Driven Web Series 2019: new Renault Megane RS 280 Cup vs Honda Civic Type R vs Volkswagen Golf R

Driven Web Series is back, powered by the new Petronas Primax 95 with Pro-Drive! In this latest episode, we bring three of the hottest hot hatches on sale in Malaysia head to head to head, all on the tight and twisty Dato’ Sagor Track in Perak.

The star of the show is the new Renault Megane RS 280 Cup, represented here in its glorious six-speed manual form (RM279,888 plus RM8,000 for the Orange Tonic paintjob). Under the hood is a 1.8 litre turbo four making 280 hp and 380 Nm of torque powering the front wheels, with 4Control all-wheel steering in tow.

Honda’s manual-only FK8 Civic Type R is the main challenger here, coming in at a hot RM330,002. That buys you a bewinged Civic with a 2.0 litre turbo motor pushing out 310 hp and 400 Nm of torque. No fancy four-wheel steer here, just a good old track-tuned Type R chassis with adjustable suspension to boot.

Keeping the two honest is the MK7.5 Volkswagen Golf R, here in five-door and seven-speed DSG guise (RM305,562). The venerable EA888 2.0 litre turbo engine offers 290 hp and 380 Nm here, but with a twist – all that goes to all four wheels, with fully-adjustable suspension too.

Which of the three will be crowned our winner? Watch as Hafriz Shah, Harve Singh and Matthew Tong put them to the test – drag race, hot laps included. Enjoy!

GALLERY: Renault Megane RS 280 Cup
GALLERY: FK8 Honda Civic Type R
GALLERY: MK7.5 Volkswagen Golf R

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Golf R, the most comfy and fastest hot hatch here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Awang Selamat on Aug 31, 2019 at 12:15 am

Thank you team, your presentation was superb. Such an informative show. We appreciate the effort put in by PT Team.

I only wish our National car company had a performance car too for Malaysians to be proud of. Don’t know what our National company engineers do….30 years still our engine bhp still very low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
      • Goreng pisang on Aug 31, 2019 at 9:26 am

If only Proton didn’t reject VW’s proposal to colab, today we can have a car that we can be proud of like Proton Golf R. Sadly, Proton did a game over decision by rejecting VW’s proposal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
        • Skoda had been under VW Group far longer and yet they still don’t get their equivalent of Golf R. Stop your lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • Skoda was a failing company now. Today sales are super good. This itself is a good example of how successful VW is.

The same with Bentley and Lambo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2019 at 6:14 pm

Skoda Octavia RS: 226hp, 250km/h (with speed limiter)

• Copy Paste on Sep 01, 2019 at 3:35 am

Copy paste: “the Bugatti Veyron, Volkswagen Phaeton and Audi A2 accounted for three out of 10 biggest loss-makers in modern automotive history, according to Sanford C. Bernstein & Co.”

• Nothing related to this discussion, even if sales are super good (which isn’t), they still don’t get Golf R. VW isn’t that generous with their sub partners.

• ToyotaHyundai Fanboi Detected!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 01, 2019 at 8:53 pm

Golf R in blue please …

• Halim Saad on Aug 31, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Engineers and designers mostly from UiTM, Mara and UIA. Their engineering departments are not that good and grads usually don’t take any initiative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
        • EDITOR on Aug 31, 2019 at 9:57 pm

What are you rambling incoherently about? Are you lost boy?

• You don’t have to bring your racist and irrelevant comment here.

• Racist it may be, but that’s the facts in our education system. An ugly truth.

• Damon Lee on Sep 05, 2019 at 2:38 am

This is not an education or education-related blogsite. Keep it relevant which obviously Rob is trying to stress here.

• redpilled on Sep 01, 2019 at 10:52 pm

This is what I like about freedom of speech. Schmuck like this get show how much hate they have.

• This is nothing compared to the statements of the pembangkang. Make sure you criticise them too alright?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Golf R is the one for me! Plain Jane looks, but awesome performance and impeccable handling & ride and solid built-quality.!

• Hmm its funny, i watch drag race video from others YT channel, the Type R win by millisec with Golf R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • different tune, different fuel… different cuaca

• cos in this video the Golf R is the DSG variant, thats why in this video the Golf R is much faster, in other countries they sell manual Golf R too n thats why they tested the manual Golf R instead of DSG varian, but in msia here we only have the DSG variant

• If the Golf R was a manual, the CTR might win with its higher power and torque. A DSG Golf R would beat CTR in drag races.

• neither sebab me no have 300k..huhu

• Everyone who own or dont own also dont have 300K. hutang bayar sambil makan roti tiap tiap hari…

• Bringbackmanual on Aug 31, 2019 at 9:13 pm

Sad vw malaysia dont give manual option. At least no more dsg fiasco . Pls bring the manual

• Megane RS is the best, Golft R is good car, Civic Type R very boring to drive.

• Nurburgring track record holder for FR is Megane RS

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 03, 2019 at 11:44 am

Yup, but that is the extra-hardcore Megane RS Trophy-R: https://paultan.org/2019/05/23/new-renault-megane-rs-trophy-r-now-the-fastest-fwd-at-nurburgring-beats-civic-type-r-with-740-time/

That car has full carbon-fibre wheels, carbon-ceramic brakes, special tyres and Ohlins suspension, no rear seats, etc ;)

• Pakulupapito on Sep 01, 2019 at 8:01 pm

They are lucky there are no Mazda 3 Skyactiv MPS….

• ZXlover on Sep 02, 2019 at 7:53 am

Driver for Golf R need to polish his driving skill especially on how he hold the steering. Can you notice the mistake?

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 02, 2019 at 11:21 am

great video…..Lets see which car will stand the test of time.

Lets see which cars still be driven on the road after 30 years. One or two cars could be chopped bcoz of expensive repair, lack spareparts, poor reliability, money pit, etc.

• William on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:56 am

Truly fantastic production from you guys at paultan. Thank you for making such a enjoyable video. Kasi u guys like x3000

• Daddykassi on Sep 03, 2019 at 12:20 pm

Sad.. No Proton hothatch Suprima S in this video.. Sad but true

• Dharmen on Sep 06, 2019 at 4:41 pm

Got to compare with 308GTI also la guys – 1.6 but 272hp and less than 200k

• Foong on Nov 02, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Nice review. Overall, civic type r is the winner. However i still prefer the simplicity or minimalist look of the gti golf