Perodua Aruz vs Honda BR-V: we compare the service costs of both 7-seat SUVs over five years/100,000 km

Perodua launched the Aruz just a month ago, with two variants – 1.5X (RM72,900) and 1.5 Advance (RM77,900) – being offered for the seven-seat SUV. The proverbial question on the minds of most people is, “how much does it cost to run the Aruz?” We’re here to answer that question, and as a comparison, we’ll compare the maintenance costs of the Aruz against another popular budget seven-seater, the Honda BR-V.

Before we proceed further, it should be noted that the BR-V’s price tag starts at RM80,989 for the base E variant, while the top-spec V goes for RM87,701 (retail prices mentioned here are on-the-road without insurance). The price gap between both models is between RM8,000 to RM9,800, and while both come with a five-year warranty, only the BR-V gets unlimited mileage (150,000 km for the Aruz).

Based on data gathered from both carmakers’ websites, the service costs associated with each model is the same regardless of variant choice. Over a five-year period, we discovered that the Aruz is just over RM1,000 more expensive to run compared to the BR-V – RM4,044.59 against RM3,014.12.

Combing through the details, the Aruz has a higher (overall) running cost compared to the BR-V because of a few noteworthy items. These include more frequent brake fluid refills (every 20,000 km compared to every 60,000 km for the BR-V) and air filter replacements (every 20,000 km compared to every 30,000 km for the BR-V).

Furthermore, Perodua recommends carrying out tyre alignment, balancing and rotation every 20,000 km at a cost of RM60 each time (totals up to RM300 over 100,000 km), which isn’t listed in the BR-V’s maintenance schedule. The Aruz, being a rear-wheel drive car, requires rear differential oil on top of the usual automatic transmission fluid

However, the lubricants required for both the Aruz’s four-speed automatic transmission and rear differential, inclusive of gaskets, is still cheaper than the maintenance required for the BR-V’s CVT – service intervals at 40,000 km for both.

Perodua Aruz service costs (left), Honda BR-V service costs (right); Click to enlarge

Other observations include more frequent spark plug changes for the Aruz (every 50,000 km) compared to the BR-V’s iridium spark plug replacement at 100,000 km. Coolant top-ups are also required for the Aruz every 40,000 km, while it is only upon inspection for the BR-V across 100,000 km.

Items not listed are tyres, and with 17-inch (215/60 tyres) ones on the Aruz, replacing rubbers on the Perodua is likely more costly compared to the BR-V, which comes only with 16-inch alloys (195/60 tyres).

Keep in mind that these figures are based on what is listed on manufacturers’ websites at the time of writing, and that actual prices may vary. Furthermore, these prices are subject to change, especially as Honda is currently offering a 15% discount on parts. Our previous comparison of service costs involved the Proton X70 and Honda CR-V, which you can check out here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Abesla on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:05 pm

Abesla Aruz! Servicing even more expensive than Japanese branded BRV. Who will want to buy this once they know how much it will cost to service this junk car! Abesla Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 46
    • Oh Wai Oh Wai Oh Wai on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:13 pm

This is why Perodua sales is top. 100,000 2018 Myvi already sold since November

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
      • ohman on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:46 pm

Aruz’s 6 Airbag vs BRV 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
        • Abesla Ben Yap on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Toyota Rush, Perodua Aruz, Proton X70 >>>>>>>>> Hongdang BRV

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:54 pm

Both of them are also a game changer, habisla X70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Japanese quality of BRV vs local Malaysian made quality of Aruz, some have proclaimed. In that case, pass me the BRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Engineer on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:38 pm

Aruz safety standards are a suspect as they only did ASEAN NCAP testing with a G variant that doesn’t exist. How relevant is this results to the X and Advance variants sold, nobody knows. Highly likely the variants sold would fare poorly in terms of crashworthiness versus the tested G variant.

• yawnz on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Yawnz. People buy P2 because it’s cheap not because it’s good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
        • Lowyat k/tard User on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:33 pm

in the end, p2 is still making big profits..

• Ivory trade also makes big profits, but are both ethical? One kill elephants, the other kills people.

• Robert Ong on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:14 pm

Better buy Japanese quality engine than some China junk car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 50
      • Brian on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:00 pm

If Japanese quality like Takata, then I’d rather take my chances with some China junk car. At least I get a car and not just an engine that might explode and kill me.

• Fyi its using a toyota engine For Aruz you dumb shit. Give this clown a lesson Paul Tan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Bye Bye Cybertrooper John on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:17 pm

Perodua sales always 5X Proton sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
      • Or you high on meth? We are discussing about the running costs of Aruz and BRV here.

• Yup. Based on basher logic, 90% of Anuz customers will cancel their booking and go for BRV instead. Can see their resident salesman with the many dupes so butthurted alredi. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • YB Albert on Feb 20, 2019 at 8:36 am

After 5th year,usually Hondas cost more to maintain.Toyota n Daihatsu based cars last longer.

• pxp154 on Feb 21, 2019 at 12:21 am

Agree, P2 parts & service cheaper from papan-workshops…

easier to get in our market 5-10years down the line…

• Dun worry those bought Aruz dunno about that, they ignore to see anytining. Some more X70 100k mileage also cost RM5k below.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:07 pm

Perodua quality is top. Everybody wants Aruz. They trust in Toyota engines

Look at Myvi. New Myvi launched in Mid November 2018. In less than 3 months Perodua sold 110,000 units.

In the same period, Proton sold only 359 Iriz.

110,000 vs 359!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 22
    • Copy Paste on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:24 pm

Copy paste: “That’s because Perodua only knows how to tumpang Toyota glamour. They have nothing to stand on their own feet.”

Buying a fake Toyota is still buying a fake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
      • Bro, Is a copy of Daithasu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Safety First on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:44 pm

If they had copied Daihatsu with 6 airbags, VSC & Stability Control plus full driver assistance kits, then I would commend them on doing a good job. Right now the only Daihatsu I see is the body shell. Everything else was omitted and removed. This is practically a scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Cooldown on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Basically daihatsu terios is a cheaper version and lower spec version of toyota rush. And p2 is actually daihatsu product in Mesia. Daihatsu sirion in Indonesia is exactly base on p2 myvi and assemble in Mesia and export to Indonesia as daihatsu sirion. So p2 aruz is actually terios. U can compare terios spec eith rush spec in Indonesia, basically rush have better spec and much expensive.

• EDITOR on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:23 pm

[https://paultan.org/2019/01/08/geely-autos-2018-sales-up-20-3-breach-1-5m-mark/]

1.5 million in 2018. I agree, sales number never lie. Which makes Perodua a very poor brand in comparison.

• U should go read the spec offered on Aruz… Obviously better spec than Brv….+4 airbags, + Led head lights, + led rear light… Only DRL removed, lack of two rear speakers ( Indonesia got 8 speakers while Malaysia got 6 speakers only), blind spot sensors removed, 360 camera removed… I have one Aruz already n happy with it…

• Saysaysaja on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Bro people dont care ur statement, sales number never lie. People still go for ur so called “fake toyota” product here. Fake fake, still the best choice for people. At least not fake as made in ch1na junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • seancorr (Member) on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:56 pm

If I were to choose who to work for I’d work for the one who sells the most. Hey at the end of the day it pays the bills.

• Celup King on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Would you still choose a brand that knowingly sells unsafe cars to the masses? Can you sleep at night, knowing some Perodua owners and passengers might die because of the unsafe cars they bought?

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:09 pm

P2 and Honda sales in Malaysia melambung.

But Proton X70 only sold 2700 units.

Cry cry cry cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
    • Einstein on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:32 pm

Don’t cry for me, Perodua
      The truth is, your Aruz sales have been abysmal
      All through hype of marketing, and all those mad trolling
      The sales still floundering
      Don’t keep crying
      – Aruz version (Don’t Cry for Me, Perodua)

• Hahahah since when this article about proton? X70 is different beast altogether. Die die want to bash P1.

• 17-inch tyres, which Perodua owners can afford for this?! Most of them are low income earners expecting Perodua to be easy on the wallet but this has blown that whole myth apart.

Peroduas are no longer cheap to own or maintain and use and yet we still see their sales staff kept shouting that it’s cheap. This is fake advertising! We should have a law against this unethical brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
    • newme on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Then? You prefer SUV with 15 inch tyre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Aura89 on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:32 pm

BR-V, which comes only with 16-inch alloys is much cheaper to own. How can a Perodua be more expensive than a Japanese brand? They are still our national car right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Bro, u want cheap can go for China or Thailand branded tyres…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • Oh really? I would gladly go for China tyres but they aren’t sold here, and Thai tyres never had traction in Malaysian market due to high importation prices. So no matter how you turn, 17 inchers are still way above the price point for the lower income earners, which is the target market for Perodua. Perhaps it was because of these reason they aren’t selling as well as some above claimed (likely Perodua salesmen).

• Optimus on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:40 pm

I want to buy a Malaysian national car with components and parts made in Malaysia. If I wanted to buy a Malaysian national car with components and parts made in China, I would have gone for Proton X70, the better car.

• Bro, here “Tyre Save” shop got sell various range of tyre (should be China tyres) from 12″-18/19″ at affordable price from RM 100/pc to RM 300/500pc..

• Celup King on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:21 pm

You are still looking at the upper range whereby 17inch tires would be priced at RM 300 upwards per piece. That is a minimum expenditure of RM 1200. How is this affordable to the usual Perodua owners?

• Er, the original Avanza came with 14 inches…

• Avanza is not even a SUV…

• Neither is this jacked-up body of an Avanza renamed as Rush, which got rebadged as Aruz.

• You think the Aruz and BRV are SUV? LOL.

• KongBoyong on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:43 pm

If theres no p2 owner can afford 17inch tyres, u wouldnt see axias, myvis and alza owners who did upgrade from 16-18inch wheels on it. Bolehland mahhh…apa yg tara boleh?

• I have a honda and it is a worthless piece of garbage sucking my money with frequent replacement of wear and tear parts like the battery which doesn’t last even 12 months, tyres which last about 50,000km and front/rear brake pads which feel like they are made of wood. I wish I bought a myvi instead, but then again it doesn’t really perform on the highway at speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 31
  • kanazai2001 on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:39 pm

obvious reason Y to choose brv if p2 is not offering MT…

• Ollie on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:40 pm

So RM8,000 over a 7 year loan is extra RM100 a month. Do you really want a Pelotua over a Honda? And maintenance is higher. A no brainer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • And the gap could be narrower or even -ve for interest rate for P2 could be significantly higher.

• January got 1025 no brainer

• Tun Pirate King on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:24 pm

Nowadays got plenty of Malaysian nobrainers. Case in point, those who voted for The Return of Tun Pirate King.

• Sammy Loo on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:45 pm

Definitely a no brainer when you can get a safer car with lower price. Why choose to pay more for lesser safety features? It makes no sense at all putting all your family members at higher risk by paying more.

• benzs on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:04 pm

Local vs import. Local more exp… What a day!!!

• azrai on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Compare the interest rate also.P2 always higher than H.

• National car priced are much lower than the Japs or Korean but will they slaughter you when comes to its after sales & service be it Perodua or Proton.

• newme on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:29 pm

They don’t manufacture tyres and does not control its pricing.

• Ben Yap on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:06 pm

try adding in depreciation value and the Aruz will make you lost even more money. after 7 years, it will worth only a miserable RM20K while the BRV still comfortably sits at RM35K onwards.

• R I sure? With Halogen headlight, bulb type rear lamp n 2 airbags…. The looks of Brv also not cup of tea for some ppl…..

• Safety First on Feb 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Many Myvi Advance owners complained they can’t see during rain due to their LED headlamps unable to shine through the rain. That’s yet another dangerous “feature” when buying a Perodua.

• Dong gor on Feb 19, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Go got Honda brv anytime.. 4 speed, really?

• Kaki Kereta on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:19 pm

Speaking of tires, Aruz 17 is cheaper than BRV 16 because not many brands carry BRV size therefore more costly. Second, the spark plugs in BRV which is Iridium cost 2 times the change of plugs in Aruz. Furthermore, at 100,000km, BRV gaskets wi start leaking and Aruz gaskets wont need to change until 200,000km. I also assume BRV is using CamBelts which need to change every 60,000km while Aruz is using Timing Chain while does not require change until 300,000km. Also the probability of the CVT gearbox in BRV going to breakdown at 100,000km is higher compare to Aruz 4 speed conventional Auto box which can go on to 300,000km if follow the servicing properly in the long term, Aruz will outlast BRV further if the owner service at SC and dont gatal2 service outside.

• From Lazada:
      PS4 16 inch – RM 358
      PS4 17 inch – RM 490

Per tyre, 17 inch is more expensive by RM 132. Try again with that statement bro.

• 215 tyres on Aruz gonna cost more petrol too

• Ibnu bakrin on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:45 pm

Bro, you just mentioned Pricing and Maintenance cost. How about Mileage per liter? This also need to be considered.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:15 pm

Moot point really.

Would one still buy the more expensive car with 2 airbags and no active safety gear?

A moment of inattention in the brv would cost you a lot more than 1000.

• mangkuk on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:41 pm

what do you mean no active safety gear? all br-v spec have vehicle stability assist (VSA), equivalent to VSC, which is an active safety feature, not to mention ABS and EBD as standard.
      but yeah, br-v loose on the airbag count

• comparing a country mouse with a city mouse. both are mouse… Country and city won and lost some.. end of day, is what u prefer. Durability and comfort could be more H than P that’s all. if interest rates for P vs H is 3+ vs 2+ then… u decide which is more worthy.

• When u comparing it with descent Ah Beng Mechanic, both services by Perodua and Honda are over blown price..Got my spark plug for RM40++ while perodua RM220…

• P2 service cost is more transparent

• alan mak on Feb 20, 2019 at 8:33 am

in your present and past comments, you always state the higher cost difference in the bigger tyre. You ignore the face that bigger tyre LASTs longer . This is common knowledge…..either you have an agenda or ignorance.

• Where on earth did you find that bigger tyres lasts longer? The durability of tyres is dependent on tyre compound and thread depths. The harder the rubber compound, the longer it last, the deeper the grooving, the longer it last. There is no difference between a 15 inch tyre done 50,000km and a 17 inch tyre done 50,000km. Both needs to be replaced in which the price difference comes into place. The more common knowledge is that larger tyres cost more, at least this is more commonly known than what you wrote.

• Yep true, doesn’t depend on size. It’s the type of material/ compound used. The more durable the compound, the longer it last. Dowside is you sacrifice comfort for durability, to a certain extent of course. OP, perhaps you may want to consider 22″ wheels? You probably don’t have to change tires for the next 20 years

• Please don’t ever forget the resale price or the value of the car after 5 years. Unless you really want to used for decades or plan to give it to your daughter or son!

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 20, 2019 at 9:52 am

It is just another piece of information for final decision. Customer decides in-the-end based on information.

• Zolkaplie on Feb 20, 2019 at 10:07 am

2airbags only safety us Cheap in Honda?

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 20, 2019 at 10:33 am

Honda servicing pricing is never the same when it comes to actual servicing cost. You should tack on another extra 50% to the estimates servicing price. And it also doesn’t include the tyre balancing/alignment as mentioned

• Speaking from from experience who own both, a Perodua and Honda. There isn’t much difference in servicing cost. Oil prices are more or less similar with any brand, the premium you pay is for the class of vehicle and badge. P2 tend to change parts more regularly, which increases the servicing cost. On the bright side, you treat it as preventive maintenance. You may think the parts are made cheaply but honestly the parts are similar, probably came from the same supplier. If you don’t know, Honda parts don’t come from ‘Japan’ and they make their own parts. It’s likely to be manufactured here or China with Honda’s quality requirements. The Aruz uses a good engine paired with a reliable gearbox (Aisin) which is different from the myvi’s. Which is a big win for me. However, I prefer Honda’s sporty handling and steering precision. The issue is that the 2 cares we’re comparing are literally the least sportiest vehicles in the market. Let’s not go into looks, the BRV is probably one of the ugliest cars I have ever seen. Even our local Alza looks better. Aruz isn’t all that pretty either but at least it looks like a proper car. Of course they will be people who would prefer the BRZ design over the Aruz, a small minority. Ultimately the choice of purchasing a car is always the badge. Overall all, I prefer Honda over P2 in general. Not because of brand nor price but the way it feels as a driver and passenger. BRV isn’t a strong contender over the Aruz. IMO, Aruz takes the cake! Put it up with his twin Toyota rush. It’s only fair from there.

• Lawson jo on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:57 pm

Bezza, hated it, alza screw it, myvi same backseat at bezza so fark it, Aruz feel like alza so suck it, buy ertiga wkwkwkwkw

• Salam56 on Feb 21, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Can you please do the same comparison with Toyota rush?

• Looks and accessories difference only.. is the same thing manufacturer in same production plant…