Norway plans ban of petrol, diesel vehicles by 2025

Norway fuel car ban

Shortly after France decided to impose a working week ban on cars made before 1997, Norway is looking to follow its move. Norwegian newspaper Dagens Næringsliv reported that Norway’s four main political parties have agreed to stop the sale of petrol and diesel-powered vehicles by 2025.

The Dutch government too, is considering a ban on sales of petrol/diesel-powered cars; Netherlands has a 10% plug-in vehicle market share. India, meanwhile, plans for the cars on its roads to be all-electric by 2030.

Even before it has passed into law, the proposal has found a fan in Elon Musk, chief executive of Tesla Motors. Musk said in a tweet, “just heard that Norway will ban new sales of fuel cars in 2025. What an amazingly awesome country. You guys rock!!”

Norway already has an electric vehicle market share of 24%, and 99% of Norway’s electricity is covered by hydropower. On top of its plans to stop the sale of fossil fuel-dependent vehicles in nine years, Norway’s transportation plans also included a proposal to ban all private vehicles from downtown Oslo by 2019.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Apparently there are plans in Norway where dealerships will begin selling horses and carriages. Choices for horses include normally aspirated horses without any technology, bolt-on nostril turbos and horses with electrical hearts. There are no plans to include hybrid horses as of yet due to incompatibility with cows.

As for the carriages, they come in many forms with 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 seater options with coupe and SUV bodystyles which just mean bigger wooden wheels. At press time, it is understood that a Malaysian company called Brothers has intentions to expand to Norway to cater to market demand there for carriage bodykits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
    • P2 is way ahead of them. After the unlikely feat of wrenching out DVVT from viva engine and shoved it into axia, their “R&D engineers” cud not think of anything else to remove w/o disfunctioning the engine. So they got the bright idea to replace the engine, in the next car, with a live horse.

Yes, a horse with hooves, cuz thats what their customers wants. A car that has zero FC, cuz horses dun drink petrol. So take that, Elon Musk! P2 has came out with a low cost zero FC solution! A HORSE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • hahaha on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:19 am

Norway actions has the way of the future towards cleaner energy (note the word cleaner). Your statements DK are so small minded and condesending.

• Bernard on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:15 pm

India…………what is India doing on the list!!

They have 770 million people without toilets! I suggest they fixed that shitty problem first:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
  • Michael Kong on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Malaysia we cannot do electric cars. Now, nearly everybody is paying RM500 for their TNB bills. This is despite oil and gas is at its lowest.

When TNB increased their rates, they said it was because oil was over US$100. now, oil is at US$50, TNB still increases their rates.

So, how to have electric cars when our TNB cheats us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 9
    • hahaha on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:24 am

Well then lets burn all the petroleum we can find. That seems to be what you’re advocating for isn’t it? Oh electricity too expensive therefore burning petrol is the way to go.

• Then only left Tesla to monopolise the market. Hooray for free capitalism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Operation Manager on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Short sighted people, not capable to view big. Hydrogen fuel cell car is another segment.

• Din u read “NO FUEL”, means hydrogen fuel cars oso kena ban! Next time read properly.

• hahaha on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:25 am

plus Tesla has an open book on its patents to encourage the development competition as well.

• Dun think hes so gud hearted. He still has patent for the charger and battery tech. Manufacturers have to pay thru their noses for those 2 tech. An EV engine w/o battery is just dead weight, no?

• Heaven on Jun 06, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Now that’s a far thinking country! Modern vikings are cool..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Might aswell rename Norway to No way.
    And what kind of newspaper would allow a advertisment that resembles a female part..
    smh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Aero (Member) on Jun 06, 2016 at 7:59 pm

The great irony is that Norway is has tons of oil reserves… in fact, Norway produces the most oil among all Western European nations. Yet, they parade themselves as a ‘green country’ when as much as 8% of Norway’s GDP is propped up by their oil industry (according to the World Bank; Malaysia’s figure is about 5%, while Saudi Arabia’s is almost 40% !).

So, will Norway stop oil production as well ? I highly doubt it… bunch of hypocrites. Don’t get me wrong, Norway is a cool country (no pun intended), but they shouldn’t contradict themselves with false representations and promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • With those adverts on the front page, i doubt this is a mainstream papers more like tabloid and sensational news media (ala Mkini, Rocket, Harakah).

Just like u said, Norway is the Arabia of EU and they wudnt jeopardise one of their main income. Although a pinch of salt it might just work for them, cuz electric in norway is majorly generated by geothermal & solar (one of top solar maker, REC, is from Norway).

Anyways seems like bashers still take the impossible chance to bash Gov again. As usual. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • donno on Jun 07, 2016 at 8:28 am

Yeah, its like the biggest exporter of cigarettes banning the sale of them in their own country. And how do you haul all those heavy oil and gas engineering stuff around the country? Do they now have electric semi-trailer trucks? Most part of Norway is rural, so now they can plug in their cars in their wooden shed far away from civilisation? Electric cars would also be a huge environmental hazard. There would be tons of batteries to be disposed of as they are needed to be replaced every few years.

• go there not come here... on Jun 07, 2016 at 8:58 am

They are clever. They sell the oil to other idiots while keeping their country clean….. Read carefully. Producing doesn’t mean consuming….

• C.P.MOHAN on Jun 06, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Most marques got a electric engine division, policy of Norway is just to speed-up/kickstart research and production in this area since combustion engines have been around for more than 100 years.

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 06, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Time to get ahead of the game, Malaysia. Elon Musk reckons that he’ll have fully autonomous cars on sale in 2 years. A fleet of 100, 000 fully autonomous electric taxis could replace all cars in Malaysian cities in 5 years if the government gets in front of this issue.

• i_the_kiasu_people on Jun 06, 2016 at 8:38 pm

it’s just a plans…don’t think it’ll come to reality

• BOYRACER on Jun 06, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Nowadays it seems like real cars are nearing its end.Mostly hybrids,electric and whatnots.In the near future autonomous cars will be the norm.I think articles regarding exciting cars are far and between in Paultan.Even if they appear most are beyond reach of most mere mortals.
    That’s why recently I mostly read Mohan’s articles.Yes it is motorcycles.Im into bikes in the last few years due to many factors but why bikes you may ask.Because they give more excitement for your buck.You dont have to buy high end models.Smaller ones will do.Dangerous?only depend on how you ride it.
    Sorry a bit off topic.

• paanjang16 on Jun 06, 2016 at 9:54 pm

That image with the Mercedes SLS AMG Electric Drive with the Norwegian background reminds me of a certain Norwegian track in the game Driveclub which so happen to have the exact same car in the exact same color. Driving that electric Mercedes is unlike any other car; there are no gears to change, no engine to rev up. Just a silent drone of the electric motor as you bring it up to speed. The game may not be a true representation of the exact car but it was too quiet considering you expect a supercar to be loud and purring.

• Smokey on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Norway ppl will miss the fun of listening to petrol revving engines soon

• nosushi on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:09 pm

I dun enjoy n/a revving engine sound, especially from your overlord jepunis cars

• marieta on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:42 pm

I hate the sound of combustion engine especially from those rempit kapchai and ah beng car

• Can’t outrun the future or defy change. Time to embrace it. Our time and place in the universe is so limited. There are also so many pressing issues we need to get around to solving. We forget this and talk arrogantly as if we are the masters of the universe. Cherish our way of life now but also remember that one day we will have to let it go too – as it is with everything in life.

• Operation Manager on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Msia Ministi, Inst, Ass all still plan to go GREEN with tax duty exemption, eg. Camry Hybrid myr170k ($26k in US), dunno WHY green vehicle with tax duty exemption but still expensive than petrol/diesel car. Then Bus Lorry octopus dark smoke everywhere jpj. WHY WHY WHY …???

• kzm (Member) on Jun 06, 2016 at 11:01 pm

That JPJ job not police…since when police must do that?

• Nobody can stave off the future or defy changes. Some of the arrogant a**hats and know-it-alls here forget how little time and space man has in the boundless universe. Narrowing their vision and talking as if they are the masters of the universe. Forgetting that there are issues bigger and more important than mere pleasure-seeking that need to be minded and solved. We should cherish what we have, yes of course but we should also be prepared to let it go – certainly for the greater good- because that’s how things work and get renewed in both life and nature.

• BananaRepublic on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:53 am

So no fun for the drillers. Eventually end up no one buying their products, poor Oil & Gas fellas.