Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) deferred until further notice

Checks for the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) will not be enforced during both peak and non-peak hours until further notice, the Ministry of Transport told Channel News Asia. Registration for the VEP was opened in April this year, with owners of foreign vehicles given six months to apply for and install the RFID tag. The VEP for each registered vehicle is valid for five years.

The Malaysian government announced in April that it would begin enforcement of the VEP beginning October 1, though the requirement of the VEP for vehicles entering the country was deferred at the end of last month at the Sultan Abu Bakar Complex (Tuas) and Sultan Iskandar Building (Woodlands) checkpoints.

The transport ministry also announced the opening of another VEP RFID Tag fitment centre at the outbound Sultan Abu Bakar Complex JPJ office at a date yet to be announced. The first phase of enforcement was to have commenced at the southern border with Singapore; the author of the Channel News Asia report noted that there was no enforcement of the VEP when their vehicle both entered and departed from Malaysia on October 1, when the VEP was to have taken effect.

The Malaysian government said that the VEP “is a vital component in its efforts to address the problems with owners of foreign vehicles that have violated our road transport laws and the issues with irresponsible parties exporting/importing stolen or illegitimately registered vehicles across the country’s borders.”

The latter was in reference to ‘cloned vehicles‘ or those that were supposed to be scrapped in Singapore, but instead illegally imported into Malaysia for sale below market prices and subsequently run on fake number plates mirroring those of a similar vehicle.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 03, 2019 at 3:51 pm

Another u turn….again and again and again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Spin Too Much on Oct 03, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Harga kenderaan dijangka turun 30% menjelang 2018 – Azalina.

• BN time also got keep delaying and delaying. This VEP thing started in 2014/2015

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 03, 2019 at 7:17 pm

Singapore implemented this on Malaysians 20 years ago

Our otak not that strong. It has taken over 20 years for us to have non stop mesyuarat to discuss the retaliation

• Chavez on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:00 pm

It is that you realised your otak is not that strong. You should leave it to those that had 60 years of well managed governance and no uturns.

• Call me by your name on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Look if u not interested to govern then just give back the government to bn

• digidigi on Oct 03, 2019 at 4:49 pm

We are third world country, so no worries our neighbour Sg plate car, you can continue enjoy free VEP

• Revenue must come to state govt –

• cikgu sekolah memandu on Oct 04, 2019 at 2:06 pm

murid murid, cikgu pernah tunjuk sekali pusingan U, pastikan anda melihat cermin sisi belakang sebelum memutar stering untuk pusingan U yang juga dikenali sebagai Pusingan Pakatan Harapan.

• Gurubesar sekolah memandu on Oct 04, 2019 at 6:36 pm

cikgu… biar lambat asal selamat dari perampok.