FIRST DRIVE: 2018 Porsche Panamera Sport Turismo

Ah, if it isn’t Porsche’s most daring attempt at swooning tycoons… The original Porsche Panamera might not have the looks to impress, but for what it’s worth, the lengthy luxury vehicle was admirably athletic for its size. Now in its second iteration, the Panamera has been improved in all areas, with even more emphasis put on design and luxury.

For some, the shooting brake-bodied Panamera Sport Turismo is the more palatable option, design-wise, and that’s exactly what we had on review – the entry-level Porsche Panamera 4 Sport Turismo.

Armed with a 3.0 litre turbocharged V6, the five metre-long vehicle boasts having 330 PS and 450 Nm on tap, and it manages the century sprint in 5.3 seconds. All-wheel drive is standard for the Sport Turismo, and in this guise, the top speed is rated at 259 km/h. Porsche Traction Management (PTM), rear-axle steering and Porsche Dynamic Chassis Control are standard across the board, with an eight-speed PDK dual-clutch automatic and an active multi-plate clutch managing drive distribution between axles.

Would you part your million ringgit for the Panamera (prices start from RM990k, or RM1.2 million as tested here) or would you look elsewhere for a statelier ride to be chauffeured in? Our brief stint with it left quite an impression, so sit back, relax and enjoy this video review. As usual, we’d like to hear your thoughts, so leave your comments below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.