Government to announce revised NAP in Q2, 2019

The Malaysian government is expected to announce the revised National Automotive Policy in the second quarter of this year. The policy will include various measures to enhance competitiveness of the automotive industry through future technological trends, Bernama reports. The NAP revision was previously stated to be under review in June last year and was expected to be announced in Q1 this year.

According to deputy minister of international trade and industry Ong Kian Ming, these trends include Next Generation Vehicles (NxGV), mobility-as-a-service, Industry 4.0 and artificial intelligence. “The review will focus on new mobility pathways and trends in driving patterns, be adjusted according to the improvements in public transportation and explore vendor development within the ecosystem,” he said.

There are currently 30 million registered vehicles in Malaysia, with that figure expected to double by 2030, Ong said. Malaysia aims to reduce carbon emissions by improving the overall fuel consumption of vehicles in Malaysia to 5.3 l/100 km; in line with the Asean Fuel Economy Roadmap, he added.

The emissions reduction is in line with the development of the e-mobility ecosystem in Malaysia, in which international cooperation is crucial for the realising of its targets, and the deputy minister said that Germany has been identified as an ideal partner for the Malaysian e-mobility initiative. “German companies can contribute through technical and professional know-how to spearhead high standards of sustainable and urban concepts in Malaysia,” he said.

“Germany’s history of sustainable technological innovation is a great example for Malaysia to follow, particularly the mobilisation of business and talent development through the public-private partnerships between government, academia and industry players,” said Malaysia Automotive, Robotics & IoT Institute (MARii) CEO Datuk Madani Sahari.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• digidigi on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:09 am

if ckd car price can reduce then my vote will be on you!

• The 30% reduction in car prices seem like a distant dream already. Once the fuel subsidy is removed for most of us (upon implementation of targeted B40 subsidy).. we will have the one go the highest car price and petrol in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Sohai on Apr 09, 2019 at 1:35 pm

Ohwai… bila mau reduce car price by 30% …?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Apr 09, 2019 at 9:37 pm

As per Kak Azalina.
          https://paultan.org/2016/04/07/car-prices-to-drop-30-by-2018-prime-ministers-dept/

• EDITOR on Apr 10, 2019 at 12:53 am

Unfortunately thanks to PH incoming, they didn’t get to realised that promise

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Under PH we will soon have the most highest car price and petrol price in the world? This I agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • doc_korok on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:35 am

already reduce what ckd price compare cbu..how much reduce u want?50 percent more?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Cbu suzuki jimny 200k, ckd price 70k. Suzuki 3rd national car yo

• Same Type as John on Apr 09, 2019 at 2:13 pm

This is typical Malaysia. Just like our 1.6 million Government servants. All want the easy way to do things with minimum effort and work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Same Type as John on Apr 09, 2019 at 2:15 pm

How long must we tahan with people who are looking for a fast buck and have no interest in working at all?

• No Cancer and Freak Storm for future generations on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:27 am

If there are sincere to reduce carbon footprint then immediately starts banning all euro2m grade fuels. Prohibit all fossil fuel sale below Euro5 grade.

• alam bupati on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:33 am

Might as well follows Germany ban all diesel auto

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:37 am

Remove the stupid nonsense of 3rd National Car project, then you will have my interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • MyNewToy on Apr 09, 2019 at 2:19 pm

Yup for the start, just ask Perodua to rebadge either Toyota, Tesla or BKD for EV and sale at the lower price then. Maybe Tan Chong to look at Nissan or Mazda?

• bieight on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:05 pm

this better be good

• Sick & Tired on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:27 pm

So far banyak Harapan but all end up in utter disappointments.

• LatukBandar on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:12 pm

More taxes to protect the 3rd national electric car, new carbon tax. If you do not support this carbon tax, you dont love mother nature. Pay even more for cars now. Before GE14, mahathir said the car prices in Malaysia are too cheap, and Proton is not the reason for these taxes. Get ready malaysians, pay double for a toyota vios or honda city.

• Ahmadjr on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Get the euro 5 petrol and diesel as standard first then we’ll talk about electric vehicles. Pengerang has been operational then it will be no problem to implement it

• We already in Q2!

• Ksatria on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:53 pm

Whatever you wanna do, make it count for the rakyat.
    I will not tolerate a piss poor job nor content with any sally sad stories.
    Let’s see what MY vote is worth for.

• Daddykasi on Apr 09, 2019 at 1:21 pm

Habislah campro vvt.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:35 pm

When it comes to these kind of announcement, why the Minister himself didn’t announced it himself. Why every time MITI have any news, it’s always the deputy that does it. Hardly see the Minister doing public duties, always the deputy.

• Zoomzoombiotch on Apr 18, 2019 at 5:08 pm

Please la dont hantam ministers liddat one. You don’t know they’re trying to get their degrees meh? Please support them by providing past years questions, thanks.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:37 pm

enough with the protection. proton is ready to fly on their own. remove this AP system

• Adlan on Oct 16, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Any update or news regarding this Paultan or team?