The transport ministry has announced that enforcement of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) will begin on October 1. This will require any foreign motor vehicle entering the country through any route, landing place, check point, or point of entry to have a valid VEP from that date.

The ministry said via a statement that VEP enforcement will be implemented in phases, starting with entry points from Singapore. All foreign-registered vehicles entering the country through Bangunan Sultan Iskandar and Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar will require a VEP from October 1. Vehicles without a VEP then will not be allowed entry into Malaysia.

The second phase will involve all entry points/land borders between Malaysia and Thailand,while in phase three, VEP will be enforced at all entry points/land borders between Malaysia-Brunei-Indonesia. The enforcement dates for vehicles entering and exiting through these entry points/land borders will be announced in due course.

Registration for a VEP, which is issued by the road transport department (JPJ), can be done online here. Once registered, the owner of the motor vehicle will receive an e-mail notification to schedule an appointment for the installation of the VEP-RFID tag, for which all required documents need to be brought along.

The VEP-RFID tag can be installed/collected at four designated centres in Johor Bahru, these being:

  • Gelang Patah Southbound RnR
  • Plaza Angsana Open Carpark
  • Pandan RnR
  • Lima Kedai Toll Plaza

The ministry said all vehicle owners who have yet to register for the VEP are reminded to do so as soon as possible. The VEP for each registered motor vehicle is valid for a period of five years.