NAP review to incorporate EVs, autonomous driving

The review of the National Automotive Policy (NAP) is on course to be revealed at the end of the year, and deputy minister of international trade and industry Dr Ong Kian Ming said that the new plan will incorporate electric vehicles and autonomous driving technologies.

Speaking at the Kuala Lumpur International Automotive Conference (KLIAC) 2018 today, Ong said, “Since [the last NAP review in 2014], we have moved on in terms of the technology of the automotive sector, for example electric vehicles and now also autonomous vehicles. This is part and parcel of the larger ecosystem that we need to take into account when we talk about the NAP review.”

Ong added that the upcoming review will also be sympathetic towards automotive parts makers. “Our own component makers, many of them being local players, supply 70 to 80% of the component parts to the automotive industry.

“So it’s important, as we are undergoing the NAP review, that the needs of our components parts makers vendors are also taken care of. And those needs do not just include what is happening here in Malaysia, but also take into account the many export opportunities that they have to ASEAN and beyond,” he said, adding that the new national car project (NNCP) will only form part of a more holistic review of the NAP.

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Datuk Madani Sahari elaborated on the details of the review, saying that it will also incorporate Mobility as a Service (MaaS) operators – including ride-hailing companies such as Grab – as well as artificial intelligence and connected services as part of Industry 4.0. However, he insisted that the review will not nullify the policies outlined in the 2014 review.

“The previous NAP talked about EEV [Energy Efficient Vehicles], but more importantly it talked about enhancing the competitiveness of the Malaysian automotive industry. In order to be competitive, there is the element of technology that we need to acquire, we need to adopt, we need to deploy, we need to commercialise. The aspects of the NAP will remain the same; we are adding in all the new elements to move the industry forward.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• lilytan on Nov 21, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Dear Mr OKM, ur ministry is named MITI (international trade and industry, not ministry of auto policy. Tell me, how internationally successful our auto industries have become? After decades of protection, our auto still cater mostly locals with paltry exports. The auto industry still lags behind, just like our other homegrown international businesses. Can u please focus on other industries instead this pet project? New ministers, same policies. Expecting miracles? U must be dreaMing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Isobel Chin on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:20 am

Exactly. After decades of protection & AP policies since 1960s, our auto industry still lags behind. just like our other homegrown monopolist biz. Remove protectionism policy.

• Adibz on Nov 21, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Study
    https://paultan.org/2017/10/30/study-for-vehicle-end-of-life-policy-at-final-stage-liow/

• U-Tun on Nov 21, 2018 at 5:16 pm

It’s taking longer than expected by the time it is published, all the EV manufactures already placed their investment in neighbouring countries. Might as well change it to ‘3rd National Car Protection Policy’.

• Environment is very important (by Mario and Bros on Nov 21, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Hope the government will extend for Hybrid incentives and EEV incentives for vehicles. Without extension for Hybrid incentives and EEV incentives, when beginning from 2019 onwards,the car prices will be more expensive as end up, people will be buying diesel cars in which gives out much air pollution.

As according to GE14 PH Manifesto says about reducing carbon emissions that makes the country more environmental friendly which is going to be greener. Why this is very important because if there are no Hybrid vehicles, EEV vehicles and electric vehicles on the road, many people will end up they buy diesel cars in which it is not safe for the people’s health. That is why we have to protect our environment and people’s health too.

Anyway, please make the extensions for Hybrid incentives and EEV incentives for cars as soon as possible. Not only the vehicles for 1.6L and below will extend for EEV incentives and Hybrid incentives, especially the vehicles for 1.6L and above including luxury cars also needs to extend their EEV incentives and Hybrid incentives too. Lastly, we also hoped that the government will continue would continue the efforts in NAP 2014, which focused on energy efficient vehicles (EEV) and hybrid

• Johorian on Nov 21, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Any none export driven policies to protect local market suppliers are just joke. I wonder so called local suppliers factories are in Malaysia or China

• Yada yada yada,

AP continue or not, answer this please

When the buying stop,
    The killing can too…

• continue

https://paultan.org/2018/07/11/pekema-says-that-open-ap-system-should-continue/

• newme on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:49 am

You sure you are incorporating autonomous driving? it sounds more like autonomous protection?

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 22, 2018 at 12:42 pm

I really really wish i can have his job..just issue press conference cakap besar than repeat same thing next few months…seems chg gomen but still sama mentality

• Musang King(ori) on Nov 22, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Previous one is my regular custmer…lol

• https://paultan.org/2018/11/08/ap-system-to-remain-but-policy-to-be-reviewed-miti/