NAP review set to be completed by year-end – third national car project open to input and ideas, says MITI

The ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) says it is confident that the review of the National Automotive Policy (NAP) will be completed by the end of the year, The Sun reports.

According to its deputy minister Dr Ong Kian Ming, the NAP will look at new mobility pathways and trends in driving patterns, and it will also be adjusted with the improvements in public transportation and look at vendor development within the ecosystem.

The proposed third national car will also be taken into account, and Ong assured that the project mooted by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad “will not be like Proton.” He said that Mahathir’s concept of the national car project is not about having another Proton.

“There are many things that can be updated in terms of how we want to make the aspiration of Dr Mahathir to propel the automotive industry into something more sustainable and green. Input from the industry and stakeholders is important to help MITI shape this NAP. We hope the public does not think that Dr Mahathir’s intention is to revive Proton as Proton 2.0. There are many more ideas that he has,” Ong said.

Ong added that the third national car project – which is set to get underway by 2020, according to entrepreneur development minister Mohd Redzuan Yusof – will be open to all input and ideas of cooperation.

“Dr Mahathir has spoken on the possibility of having an ASEAN car with cooperation with Indonesia, so there is opportunity to explore with other players, but looking at the angle of how the NAP is going at an international level, moving towards electric cars and energy efficient vehicles (EEV), and the value chain that comes along it, which includes electronics, artificial intelligence, internet of things – that would be part and parcel of the ecosystem,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:10 pm

No need NAP anymore. NAP and Proton has caused too much damage to Malaysians.

Rakyat have sacrificed so much the past 30 years because of NAP and Proton.

Malaysians have sacrificed enough for NAP and Proton and its protectionism. Because of Proton and NAP, all car prices have gone up 700% since 1985.

For example, Toyota Corolla in 1985 was RM20k. Today, in 2018, the Toyota Corolla is RM139k

The same Toyota Corolla in Japan has only risen 50% from 1985 to 2018.

Car prices actually have gone down over 30 years all over the world due to automation, robotics and economies of scale despite inflation.

50% vs 700% – a big huge difference Malaysians have to pay. All because of our NAP

According to statistics, Malaysians have overpaid by RM350 billion for cars from 1985 if one were to compare if Proton was NEVER born and NAP never came into place.

Many Malaysians have suffered paying high 9 year car loans because NAP had increased car prices so much the past 30 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 12
    • Bapak says need NAP for https://paultan.org/2018/08/06/847390/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
      • Pineple Pontian on Aug 09, 2018 at 8:37 am

Implementation of NAP advanced green tech in the auto industry will help the country to be on par with neighbouring counterparts.

For example reintroduction of import and excise duty-exempted Audi Hybrids in Msia.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:45 am

Nobody believes anymore that we have the cheapest car prices in the world and cheapest petrol prices in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • YB Albert on Aug 08, 2018 at 9:11 pm

In Australia…Holden has bungkus.Toyota also bungkus.Thousands of workers are redeployed to other industries.
      And yet their imported cars are much more affordable to their citizens.
      Why are we so obsessed with national cars?
      THailand and Indonesia do not have national cars,but have a vibrant export of cars.
      Datuk Aishah from GLC and as MAA president also strongly opposed Protiga,apart from loud mouth Rafizi.
      Tun should focus on digital revolution,like what Alibaba has done.No more industrial revolution.
      I have a strong suspicion the same bunch of current Proton vendors are lobbying for Protiga cos they refuse to cut supply prices by 30 %,as demanded by Dr.Li .
      So when u have protiga,Protong will most likely kaput.Perodua will still maintain status quo.
      So,the rakyat still want Protiga?
      PH should recover more stolen billions and sack any gomen officer who refuse to perform.Why are we spending our time discussing about Protiga?
      No more proton 2.0. Proton 1.0 alredy caused taxpayers rm 15 Billion in grants and bailout money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:47 am

Let us hope Protiga does better and sell all over the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Grease monkey on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:27 pm

Agreed with you, bro, I also think those bunch gonna bungkus without pro3,p1 can get Chinese vendors to supply for them.

• sdare jeremi klaksen on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:08 am

In summary Mesians hv suffered the folly of one man for far too long (read donkey yrs). Stop TREATING Mesians like patients needing medicine, as if “Dr knows best” kinda thing. That era is long gone. Mesians today are not like Mesians 30yrs ago. Best thing that can happen now is for the good Dr to honorably retreat, and go back to being the “DR IN THE (his own) HOUSE”. No one lives forever…

• John Bin Dedak on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:42 am

I hope taxes are reduced on cars.

• We don’t care what ever it is, all we know is as long as we don’t touch on it we are already 1000% guarantee win and can say every Malaysian super duper HAVE A HAPPY LIFE…

• Before that you are fine to me, but now you are making yourself to let most of the Malaysia to hate you…No matter how many good things you had make or done before, you cannot to have this one more times..cause this is too costly and totally unfair to the people. Remember the powers of rakyat as you always say on..If we can down someone on 509, so on you..

• Hatchy on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:07 pm

NAP should be aiming at
      1)reducing accident fatality rate with safer car
      2)reducing bankruptcy rate with inflated car price due to AP, excise duty
      3)reducing traffic jam
      4)increase quality of life, everyone wants to drive Porche like Tun

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:12 pm

1983 Mercedes 200 in UK was 20,000 pounds

1983 Mercedes 200 CBU in Msia was RM57,000

2018 Mercedes E250 in the UK is 32,000 pounds

2018 Mercedes E250 CKD in Malaysia is RM400k

Thank you NAP!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 5
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:14 pm

If moving towards EV and EEV cars is the way, why did MBM drop their E350e and S400Hybrid?

There must be a reason why MBM is not following Government direction by launching the S450L without Hybrid or EV technology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Bro they stopped giving them incentives, that’s why Mercedes Malaysia said the government has to be more clear

• Andrew on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Big picture here.

https://paultan.org/2018/04/27/nap-2018-to-be-unveiled-in-q3-this-year-to-focus-on-connected-mobility-ai-and-new-generation-vehicles/

• Beng Ong on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:45 pm

E250 is 350k MYR in malaysia.. alang2 tokok tambah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Aiya its 380k la, both salah. 350k is gst free, after this sst masuk balik will be 400k

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 09, 2018 at 8:55 am

Pls find me a E250 for RM350k please.

According to PT, price is RM383k
        https://paultan.org/2017/04/20/w213-mercedes-benz-e-class-ckd-launched-in-malaysia/

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 09, 2018 at 8:56 am

Pls find me a E250 for RM350k please.

According to PT, price is RM383k
        https://paultan.org/2017/04/20/w213-mercedes-benz-e-class-ckd-launched-in-malaysia/

And RM420k for CBU E250k

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

Please show us where can you buy at RM350. I also want one at this price. I pay you RM5k commission too

• PMD, is personal mobility device, e scooter, e shoes, etc is going to catch up in Malaysia, with Singapore ready doing so. Its not about cars, PMD is a wider defination. China, and the US firms able to manufacture, as younger audience like it, because cars is not compatible with the time limit in a city.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Don’t talk about NAP. Until today, PEKEMA members are still around.

30 Million Malaysians suffer just to make 30 PEKEMA members rich

Isn’t it easier if MITI sets up a counter at MITI for all those wanting to import cars? Just directly pay MTI and the Government for the AP.

Then set up another counter to help people who want to do shipping and insurance. Simple as ABC

Until today AP issue still not sorted out by NAP. Abolish NAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Irwan serigala on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:43 am

after GST. next to Abolish MAI, AP & NAP.

• frankC on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:02 am

New Model for 3rd National Car Project ?
        We know Proton have a team that is capable in design and development of chasis. Good rigid chasis.
        We know Proton is weak in interior comfort design and engine design & development.
        As for electronics and electrical parts, we know we have factories like clarion and Bosch based in Malaysia with design capabilities…
        So from here we can roughly determine what we have and can do and what we can outsource..
        For example, why not Pertiga, focus on a modular chasis design and development then sell this chasis design to other partners such .. indon partner and holden (aussie). selling point is that they can finished off the final detail design to their own. and they can source their own interior accessories.
        As for engines, perhaps they can source from Nissan or other mainstream car maker or they could source their own electric driven engines.
        Meanwhile for our Pertiga, they could make use of locally sourced electronic component maker or from thai. hey! it doesn’t have to be full vehicle development. it doesn’t have to be a full body car export. parts and modules is good enough for a starter…

• frankC on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:37 am

Perhaps NAP is the way to abolish AP system.
      Naza supposed to be 3rd National Car Project utilizing AP to help start up. But it proves to be a failure. This AP method is proven not able to elevate Malaysian (including bumiputra) automotive industry any further. Should abolish.
      Time to develop new approach. Should learn from other independent car makers, how to approach the mass market and what technology to develop. Set your market beyond Malaysian shore for a starter… so collaboration with foreign partner (not limited to Japanese only) say Indonesian or even indian.

• AP companies still want tongkat. So shameful. How long more want special privileges and tongkat?

• Digidigi on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:33 pm

sustainable and green? Electric car? Tesla burning ton of money at the moment, the old man should admit we don’t have the ability to do something that is so advance or so pioneer, the problem lie with our nation culture, want change it, start with education, not protiga

• Saiful Hamdan on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:12 am

Why must mention Tesla bro? They burn cash because their expansion program exceed their revenue. And they are not the usual typical company that focus on EV only. Read Electrek.co and Teslarati as well as CleanTechnica for more insight. Don’t take news from the mainstream media too highly.

• Mr Dani on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:36 pm

P1 & P2 now firmly backed up by their solid foreign strategic partner (FSP) in Geely & Toyota Daihatsu.

National Automotive industry can be liberalized and incentivize carmakers in ecocar, hybrid and electric vehicle manufacturing. Tg Malim empty lands to develop local auto ecosystem and infrastructure.

Modern public transportations also improved further connectivity batuan pertama dan terakhir.

• No need to review. It is a stupid program!!!!
    You have other more meaningful thing to do!!!!

• Beruk Besar yang Cute on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Malaysian kena screwed over and over again……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • borneo darul seram on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:46 pm

Meanwhile waiting certain automotive giants to share there technology of PHEV, Hydrogen Fuel-Cell, EV, for third national car project…

• Forget NAP.

We are more interested with GSP, GOVERNMENT SELECTION POLICY. Any government that is causing unnecessary hardship like the 3rd national car project should be kicked out.

• raitei on Aug 08, 2018 at 9:45 pm

I didn’t vote PH for a 3rd national car :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • transformer on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:02 pm

New Malaysia don’t need NAP and 3rd National Car!!! Remove unfair TAX Barrier and let Rakyat enjoy better cars!!! other country without national cars still can thrive, Thailand are good example! Wake up TunM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Slirh on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:18 am

Dear MY government.
    We need more affirmative actions and not just studies and reviews of National Policies (in this car automotive).
    Time is slipping away and our neighbours are making bold actions to secure their position in ASEAN automotive industry (and maybe in the next 15-20 years, the global stage).
    What are we doing? splicing definitions and semantics on NAP while others are leaving us in the dusts.
    Please roll up your sleeves, socks and get going. Time doesn’t wait for those that dilly-dally

• No need new NAP, just import or ckd the vehicle here with a advance specification like US, Japan or Europe. Jangan this tak ada, that tak ada for local assembly.We want advance specification. For proton 3.0 just keep in Tun dream.

• xoxox on Aug 09, 2018 at 8:25 am

In the next election, I hope every seat have bebas candidates, so that we can vote them! You want go for changes, but you still using the same method/way to do it and expected a different result? You want to move but you are still in P mode!! and expect cars to move forward.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:03 am

Open to who input? Is it Tun M gang close door meeting only?
    We already said we disagree yet the cabinet beside Rafizi and Nurul voice their concern and disagree yet all the cabinet member keep diam saja.

• Don’t start a new national car company. But if you really must, please do it in an objective, time-limited, capital-limited form.

Example, RM200 million in equity, RM1.5 billion in RPS, tax-free incentive for 8 years. And the cars have to be decent in terms of safety and reliability, determined by a panel of independent citizens.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:07 am

why do we need a national car? i sell chicken rice. can i make it national also and charge other chicken rice fler taxes?

• superdriver on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:41 am

Semua orang cakap tak nak…tapi kerajaan buat tak endah je…

If really want national car ,government must get cheaper and affordable tesla kind of deals lar…then there is a point to the national car. No point making the same cendol as your competitor then complain no one buy yours and everyone prefer some other cendol stalls. That’s where handouts in terms of billions starts to trickle down to protect the national car and the cronies thrive on these kind of opportunities. They will come like wolves and attach themselves to the rakyats money live viruses in an ailing body. Once the body is dead and empty they just laugh all the way to the bank and like all viruses go dormant and wait for another mangsa no matter how much they have steal from previous coffers.

• Ben Yap on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:44 am

“The proposed third national car will also be taken into account, and Ong assured that the project mooted by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad “will not be like Proton.” He said that Mahathir’s concept of the national car project is not about having another Proton.”

whether it’s going to be like proton or not, you run it, you’ll lose the next GE. don’t underestimate our votes.

• How about using your time wisely instead of running a program that will make Malaysian suffer for another 30 years?

• Panda on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:00 am

So that the “axed” proton exec will get their job “back”?

• Work with Geely(Volvo).

• paparadzi (Member) on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:25 am

I will support any policies that will result in the people being able to buy better cars at a lower price.

• musangKing-originalz on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:25 am

Malaysia got hopes now, finally. NAP support! Protiga support!!!!!

• John nangis tiap hari on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:27 am

Most people don’t want a third national car, why can’t they listen to us… frustrated lah

• jinggo on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:35 pm

Tun, please dont proceed with Pro3. Please… tolong lah.. TOLONGGGGGG!!!

• if they still want to carried it on, BERSIH will be on our list soon…we don’t want to hurt our country by this, cause this is the best way and the only way to down some one in power.

• passion on Aug 09, 2018 at 2:35 pm

oh boy are we gonna go thru this again? God help us!

• there is no need to waste time to get more input on Proton2 project. the RAKYAT has spoken out LOUD and CLEAR repeatedly : We don’t want 3rd car project, period. No negotiation, no compromise.

• rchoo on Aug 09, 2018 at 4:10 pm

Government should never have any part in businesss. Period.

• ss427 on Aug 10, 2018 at 10:34 am

Actually why Dr M needs to go to such great lengths to create what Protiga? His main intention is to feed his cronies just like they did since 1985 right?

He should pay SG visits more often. We will show him how to introduce COE and multiple tax upon tax system on any car purchase! hahaha.

Dr M can just sit in office and 100s of millions RM will enter gov coffers every 2 weeks. We bid for COEs every 2 weeks.

Isn’t that a far better solution than trying to create SMLJ Protiga? No need to invest in much infrastructure too. Money will come ching ching big time.

And he can control car population in Malaysia too. And make sure old junk cars are taken off the roads. Restrict all cars, bikes and trucks to a 10 yr lifespan so that people will keep spending to keep the gov running.

A non, low spending country is always a poor country.

So if u can’t afford a new car after this? Well too bad, the roads and carparks are meant for the rich and affluent only. The poor can consider driving for Grab so that they can get their hands on a car… If it can work so well in SG, it will work in Bolehland too.

Sigh… things are not that difficult to solve ya. Your PM needs to have the resolve to fix things once and for all