Perodua releases third D38L SUV teaser – rear end

Here’s part three in Perodua’s SUV teaser series. Following the ones touting the soon to be launched seven-seater’s space and safety, this one focuses on efficiency. The three points shown here are the SUV’s Dual VVT-i Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) engine, its best-in-class 15.6 km/l fuel economy and Eco Idle. The latter is the auto start-stop function available in the Bezza and Myvi.

The Dual VVT-i engine in question should be the Myvi’s 2NR unit, which also powers the Toyota Rush, which is of course the sister car to the upcoming Perodua SUV. Toyota claims an identical 15.6 km/l figure. The Honda BR-V, which uses a CVT automatic (4AT for Rush) is rated at 15.5 km/l in Thailand, so we’re looking at the same ballpark.

In the Myvi, the 102 hp/136 Nm engine is rated at 20.1 km/l, but the B-segment hatchback tops out at 1,015 kg. The SUV’s body is significantly larger and heavier, hence the higher FC. “Efficiency, elevated with simplicity at heart. This best-in-class seven-seater will make you go the distance,” Perodua’s social media caption reads.

Previous two teasers in the series – click to enlarge

In the ad, Perodua says that the D38L is “petrol subsidy friendly” with a 1.5L engine. This will be true if the proposed 1.5 litre engine cap for targeted fuel subsidies, as mentioned in Budget 2019, is confirmed by the government.

As with the previous teasers, the message/features come with an accompanying glimpse of the SUV’s body. We’ve seen the car’s side profile and front end, now here’s the rear end. We’ve brightened up the original image for a clearer view.

So, while “Perodua’s Rush” has its unique front end that sets it apart from the Toyota, we can see that the rear end design is similar. The behind features wrap-around tail lamp clusters that cut deep into the hatch, and the night LED signature here is a closely spaced double strip.

The lights are joined by a “double bridge”. The top portion – which holds the emblem – is in gloss black, and it’s “supported” by a chrome lower section. The latter forms part of the hexagonal cutout for the license plate. We can’t see the lower bumper clearly here, but it appears that the Perodua won’t feature the Malaysian Rush’s chunky lower body add-ons, branded “R-Blade Design” by UMW Toyota to differentiate it from the cheaper car.

Yup, there should be no bigger differentiator between the two than price, since both Toyota and Perodua SUVs share technical bits and bodies, and they don’t look worlds apart despite P2’s unique face. It’s safe to assume that “Perodua’s Rush” will be priced a fair bit lower than Toyota’s, which is pegged at RM93k to RM98k (est). The Honda BR-V‘s price range is from RM81k to RM88k.

There are two ways to view a possible RM70+k price tag for the Perodua SUV – a seemingly popular one is that you can “top up a few k” for a Honda (despite the fact that the Perodua is subjectively better looking and will come with more kit, including the upgraded Advanced Safety Assist 2.0), but how about the same car as the Rush, with almost identical kit, for RM20k less? January is just around the corner now. What do you think?

GALLERY: Perodua SUV teaser at KLIMS 2018

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush 1.5S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jeritan and tangisan kuat john on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:15 pm

OMG! The third one, someone save me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
    • No turbo no buy. Next

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • Isaytalksaja on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:02 pm

In filipin fuel consumption review, city drive is at 7.3 km/l, tat r high high dude. They mentioned tat u need to be extremely light footer the can get above 10 km/l. So let see how well p2 will tuned this engine to be fuel saver.

• same as new honda hrv,toyota rush and mitsubishi xpander all 1.5cc with no turbo.. soo what the difference.. hahaha.. you proton user i know..

• Danny Lim on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 147
    • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:52 pm

Yep. After Nautica and Alza, this will be 3rd failure for Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
      • Perodua Puchong Salesman on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Guys I heard forty thousands people already cancelled booking for Myvi and thousands people already cancelled booking for Perodua Terios. As well as, most of the people send WhatsApp and says that more thousands people will cancelled booking for Perodua Terios tomorrow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 7
        • EDITOR on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:44 pm

What you heard is true. Perodua sales is so bad that they just relocated one of their most visible showrooms (Midvalley) to somewhere remote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Benzs on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 156
          • Darren on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Hmm…. Try looking in the mirror and repeat what you just wrote.

You don’t seem to comprehend the ironic situation you are in.

• War spectator on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Waiting for bashers to comment

• John Minum Teh 8X Lingerie on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Everyone will surely cancelled booking for Perodua Terios as everyone are expected to book X70 or Rush

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
      • Chong Lin Yee on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:58 pm

Ok Already cancelled booking for Perodua Terios. Thank you.

• john selesai on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:18 pm

Space, Safety, Efficiency! 3 major factors to eliminate the X70 from the market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
    • Safety First on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:47 pm

If emergency braking is still limited to 30kmh, they can just take it out. Aku Emergency Brake is faster response than 30kmh. I rather go for X70 with full ADAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Filipinos and Indonesians (the Rush main markets) been flocking to buy the Mitsu Xpander, with 4 months waiting time in some areas. Malaysians are not buying the Rush too. With no one wanting to buy it, Toyota made a wise decision to dump stocks into Malaysia under the Perodua badge. Once again, Malaysians will be buying up old stocks that other people don’t want.

• YueSue on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:07 am

Toyota Rush outsells the Mitsubishi Expanser 3 to 1 in the Philippines. The same goes in Indonesia. Wtf are you talking about?

• AEB in the myvi & upcoming perodua SUV is SAMPAH AEB ever

• So happy to be first on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:19 pm

I am FIRST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
  • As usual, this will undercut the x70 price by a huge margin, and although they’re not the same class of vehicles, i bet this will definitely impact proton’s sales if its released around the same time.
    Pricing is a big factor for people who buy local brands and i feel like even though geely is doing pretty good job so far, most people aren’t going to be willing to drop 120k on a proton.

• Agreed. In spite of Proton’s best efforts to shore up their offerings against major competitors like Honda and Toyota, nobody is listening. They don’t care how much cheaper the X70 is compared to it’s targeted rival, the CR-V. They want to know how much cheaper it is compare to what Perodua is offering. Furthermore what is expected of a LOCAL manufacturer – unless the X70 or any Proton is on the global market, do not expect us to care that it’s globally competitively priced.

It’s all well and good to say that you’re benchmarking against giants like Honda, but clearly not by our expectations. Your rival is Perodua, which you have yet to beat on your own turf, at your own game. Stop wasting efforts trying to convince us that you have a better X-Trail. Prove that you can do a better Myvi/Axia/Alza/etc. Because in spite of how loudly you’re protesting, the sales do not show.

I like the effort by the Proton die-hards on here, or perhaps just contrary trolls. But nevertheless, it’s nothing I haven’t heard many times before (Iriz/Perdana/Saga/Persona/etc). Unless the CKD variants of X70 is marked close to Perodua’s offering (at least more than RM10k below the RM100k mark), I don’t see this as being Proton’s salvation. If anything, it could possibly test Geely’s perseverance on keeping the marquee.

• The Rush is not selling well in Indonesia and Philippines, its main markets. The people there been flocking to buy Mitsu Xpander, with 4 months waiting time in some areas. Toyota made the wise decision to dump unwanted stocks into Malaysia under the Perodua badge. Despite selling at 20k cheaper with P2 badge, Toyota is still making big profits because the Avanza chassis is already more than 10 years old.

• Copy Paste on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Someone said tease here, tease there, tease everywhere….

• tkhengong on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:39 pm

In this day of internet, why Perodua waste good money to put out teaser ads? I believe most car buyers have seen the SUV in magazines, watched YouTube videos of it. They should just launch it and capture potential buyers who are considering X70.

• kiddd on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:50 pm

even both perodua and proton not in a same segment suv..
    im sure this will become top choice because people will choose more seat, less cc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Iriz vs Axia, enough said. Supposed Myvi killer, got killed by Myvi’s sister…. You Proton die-hards can bleat about it selling well as much as you want. And it did sell pretty well. But as good as Axia? Did it beat Myvi like it was supposed too?

• You mean like how Exora killed both Nautica and Alza?

• Who r you bs-ing? Alza?! Killed?! I’ll concede to Nautica – which was a different segment therefore died without competition – but Alza stood strong as the best selling local MPV. Don’t lie to yourself, it doesn’t aid your cause and is just sad.

• Only to bring passangers. Not for offroading because of uncapable with myvi engine. Sure that car asyik menjerit because always high rpm to accelerate it.

• guan yin ma on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:51 pm

4 speed auto Rear wheel drive with spring suspension. 100km/h @ 3400 rpm. Well done perodua. The BRV can comfortablely cruise at 100km/h @ 2000 rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Rushterrios on Dec 14, 2018 at 12:54 pm

So 1st batch will be original toyota rush with p2 logo? 2nd batch the rebadge all?

• Zacko on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Just release all the pics n open for booking asap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • I would say many ppl dunno what is 136Nm can do for 7 seaters SUV.

• Stupid Malaysians will book Perodua on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:54 pm

No, surely it is expected higher majority people will cancel booking for Perodua Terios as higher smart majority people will book Toyota Rush or Proton X70. Only fool people will buy Perodua because Perodua Customer Service Satisafaction Index is very poor as compare to Honda, Proton, Toyota and others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • komarad on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Sturdy macho SUV combined practicality MPV.

• benzs on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Easy for Perodua to intro SUV based on Rush. Perodua install Rush in their factory and they just change logo. That’s all. The rest is 99.9% same. At least Perodua change its front and back design while interior as well. I salute Perodua Myvi due to 90% design and build by P2, just engine and gearbox while other related chipset is under T and D brand. If P2 could change overall design for this SUV and placed it under 70k while intro price at 58K. Sure will win market. Anyway, now we just sit back see its pricing. X70 price is very exp for Malaysian people and its cheap among all SUV in Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk Donkey Brain on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:04 pm

No way, Proton X70 or Toyota Rush will surely win the market than Perodua Terios

• Stupid Malaysians will buy Perodua on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Yup true, next thing no one ever press FB Likes on Perodua SUV because thousands people will cancelled New Perodua SUV while forty thousands people will cancelled for Myvi

• Ultimate Rugal on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Some people might say that this car is 100 times better than the X70 because of its excellentbuilt quality, excellent fuel consumption and powerful engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:40 pm

We all know it is a rebadge Toyota Rush. What is the point of a teaser? Don’t waste time and launch it already la!

• Gabba gabba on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:42 pm

First thing that came to my mind when i look at the design : “Why does it look like Avanza on steroid?”. Then found out that it is build on the same Avanza platform. No wonder look like that one.

• benzs on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Toyota and Perodua are siblings. Wonder why they allowed P2 to release AkA Rush exactly same model. It will hurt mostly towards Toyota. For sure sales of Rush will be killed. Next Bezza will be replicate Vios, Myvi will follow Yaris, Axia will copy Aygo. First 4×4 from P2 will copy Hilux Revo and so on. Lets see how our Malaysian automotive will evolve. Maybe in future all Toyota stocks exchange will be bought by P2. No more Toyota in Malaysia, its called Perodua(Atoyot)

• myvifan on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:07 pm

With powerful Dual VVTi engine, it can smoke CRV turbo gao gao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:11 pm

A sane person would just buy this car over Geely X70. The reason being, Toyota/Daihatsu engines are sold in 200 over countries in the world. They are all highly respected in FIRST WORLD countries

Geely on the other hand can only sell 95% of their cars in China. This is because nearly all FIRST WORLD countries have rejected Geely cars. Now Geely is trying to market in 3rd world countries like Bangladesh, Malaysia, Burma, Laos etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Why even buying Nautica?

2018 Nautica (new SUV) RM86k

Two years later you want to sell

2020 Nautica (new SUV) RM50k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

• Freddy on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Luckily sane persons prefers Proton X70.

• Funny that you mentioned the number ‘200.’ That’s because P2 only made 200 Nauticas in its entire production run. I recalled the same hoo-haa when the Nautica was launched with this Terios now. “The SUV that will continue the Kembara’s legacy” seems hilarious in hindsight.
      If you value comfort and efficiency for a family car, never buy one with ladderframe chassis and small engine with 4AT. There’s a reason Avanza and Rush only sells in 3rd world countries (not 200 countries as claimed by the troll).

• The interior design very low class, SUV with 136Nm cost 70k – 90k is too expensive.
    Filipino feedback Rush FC urban 13.3L/100km, highway 7.7L/100km.

• Filipinos and Indonesians been flocking to buy the Mitsu Xpander, with waiting time of 4 months for some areas. The Rush has always “over promised and under delivered”.

• typical malaysian on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:19 pm

OMG! THIS IS PERFECT! TOO PERFECT THAT THE SMELL OF PLASTICS REEKED OUT OF THE PHOTOS!! DEFINITELY A MUST BUY! EVEN IF THE STANDARDS ARE STILL THE SAME AND THE PRICE IS INCREASING, IT’S OKAY SINCE IT IS “DURABLE, RELIABLE AND HIGH RESALE VALUE”!!! THE TYPICAL IS THE WAY TO GO MOST MALAYSIAN!! SUB-PAR IS LIFE, SUB-PAR IS THE BEST!! ONLY PERODUA REBADGE IS THE BEST!! ONLY PERODUA CAN CHANGE SOME BITS AND CALL IT OWN DESIGN!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • newme on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Rebadge? hahah.. .It wasn’t Perodua that look down on rebadging. Proton went around harping that they do not rebadge car anymore. Skrang makan ludah sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • typical malaysian on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:22 pm

EXCUSE ME, PROTON IS NOWHERE NEAR THIS LEVEL OF PERFECTION!!! PERODUA IS THE BRAND OF THE GODS! EVEN AVENGERS WILL FEATURE THE NEW PERODUA SUV ALONG SIDE THE AUDI E-TRON!! SO SHOW SOME RESPECT TOWARDS THE TYPICAL MALAYSIAN GODLY BRAND!! DAMN I MUST SAVE MONEY NOW TO GET THIS SUB-PAR GODLY CREATION!

• Ghani on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Proton only harp on those who rebadge outdated junks with safety features removed. So unfair to the customer who bought their cars. This unlike Proton which does responsible rebadging, keeping all the safety features intact and even improving on them. Skarang basher makan ludah sendiri.

• I like P2 the company and am sure the new SUV is worth getting over the Rush and ugly BR-V. But the pricing is complicated issue when coupled with the interest rate for national cars, where most buyers would choose to buy with a regular bank loan.

If at RM20k less than the Rush but paired with a higher interest rate, what is the difference in monthly installment amount? This is something buyers will scrutinize before making a decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Pyraxle on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Where are the people who said all the dollars made from Proton x70 go back to China? How about this rebadge Rush then? Why didn’t you say all the money go back to Japan then? This shows that your logic thinking are like a 15 year old school boy and based on bashing P1 only. Oh wait, it’s okay if go back to Japan, at least not China. Right P1 bashers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 55
  • azrai on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:44 pm

P2 take out the quite aggresive X butt and replace it with a more conventional design. it look like an old Estima design then. Safe and boring design.

• What the name will be? Perodua Kejar?

• Perodua Jerit. Low cc engine with 7 passengers. Sure always drive in high rpm.

• Perodua owner on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Syok sendiri.. Apa pon xboleh..

• Korean Fan on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:37 pm

Can Produa cut the crap of teaser. Everybody already knows that it is a Rush or Terios. It is like marrying your office collegue, but everyday give your other office collegue a teaser of who your wife will be. Come on la.

• Gobi Nathan on Dec 16, 2018 at 11:01 am

The new SUV should be in the range of RM55,000.00 – RM65,000.00 with some latest local content like voice activation and many other electronics system.
    This is to spearhead the technology based industry in automobile & this will augur well with Malaysians.
    And this will also create a strong long term footing for perodua.
    Quality , technology and pricing should be the piriority.
    tqvm

• Since this model is launched later than X70, it will be the same specs as X70 or higher? And 40K – 50K cheaper, right?

• donovan on Dec 18, 2018 at 10:42 am

I’m sure perodua realised malaysian think perodua as cheap toyota/daihatsu.. but the brand image not strong as toyot/daihatsu.. so I expect price diffrent betwen this and rush is 13k

• Dimadimana on Dec 18, 2018 at 4:09 pm

sayangnya enjin tak elevated…1.5 petrol jerr

• roykage on Dec 27, 2018 at 3:47 pm

larat ke 1.5 petrol naik bukit bawak 7 orang nih? letak la turbo P2 oiiii

• xallehrazax on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:44 pm

P2 patut letak turbo diesel…baru gagah nak naik bukit….mcm suv KIA tuh

• Dimadimana on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:46 pm

sayangnya enjin tak elevated…1.5 petrol jerrr hmm