Proton X70 vs Honda CR-V: service costs over 5 years

It’s safe to say that Proton’s first ever SUV, the X70, is the talk of the town – and one of the questions on everyone’s lips is how much does it cost to run. The car’s pricing, which ranges from RM99,800 to RM123,800, puts it right in the middle of the hotly-contested B- and C-segment SUV markets, so we thought we’d compare the maintenance cost of the X70 to that of the segment’s big hitter, the Honda CR-V.

Before we begin, do bear in mind that the X70 is much, much cheaper to buy in the first place, as the CR-V is priced from RM138,308 to RM163,191 – that’s a difference of around RM40,000 model-for-model. Both cars come with a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

We compared the price of each service interval for both cars in two-wheel drive form, with the CR-V being the 1.5 VTEC Turbo version. We calculated that, minus the cost of fuel and other consumables, the X70 would be just over RM1,000 more expensive to run over the course of five years compared to the Honda, at RM4,921.20 versus RM3,863.41. That’s not a huge difference, but the CR-V is cheaper, and here’s why.

First of all, the Proton requires five litres of engine oil for each change, rather than just four for the CR-V, and while its air and dust/pollen filters are significantly cheaper than the Honda’s, they also need changing more frequently. As such, even though the X70 has free labour for the first five intervals (Honda offers it for alternate services), only its 30,000 km service is cheaper.

The reverse is true for the transmission fluid – the CR-V’s CVT needs to be refilled every 40,000 km, but doing so costs a comparatively affordable RM141.50, whereas the X70 automatic gearbox hits you with a RM500.96 bill at 60,000 km. That’s also the interval for the Proton’s radiator coolant change, resulting in a rather painful sum total of RM1,269.66.

Proton X70 vs Honda CR-V: service costs over 5 years

The trend continues further down the line, as Honda utilises more expensive parts but delays the replacements of big ticket items for later on. The CR-V’s coolant refill (RM201.05), for example, doesn’t occur until the 200,000 km mark, while the use of iridium spark plugs (pretty pricey, at RM431.05) means that they only need changing at 100,000 km, rather than every 20,000 km as with the X70.

Running costs for the X70 are likely even more expensive when you consider that the Premium model runs on 19-inch wheels (17-inch for the Standard, 18-inch for the Executive), which would make tyre replacements much pricier than the CR-V on 18-inch rollers.

Of course, it should be noted that these are just cost estimates based on the manufacturers’ recommendations, and that actual prices may vary depending on usage. It also goes without saying that these prices are subject to change, especially as Honda is currently offering a 15% discount on parts.

Also of note is that the CR-V 1.5 VTEC Turbo’s engine oil changes are based on the condition of the oil, rather than mileage. We’ve taken the liberty of including the price of engine oil and oil filter for each service, but do bear in mind that these figures do not include labour charges for oil and filter changes.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:56 pm

Aiyo, the X70 already outdated abd replaced with new model FL in Tongsan, while we boasting own SUV the tongsan man laughing all the way to the bank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 82
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:28 pm

Is this car really for Malaysians? Proton was born in 1985 to give Malaysians cheap affordable cars. We are now shocked that
      1) Price of the car over RM100k
      2) Maintain the car cost mosre than Japs

According to Proton’s own statistics, 78% of their total sales come from Saga and Persona. The remaining bulk mostly comes from Government ordered Perdanas.

So, Proton buyers mainly are looking for RM50k and below.

At Rm100k, it is still beyond reach of most Proton buyers and fanboys. And the basic model is kosong. Minimum must get the RM110k model. Plus insurance etc, this is RM120k

Also bear in mind also that according to EPF’s own statistics, 76.3% of ALL its contributors earn RM1500 and below. Mostly RM1000 and below.

With this in mind, how can majority of Malaysians get loan to buy RM120k car?

Proton should charge cheaper for this X70 as Proton was born to give Malaysians affordable cars. How many Malaysians can really afford RM100k?

Proton should have fought for Malaysians to get us the X70 for RM80k and below. After all we supported Proton the last 30 years kaw kaw

Now Proton should repay every Malaysian with affordable cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 293 Thumb down 46
      • Don't Cry For Me John (Argentina) on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:34 pm

Geely is going to ketuk Malaysians maximum thinking this car is their Volvo.

Poor Malaysians. Trusted in China. Now already got cheated.

Malaysian car should be half the price to servis than foreign car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 23
        • I mean I agree on you about pricing.. But remember, the car competes with crv, xtrail, 3008,tiguan.. You’re full spec x70 cost 30k less than a full spec crv. It’s more powerful and more safety kit than the xtrail. And the stuff they throw as standard are not bad, you get continentals tires as standard, you don’t get that in a mercedes (hankook). As for service cost, you can’t cheap out on service, using cheap oils are a no for turbo charge engines. And the proton hve a bigger 1.8 engine compared to the Honda. Plus we know the Honda engines are not realible (fuel and oil mix in oilsome). At the end of the day, siapa lagi nak support proton kalau bukan rakyat Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 23
          • Damon Lee on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:00 pm

123k from 163k is 40k difference. 1k more compared to savings of 40k is nothing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
          • Boonhuat65 on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:04 pm

I work akauntan in construction Sdn Bhd company. Last week my CEO boss buy a brand new company SUV equip with Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), AEB, FCW, Lane Departure Warning , BLIS and Intelligent High Beam Control. That SUV a new XC60 price around Rm360K+

Yesterday i went to proton showroom, looking the x70. The top spec same like the Xc60 but only Rm124k summore got sunroof. I so impress so i very quick to buy replace my old 1998 proton wira hihih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 28
          • Chock on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:45 pm

The last time we heard comparison like this was when the suprima S was compared to Ford Focus and VW Golf. I think Zero buyers of Ford focus and VW Golf even bothered to look at the Suprima S!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • Projohn Anthem (Argentina) on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:42 pm

Don’t cry for me, Proton HOLDINGS
            The truth is, I never left you
            All through the bashers, my mad existence
            I kept my promise
            To defend Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • say no to tow truck on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Later Golf and Focus buyers cried here and condemned those problematic gearboxes, late to get and expensive parts and service

• This calculation is not really accurate because oil engine change for CRV may come sooner at 8,000km not 10,000km as above. (Pls refer honda website)

The time you go to SC may not same between oil changing and normal service and that will add labour cost and end up more than P1 overall service cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
          • hondasan on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:54 pm

The thing pipu dun know is that Honda oil engine indicator lamp will remind owner to go sc for service sooner if used most in traffic jams. I won’t wait until 8000km.

Read the table carefully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Not National Proton on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:38 pm

China vs Japan ar?

• Perodua SUV the WInner! on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Better buy Perodua new SUV. Perodua has always been cheaper to keep than any Proton.

Now with this news…..oh my! I don’t know what to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 62
        • Husni on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:50 pm

You will die cheap in Perodua too, because everything is really cheap inside Perodua, even your life, at least Proton consider safety more that Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
        • tin milo on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Comparing P2 chassis with P1 is like comparing tin Milo with solid steel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • ABTguy (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:00 pm

I do agree that the X70 is overprice but I don’t think there is a possibility to price the car at 80k. Still those “existing” Proton will not be able to afford it.

Anyway, if they cannot afford it, there are still Saga / Persona to choose from. Hard facts, hard to swallow but if the Malaysian do not work harder or study harder to ensure brighter future, no one can help them. Don’t always count on Government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 11
        • binrui on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Wait for binrui , B segment SUV better than HRV CHR

• Why-tamoorthi on Dec 19, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Since when buying a car also got government aid to count on…dont be too emotional on comment

• Thank you Proton on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:03 pm

X70 in China only RM65k. After diskaun, can get RM60k…..here RM123k

Thank you Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 76
        • Thank you Honda, CRV in Japan only RM70k. After discount RM62k can get. Here RM163K.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 11
          • Tangisan John Kuat on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Honda is not a Malaysian car company. Proton is a nasional car company. Gomen always tell us to buy local cause cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 71
          • Honda is not a national car. Honda can not decide the price they want but proton is another story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Honda CRV in China is RM98K. After discount, RM88K can get. Still sales is very bad.
          Here in Malaysia Honda CRV is RM163K.
          Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 1
          • Kevin Wong on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:24 am

Bear in mind that non-national cars in Malaysia is heavily taxed and hence, the much higher prices. Proton is still enjoying much lower taxes as a national car and prices could have been lower.

• Tun manak on Dec 15, 2018 at 5:23 pm

It is because non-National cars are imposed with excise duty by the government to protect the national car. If there is no excise duty imposed on Honda cars, Proton would have died long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
          • Just be clear, the government will impose the same excise duty on local CKD cars. No matter whether it is a Local brand (Proton, Perodua), foreign brand (Honda, Nissan, BMW, etc). So there is no such thing as Foreign Brands pay Excise Duty and Local Brands don’t pat Excise Duty.

• It is not tipu.bcoz stupid gomen does’nt hesitate to reduce or abolish import tax and eksais tax.income tax lg.gst/sst lg.airport tax lg.quit rent lg.

• Tok Ayam Nyanyi Lagu on Dec 15, 2018 at 3:13 am

Malaysia’s car pricing is a little high for us because of the tariff charged, not because of the car company itself or whatsoever. Car manufacturers margin aren’t high as we all naively expected, their balance sheet looks nice because of the gross revenue from the sales volume they get. In other words, this is a beautiful country, but nothing is perfect, cars are expensive compared to other countries, but properties are still dirt cheap compared to those cheap car countries. Conclusion, everything is LPPL.

• Farid on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:09 pm

I already called my SA and cancel my booking. Better I buy P2 SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
      • Is this a Malaysian Car? on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:16 pm

If this is a Malaysian car, why to maintain cost more than Jepunis?

Double whammy the past two days. Proton say price RM80k. Now RM100k

Proton say cheap car to service. Now, looks more expensive

Then later tell us parts also like Volvo price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Lolwhut? on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:17 pm

More fake stories from the perennial Perodua salesman. Good, keep it up! From this we know Perodua people are so bored in their empty showrooms.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 3
      • Local Car Cost RM123k? on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:18 pm

This price is not within reach of most jaguh kampung

Gila betui

• binyue on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Clearly they are their target market, wait for x50/binyue better

• Azuan on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:28 pm

Harga macam ini, hanya swasta sahaja boleh beli kereta nasional

Macam mana kakitangan keraajaan boleh mampu beli kereta tempatan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Robert Lam on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:33 pm

In 1986 I bought my first Proton Saga 1.5I. I bought this car because Proton told me the car would be cheaper than other makes.

They also told me, to service the car will also be cheaper than other makes. Since then, I have been owning only Proton.

I think Proton just cheated me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
        • Did PROTON tell you on 1986 that their cars will always be cheapest car? Otherwise go to other cheaper brands la. Nobody forcing you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • JOACHIM on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:09 am

Proton have moved upmarket in liew with the increased income and affluence of Malaysians. If your income doesn’t rise in concurrent then the fault is all yours. Work harder to keep in touch with Proton that is no longer the cheap, basement brand.

• The Truth About Geely, Volvo and Proton on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:42 pm

After Geely bought Volvo, Malaysians have seen Volvo parts prices go up 3X

After Geely bought London Cab, UK cab drivers complain prices of parts shot up like crazy

After Geely bought Proton, Malaysians can expect Proton parts prices go up 3X also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • cruizer on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Minggu lepas hampir nak booking x70 sebab ingatkan harga mungkin mula pada 86K. Dah 10 tahun pakai proton persona iafm, tapi lepas pengumuman harga sebenar.. terus x jadi sebab mahal dan confirm akan ada krisis kewangan nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
        • Buy after two years an used x70 bro. I am planning the same as well.

• Chris on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Proton was born from the Volkswagen concept of Adolf Hitler who wanted a car for working class German families and he succeeded with over 60 years of production thanks to German ingenuity of just one product worldwide. Now Proton has changed direction from the masses to a smaller richer group. I think that relative to their wealth, the Germans still have not changed direction that much relative to their other makes. I think Maha Firaun should think of sales to make the company profitable. For me, perhaps the RM100 public transport system might be the most reasonable, and money should have been invested in that rather than on expensive cars with limited sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Ruslan Bahari on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:27 pm

So by some people’s standards, PROTON cannot cost more than x ringgit. Nowhere in the incorporation of PROTON does it say that their credo is to make cheap cars. Their business is to make cars. Fine, I will give it to the critics that they have not gotten their act together. But nothing should stop them from trying.

If they want to give the premium or middle-premium segment a go, they should. Nobody in Malaysia imagined in the 70s and 80s that Honda’s flagship Accord would ever be as expensive as it is today. Japanese cars were the cheaper (and to some, lesser) alternative to the continentals. Yet today, even their cheapest car surpasses 50k. Yes, taxes and duties play a part but that’s applied in every country in the world.

• YB Albert KUNTA on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Tun said Proton no more national car.Yes,he is damn correct.
        The X70 is 98 percent a rebadge job with right hand conversion.
        So,DRB will pay a cool rm 1 billion to Geely in “new model development” fees when the next 2 Geely models arrive.
        This is a RIP OFF by the Tongsan big boys.No need invest in big showrooms and workshops.Just bring in lock stock barrel.Even East malaysia get same pricing of X70 cos,the cars are shipped direct from China to Sabah ,sarawak.
        YB Azmin Ali said Proton sudah dijual.BETUL BETUL PANDAI YB.
        The rip off show has begun ,folks.

• Kevin Wong on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:59 am

Geely didn’t buy a share in Proton with national service in mind. They r here to make a profit, like it or not. Proton has spent much to expand and upgrade the 3S & converted the SUV to righ hand drive. Now, it’s pay back time. Paul Tan had earlier reported that Geely Boyue was selling in China for only 110k yuan (RM68,500). Here, the cheapest standard version of X70 is rm99,800, an increase of 45%.

• mohd fadly on Jun 01, 2019 at 9:13 pm

you want uptodate tecnology but want cheap price?how you run your business if you owner?

• Sick&tired on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:32 pm

Proton aftersales better then crowded honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
      • The Truth About Geely, Volvo and Proton on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:44 pm

You have not seen Geely parts prices yet. This will shock Malaysians like earthquake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Yeah, cuz I lol at fake stories. Makes my day happier to read these jokes.

• I will wait for Perodua Terios on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Yesterday thousands of people cancelled their X70 bookings because of the price. Today, thousands more will cancel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 47
      • Frozen on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:04 pm

Cool story dude. Brrrrr

• binrui on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Better wait for binrui than underpower P2 suv

• Kevin Wong on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:15 am

Many r assuming that Proton X50 with a 1.5 turbo engine will qualify for future fuel subsidy. It may not be the case as some premium cars come with low cc turbo engines. One good example is CRV, it’s premium model comes with a 1.4l turbo engine. There can’t be a double std where Proton cars with turbo engines of 1.5l or lower get fuel subsidy but not other makes. They may have to exclude all turbo engines from fuel subsidy.

• How much servicing can a difference of RM 40,000 get you? That’s the true cost of savings for Proton X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Sohai(not ori), u really think with Japanese cars we get the latest one ah? Ur name really ngam u lah.

• benzs on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:57 pm

Good job Paul Tan. It seems X70 car is cheaper compare to H.CRV, in long run. Maintenance wise is much much higher for owning X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysians JUST kena TIPOOO on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:29 pm

I buy Malaysian car to have cheaper cost. Now I see, cost is higher than Japanese and Korean.

Is this how Proton treat loyal customers like me???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Tido oh tido on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:42 am

How about expensive start stop battery for cheap car like bezza? Is this how P2 treats bolehland pipu?

• Avenger on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:38 pm

Haven’t subtract 5 times free service for X70. Overall cost of servicing is much cheaper compared to CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Alamak Tipah Tertipu on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:39 pm

China price for Boyue is RM65k.

Malaysia price for X70 Rm100k

Kereta mahal. Servis pun lagi mahal. Alamak tipah tertipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • Alamak Kena Tertipu Juga on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Honda CRV Japan is RM65K.
        Malaysia price CRV is RM163K.
        Kereta mahal, engine banyak problem. Alamak Kena Tertipu juga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
      • Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Honda CRV in China is RM98K. AFter discount, RM88K can get. Even so, sales is really bad.
        Here in Malaysia, Honda CRV is RM163K.
        Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat La.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • lilytan on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:01 pm

If u think about it, 1k difference in service cost for the total of 100k km @ 10 years is insignificant. The unexpected service cost that people shd be worried about. Japs vs China reliability, its quite obvious already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Lau See Hong on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:06 pm

I heard from my SA at Proton, so many people cancel their X70 booking when they heard the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
        • The Truth About Geely, Volvo and Proton on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:46 pm

cause clever Malaysians know that parts prices are 10X more than maintenance.

• Farid on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:10 pm

cancel my X70 booking already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 14, 2018 at 1:59 pm

All ex Proton owners, now owning Japanese cars can vouch one thing. Owning a Japanese car is far far far cheaper in the long run.

this is because, it is no big secret that Proton cars after 2 years suck so much of money in maintenance. Worse still, after warranty is over, you will be paying for repairs non stop.

Ask the Preve, Waja and Wira owners. I owned a 2004 Waja. In 10 years, I have spent more in repairs than the price of the car!!!

Ask any ex Proton owner. All of us wanted to support our Proton. Infact, most of us, like myself, owned 3 different Proton cars in our lifetime because we wanted to be patriotic.

But after a while, you cannot tahan the maintenance. You only realise this when you buy Toyota, Nissan or Honda.

My Honda City, in 10 years, I have hardly spent in total RM10k in service and maintenance. Compare that to my Waja, which in 10 years, cost me around RM50k in repairs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 30
    • All ex Proton owners, now owning Japanese cars can vouch one thing. Their cars end up in Ravine Valley compared to their ex-Protons. Too bad none of them come back to complain about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
      • Rajan on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:07 pm

I can vouch I just cancel my order for the X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Good! Less one person in front of my booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • M.Hamzah on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Okayyyy…. I just went booked mine. Can I get your slot?

• X70 Buyer on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Can I know which showroom you cancelled so that I can take it up?

• M.Hamzah on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:25 pm

I asked for it first! His slot is MINE!

• Bros! Dun need to fight over getting X70, there will be sufficient quantity for all 12,000+ orders on hand. Just bersabar.

• Lewis Teo on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Hold off my X70 purchase 1st, not so confident CBU from china quality. Wait locally CKD better build X70, more specs cheaper as well… Just bersabar

• Perodua SUV the WInner! on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:46 pm

1 million Myvi owners can tell you, Perodua cars are cheaper to maintain then Proton.

I think I better wait for Perodua SUV

This is why nearly half of 12,000 X70 bookings already cancelled yesterday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
      • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:09 pm

But now booking has went up to 15,000 and counting.

• alibaba on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:05 pm

u better book perodua rush early b4 the flooded by crowd at Showroom .. if not u have to wait month by month..

• Teddy Segil on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:15 pm

7 seaters suv? No thx. For 7 seaters i prefered mpv…and perodua? Just take an example for alza model mpv…now for 7 seaters suv…hmm…

• Victor on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:01 pm

Car price already cheaper alot alot… Who care that maintenence cost…. Most important for the price what you get? Top spec crv not comparable already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • John Doe on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:07 pm

it’s call total ownership cost…
      most can own a merc or bmw because it can easily be financed but doesn’t mean they can maintain it…
      we haven’t even include the depreciation factor yet…
      please think on a wider angle….
      anyway i think this only happened when the government started meddling into proton again.

• Cost of X70 ownership is still undoubtedly cheaper due to its RM 40,000 price difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • John Doe on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:30 pm

You cant compare crv top spec with x70 top spec.
          Proton is nowhere close to honda both in technology and value.
          Youll be gappy to even compare with the lowest crv spex which is rm20k difference.
          Pls be realistic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • Engineer on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:17 pm

What do you mean by it? Please enlighten us which tech does CRV has better than X70?
            Does it have full ADAS? Nuh-uh.
            Does it have voice UI? Nuh-uh.
            Does it have DDI engine? Nuh-uh.
            Does it have retractable sunroof? Nuh-uh

• Tido oh tido on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:44 am

The only thing crv can beat P1 is the badge. And that if you you are badge snob

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:02 pm

This study and comparison compares service intervals. But China cars and Proton cars are PRONE to product failures.

Don’t believe me, go and ask any Haval owner. Haval owners spend non stop in the SC in Glenmarie repairing this and that every other month.

So, PT must take into account all this. Plus the downtime. Have to always take leave from work or get MC to fix this problem and that problem

With Toyota, Honda and Nissan, the downtime is there but is far far far far far far less than a Proton or a China made car

Always remember, buying a car is not like buying a China handphone. Your RM500 Xiaomi give you problems, you can always throw it into the tong sampah and buy a new Samsung

But how can you throw away your RM123k car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 25
    • YAB Alberto on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Strange but my xiaomi lasted longer than my friend’s samsung, his samsung cost 3x my rm500 xiaomi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Give a chance to proton n geely. on Dec 15, 2018 at 3:49 pm

I used to own an iphone for few yrs but hated it cuz gv me a number of problems. later i tried xiaomi and it changed my impression on china products. American / european brands shows prestige but doesnt mean they are good. China is catching up indeed and i have been using xiaomi ever since.

• Funny how my RM500 Redmi Note still gets Android 9 Pie updates while my RM2,999 S7edge stops updating at 8.0 Oreo. Which is better? Certainly my RM500 Made in China phone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • CashMoney on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:11 pm

My S7 Edge even though it has Oreo works like a charm. Super fast and can last another 2-3 years. Unlike Redmi Note with the ugly stock Google software.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:17 pm

Dont bullshit la if you dont own a Haval. My Haval is very economical to maintain for the last 4 years. Hardly need to go SC.

• Bro. This dude is well known bollocker dupe troll with many names. Can just ignore him.

• carlos on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:05 pm

omg…. its a volvo

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Dont talk about service cost. Talk about RV

2018 Honda CRV (after discounts) RM138k
    In 2021 you sell the CRV, you get RM90k

2018 Proton X70 RM125k
    In 2021 you sell your X70, you get RM40k

When you sell your Proton X70 and the bank asks you to top up the loan, you will be just like any other Proton owners in shock. You will ask yourself, “For 36 months, what have I been paying?”

Better to just pay the RM138k – 123k = Rm15k difference in the first place when you first bought the car.

Or buy a Forester at RM116k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 66
    • Yeah right, 2015 facelift CRV 2.0 2wd, new car retail price after discounts RM 134,000. Now 2018 you are lucky lucky to be able to even sell it at RM75,000 directly(Not trade in price). Trade in price will be in the RM60+k range.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 2
    • Are you a fortune teller? You can predict the future! and comparing lowest spec and highest spec, genius!

• Dylan Chng on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:08 pm

X70 not very competitive with other C-segment SUV’s but very competitive with B-segment SUV’s. Very similar case to (Nissan) Sentra, Preve were it was technically a class above it’s price but it wasn’t really

• Stopping by on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:10 pm

You carrying a Nation brand, with Rm120k price tag, i rather choose a stable or mature brand.
    considering after sales and services, dose their technician already know how to handle the issues or problem that came out from the vehicle? because this is the brand new type car from proton, the well known problem still unknown, paying the high price to being white mouse? you be my guest, unless the 1st 500 customer can get 50% discount to being a white mouse that different story.

• Johnathan lee on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:12 pm

What for compare to CRV? X70 for sure habis if compare with CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:12 pm

A sane person would just buy this car over Geely/Proton X70. The reason being, Honda engines are sold in 200 over countries in the world. They are all highly respected in FIRST WORLD countries and won thousands of awards.

Geely on the other hand can only sell 95% of their cars in China. This is because nearly all FIRST WORLD countries have rejected Geely cars. Now Geely is trying to market in 3rd world countries like Bangladesh, Malaysia, Burma, Laos etc

We are now the test guinea pigs for Geely cars in Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 31
    • exactly….thats y i dont understand the JV with geely. obviously wud go for japan or german company but..suddenly china made cars?? going backward. just my 2 cents

• Hmm, as I remembered P1 servis interval can be stretched to mileage based (ie follow actual 100,000 km even after 6 years) while Honda is strictly must follow mileage or time based WHICHEVER COMES FIRST (100,000 km service must be performed at 5th year even though actual mileage may be 60,000 km).

So comparatively for those who dun clock 20,000 km every year, an X70 will probably be priced comparable or cheaper cuz at actual 100,000 km mileage, underused CRV owners will have to do their 11th or even 12th servicing as compared to 10 for X70 owners.

Food for thought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
    • PJ fella on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Yeah, agree on this. My City only clocked 10,000km but I already have to do 20,000km servicing due to low usage. Proton is much better in that sense.

• Yeah but Proton give 5 times free service, which means have to subtract rm1542. 27 from Proton X70 service cost. So Proton X70 will still be cheaper, as for the 19 inch wheel, if customers wanted 19inch wheels because looks more “gaya” then they should know it costs more to replace tyres.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:45 pm

The X70 gets five times free labour (not servicing), which is included in the table above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • P1 mentioned 1st servis is free parts and labour but normally 10,000km is considered the 1st servis. 1000km is just inspection. Can help confirm on this?

• Johnnathan Lee on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:45 pm

P1 mentioned 1st servis is not free parts and labour. 1st servis cost around RM20,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • JOACHIM on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:10 am

And why should we believe a fake like you? Because its clear that you’re not Jonathan Lee.

• John is Crying Like a Baby on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:18 pm

OMG….Honda cheaper to maintain?? This is shocking news. But this is very true.

Also besides regular maintenance……

Japanese brands when you claim warranty, they never give you hassle. Immediately can claim

Try to claim warranty with your PRoton car. Aiyooo yoooo, they will give you hundred and one excuses. Infact, they will blame you!!!!

Remember the Exora owner whose engine bakar going up to Genting?? When the owner complained to SC, SC tak layan him. So, he vented his frustration on FB.

Then, Proton sued the owner.

Proton is the only car company instead of believing customer comes first, they can sue the owner of the Exora for complaining.

So, Proton owners very scared to complain now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Tun F on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Are you sure Honda was so easy to claim warranty???? Really…. Bullshit… In fact they are are just the same like Proton.. U bring the car there to address those defects and they just said “dah settle”.. Lagi mau kencing ka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • The price of Proton X70 is RM40,000 cheaper than CRV across the range. So no matter how you want to twist the cost of running the car, CRV is still alot more expensive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
  • Heskey on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:20 pm

How about fuel consumption?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:43 pm

That will have to wait until we get our hands on the car.

• guan yin ma on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Hi paultan. Please do a real world fuel consumption test for X70.

• John Cry Like Baby on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Tak masuk akal. Proton was made for Malaysians. they should give cheaper car and cheaper maintenance to its own rakyat.

Rakyat was shocked yesterday to know that kereta Nasional now is RM110k. Plus insurance all become RM120k over.

Now today this shocking news that even maintain also cost more.

Is this really a Malaysian car MADE for Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Teddy Segil on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:21 pm

I dont think Malaysian this cheap…a lots of more expensive cars on the road nowadays…so why complaint about the price if you compares the features on x70 and CRV..

• Let think like a grown person. Proton is home brand but not charity organization. Furthermore 40k lower than crv still not enough? How much lower is considered low?

You cannot compare x70 with other proton models. Likewise for perodua, their cars priced 20-50k, Aruz is 70k+. Complaint lah? toyota vios is less than 80k. how could they sell alphard at more than 440k. Complaint lah?

proton is made for malaysian, but malaysian is not born for proton. market is open and you are free to choose whichever fit you best.

car companies launching new cars, new features, bigger at more premium price. we yet asking proton to make only low spec, cheap… cheap… cheap… car. then might as well the investor keep their money in bank and eat interest. Cannot like that lah bro

• U shud do a 5yr cycle cost of ownership analysis, much like what many overseas car mags do…. It’ll show x70 has significantly lower purchase price but higher maintenance cost. Add to that fuel cost at say 25,000 km per year, youll get the overall picture and wrap it up w residual value at end of yr 5….. U’ll get a reasonably good idea where each model stands. I’d hasten a guess, X70 might just win the game here….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Narmia on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:22 pm

You’re buying a 100k car and an RM1270 bill is “painful”? I think some priorities needs to be reconsidered.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
    • Dong gor on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:08 pm

This is a free market. No one is pointing a gun at your head to buy this or that. Like the car and can afford it, go ahead. If not look else where. No point being so sour here. Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • normal_user on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:05 pm

My nissan almera used to be billed RM1.2K for 80k km major service. A friend had his Honda HR-V serviced for rm1.4k for 100k major service.

So.. dont expect major service to be below rm1k for a C segment SUV (honda & proton alike).

• Care to give your reference, Jonathan Lee? I couldn’t find any information on the servicing cost of X70 from Proton’s website.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:04 pm

The prices are available on the MyProton app.

• Hafris Shah on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:47 pm

According to MyProton app, I have checked that the servicing cost of X70 is around RM 35,000. Have a good day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • Hafriz pun kena trolled by fake dupes. Aduhai troll, xde keje halal ke, mau saje keje keji mcm kau ni.

• loler on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Proton service cost 34k? 20k? I loled vomitting my lunch today

• binyue on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:46 am

P2 SA geta bored at spewing fake news

• newme on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:32 pm

Should also include the opportunity cost for leaving the car at service centre for weeks/months because the foreman is clueless of the problem.

Also the likelihood of problem happening to your car. CRV is sold all over the world. Their manuals are established and in English. Malaysia is probably the first country for the China model to be sold. Most of the manuals are in Chinese and was translated recently by half past six engineers. Come on, you should know how competent those engineers are right?

• Davin Kenneth Fernandez on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:41 pm

The Honda 1.5 turbo engine is experiencing major problems overseas. It is likely that this will result in massive repair bills for owners post warranty period. Haven’t read about any problems with the Geely Boyue which the X70 is based on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • memang la…sb berapa kerat je pakai geely boyue dalam dunia ni bang…aduyaiii…knp la cerdik sgt brother ni????

• Says the Proton salesman, why dont you give statistics of proton breakdown, SC service standard and most importantly warranty support?

• Happy on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:19 pm

What about those who claimed Perodua is better? Why don’t Perodua salesman reveal all this?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:20 pm

You obviously havent read enough about Boyue issues which is all in chinese.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:44 pm

I’m a bit surprised that spark plugs need to be changed every 20,000km. That seems a bit frequent.

Fuel consumption is also something to consider. Both are turbos, so theoretically, the 1.5 engine might have better FC, provided you don’t floor it. The CRV AWD is also 130kg lighter than an AWD X70

Then, there’s Resale Value. Hard to say now. But we’ll know a few years later.

• Not really. Normally sparkplugs r changed every 10k km. U can still upgrade to using iridium plugs in SC and the replacement rate will be upped to 100,000 km but then its much more exp.

• Sammyboy on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:07 am

Bodoh. Sparkplug change evry 10k. You must be those sui yee who still does 5k oil change. Good. Make your mechanic rich.

• Warren X on Dec 14, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Still got the unknown cost of:
    1)car break down time, costing your leave and job – China forum complaining about gearbox leaking issue and engine design problem
    2)2nd hand value
    3)other quality issue
    4)girlfriend runaway after hearing u drive proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • John Doe on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:05 pm

dejavu…

• The price is pretty reasonable actually. Dey if u complaining ur salary just rm1500 then dont dream la to bought 100k car!

• Looking at the Boyue model launched in March 2016, this model has reached its mid life and undergone a face lift which is the now Proton X70. I will not consider the X70 as a new model as compared to the newly debut SX11 ( Binyue ) in China. Therefore, the remaining life span for X70 should be at the most another 2 to 3 yrs before a completely new model change which to me is not worth buying. I would prefer to enjoy a new car without the shell being replaced ( obsolete ) in just a short period of time. Cars are not exactly cheap in Malaysia and we need to plan any purchase for long term benefits.

• albag on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:44 pm

not to forget any potential risk of breakdown when owning this X70, since this car is new in the market.. first users are white mouse waiting for issues to happen and waste time fixing it in workshop.

• Proton owner on Dec 14, 2018 at 3:54 pm

Rip x70 owner later..

Don’t cry when gonna trade in to junkyard later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Still gets value than finding Perodua Rush down in Ravine Valley. Need to hire crane to bring the carcass hulk out then send to junkyard, not cheap.

• Amran on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Rindu Najib

• the driver on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Don’t know what is the issue here but here’s a secret – get a sedan – cheaper, faster, handles way better, service charges are a fraction of SUVs, more comfortable and better fuel consumption. Even the ‘RV’ is better. Look, our exchange rate stinks so why bother with SUVs?

• johnissohai on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:54 pm

other than the maintenance cost, when u wanna sell this x70, the resale value will make u cry like there’s no tomorrow..LOL

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 14, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Sudah 30 tahun tapI masih x boleh keluar ModelMampuMilik SUV kepada rakyat, cuma copy paste letak logo Proton guna model Tongsan, mcm tu baik import guna AP terus lagi murah, dari buang duit testing sini sana padahal mmg dah passed kat tongsan

• Ronald on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:29 pm

As long as its within one’s budget, why not Proton considering the car spec and features are good.

If budget is lower, go for Perodua upcoming new SUV instead.

If no confidence in local brand, by all means go for Honda/Toyota/Mazda etc.

• Black Sheep on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:33 pm

If you comparing car prices under exising import duty system: yea Proton is supposed to be and should be cheaper (given they manufacture here and everything), this case the car is overpriced here.

But if u compare prices between different makes and models, I think clearly X70 has the advantage here. The quality is quite impressive from my last preview on the car, not the typical Proton we are talking about.

Talking about durability I dont know la, no one has driven it yet.

But overall not kidding, it’s quite good.

• Head hunter on Dec 14, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Haiya… No need lah apply loan for 108 months installment on either one of these SUVs lah. Maintenance, fuel consumption, spareparts unknown, resale value all unknown…for example, I drive my old 2003 Waja also can reach destination easily, safe and econimic… Dont floor above 3000rpm lah, drive moderately as even a pre-loved () Toyota Estima also can save money when drive below 3000Rpm. And buy original parts from the spareparts shop lor… Dont go to the service center to be slaughtered! Car price depreciate one, buy house lah… Or invest ASB or ASN. People hoohaa here, hoohaa there… Unless u can buy cash and got lots of money to spend servicing the FC, maintenance/repair, Yearly RT, Ins. and Monthly installment.

• Graduan Bijak on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Smart guys wait and buy second-hand Baoteng X70 half price in one year time.

• Saladin on Dec 14, 2018 at 6:57 pm

If crv and x70 price same= u buy crv
    If crv price rm10k more x70 = u buy crv
    If crv price rm25k more x70 = u buy crv
    If crv price rm40k more x70= u already 50/50
    If crv price rm60k more x70= ok la u buy x70

So proton done wrong pricing already. Put somthing into chances is plan to fail. Should have gone below rm100k. And malaysian so kedekut one. Can pay rm300k car but dont want pay on petrol and maintainence. Maintainence mahal drink petrol a lot equal to bye2. Sayor nara x70 nice try.

• Tiguan service every 15000km

• Should priced x70 cheaper. base model already 100k. hope gov revise the price. Dont forget the resale value. Honda cars maintain price the best. i wud say buying crv is more value for money rather than x70

• not really know which waja you have,i have a 2003 waja runnning 500k km now,engine and gearbox in real good condition,only overhaul once top gasket as my fault because i didn’t replace the water pump and cause overheat.3 set of damper,1 alternator which still running good at 300k km but i worry about it so i replace it and it passed 200k km mark till now,aircond compressor still in good condition,1 power steering pump and pressure hose,2 wheel bearings and 1 radiator fan,2 set of rear control arm,2 sets of spark plug coil and cable.all parts i bought mostly original,others wear and tear like timing belt,brake pad and disk rotor replace accordingly.i doesn’t find it expensive to mantain.50k spent?i think either you kena tipu or you don’t know how to drive.

• frankC on Dec 15, 2018 at 3:14 pm

I had good experience with my 2004 Waja too. Other than faulty power window switch, one case of air cond compressor failure at 180k km, and eventual fan failure. The compressor failure have something to do with aux belt change not done correct.
      Otherwise I love the drive compared to my Nissan slyphy 1.8… will always remember the drive experience in waja. time to move on.. not sure if x70 still have the good feel of proton cars

• If you haven’t replace the AC compressor on ur Sylphy, you soon will be. It’s well known to fail after few years and replacement is costly because need to dismantle dashboard.
        So for those who think Japanese car maintenance are cheap, think again.

• Proud waja 2003 owner on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Agreed

• Teddy Segil on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:23 pm

Nevermind, later i just make 1 car with a body and features of BMW but enjin rumput enjin. Then sell it for 40k’s….haiz….

• Proton X70 Vs Honda CR-V+other SUV on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:03 pm

All Malaysian! Lets do this poll and see the results!
    Liked(thumbs up)Will booked & buy Proton X70
    Disliked(thumbs down)Will booked & buy Honda CR-V or other SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Think twice on Dec 14, 2018 at 11:03 pm

So many keyboard warriors on PT, I wonder how many of you have booked and wanted to get a x70. Also alot of people bashed CRV based on the news, but there is no single case of oil dilution in Malaysia, it only happens in cold climate country and fix is being rolled out already. Fact is alot of Malaysian middle class and upper buy car for face, if not why Merc is breaking its sales record here? Ask those middle class to drive back a Proton suv vs a Honda suv back during festival and show off to relatives, which you think would be the pick? This is the fact in Malaysia, if everyone is so rational and compare solely based on price performance ratio, Merc n bmw can close shop here d.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • flipper on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:28 pm

If you really want to show off, you come in bentley with driver not driving your own japs, contis or local cars

Or at least you come by flight with expensive business class ticket. That you can really show off.

Going back to village with cars and jams are definitely not for riches

• think twice on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:31 pm

They are multiple levels of showing off ok, no need to always quote the extreme cases.

lower income class wants to act like a middle class

middle class wants to act like an upper class

Going back to village with cars and jam are not for the “real” riches. For riches wannabe or middle class who wanna show off? I personally saw tons of BMWs, Mercs and premium Japanese cars in kampung and some small houses in some small town.

• John Doe on Dec 14, 2018 at 11:12 pm

It’s amazing how the public is getting excited about the acquisitions made by Geely over the years. One needs to understand Intellectual Property, Geely doesnt wholly own any of these mentioned companies. And to assume Proton produces something equivalent to Volvo is baffling. Even if you are a substantial shareholder of a new acquired company, you can cross transfer IP rights overnight for your own product and market.
    I can vouch the acquisitions is nothing more than the interest of market cap and the the car is nothing more than just another chinese product waiting to be proven right this time around.

• Ben Yap on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:35 am

As ben yap always say without any lie, honda crv is a better buy. Now it’s already proven. Suckers are those that gave me thinbs down.

• Brian on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:18 am

Suckers are those that gave me thinbs down, but geniuses will give you thumbs down. I did my part as a genius.

• agree crv is better. but isnt Q7 lagi best? no wait, gls lagi lagi best? ppl who can afford will not waste time here.

• Fatso on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:04 am

aiya, if you worry about maintenance cost means you are not there yet. go and work harder so that you can afford.

keep frowning, comparing and complaining about proton and perodua shows that you belong to below middle income category.

Work harder mates. get yourself to the middle income level and all these will be non issue to you anymore.

by then, you will not be bothered by whether geely or jelly own p1 and whether p2 is made from milo tin or ovaltine.

• DenizDG on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:49 pm

After been using proton persona for 9 yrs, I have no doubt buying the X70 as an upgrade.

• John Loh on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:35 pm

Try to find me a car safety spec like X70 and priced below RM100k. I’ll buy IMMEDIATELY

• shogun on Dec 16, 2018 at 6:17 am

masalahnya kenapa kereta copy boleh mahal kalau ikutkan yg copy ni harga 50% lebih murah dari tulen…jangan proton hanya cari keuntungan pada rakyat.

• Did u guys account the changes in fuel cost in the next following years??? And materials too??

• Both sides also rip off their customers.
    CRV Iridium spark plugs for RM431.05 ? Outside spare parts shop can get for 60+~70+ per piece only.
    X70 gear oil RM500.96 ? That is ridiculous . That is continental car prices already

• Farid on Dec 16, 2018 at 6:57 pm

A car is a liability..dont go n buy new car..just wait 1 or 2 year n buy..that time the price depreciation already stable..as for me i am lucky enough to let go my car just little bit under my loan balance after 4 years of owning (with 9 years of loan and 10% dp) with prompt monthly payment of course..so plan wisely before u got trap in this kind of loan..consider not just aftersale services but also current market value..think about bail out plan or you gonna suffer for maybe 9 years..hahaha

• Haizzz on Dec 16, 2018 at 11:57 pm

Revolution, time, technology, people change everything, you must as well say 100 years back malaysian live in wooden house, and now live in brick house which cost millions, proton is not non profit organisation, FYI. If cant afford then go for cheaper segment, saga or myvi. What is there to complain Lmao

• Why comparison does not incurred Road Ytax and INSURANCE , it is also part of the maintenance cost. The maintenance cost for CRV definitely higher than X70 if both are calculated.

• James on Feb 21, 2019 at 8:33 am

I am just curious as to whether both cars run on timing belts or chains. Had this(timing belt set) if relevant, been factored in the running cost. Thanks.

• Do not be carry away by the survey. Honda charge labour on every item. it add up like BMW cost. Coolant change every 200000km is not correct. i have changed twice in 100000km in honda. This report is not accurate. My Bills in Honda service for Accord is killing.
    Air cond filter change every 20000km cost you if not wrong RM200.00 exclude labour. change engine oil labour, check car labour, change brake labour, change air cond filter labour, change coolant labour. my bill is always about 700 to 1200 every service except if only oil change will be 300 rm.

• Raghavan vinayan on Mar 25, 2019 at 1:03 pm

dont get carried away by all the nice reviews .i bought the Premium version X70..having transmission noisy so soon and check light staring at me ..the transmission noise apparently “biasa” as what we know was protons way to treat their customer complaints .the car is just 2 months old..regret

• you are not uncomfortable over their customer service manner, than regret over the car, i think. i agree this is a bit difference if you buy a imported brand car.

• Be realistic on Jun 01, 2019 at 4:58 pm

Actually if X70 rebadge to Honda, everyone will be saying how good this car is until the car cannot fly also can fly. Just bcos it’s Proton then not so confident and must Kasi condemn abit cos Msian car ma. To me, all car brands making money from service centre and lock u with 5 yrs warranty so I have to return for service. But how often new car will breakdown within the 5 years. All also lum pa pa lan.

• Thomas on Jul 08, 2019 at 4:04 pm

The Honda CR-V turbo require oil change every 5000 km and will definitely be more costly. It is wrong to assume service is after 10,0000km as the warranty will only be valid if the car is service every time the indicator for service appear. I regret buying the Honda.