Malaysia to implement road charge at all its borders

Malaysia says that it will implement its road charge (RC) on all foreign-registered vehicles entering the country, Bernama reports. This will include vehicles from Indonesia, according to transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

Last week, Liow reiterated that vehicles entering Malaysia from Thailand will be imposed the road charge. Originally set to begin from the end of 2017, the RC for Thai-registered vehicles will now start from June. He added that the rate will be RM20, the same as that imposed on vehicles entering from Singapore.

“All our borders will introduce the RC. We introduced this to protect our country. We are not implementing it for Singapore alone, but also for vehicles registered in Thailand and Indonesia (that come into Malaysia),” he told reporters over the weekend.

Malaysia began imposing the RC on Singapore-registered vehicles at the Causeway and Second Link from November 1 last year, a move that Singapore said was “discriminatory,” prompting the republic to introduce its own reciprocal road charge of S$6.40 (RM20), starting from February 15.

Last week, Singapore said that it will lift the RRC once Malaysia imposed the RC at all Malaysia’s land borders.

“I’m happy with their response, that they will not introduce the RRC if we take up a non discriminative approach. From the very start, I told the Singapore government that we are not discriminating against Singapore. We introduced this basically to ensure the safety of our traffic and vehicles coming from Singapore to Malaysia,” Liow explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• thepolygonal on Jan 23, 2017 at 12:09 pm

RM20 for Thai is a lot. You have been played straight into Singapore’s hand. But then there is no solution to this issue :D

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Looks like Malaysia is super scared of Singapore….ha ha ha

• Nope. MY alredi mentioned long ago that RC will be implement for ALL land border crossing.

• Horizon_Sailor on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:06 pm

since our Ringgit devalued compare with THai baht..i saw a lot of Thai registered vehicle entering Malaysia and drive recklessly on our NSE and federal/state road.

• Clean Slate on Jan 23, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Click Like if you think the govt will continue to implement the road charge or click Dislike if you think it will chicken out and not implement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2017 at 12:39 pm

with that money earn, so can reduce malaysians cost of living or not?

• How is paying an RC for foreign registered vehicles going to ensure safety for Malaysians? What kind of dumb statement came out from the brainless minister?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:26 pm

All signages ‘Selamat Datang’ at our border now can change to ‘Selamat Membayar Caj Jalan Raya’

• Gomorrah on Jan 23, 2017 at 2:16 pm

What BS. Played right in to Singapore’s hands. They effectively share only one land crossing with one country. Sure their policy might apply to all but who does it affect the most? People from other countries besides us driving in to their country ah? They discriminate against us. Why is our government giving in to this and putting all our other neighbours offside?
    Thailand/Indonesia/Brunei – are they charging us like this? The charge should be reciprocal charge not road charge. Charge equal value see if the Singaporeans like it. Other countries do not impose a charge or if there is one it is nominal, we reciprocate la.
    Government politicians like to complain about Singapore so much do something about this!

• Holofanboi on Jan 23, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Charge them all as high as possible for all i care. There’s only one ending to this and its all about the moneh!!!

How about we try for RM21.20? :)

• OMG Minister on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Safety road passage for foreigners ? Have we become the old time mafias trying to extort money from road users ?