Mercedes-AMG A45 ‘S’ version to get up to 421 PS?

With the latest W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class currently topped by the AMG A 35 variant, there’s room for an even more powerful version in the A 45, with 381 PS on tap from the current model. The next A 45 will up the stakes to 387 PS, according to details found on the website of a German insurance company HUK24, though even more will be on offer from the German automaker’s most compact model.

Enter the A 45 S, with 421 PS listed on the page. This will go alongside the ‘base A 45’, and Mercedes-AMG chief executive Tobias Moers had previously stated that the forthcoming A 45 will use an eight-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission. Currently, the A 45 does 0-100 km/h in 4.2 seconds and a top speed of 250 km/h, which of course is electronically limited. The next-generation car will surely improve on its sprint time, likely with a raised top speed as well.

The A 45 and A 45 S may also get a ‘drift mode’ as depicted below, one which suggests a driveline that is capable of much more rearward bias than before. Visually, the colourfully-camouflaged car appears to wear a wing identical to that on the A 35, though with a Panamericana grille in front and a set of four circular exhaust outlets. Who’s excited for the new A 45?

GALLERY: New Mercedes-AMG A 45 goes drifting

GALLERY: New Mercedes-AMG A 45 spyshots

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Few days ago an auntie drove an A200, cut into my lane as we enter into a corner. I press my car honk and she showed me her middle finger… Badge snob auntie driving a RM230k torsion beam..

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 03, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Mercedes is really a pioneer in technology. They can squeeze so much of bhp and torque from just a small engine.

I feel sorry for our regular troll who says Proton X70 uses Mercedes and AMG technology because he says since Geely owns 10% of Mercedes AG, all Proton cars got AMG technology

Hello friend, if this is true, nobody will buy Mercedes anymore lah.

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 03, 2019 at 5:36 pm

I like this car. It has so much of power!

• Can’t wait for the car arrive Malaysia. When you guys estimate it will be put for order in Malaysia?