New national car to drive other sectors, says Mahathir

The new national car project (NNCP) has been a big talking point since prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad mooted it in June, and Astro Awani reports that the he is standing firm behind his brainchild.

At a press conference during the APEC Economic Leaders’ Meeting in Papua New Guinea on Saturday, the premier claimed that the automotive industry will be the driving force behind other sectors of the economy, particularly engineering. “A car is a kind of catalyst for other things. If you want to learn manufacturing of certain products, engineering-wise, you have to start with a car,” he said.

Mahathir added that Malaysia’s past national car projects have allowed it to develop new skills that it would not have obtained otherwise. “To make a car, you have to make 4,000 different components and then put them together. It’s not easy, but we have mastered it in a very short time. Now we can design, produce the prototypes, test, do the clay models, everything. Even the engines, we can produce ourselves.

“Nowadays when you design a car, you don’t draw on a piece of paper. You use technology to design, look around, look inside, see every angle, place it before a building to see how it looks like,” he said. “Today, our people can design those things. If we didn’t have a motor car project, I doubt whether we could have mastered all the new technologies with regard to design.”

The new national car is due to enter production in 2020, with a prototype expected to be ready by early next year. The Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) has recently said that it has received over 20 proposals from the private sector for the project, which finance minister Lim Guan Eng said will not use public funds.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tokmoh. on Nov 19, 2018 at 11:30 am

It must be Lynk & Co rebadge, choose them, Tun! They are your best shot to Perotiga’s success!

Volvo, Lynk & Co, Proton, Perotiga, Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Talkok> all on Nov 19, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Support Tun vision for the country. Do not support those who always put > all to look down on others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
      • Jibjib on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Make Malaysia Great Again >

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • Sohai on Nov 20, 2018 at 11:25 am

Oh wai… University engineering study until PHD level, but tiny power window issues took more than 20yrs oso cannot solved , what master engineering rapid we talking about since 1983…? Vietnam VinFast 2017 established, 2018 Paris Motor Show announced 3 new car models 2019 production & a Electric Bike launched 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Delloid on Nov 20, 2018 at 12:48 pm

University study until PHD level, Go out fishing Gov projeks …

• Edi John Rejang on Nov 21, 2018 at 8:14 am

3rd National Car is good because our P1 is no more Malaysian. It is fully a China company

We need to build our name again as a good car maker.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 19, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Malaysians suffered a lot with Proton because of the protectionism given to Proton. In 1985, you could buy a brand new Toyota Corolla for RM20k. Nissan 130Y was RM20k too.

In 2018, the same Toyota Corolla (now called Altis) is RM139k. That is a whopping 700% price increase.

The same Toyota Corolla in Japan has only gone up 50% in price from 1985 to 2018.

So, how do you explain…..

Malaysia – 700% increase in price (from 1985 to 2018)
      Japan – 50% increase in price (from 1985 to 2018)

Poor Malaysians, we have suffered so much with high car prices the past 30 years.

With all due respect, Tun says it will involve private sector investment. Proton also started that way. Then halfway, as with all GLCs, they needed tongkat.

We spent over RM20 billion to bailout Proton. Imagine how many hundreds of free Government Schools and Government Hospitals we could have built?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
      • Mi jarum on Nov 19, 2018 at 6:18 pm

Correct. Crony feedings & AP down the drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • We had a chance to get high tech car manufacturing via Dyson but no thanks to your stupid Government, we lost that chance and now we only have P3 to play with. Stupidity begets stupidity. The people’s stupidity shone with this choice of governance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 20, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Another lie. Dyson chosed Singapore bacause they said Singapore workers are more highly skilled and the country has less corruption than Malaysia

Dyson said 60 years of corruption has made Malaysia name so busuk so they decided to go to Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • Edi John Rejang on Nov 21, 2018 at 8:15 am

If I am an investor also I will choose Singapore. At least they are not lazy

• CarBuyer on Nov 20, 2018 at 10:50 am

In 1985, you could get 250 Yen, and RM 2.50 for 1 USD. So 1 Yen was worth 1 sen.

Now you can get 110 Yen, and RM 4.20 for 1 USD. That works out to 1 Yen being now worth 3.8 sen.

Your “Japan – 50% increase in price (from 1985 to 2018)” needs serious adjustment. if compared in RM, as it should be.

• Greasemonkey on Nov 20, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Well said, because of Proton,tak mampu beli BMW,Hahaha…

• lilytan on Nov 19, 2018 at 11:39 am

Instead of doing a 3rd national car, why not do a 1st national plane or 1st national ship or 1st national combine harvester. At least the market is not as saturated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • The Truth About 3rd National Car on Nov 19, 2018 at 4:37 pm

The 3rd National car is important because this is the way to help people like the ones working for the Government

Government of Malaysia has the largest Civil Service in the world at 1.6 million Government Servants. We follow the principle that 10 people must do 1 person’s job.

So creating 3rd national car, we can give such people free jobs also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:16 pm

dont talk crap..more than 1M of them are teacher, army, police, doctor, nurse, bomba.. teacher alone 500k. do you think doctor is enough? teacher? police?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
        • Mr Suka Syukur Selalu IX on Nov 19, 2018 at 6:10 pm

Syukurr la Malaysia bkn Venezuelar ..

• Hanum on Nov 19, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Other countries also count their teachers, polis and nurse as Gomen servants. So, what are you trying to say?

Malaysia has still the biggest gomen workers in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • Amran on Nov 20, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Other country have good private school & hospital with high income tax & high GST.

• No they dun. Aussie dun, UK dun, USA dun. All those countries that basher used to compare with? All those dun. So what r u trying to say?

• Then who pays the teachers and doctors of public hospitals in the UK and Australia? Do you pay them john?

Public hospitals and public schools in the UK and Australia are paid by the Governments of Australia and UK

Tak masuk logic john, who will pay their pay? Private sector?

• Badrul on Nov 20, 2018 at 6:49 pm

Malaysia must learn from Singapore how to have hardworking Government Servants.

Get more people like Li Chunrong to work in Putrajaya. You can see a big change

• SK, Lim on Nov 20, 2018 at 7:36 pm

@Azmi
            No they are not classified as public servants. Their salaries comes from their respective state governments but that doesn’t make them a Federal public servant hence they aren’t categorised as such. And much of their payments are done via high insurance rates so the states aren’t burdened by it but the people there are.

• Edi John Rejang on Nov 21, 2018 at 8:16 am

I go to our gov departments, I always shake my head. All the time talking, eating keropok and listening to music

• Ghani on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Our well qualified fresh grads wun end up Grab driver, Youtuber or E-gamer ..

• Copy Paste on Nov 19, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Copy pasting “Without these 1.6million Government servants, who will keep you safe at home, put out the fires you inadvertently started, ensure your security, keep you healthy, and enable you to travel?

You might as well stay in a cave and never come out.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • plural_tele on Nov 19, 2018 at 11:44 am

Great idea indeed. But local graduates these days only interested in Esports & surfing FB insta. Abysmal command of english …auto engineering skills? Anything more than staring at smartphones is cumbersome chore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • newme on Nov 19, 2018 at 11:56 am

This is the problem when a leader are fed with inaccurate and sugar coated information. I wonder which clown told him they have mastered car building skills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • “To make a car, you have to make 4,000 different components and then put them together. It’s not easy, but we have mastered it in a very short time. Now we can design, produce the prototypes, test, do the clay models, everything. Even the engines, we can produce ourselves.

Hahahaha the above quotes just pure bluff. Campro is developed with Lotus, transmission is all sourced outside so what have your Baby Proton Mastered apart from drawing/design and dishing free money to cronies to produce inferior parts?

On the subject, why don’t we manufacture our own Computer, Mobile Phones at least we know iPhone, Intel, AMD also uses Malaysian made chips.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Car manufacturing will spur other sector growth…

Theoretically only lah dear Mahathir.

You have tried before. You had since the mid 80s up till your retirement in 2003 to make it work and yet all Proton ever did (well, mostly) was to rebadge other brands.

The only other sectors you managed to spur during your previous tenure was a small select of Bumiputera middlemen who relied (and still relies until now) on AP.

With the fast-changing industrial landscape and the onslaught of globalized players with lean and efficient manufacturing practices, how is Protiga going to compete?

Another wave of protectionist policies?

How is this Mahathir-led government going to be any different from the previously Mahathir-led government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • MeToo on Nov 19, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Your pet project, and the entire country is paying for it with one of the highest car price in the world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 19, 2018 at 4:34 pm

To be price, it is the highest car prices in the world. We are actually more expensive than even Singapore because Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5X that of Malaysia.

Even normal ranking Government Servant in Singapore earns SGD5000 (RM15k) per month. The normal ranking Putrajaya Government Servant earns RM1200

So RM15k vs RM1200

BMW 528i in Malaysia is RM400k
      BMW 528i in Singapore is SGD220k

Which do you think is cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Try compare Axia or Myvi selling in singapore….

• SGD220k still need to add 10X for COE, making that 528i SGD 2million. Even for that high paying Sing civil servant, SGD 2million is too high a price and that’s why you don’t see much luxury cars there as compared to this side of the border. Furthermore, 10 years later they need to scrap that car, who in their right mind will pay SGD 2million just to throw it away 10 years later?

• Sinker on Nov 20, 2018 at 9:26 am

SG no car take public transport can go anywhere. Malaysia no car u jalan kaki kah? Where is your MRT. Bus?

• Badrul on Nov 20, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Mana ada COE SGD1.8 mil? Tolong jangan tipu ye.

COE sekarang SGD35k

• John is otak batu on Nov 19, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Let me help you voice up to Anwar. This has to be fair to Rakyat !

• How about solving our major problems on the road;

Mat Rempits, abandoned vehicles, beating traffic lights, no seat belt usage, tolls, poor public transport connections etc etc??

Also, engineering, jobs etc can be mastered using other than a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Ksatria on Nov 19, 2018 at 12:50 pm

EVs please & good charging facilities along with it.
    (Don’t always talk about public transport around our capital city & ignore the rest of Malaysia where reliable public transport is scarce or almost non-existent)

• dong gor on Nov 19, 2018 at 1:19 pm

And how much did we spend to acquire those skills? To me if you don’t build rocket, you won’t learn about rocket science either. But is that skill that important? The Rakyat could easily skip that and do something else that is more profitable.

• Professor X on Nov 19, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Why not build rockets like space-x?
    Epic engineering!

• Anonymopus on Nov 19, 2018 at 2:06 pm

TunM is myopic… stuck in 90’s thinking. Public transport is better.

Why not build newer better electric propulsion units for bicycle, scooters, busses and trains… big market in Asean alone for efficient, eco friendly, cheaper public transport like these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • benzs on Nov 19, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Pls learn from Singapore and Brunei. Its our neighbor indeed and they have strong currency while doesn’t have much land to develop. Malaysia is bigger and still left behind. Instead of focus into Auto industry why not switch to something better. Reduce your tax for foreign company in Malaysia and encourage them to build and develop more factory. We as Malaysian can learn from them. Always think Malaysia Boleh again? Why not invite them

• Rakyatsuara on Nov 19, 2018 at 2:22 pm

Tun, after 509, how many times you talk about 3rd national car project? Rakyat want abolish toll, want better economy, better living environment, but you don’t even care, you told us PH manifiesto is only for reference, not necessary to make it true, but all these national car project and johor bend bridge all is your toys, when rakyat ask you, you keep telling us is not your idea, is rakyat ask you to do, enough Tun, I think you better step down, because you keep denying what you are doing right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • P1 is good enough under Geely, 3rd national car is just a waste project. P1 n P2 not targeting different group of people, I just wish to understand who will buy P3?

• John is otak batu on Nov 19, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Brader, 2 years later this issue will be irrelevant to Anwar & rakyat . De facto leader will help us abolish or let go of this nonsense 4 good!

• FireAce on Nov 19, 2018 at 2:38 pm

“New national car to drive other sectors”
    Dear Tun, which “NEW” sectors in automotive industry that can be driven by P3? Sectors that not yet exist due to P1 & P2.
    If you are talking about driving existing sectors to higher heights, which direction? If P3 is all about creating another car manufacturer, what difference will P3 made?

• No. Just… no.

• Ben Yap on Nov 19, 2018 at 4:09 pm

isn’t this is what tun said in the 1980s?

the same excuse after almost 40 years?

• Newme on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:52 pm

Your pet project can even build a decent car after 30 years, let alone competing in the industry.

• Familiman on Nov 19, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Hati², salah undi dapat . Only in malaysia, vote wrongly you get a PM hell bent on reviving all his pet project. Congrats Malaysia for choosing sooooo wisely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
    • Handybagman on Nov 19, 2018 at 11:52 pm

Abg Anwar yo’

• newme on Nov 20, 2018 at 1:45 am

What choice do we have? One side tak habis-habis with his car project while the other side with his 1Malaysia project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Kg Rantau PD on Nov 20, 2018 at 10:25 am

Other than car hardware.

Explored for the future beyond of rechargeable batteries in the automotive market, as well as the development of green connected vehicle tech, wireless communications to provide connectivity between car-to-car, between vehicles and infrastructure (car-to-X), infrastructure and wireless consumer devices.

Other areas also include development such as rapid prototyping and 3D-printing, Internet of Things (IoT)-based devices, as well as in e-mobility. our MIMOS can lead on generating these tech solutions.

• Perusahaan Rebadger National on Nov 19, 2018 at 7:09 pm

Just make 500 national cars and rebadge every cars in the world

• The old Mahathir is back! So much for voting for a Msia baru!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
  • Start with Electric vehicle,I think still stand little hope. … Your so called many talents in Msia may be appreciate your idea too. Otherwise after you successfully made a drivable conventional car, many countries started to ban petrol and diesel car then no one will buy your car. Or its your plan for some one still build petrol car to consume your petrol??? No idea.

Please don’t spend the Govt money to fund those white elephant project. You have done it too much in the past. Proton, MAS, etc…

• Korean Fan on Nov 20, 2018 at 10:13 pm

This is 2018. You are talking like we need this sort of education. We already know la. Problem is that if the “other sectors” are filled with your cornies as a platform to milk money, the entire nation will pay for so these “other sources” will become ultra rich.

• Why always concentrate to national car project only? Can we diversify to other industries too? For example, to have our own mobile phone brand. Do we have now? Desktop, laptop. Malaysia automobile market is small and we do not have the capability to sell our “national” car oversea.