Singaporean motorists have 136,601 overdue traffic summonses, police in favour of banning offenders

In April, it was reported that the police had no plans to prevent foreign motorists with outstanding traffic summonses from entering the country, in response to Singapore’s new ruling to do the same with regards to entry into the republic, as of April 1.

Perhaps they should – as The Star reports, Singaporean drivers have the highest number of overdue Malaysian traffic summonses out of all neighbouring countries. According to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department director Deputy Commissioner Datuk Azisman Alias, there are a total of 136,601 overdue traffic summonses and 2,131 arrest warrants for Singaporean motorists, issued between 2014 to 2018.

Brunei is second with 40,101 overdue summonses, while Thailand is third with 24,651, making for more than 200,000 outstanding traffic summonses in all. Azisman said that the police were in favour of implementing a system similar to Singapore’s, where foreign vehicles with outstanding summons are denied entry.

He said that a special operation was conducted between July 12 and 14 in Kedah, Perlis and Perak, targeting foreign vehicles. “A total of 3,460 cars were inspected and 1,649 summons were settled. The department also collected RM291,190 in compounds. We hope the operation will get foreign offenders to settle their summonses and not repeat their mistakes while visiting this country,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Krishna kumar on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:25 am

Good move but please block SG cars leaving the country instead of those coming in. That way we dont create traffic jam affecting Malaysian cars and we get tourist money at the same time.

• Law Abiding Motorist on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:34 am

Tim polis PTK gotta swoop in when errant Singaporean cars enter thru JB checkpoints.

• MeToo on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:44 am

Why stop them from entering? THen we wont get the summons paid.

We should let them in, and prevent them from leaving until they settle all outstanding summons.

Try getting a summon in Singapore and see if you can leave before paying it…

• Think tank on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:58 am

Let them in but then don’t let them out till they settle the summonses. This simple thing also cannot think ah

• Sometime around 1991 I got a summon in Singapore for not removing fully the parking coupon tabs. Just a week later I was stopped at the Singapore immigration and was forced to pay the outstanding summon of $80.00 on the spot. If Singapore could do that so effectively why can’t Malaysia? Apo nak di Kato…..

• Ghani on Jul 17, 2019 at 11:18 am

Did anyone ask out of that 136k summons, how many are on cars more than 10 years old. I’ll bet an overwhelming number of these summoned cars no longer exist in Singapore (scrapped/resold) but the summon is still remaining and no possible way for PDRM to collect them.

Another query is how many of these summons are from legit cars? Did anyone check if the number plates captured are genuine or faked.

• drMpower on Jul 17, 2019 at 11:25 am

You see
    Been saying this 1000 years
    Collect that summonses and buy you the lambos and bugattis to catch these speedy singaporeans and also our guys
    To generate even more money

136k summonses x 300 singdolar we are looking at 163million MYR. The government will exempt police the tax and we would be having 50 lambo high speed patrol cars. Also our guys running, slap them with 300 singdollar as well just because they make us run after them

Just train our guys to be even better than any single spoilt rich kids/dads speeding. They think they are the roadrunners on the road? Our patrol police drivers even faster!

The IGP should give me a call. I will solve this.

• Banla

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 17, 2019 at 11:45 am

Singaporean lansi, no F care what Msian authorities do. Our highways are treated as racing circuit for them. Inside Singapore damn good boy, scared fine by SG gahmen. Come Msia become devil, macam just got out of jail. Behave like uncultured scum.

Even if we ban, they will just switch number plates like that SG fella. No respect for Msian laws. It’s the culture, SG is “superior”.

• Ghani on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:13 pm

Well can’t blame them when we have citizen who blindly kowtow to this “SG superiority” complex. I see one such example below….

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:00 pm

This barring entry from Singapore is much better idea and solution. Singaporean always think they are rich and always superior when they are in Malaysia. Driving fast, dangerously and high-beam other road users at highway. Now, whether singaporean offenders driving toyota or Ferrari will be barred regardless. hahahah!

To settled the cases, higher 3x value saman should be imposed to them, for deliberate delaying, mocking and disrespecting the laws of Malaysia. Take no excuse, PDRM. Teach these offenders a valuable (read expensive) lesson.

Singaporeans offenders aren’t as really 1st class citizenship, from 1st world country after all. Real shame, kaisu and kiasi these singaporean traffic offenders.

• Zechariah Pinto on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Singapore implemented this 30 years ago. All cars that do not pay fines cannot enter Singapore at all. And all cars including Malaysian cars inside Singapore that do not pay fines, cannot even leave Singapore until all fines are paid.

Pity we took 30 years to implement this. Goes to show, Singapore is light years ahead of us. Even simple thing like this, they implemented 30 years ago

No wonder their GDP Per Capita is 3rd highest in the world and their SGD is 3X that of Ringgit despite Merdeka same time

• Good move PDRM. Please provide Whatsapp number to report litterers that I catch on my dashcam.

• Ooops, wrong posting.

• panjang on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:03 pm

Yeah right, i have been reading about ban since my university days. Now with new gomen, this topic comes up again. Expect the same thing after 4 years.