Amsterdam to ban all petrol and diesel cars by 2030

Amsterdam says that all cars and motorcycles running on fossil fuel will be banned from the city from 2030. The city’s council will phase in changes over the next six years as it works towards the aim of having all traffic within the built-up area of the city to be emission-free by 2030.

Starting from next year, it will restrict diesel cars that are 15 years or older from going within the A10 ring road around the city. From 2022, public buses and coaches that emit exhaust fumes will no longer be able to enter the city centre, and by 2025, the ban will be extended mopeds/light mopeds as well as pleasure crafts on its waterways, The Guardian reports.

The city will encourage its residents to switch to electric and hydrogen cars by offering charging stations to every buyer of such vehicles, but that will involve ramping up charging stations to make the project viable. There are currently 3,000 charging stations in the city, and for the plan to work this will need to be increased to anywhere from 16,000 to 23,000 charging stations by 2025.

However, the move towards clean has its detractors – the Rai Association, the automotive industry’s lobby group, said the electrification plan was regressive and would leave many without the means for personal mobility.

“Many tens of thousands of families who have no money for an electric car will soon be left out in the cold. In 2030, about one third of the cars will be electric, we expect. But there will also be a lot of people who won’t be able to afford that by then. That makes Amsterdam a city of the rich,” a spokesman for the association said.

Amsterdam’s move towards zero-emissions coincides with the Netherlands’ plans of halting the sales of new petrol and diesel cars by 2030, which is five years on from the plan of accomplishing the task by 2025. Air pollution in the Netherlands is worse than European rules permit, and there are concerns that the levels of nitrogen dioxide and particle matter emissions are causing a rise in respiratory illnesses.

Many European countries and cities have announced a similar course of action, including Britain and France, both of which plan to halt sales of new diesel and petrol-powered vehicles by 2040. At the national level, Paris will prohibit all diesel cars by 2024 (similar to Rome) and cars with internal combustion engines by 2030.

Last year, Madrid – which will ban diesel cars from its steets by 2025 – began restricting access to petrol vehicles made prior to 2000 and diesel vehicles made prior to 2006. Norway is also set to halt the sales of all new petrol and diesel vehicles by 2025.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Pyraxle on May 07, 2019 at 1:22 pm

In other words, they want to get rid of the poor out of the city hence making it the city for the rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • you stupid? on May 07, 2019 at 3:49 pm

Have you heard of this thing called public transport? Or maybe you live in kampung or cave all the time never come out thats why you dont know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Pyraxle on May 07, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Hahaha I think you’re the one who lives in kampung or in this modern cave called Kuala Lumpur. My question is, have you actually live for a few years in Europe? I know how it public transportation works and I still prefer driving my own car or just cycle to work. Why? Because I just love my own space and also I can drive my car anytime I want, wherever I want to go.

“Many tens of thousands of families who have no money for an electric car will soon be left out in the cold. In 2030, about one third of the cars will be electric, we expect. But there will also be a lot of people who won’t be able to afford that by then. That makes Amsterdam a city of the rich,”

Have you read that part again in the article above? Why don’t you tell them haven’t they heard of public transportation too? Because I think they live in kampung or a cave too.

• Nadeswaran on May 07, 2019 at 7:03 pm

Whatever comes about, it is the same enforcement officers as last year and before. They will not enforce the new ruling.

Only and until JPJ and PDRM gets rid of their duit kopi culture, all this efforts will go to waste.

• Malaysia still got no clue about EV and Hybrid.

• sam123 on May 07, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Because the Netherlands has flat land contours, it is the perfect place to explore by bike. The country has many cycle paths and signposted cycle routes,

• JOACHIM on May 07, 2019 at 5:06 pm

After chasing them out they can then build a wall around Amsterdam. Keep it exclusive just for the well-heeled locals.

• mr1031 on May 07, 2019 at 7:56 pm

let them be..when the poors are not there anymore, let’s see how the ‘rich’can live their lives

• Optimus on May 07, 2019 at 10:13 pm

They can live very well apparently. Just look at Penang Island now, where it is no longer viable for the poor to survive, having their jobs cut and their low cost homes repossessed, demolished and rebuilt into luxury condos.

• Borneo Darul Seram on May 07, 2019 at 2:02 pm

Shell Netherlands out of business by 2030?

• Lolwhut? on May 07, 2019 at 2:06 pm

Meanwhile Australia will continue to use Euro3 fuels until 2027.

• Lolwhut? on May 07, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Also they have no qualms going into electrification via Li-ion/Li-Po batteries made with materials mined using environmentally-disastrous methods such as open mining, or deep inside jungles and via environmentally-hazardous processing like Lynas. So much for being conscious about the environment, they only care about THEIR environment and slammed the poorer countries for not taking care about the environment.

• That what euro have done. Other country such as bolivia will suffer enviromental effect due to the mining of component/material for these so call evinronmental friendly vehicle.

• kebal on May 07, 2019 at 9:19 pm

So ICE cars are better? Digging oil is by far the worst culprit of climate change. So we just continue using dinosaur fuel and being able to breath in the fresh air coming out of our vehicles?

• S.Ibrahim on May 07, 2019 at 10:18 pm

No, burning coal by advanced first world nations to power their economy is.

Oil is pumped out, redistributed and yet the poorer nations have equal access to it. How many poor nations citizen can afford for a lifetime supply of EV batteries? Even in Malaysia, we have rich people jumping up and down about the high cost of hybrid batteries, whatmore poorer nations below us? THINK!!!

• And where does the electricity come from? Coal powered plants…

• Afeeq on May 07, 2019 at 2:21 pm

I’ve always said it: there will be a time when ICE cars will be banned from the streets. However everyone laughed it off and said it was never going to happen. Well what now? You can’t even drive your own car in the future. Stop with this’s eco friendly nonsense, give me big V8s

• MyNewToy on May 07, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Very good, export to Malaysia then, we can have a cheap car in Malaysia.

• Mr John Doe on May 08, 2019 at 1:43 pm

Will not going to be cheap. It will cost you more since the car with petrol / diesel will be “antique” / rare item.

• “Norway is also set to halt the sales of all new petrol and diesel vehicles by 2025.”

Norway got all it’s wealth from exporting crude oil btw. They seem to be eager to destroy their own business?

• Engineer on May 08, 2019 at 2:51 pm

They can sell more by reducing their own consumption. Going electrification is no problem for their small population and endless supply of geothermal resource.