Company that will lead the new national car project expected to be named on January 28 – report

The company that will lead the new national car project (NNCP) is expected to be announced at the national development council (MPM) meeting on January 28. The meeting, which will be chaired by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, is also expected to list the selection of local vendors that will support the project’s production operations, Berita Harian reports.

“During the meeting, the private companies that will spearhead the production of the new national car is expected to be announced by the chairman (Dr Mahathir),” Malaysian industry-government group for high technology (MIGHT) CEO Datuk Dr Mohd Yusoff Sulaiman told the publication.

He said that the production of the new national car would not necessarily involve the construction of a new plant, but will maximise existing facilities, expertise and technology from the selected companies. He added that more than 10 private companies have submitted proposals for the project.

Mohd Yusoff said that the concept of production by mobilising local energy and expertise is parallel to MPM’s goal of empowering the entire ecosystem, including vendors and human resource development. Hence, he said, the third national car project could ‘live’ without funds from the government, as the leading companies would create a consortium with other private investors and could reduce business risks.

“Among the investors who expressed interest in the production of the NNCP is Sime Darby Auto Engineering (SDAE). Also expressing interest is SilTerra Malaysia, based in Kulim. The company has expertise in microchip production, so we try to maximize existing capacity,” he said.

“The NNCP will widen the network of automotive systems, through connectivity with development information. The futuristic technology and design of this vehicle will be a significant difference over existing models,” he said.

Commenting on the likely choice of a hybrid model, Mohd Yusoff said that it was in line with the projected maintenance and fuel cost forecasts by 2025, by which time there will be no difference between internal combustion engine (ICE) and hybrid vehicles. It was previously reported that the NNCP will also incorporate semi-autonomous functionality in the expected model.

He said with the expected reduction in the prices of battery and hybrid components in the next six years, local automotive companies should proactively move towards development in those areas. “Hence, it is not just about the production of cars but on the development of the overall ecosystem and relevant sectors,” he said.

It was reported last week that Malaysia plans to start the manufacture of 18650 battery cells by 2020, which will make it the first country in ASEAN to produce lithium-ion batteries for automotive applications.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• john January 28 Nangis on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Nuuuu!!!!!! The end of my Proton is here!!! Habisla me!!!

• newme on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:16 pm

I think “San Miguel Corporation” will win the project.

• 1Motoring Development Board , conlanfirm

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Pls make sure the company is run by someone like Li Chunrong.

Li Chunrong in 6 months found out what was the cause Proton going bankrupt. He identified that the suppliers and vendors were overcharging Proton big time.

This is something local CEOs could not identify in 20 years also.

So moral of the story, get a foreign CEO like Li Chunrong to run the company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • redpilled on Jan 22, 2019 at 4:25 pm

no dumb ass. the suppliers and vendors were protected by Daddy-kasi kutty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Yes, bro. Lets call this company ‘dumb SSSS’ then can put all them cronies, basher, and PH troopers together. Lolz!

• newme on Jan 22, 2019 at 4:35 pm

It’s not the vendors that cause Proton’s downfall. It’s the incompetency of it’s own half pass six people. The vendors also supply to other makers. And they are making fine.
        Maybe there are some truth that price for Proton is higher and blame it to the low volume of Proton cars. Anyone with the right mind will know the more you buy, the cheaper it gets.
        Takkan macam ni pun nak kena ajar?

• Yb tired on Jan 22, 2019 at 8:05 pm

Have you not tired of copying and pasting the same thing again and again? Are you paid to do this?

• JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 3:55 pm

Regular readers here knows he is PH paid cybertrooper with many aliases.

• Suararakyat on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:27 pm

Tun, in PH manifesto you didn’t talk about 3rd national car, you promise abolish toll and fuel price will down to RM1.50, I as a rakyat don’t like you anymore, your cheating us and keep give excuses on what should you do, but you haven’t. PH will definitely only 1 session.

• Crony on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:32 pm

The name will be C-R-0-N-Y 2.0.
    He he he he he he he he he he he

• Kerjasama Otomotif Nasional , KERONI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • I booked Perotiga alredi. So if they use, must pay me royalty. Lolz!

• orang gunung patah belakang on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:44 pm

let’s bet it will be Mimos

• Abgbeng on Jan 22, 2019 at 1:06 pm

He he he

• Fraud

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:30 pm

i promoting my nasional chapati soon….

• No turbo, no Hybrid or no EV, I will buy Perodua.. Sorry to Proton & NNCP..

• John is otak batu on Jan 22, 2019 at 4:35 pm

There are a lot of hybrid car choices on market, no difference. Unless it is fully electric hybrid.Then rakyat will consider buying

• Ben Yap on Jan 22, 2019 at 5:46 pm

surely another bumiputera GLC company.

• A lifetime ago, Silterra, an early Khazanah venture, made a chip and named it ‘MM’, an acronym of.. you guessed it, the Prime Minister no 4. Not many years thereafter, Silterra still struggled and depended on more public money. Of course, back then, everything was done hush-hush and all the negative results went under the carpet.

Today, MIGHT CEO mentioned about this new car venture, and Silterra’s name crops up again.

I leave the rest of you to make conclusion about the outcome of this Perotiga project.

All I can say is…. Mahathir and all his vanity projects…

• Ahmad jalil lukman on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:29 pm

Another crony company run by accountants or lawyers will be named to gather rest of the pre planned cronies to do this over 20 years abd spend billions for nothing

• Ahmadjr on Jan 22, 2019 at 8:15 pm

Sebelum nak tutup mata anak2 Kawan2 punya rezeki kena kasi kaw2 dulu

• Get ready the price hike for our car if the project materialised

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Wat a bunch of jokers

• Benard on Jan 29, 2019 at 8:45 am

Today already 29 january 2019 where is the announcement?