Aspark Owl – world’s fastest accelerating car debuts; 0-96 km/h in 1.69 seconds; 2,102 PS and 2,000 Nm

This is the Aspark Owl, and it is Japan’s first all-electric hypercar that recently made its debut at this year’s Dubai Motor Show. While the EV’s name might be a little curious, the performance is nothing to laugh at.

Touted as the world’s fastest accelerating car, the Owl will accelerate from a dead stop to 96 km/h (0-60 mph) in just 1.69 seconds. For context, the Bugatti Chiron takes 2.4 seconds to complete the same sprint, while Tesla’s upcoming second-generation Roadster needs 1.9 seconds. Meanwhile, getting from zero to 300 km/h takes 10.6 seconds, and the car will max out at 400 km/h.

To achieve this level of performance – with road-legal tyres – the EV features four electric motors that provide a total output of 2,012 PS (1,985 hp) and 2,000 Nm of torque. The car also comes with an all-wheel torque vectoring system and four drive modes, with an additional setting for when you want maximum acceleration.

Said motors run on an 800-volt electrical system, and draw power from a lithium-ion battery with a capacity of 64 kWh that provides a driving range of up to 450 km following NEDC regulations. When plugged into a charger with a 44 kW output, the battery is fully charged in just 40 minutes.

These powertrain components are mated to a carbon monocoque structure that weighs just 120 kg, with other aspects being double wishbone hydraulic suspension that allows drivers to adjust the ride height between 80 mm and 160 mm. For stopping power, there are carbon ceramic brake discs on all four corners, with 10-piston front and four-piston rear calipers.

Carbon-fibre is also used for the car’s body, which weighs in at just 180 kg, and covers a rather large footprint with a length of 4,791 mm and width of 1,935 mm. The wheelbase spans 2,750 mm, and if you think the car looks a little too low, that’s because it is only 993 mm tall.

Other noteworthy aspects of the exterior include a deployable rear wing and cameras in place of conventional side mirrors. The unique shape is dedicated to minimising drag, and there are various active aerodynamic highlights for efficient air flow.

Despite the lightweight chassis and body, the dry weight of the Owl is actually 1,900 kg due to the powertrain, battery and some of the creature comforts that are fitted to it. For instance, you get a reverse camera, an infotainment system, a climate control system, four interior display screens, ambient lighting and keyless system.

There isn’t much practicality to speak of, as the luggage capacity is just 50 litres, but you’ll be able to bring a friend along as there’s two seats available, and the flamboyant butterfly doors should attract plenty of attention.

The Owl will be produced in Turin, Italy in collaboration with Manifattura Automobili Torino, with just 50 units planned. If you want one, it’ll cost you 2.9 million euro (RM13,275,520), with an initial deposit of 50,000 euro (RM228,919).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Engineer on Nov 15, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Only a few years ago where the Koenig One:1 with 1000PS and 1000Nm was the king of speed. Now this car virtually doubled that. Will we have a car that could go zero to hundred in less than 1sec?

• As only friction forces are responsible for accelerating a car, the maximum acceleration is limited by the road and the tires, not the engine power.
      Dragsters reach 0-100km/h in 0.9s, BUT: They have extremely soft tires with very low air pressure which are heated up before a race. Additionally, the tires are even bolted with the rims to prevent wheel spin within the tire during acceleration. And the lifetime of a dragster tire is 1.5 miles (2.4km) only…

• Awang Selamat Jr on Nov 18, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Gayat bang…

• Syer1n on Nov 15, 2019 at 5:46 pm

At the expense of aesthetic. This thing is just hideous.

• 4bini on Nov 15, 2019 at 8:06 pm

This is super fast. Now bhp got no more meaning. Even 500 bhp also nothing to brag about

• This must be the first comment from you that doesn’t involve politics and ‘abang abang’ ! very refreshing to see

• Dr Strange on Nov 18, 2019 at 2:12 pm

On and off the medical officers shove enough medicines into him that makes him sane to post such rare comments. They just don’t do that often enough tho.

• Ahmadjr on Nov 15, 2019 at 8:08 pm

We can live with 40 minutes full charge for 450km

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 15, 2019 at 8:46 pm

U sure this is not using the bullet train motor?

• Margaret Lee on Nov 15, 2019 at 8:47 pm

Look like my hamster after being rub on the head

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 15, 2019 at 10:55 pm

We will see 6 wheelers very soon I guess, less of an issue with electric drive. There is only so much grip 4 tyres will give you.

• More wheels would bring another set of problems: Weight and drag.

• Wow…just wow

• Ksatria on Nov 17, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Where’s our flying car?