had their chance to oppose back in 9 May. But what did the rakyat do?

• YC Low on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Enough is Enough ! Not another Proton! The country have bail out Proton last time… now you want to repeat it again! Pls remove this idea from your head !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
  • Musang on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Protiga…all other brand car will 500% tax to protect national car protiga, to protect local vendor, to protect worker, to protect gov invester will be…dasar pandang timur..malaysia boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • digidigi on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:34 pm

He said it will be funded by private firm, so the protiga must be profit, otherwise government need bailout protiga again, otherwise the private firm will need to sell some stake to foreigner who in fact is the only that able to turn around the company, but by tun m definition, a protiga will not be a local firm anymore even foreigner own less than 50 percent (proton), so after that, the proempat will come out. the national car is his dream, so we should pay for it?

• Although I don’t agree your national car project but Hopefully your project will bring miracle to us and change our mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Concentrate on building up public transportation. Don’t even think about building another national car. See what happened to public transport here in the major cities because of one man’s obsession with national cars. Public transportation have been ignored during TDM rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • hawkeye on Jun 14, 2018 at 8:27 am

What public transport? He already cancelled or postponed most public transport project. What he should do is nego the deal for lower cost and then decides on the PT projects fate.

• Digidigi on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:48 pm

and furthermore more TUN, we don’t have any space or rocket related engineering yet, you can start a space x alike company, by then I pretty sure Malaysian will get some relate engineering knowleadge.

• Ksatria on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Rakyat has spoken : NO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:23 pm

No. The rakyat has spoken: Please skru us for 5 years!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • komarad on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:01 pm

x proton sparepart suppliers rejoice..

• Uptown Baybae on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:14 pm

Reminds of the Celine Dion song – It’s all coming back to me now…..deja vu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Yeah i know that song

• M.Zin on Jun 14, 2018 at 9:25 am

Near, far, wherever you are
      I believe that the cronies does go on
      Once more you open the car door
      And you’re here in my national car 2.0 and my cronies will go on and on

– Seline Diah

• Loke Loke My Yew on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:14 pm

The goal of producing national car should be providing high quality cheap cars for rakyat not to provide low quality expensive cars to rakyat. When will he get this?

• Yang mahal on Jun 13, 2018 at 4:22 pm

If you don’t want low quality expensive car, you can buy import car, which high quality and extreme high tax

• sabahan on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:40 pm

before that, we must find a way of changing the attitude of Malaysian first. 20 years later then talk about national car

• Visitor on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:49 pm

I might agree with the new national car program on conditions that:

a) Tariffs on all imported vehicles be greatly reduced or even abolished so it is fair play to everyone.

b) Management is open to those who have skills and talents based on merit (and open to foreigners who have the necessary talents).

c) The vehicles are powered by clean energy like electric, hydrogen fuel cell, solar power etc.

In summary, this so-called national car program should be aimed for export. More exports, more revenue for the country as the international markets are multiple times bigger than our’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Wydle on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:04 am

Nobody wants to buy this low quality third national car in overseas ( outside Asean) except the LOW CLASS ASEAN countries like Myanmar , Vietnam , Philippines and Indonesia.

Even these countries rich people will buy better quality cars from China .

In the end the third national car will be burden to rakyat and we are forced to buy this baby as nobody overseas wants it.

• basherlogic on Jun 15, 2018 at 10:22 pm

Errr P1 cars were sold in UK last time and yes pipu bought, still sold in Aussie

• Joggoya on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Actually it can work, he must go for electric car and build the electric charging infrastructure. From there, can branch out to electric bus, scooters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • LatukBandar on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:10 pm

Tun got 3 billionaire sons right? maybe Daim, Tun and his 3 sons can come up with RM10 billion to start a new electric car company. Privately funded with no special treatment from the government.

Please, leave us rakyat alone.

I AM TIRED OF DRIVING SUB STANDARD CARS WITH LOW QUALITY AND NO SAFETY FEATURES while you and your family enjoy European marquee. For you, our lives are cheap, but your family must drive safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • johnnas on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:11 pm

An open comment to Tun M which I hope gets to him:

Dear Tun M,

Proton had a thing going during the first 2 decades since it’s inception but, during the latter decade, it is apparent that Proton isn’t gonna make it. This can be seen through it’s products. Proton hung on to safety as it’s selling point which was good but along it’s way, the rest of the product got compromised in terms of quality when newer players like Kia are improving greatly. Many examples can be given but to make it short, I would appreciate if you would listen to the market’s opinion on the brand.
    Anyway, we have to admit that even the infamous DS Najib actually tried to save Proton but to no avail and ultimately resulting in 49.9% sellout to foreigners cos who could better afford and want a dying corporate if it’s not because of Lotus?
    Your MOF had just announced the trillion RM debt, just barely over a month passed since your takeover in the office and already you’re thinking about a new ‘Proton’?
    Dearest Tun M, we appreciate your wisdom but I believe I am speaking for most Malaysians, do not waste our money and for once DS Najib was right about 1 thing, PUBLIC TRANSPORT for all Malaysians, not PRIVATE TRANSPORT!

We are still waiting for the ultimate result of 1MDB and SRC’s scandal investigations and while at that, maybe think about how PTPTN is going to secure more in order to fund the younger generations’ higher learning. Singapore did well without a national car but if you are so hard up for one, make sure it does not involve our money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • LatukBandar on Jun 13, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently. – Henry Ford

BN Macai only oppose this amazing project, they dont love Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • While, PH Mahacai will simply accept whatever stuff that was shoved into their throat by their leaders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • They r the winners. Like it or not, they deserve the right to show off their stupidity to the world.

• “I am speaking for most Malaysians”
      Who r u to speak for “most Malaysians”? Most pipu alredi have spoken loud and clear on 9 May and their voice is of full and undivided sapot to Bapak and whatever direction he chooses.
      Hidup Bapak! Hidup Har pan! Hidup P1 2.0! Hidup cronyism! Make MY national car project great again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:29 pm

RIP Proton… and ladies and gentlemen, please welcome, our all new national car…. PROTUN!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Aiya. It’s to develop the vendor la. All his crony lorrr. Proton used to be his money making machine. It’s no surprise he wants the same again.

• John Mansfield on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:48 pm

I noticed Tun M said that this is being driven by private enterprise. I take that to mean vendors who could not meet Geely’s vendor list criteria.
    These vendors would like Tun to open a new company, use them to produce parts until they reach a point where Global companies would accept them as suppliers.
    I think that if this is the case he would have to put a time frame on the protection for the vendors, and explain who’s assembly plants he will use to produce these cars.
    He could buy an existing plant (Shah Alam?) and produce some of Protons existing products under licence, thereby using the vendors, and in the meantime get R&D working on new vehicles…

• If those vendors werent up to mark to supplier even China brand like Geely, what makes u think they can step up to supply for others, established brands?

• John Mansfield on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:34 pm

I would not like to comment on whether they would or would not step up their game, and bid for and be accepted as a vendor for Mercedes, Volvo, BMW etc.
        However, if they are to be protected, so as to ensure they remain in business this proposal would address that.
        My preference would be a high technology company combined with an educational institute that enables technology transfer.

• Tech transfer was a deadend idea from Bapak. No sane company will willing to gip their tech to others unless u buy them out. Theres nothing technologically advanced about making cars anymore, most stuff r now modules plug into the car.

• Why the fixation on national car/ airlines etc ? What’s the benefit to rakyat ? I prefer value for money than national car etc. With levy on non-nation al cars, we are forced to pay premium for quality cars. If Dr M wants to go ahead, pls ensure rakyat’s money not involved. We have enough of subsidizing national projects.

• J guy on Jun 13, 2018 at 3:39 pm

Most of you guys here are really closed minded and just see proton as a bad benchmarking. Hello, wake up guys.. I believe our PM has really good future visions, which includes producing hybrid or electric cars. Don’t just say NO but think further away. He is the guy that always have a future plan and execute within silence. Not like those previous Menteri where they tell lie everywhere and end up with nothing. I totally put my trust in him. He sees a lot more thing than us. He is much more older and more experienced than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • Abaraikun on Jun 14, 2018 at 8:48 am

He is now 93.. and when he’s gone, who’s gonna carry on he’s dream? Or it will be our nightmare?

• Innovation on Jun 15, 2018 at 1:46 pm

Still on Hybrid and Electric vehicle? These technologies started decades ago, to catch up invest in autonomous vehicle like Tesla, partner with Uber, collected big data becomes basis of future city planning.

This creates engineering, IoT and intellectual talents which all could be export!

Using the money gain, develop next generation public transport like Hyper Loop, maglev, underground network, remove all road on surface increase green coverage.

Venture into photon propulsion system, anti-gravity levitation.

Dream big please! Obviously Malaysian aren’t aspired to get any greater by needing to ruled by a 93 years old folks…

• I’m totally oppose to these idea. History will repeat itself.
    1. Cannot supply to meet the current owner demand mean either the product is sub-standard or the cost is too high(no economy of scale).
    2. Rather than creating another national car – please do look into way for foreign car brands to set up shop in Malaysia and hire the existing talents. If our current talent pool is as good as what Tun M claim to be – then there should not be a problem to get employment.
    3. As mention, there are lots of car brands are outsourcing the parts – are we there to produce this parts with the quality and price for export? if not then focus on this and not the car.
    i believe Malaysian do not want to go through another 20 years of high car price – just for a so call national – which benefit few people and the rest of the 32 million people suffer.

• What kind of engineering will benefit? Cronyism and nepotism engineering?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Victor on Jun 13, 2018 at 6:07 pm

Creating Jobs ( mostly Bangla , Indon and imported workers) in parts vendors manufacturing and produce sub quality products with slightly better efficiency only ..not cost effective..

Then again these parts put into third national car and we drive again a car just like P1 previously.– not durable,,

Did it really bring in engineering expertise to manufacture parts at sub quality standard once again??

Forget it , forget about this ordeal in having another third national car , Rakyat are feed up ..and sick of it while you drive good European cars and we drive third national car later.

• Benefits PH kawanism engineering, where u scratch my back, I scratch urs.

• 7yrsold on Jun 15, 2018 at 10:26 pm

At least better than P2 that do rebadge engineering most times

• ““Unfortunately Proton has been sold to the Chinese who have been given the right to manage Proton. So Malaysia now is not making use of those skills,” he said during the conclusion of his working visit to Japan.”

Why don’t you ask how Proton end up in the hands of the Chinese in the first place?

• LatukBandar on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:05 pm

Because of Najib refusal to pump in RM3 billion free money and for not wanting to raise car taxes on foreign cars.

semua salah Najib. like how 1997 crisis is anwar and george soros fault and not his when he borrow heavily from the japanese in Yen. now doing the same stupid mistake again. welcome to 1980

• Mohanrass on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Thank god that I drive a good second hand mercedes CBU…made and assembled in germany…will never buy a proton(read potong) or proTiga or ProTun…I would rather buy a Perodua when or if SST taking toll on my business and finance…..Hidup Kroni Hidup Pegilang Auto Part yang kualitinya standard proton!

• Ur Mesidis will not get petrol subsidi https://paultan.org/2018/05/31/ron-97-petrol-price-to-be-floated-on-june-7-subsidies-confirmed-for-cars-under-1300-cc-bikes-under-125-cc/

• Felix on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:47 pm

higher made in Malaysia content with high price & low quality -> result higher national car price -> when no body buying, increase import tax for other car > then rakyat can only afford cheap and lousy national car … omg again …

• Ahmadjr on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:11 pm

In manufacturing, our engineers are beyond useless

• NateWhol on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:20 pm

The obsession with cars has to be reined in. If the concern is utilizing the nation’s engineering capabilities, why not make them channel their talents in harnessing the potential for EVs and developing infrastructure for renewable energy like solar for EV charging stations? This project for a “national car” is no better than scrapping the KL – Singapore HSR. This goes to show that even with a change in government, they will still press on with their agendas. This man still has a grudge in the sale of Proton to Geely. Get over it!!

• G.Kukananthan on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:48 pm

Proton has been a heavy cost to the Nation and the cause of hike in car prices . All bailouts failed to change the leadership, staff and vendor culture. It has been a National embarrassment that has ignored the Global Automotive Industry dynamics and economics.
    We need due diligence of the highest order in making an Investment choice for a new venture . It could be a white elephant that will be a credibility crack in the New Government. We love Tun M. We do not want to see his legacy marred.

• I also supported Tun new initiatives since he has taken over as our new PM. He’s our new pride and just help most of our elders to redefine age is never a barrier to achieve new success.

but i hope he will reconsider again on his “own” passion to create a 2nd proton. honestly as a malaysian, i’m happy and proud that geely has 49.9% share in proton and i strongly believe they can bring us up with their own technology as well as Volvo’s one. With Proton & Perodua, i think it will be crowded and competitive in Malaysia itself. Unless we really have a distinction point that we differenciate ourselves with competitors, for now we should forget about exporting cars to expand the biz and focus on internal first.

I for one is one of the donator in tabung harapan and i surely hope he will NOT start another national car project. more important pressing issues for him to focus on instead.

• Hold up guys if mahathir is agreeing on a japanese university in malaysia i believe that the chances would be a Better future in the national car industry. Its good for development of quality human resource for engineering. Smart guy. At least He is creating malaysian jobs, najib was doing that for communist chinese to invest here and not even let us gain anything. WE GAIN NOTHING!!!!

• Then what is Xiamen uni doing here? We gained nothing? Sure boh?

• Mohamed Farid Apandi on Jun 14, 2018 at 2:27 am

I will vote UMNO next election.

• Alson P on Jun 14, 2018 at 5:51 am

New national car project will be great.. Malaysia boleh..

• azrai on Jun 14, 2018 at 6:25 am

Tun, 1st of all it’s a no no. But judging from your sarcasm, I believe your intention just to troll Najib’s decision in selling everything to China.
    If only we have to, I think the way forward is to engage tech giant like Apple and Google. They have a really big coffer and sit on a lot of cash pile. In years before they already engaging some Detroit’s ex in race for autonomous cars. Malaysia should collaborate in this field with them. Bring those dollars into our country and create more K-economy high income jobs for Malaysian. Not just create jobs for Bangla, Nepals, Myanmar int manufacturing line.
    We can see the future of cars in the for of TESLA. It is at the Silicon Valley not Detroit.

• Proton on Jun 14, 2018 at 7:45 am

Please don’t waste more money on national car, it is a lost caused. How much money have we lost in proton in 2 centuries until it is sold to Chinese? Billions. Just think about it, we can build few Putrajaya with the money that we lost.

• Think on Jun 14, 2018 at 8:39 am

Not good to have another National Car.
    If this is to follow the old proton factory management style since generated from old Tun M and from those existing car part supplier to proton. The old history will occur. Country will suffer as previous because all those supplier are not improving .

• Alson P on Jun 14, 2018 at 9:47 am

Malaysia boleh..! Agreed with new automaker project.. At bolehland everything is possible..

• Nigel on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:14 am

Tun should make the national car better….in quality and safety etc….otherwise rakyat Malaysia would still buy honda and etc instead of that car….

• notakata on Jun 15, 2018 at 10:35 pm

Jepunis cars using takata airbags that kill pipu. You said safe?

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:23 am

Tun M, this is the thing that I disagreed with you for more than 25 years! You can give all the good reason to have National Car, but below facts is something you cannot disagreed!
    1) Thailand start automotive much later than us. They do not have national car! But, today, all world brand is in Thailand, CKD, created millions of works. Support industries also going well in Thailand! Thailand is now the world larges latex exporter!
    2) Automotive is one of the most competitive industries in business world! Facts showed that Malaysia do not have economic of scale, competition advantages to survive in the automotive war! Doing something we are good at, instead of waste time learning to copy the best which people already did!
    3) P1 and P2 is a national car! We do not need the 3rd one to have 100% ownership! WE do not need a national car to have Maruah! GE14 has made Malaysia gain back the Maruah we loss during BN rulling time!
    4) Facts has showed Malaysian that national car P1 is only a media to distribute money among political individual! We see billions spend on R&D for National car who is mainly selling at MYR30-35K category! Average R&D cost spend per car is MYR8k-10K! No one in the right mind will do this! Those R&D cost only mean: you not need to sell products to get profit!
    RAKYAT DO NOT NEED, AND DO NOT WANT ANTHOTHER NATIONAL CAR!!! KEEP FOCUS IN DEVELOP OUR COUNTRY! YOU ONLY HAS TWO YEARS TO CORRECT THOSE YOU DID WRONG! BUILD ANOTHER NATIONAL CAR WOULD MEAN: YOU GET RAKYAT SUPPORT TO REDO WHAT YOU HAVE DID WRONG!

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:28 am

Malaysia’s engineering capability only can be improved, when Local education system change! Open local U to all without follow Quota! Competition will drive people to greatest high! Engineering in Malaysia is not progress in the past 20 years because protection has been installed for the reason of political benefit! End up, U graduate cannot get a job! Some can only go factory do operator!

• Same ol’ argument in 1980s. Pak Lah was not keen to save the sick P1. Drb cannot do much. Jibby had given billions. Geely has yet to turnaround P1 as they have successfully done to Volvo. Not another Tabung Harapan P3 when he’s gone. Lesson not learned?? Dr M can do the P3 but not using the Mesian government & rakyat’s money. What say rakyat??

• KH Yeap on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:19 pm

You got no experience and definitely no business success to talk off. Proton is not a national project but just a toy for you. A RM300 b toy paid by the poor RAKYAT

• SpongeBob on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:21 pm

Might Mahathir have already thought the strategy on how bring national car as another branded car whch will profit ppl and country. This is purely business and politic.

Now crutial question is, will new proton project will reduce jam in klang valley? How it will? Will this increase in saving for ppl? How it will? Which is important?

Why don’t focus on public transport which for sure will benefit ppl in many ways. Rapid bus in not good conditions and other companies as well. Current Lrt/mrt/monorail/komuter is not enough and same goes to buses. Even in this klang valley, ppl dont have convenient public transport and public transport did not reach all places. In addition, not in timely manner. We have many countries encourage to use public transports. Are we not expose to this topic?

There are few strategies to reduce jam but will goverment still consider these since they already fix their mind.

Politician can make money in many ways foe the country but at the same time please focus on ppls interests.

• Gaoqao on Jun 14, 2018 at 2:00 pm

If he really wish to start another car project, why not start with producing spare parts for other makers first. Once we have proven to the world that Malaysia can produce good quality parts then it’s natural that we expand to producing motor cars. Not on the ubiquitous internal combustion ones but more on electrical one. The future of motoring is no longer dependent on fossil fuels driven vehicles.
    Meanwhile, improve on our education system too for a start because you need to produce talented people to come out with innovative products. Maybe a Malaysian’s Elon Musk..

• Tok Wan on Jun 14, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Malaysia debts which has come up to a trillion MYR will never be settled if the government keeps on launching new mega projects.

• Anonymouse on Jun 15, 2018 at 10:18 am

Kita tunggu dan lihat. Maybe a new electric or hybrid car? I believe he always have plans. People who will involve in this new project should have aggressive action instead of tunggu orang malaysia jer beli. Previously, I remember Tun pernah kata Proton tak bole jual kereta di Europe since the engine does not met Europe specs and regulation. Nak beli engine dari luar pon orang lain tak nak jual. Dan nak jual di negera seperti Korea Selatan, Proton tak boleh masuk. But Kia and Hyundai can masuk Malaysia. The new company should focus more on technology and engineering and at the same time work hand in hand with a powerful marketing and branding team. Some ppl said he just want to give to his crony. For me, seeing his leadership characteristic, it is not easy to work with. But maybe his “crony” is the only ppl who are able to met his standard. Lets wait and see. Proton under Geely also take 18 month to convert the Boyue to local version. But no one bash them.

• Anthony on Jun 18, 2018 at 12:17 am

Please… no more national car. I beg to Tun M. It’s a nightmare. Spent much money to own a national car which is not worth that price (value proposition). Putting less priority to the public transport as the backbone of the city. Being badged as the worst taxi in the world. The quality of the national car compared to Japanese/ Korean at least. The main reason why fresh grad will want to buy a car? We know very well as many of us went through that stage. Please take a look and at least check how the our national car are doing in the countries which Malaysia exported to. 2 comments from them, 1st Lousy 2nd Regretted. Please think not only twice but 10 times to have new national car… please…

• seeuseeful on Jun 18, 2018 at 11:55 pm

Thanks Tun…Agreed with you…ur ideas of increase the engineering capabilities make us as engineer to be smile again….our knowledge again will be challenge as nowadays career as an engineer was not as good before (there are no/few places for engineer to show their capabilities)