Revive Malaysia-Indonesia ASEAN car project – PM

During an official state visit to Indonesia, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad hinted at the possibility of reviving the Malaysia-Indonesia ASEAN car project. Such an idea was first mooted way back in 2014 by then prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who said the project would involve a collaboration between Proton and Indonesian partner PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari.

“Back in 2015, we’d discussed to jointly produce a car made by Indonesia and Malaysia for Southeast Asian nations, but it had not been followed up. Now we are looking at reviving the project,” said Mahathir in a report by Channel NewsAsia.

Both companies eventually signed an MOU agreeing to conduct a feasibility study to explore areas of cooperation for an Indonesian national car, with Mahathir (then Proton chairman), saying the venture could result in the development of a car for the ASEAN market. At the time, Proton was also exploring the possibility of a partnership with China-based car manufacturers like Geely to develop an ASEAN car.

The premier’s latest statement didn’t include any extra details, such whether the same parties would be involved in it, or even an expected timeline. Instead, Mahathir recalled the idea (for an ASEAN car project) was highlighted during a test drive session in a Proton car with Indonesian president Joko Widodo (Jokowi) in the passenger seat.

“At the time, I was no longer prime minister and I was driving at 180 km/h at the Sepang circuit. President Jokowi didn’t complain about anything (when the car was being driven quickly),” said Mahathir in a press conference with Jokowi. “It was very fast but I had no fear because Bapak Tun Mahathir was behind the wheel,” said Jokowi in reports by Bernama and The Star

What are your thoughts on this? Should the ASEAN car project be revived again, and if so, what companies should be involved in it?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azrai on Jun 29, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Meanwhile Vietnam showing their Vinfast car soon. Proton already use indonesian made exhaust since exora and not foretting the Gajah Tunggal Radial for their wheel.

• We Indons love 7seaters. your Exora, Ertiga & Proton X7 SUV gonna sell vely well here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:29 pm

Another car project is just silly. Already we failed with our car project.

We spent over RM20 billion to bail this company out. Those are official figures. Unofficial figures are probably many times more than that.

Imagine how many free Government schools and free Government Hospitals we could have built with that money? Few hundred at least.

Also, Malaysians have overspent about RM300 billion in paying for overpriced non national cars since 1985. This figure takes into account if Proton was not born, Malaysians would be paying far cheaper non national cars.

I think we don’t need anymore new car projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 16
        • jinggo on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:22 pm

Hidup Tun ku.
          Bak kata pepatah, Masyarakat sePakatan membawa Berkat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • John May 9 Nangis on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:34 am

Before another car projek is looked into, better we solve all the financial mess and problems left by the previous highly corrupted regime first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Overpriced non national car? Meanwhile in Singapore……

• Singapore cars are cheap? The COE is already SD40K (RM120K). Add another SD60K (RM180k) and your car will be RM300k for a mid price car. Do your homework.

• Omar Merican on Jul 01, 2018 at 8:04 am

still cannot beat one couple who got RM100b in overseas accounts.

• Some says they took it out in large note denominations back in 1997 but its all worthless becoz Bapak outlawed large notes.

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:24 am

Nice to use ill gotten wealth to buy Birkin handbags

• Pls close P2 too, until now cannot produce in house car, only waiting donation from jepunis overlord museum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • eddiekee on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:35 am

isn’t Bezza and new Myvi considered in house design ?

• Rebadge on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:33 pm

SUZUKI ERTIGA is already sold in indonesia.

• Bapok on Jun 29, 2018 at 4:33 pm

POTIR had to agreed then or else bapak would have crashed the car with POTIR in the passenger seat. No wonder bapak coming back to haunt him

• Pandekar Bugees on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:27 pm

our Tun is a wise statesman. reminded POTIR,
      “We may have all come on different ships, but we’re in the same boat now”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Mikey on Jun 29, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Alamak john, looks like our Bapak(Tun M) is actually going to honor the JANJI(MOU) with Indonesia as the idea was 1st mooted way back in 2014 by then PM Najib wo. What say U?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • YB Albert on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:02 pm

I thought Tun merajuk when he said protong is no longer national car?
    His pet project,his cucu protong is still in his plans of a comeback.
    Anyway, just make sure all perlindungan is removed…let jokowi bring in the new non campro engine and better gear box.
    So the new car JV should be named MAHAJO,JOKOMAH,OR THIRWI?..wHY NOT Jokomah ,sounds like Jack ma ,as long as it is not Bijan Rosmah,setuju?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • That grey hair guy on the left side of Jokowi looks familiar.. :0

• simon on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:54 pm

why is Tun M so obssessed with National Car project?

Ego? Pride?

This is not what I voted for. We don’t have money to start such a project, furthermore, car companies are consolidating globally. No point in starting our own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Bangsa Malaysia on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:17 pm

I agree that there are more important issues, aside from Malaysia’s tottering economy and numerous social problems to solve before such a status-seeking venture which we have already been burnt from.

• Kasi chan la macha on Jul 01, 2018 at 8:34 am

Foreign car reluctant to built factory here other than assembly plant, so charge them with tariff for imported part but end up jacking up the price. Why not built another national car with parts from local source material? That’s how P2 works.

• BOYRACER on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:05 am

Well said!!

• To the bashers: Hahahahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • Loler on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:53 pm

??

• Adnan Hanum on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:31 pm

this what happens when your English is so bad but you pass because of you know what.

syiok sendiri laughing because cannot understand the article fully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Syiok sendiri is you mate. We all understand his laughter. Its to you all noobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • John May 9 Nangis on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:38 am

john, I think you could not understand the article and shot yourself in your own foot….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:25 am

Everybody knows his English is so bad

• tokmoh. on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Muahahaha, excellent! May the Geely Empire’s influence grow, terima kasih Tun Mahathir and Pak Joko, you won’t be disappointed!

Upcoming Proton X7 and following models will be easier and faster to sell in Indonesia, well done!

Geely, Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Bro tokmoh. He probably looking for Indon partnership with his soon P1 2.0 instead of P1. He alredi said P1 is no longer national car anymore.

• That idea was mooted when dr m was the chairman of proton. Jokowi smiled in his usual way. Now, ploton is another story but dr m is still the bringing the old chairman’s vision. The fact is ploton cars are not a hot item in jokowi’s land.

• Jokowi had layan Bapak back then but not seriously considering it since Bapak got no power, no Bapak back in charge, Jokowi face will be dark as nite.

• Bernard on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:48 pm

They can never produce a Toyota , Honda etc. So what’s the use?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Sushi Sucks on Jul 01, 2018 at 7:00 pm

They do not need Toyota and Honda cars for their markets

Only Toyota and Honda need their markets >>

• This is an old photo, right?

• Petoron Sagu on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:28 pm

Say no money to fullfill manifesto…. Then want to spend money for a stupid project. U want to fight Toyota, nissan, suzuki, geely etc etc? Can u sell your car? Lets get the economy back to normal and fullfill rm1.50/liter petrol first…. #penatpangkahPH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • 60year old jalopy needed major service overhaul 1st. Nonstop abuse from its former driver, gotta replace faulty corrupted parts yo!
      #60tahun #penatpangkahBN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Avenger on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:44 pm

Its failure was due to a certain driver that abused it for 22 years & neglected to take care of it and maintained it. By the time he handed to the next drivers, it was in such a bad shape that whatever they do can’t bring it back to snuff.

Then we went & change the car but brought back that same abusive driver. This next car will certainly be destroyed much earlier than 22 years.

• Tokyo boy on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:44 am

Betui! Deswaii went to Jepun & change the car. jepunis cars superb FC, senang maintain, jimat minyak, RV yg paling BEst!

• Jimmy on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:36 pm

Sometimes the obvious is not so obvious.

• This is what ive voted for PH?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • If Tun really want to proceed with this utterly rubbish ambition and wasting taxpayer money for another bullshit car project, next GE you got no vote from me.. I vote for PH not only just to bring down Najib Regime, but I want to see the New Malaysia.. Cut this crap, wahai PM…

• Lawrence on Jun 30, 2018 at 3:49 pm

It’s very unlikely that Indonesia will go into this joint-venture, unless they have very very deep pockets since Malaysia is already stretched to its maximum from the 1MDB saga. I think Jokowi is just entertaining this old man during his visit.

• Encik Ahmad on Jun 30, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Before think about entering Indonesian market .. please think about below list ;

– please devolope engine far better consumption than vvti and i-vtec as well
    – please build more quality and futurelistic interior far better than toyota n honda
    – please build design far better than toyota n honda
    – please make all of these above with lower price than both two brand ..
    otherwise .. please save the money and think about other thing..buat jambatan kaa from melaka to sumatera.. better for both two parties..

• Neutral on Jul 01, 2018 at 8:46 am

It’s disturbing to note that Tun M was surrounded by so many bn running dogs. Why were they there in the first place or was it home coming for indon zahid.

• Is the picture old or new⁇ Umno new president Zahid is one behind Jokowi and then Dr Mahathir…

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 01, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Develop Proton Exora replacement with Indonesia

• can i see market price cars before i die…

• Amran on Jul 02, 2018 at 5:23 am

I can smell tun m cronies..

• Photon on Jul 02, 2018 at 11:02 am

Google their Indonesian partner PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari, and you’ll find a lot fishy news about this collaboration…

• Old horse on Jul 02, 2018 at 2:01 pm

If Proton can export the card to Indonesia, that will be good

• At least Proton make a right choice purchasing Lotus, otherwise even Geely won,t lay an eye near to Proton.