Mercedes-Benz S560 Coupe, Cabriolet now in Thailand – latter is RM2.09m, RM780k more than in Malaysia

The facelifted Mercedes-Benz S560 Coupe and Cabriolet duo is now available in Thailand, priced at 15.99 and 16.72 million baht respectively for the sporty AMG Premium trim level. That’s 500,000 baht (RM62,532) more than before and equivalent to RM2 million and RM2.09 million, respectively.

It was earlier this month that Mercedes-Benz Malaysia launched four members of the S-Class facelift range, which included the S450L, the Mercedes-Maybach S-Class, the Mercedes-AMG S63 Coupe and the S560 Cabriolet, as seen here.

The latter is priced locally at RM1.31 million, which is an astonishing RM780k less than what it costs in Thailand. To illustrate, that difference can get you an AMG C63S Coupe (before GST 0%) and a luxury weekend holiday for two. We get the S-Class Coupe in S63 AMG form for RM1.46 million, which is RM540k less than the Thai S560 Coupe.

The S560 Cabriolet is powered by a 4.0 litre biturbo V8 engine with 469 hp and 700 Nm of torque, replacing the 4.7 litre V8 from the pre-facelift. The new M176 motor comes with cylinder deactivation tech and is mated to a nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission. The big cruiser does 0-100 km/h in 4.6 seconds.

The A217 S-Class Cabriolet gets new front and rear bumpers, with the face adorned with a familiar diamond grille, chrome-plated front splitter and bigger air inlets. The rear gets new OLED tail lights, with each cluster featuring 33 thin OLED elements that are printed on a glass plate. The luminance varies depending on ambient brightness, driving condition, braking and turn signals; while a ‘light show’ accompanies locking and unlocking.

Inside, the dual 12.3-inch screens that form the widescreen cockpit are no longer separated, and there’s a new steering wheel with buttons that respond to swiping motions. There’s a Comand Online infotainment system (with updated interface) that offers 3D HDD GPS navigation and smartphone connectivity, along with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto as well as wireless charging.

Here, the ragtop S is equipped with Airmatic air suspension with infinitely variable damper control, and driving assistance systems such as Active Distance Control Distronic and Active Steering Assist. Once again, it goes for RM1.31 million, which is RM780k less than what Thai tycoons pay.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz S560 Cabriolet

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Some says car price in MY is highest in world. So that means Tomyam car prices must be highest in Solar System. And that means SG car prices must be highest in Universe. Just following basher logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
    • sohhai on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Wow Tomyam baht now so high!

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:54 pm

Aren’t you the same person who also Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world, Malaysia has the cheapest car prices in the world and that Proton had zero debts 2 years ago?

• Nope. U referring to the other John?

• Mikey on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:16 am

Ha ha ha. Blaming Big John when U are the one commenting. That is plain coward.

• Proof of the pudding is on the accuser. Do show us that im the only john in the world.

• Mikey on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Proof!!! U mean I have to proof john is a man!

• Well, thats how the rest of the world operates by, I dunno about ur world thou…

• Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:10 pm

It is illogical to say and compare with the Solar System.

This is a car site. We talk about cars. We do not talk about the Solar System. Anyway, how do you know there are cars in other planets in the Solar System?

Is this another fake news?

• The ur logic is fallacy when u claimed MY car prices is highest in the world yet many other countries r even higher than MY. So whatever u say now is not logical.

• Why blame me when im just following ur logic. Lolz!

• PT should ban silly comments like this

1) What is Tom Yam?
      2) Does Mars or Venus have cars?

I hope we keep PT clean without any personal attacks and contribute healthy car matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Albert Yong on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:42 pm

I just wish john uses all his energy to contribute to a better Malaysia.

John, think about getting a job. IT will help you and your family progress!

• Mikey on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:22 pm

If john get a job elsewhere, who is going to entertain us? PT “needs” john:P
        PS. In case someone misunderstood, I’m NOT supporting john ya. Its meant to be sarcasm.

• rightwinger on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:54 pm

yeah like you guys disparaging P1 in every article that has nothing to do with P1 at all right? or casting aspersion on locals by perpetuating myths? right? all that’s much more constructive than John rebutting myths and fairy tales coz your god complex right?

• MOfaz on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:11 pm

Fuyoh! Thai price RM780k so pensipp. Those extra moolah cud ekceli buy MY Mercedes S450L facelift^^

• 12yrsold on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Fuyoh, so many pipu can understand your lingo used here. Looks like MY pipu no need to go school la. They can learn from this site on so pensipp(so expensive) ekceli(actually) extra moolah(??). Please fill in for poor pipu like me who don’t understand ya.

• AkooIm on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:22 pm

If u think car price in malaysia is expensive, that because u are poor… if u are filthy rich, u can actually buy high end cars that priced much lower than in other countries…

Yeah… Malaysia…

• Come on lah Danny… Don’t shiok sendiri… what about other cars??

• Jayden on Aug 22, 2018 at 9:03 am

Other cars? I can honest tell u our car price ranging from Toyota to Ferrari are way cheaper than Thailand now due to their tax diff. Even with SST back our price is still cheap. If u talk about some other cheapo brand with lower spec then of coz its cheaper than us because it wont even sell well in Malaysia

Would you buy a RM200k E class but with halogen and 16 inch wheel without any luxury specs? No, i would rather buy a RM350k E class with full spec.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 22, 2018 at 9:42 pm

Most car in Thai other than “made in Thai” car is pricier than bolehland