Following calls for the banning of the ubiquitous kapchai on Malaysian roads, a proposal the speed limit underbone motorcycles be limited to70 km/h has emerged. However, Malaysian Transport Minister Anthony Loke has said such a proposal has to be studied from all angles and the extent of its implementation.
“We know there are proposals to limit the speed of kapchais but in the Malaysian context it involves many motorcycle owners, perhaps as many as 10 million,” Loke said in a Bernama report quoted by Berita Harian Online. Speaking as a guest on a Bernama Radio show, Loke said he was not rejecting the proposal out of hand but any decision made (by the ministry) would have far reaching consequences.
Previously, Loke had said banning kapchais on Malaysian roads would not be practical nor would they be barred from using toll highways. Calls for the banning and limiting the speed of kapchais had previously been made by an alleged motorcycle safety advocacy group named Safety First who appear to have the attention of the authorities despite not showing any provenance or credentials with respect to motorcycles.
No need la. None of the laws are being enforced anyway.
Expect more uturns again from our perennial uturn gahmen.
Until today, the PDRM cannot even control all the Mat Rempit and kapchai using Federal Highway and not the bike lane.
Everyday got so many accidents on Federal Highway because Motorbike refuse to use Bike Lane.
We must educate these abang abang to use the bike lane. Simple things like this they cannot follow, we cannot implement any other laws like that.
These Mat Rempits think they own the country that is why there is disregard for the law
This has nothing to do with PDRM or rempits. This affects the safety of daily users riding to work, they have nothing to do with PDRM or rempits at all. This has everything related to their safety and how this pea-brained idea is making it dangerous for them. You should educate your equally sized nutty brain to think straight before you comment.
We as the motorcycle safety advocacy group gotta start somewhere , laws enforced or not.
Sorry but this dumb idea is not gonna make it safer for motorcyclists but the effects will be the opposite of what you are expecting.
Please band motorcycles during on fast lane. Why they are not using the motorcycle lanes on Federal highway and KESAS?
brainless post. go see the motor lanes, digging here digging there, belok sini, turn out to main road here and there.
The motorcycle lane always has closed section and usually poorly maintained
I check motor lanes, it is fine. Only the lazy people don’t want to use it and want to break the law.
Always finding the easy way out to do thigns
Gregg Chia. Please tell me which motor lanes you checked is fine, give me the exact mile location. Don’t just come and lie then blame others, you never tried it yourself, you don’t know anything. So don’t come here and just throw lies.
Should make it 40kmh. Most of the kapchai riders are abang abang who are thrill seekers. Come from big families with many kids, they have no parental guidance.
It is good we reduce the speed further. Don’t let the rempits ruin their lives
We should ban moto in Malaysia completely. At least the snatch thefts would be under control
Its good you clearly have no clue how us motor riders face daily cooped up in your room typing BS daily. At least you have a good excuse for your brainless logic.
You’re actually starting nowhere. Go away..!
Why entertain this group which clearly does not comes from rider background?
I will break 80kmh everyday when approaching a flyover on my kapchai. This is done so i can ride safely on to the flyover. Going slower is not safe coz lots of cars are coming faster trying to exit the road and not going up the flyover. Imagine riding alone at 70kmh while cars around u are moving at least 90kmh. Too much difference in speed is dangerous.
Above all…this is just a waste of time and money…..what next, limit certain car’s cornering speed?
True. I ride on MEX daily at different times of day. During non peak hours I have been and seen cars nearly side swiping motorcycle while trying to exit the highway. As a rule I speed up near any ramps so that I am as fast or faster than the cars.
The problem with all this people is, they come from big families of 6 to 12 kids. So, when one kid dies from an accident, the family say it is fine and it is takdir.
This is why the parents don’t teach the kids how dangerous bikes are.
Daily users are parents riding bikes to work. This has nothing to do with family sizes or parents teaching kids. You going off topic what for?
Dumb group..Yet making the most noise.
Comment like a topkek ricer who don’t understand and refuses to understand the difficulties of kapcai riders.
imagine cars going 10-20 km/h in jam while motorcycles lane splitting at 60-70km/h
I am an avid rider. I fully agree. When you attend advanced safety riding coursr(s), one is taught about speed differential when overtaking. It should not exceed 30% of speed of vehicle being overtaken. This is to ‘buy reaction time for motorcyclist. Again….how many attend these courses and exercise discipline when on the Road?
another stupid proposal. Why not those “menteri” ride kapchai first than give comment.
It is not the minister’s proposal. He is commenting on the Safety First group call
this v-tec fan is an idiot as one can be, go read the article first. not the menteri proposal but a proposal by out of nowhere safety group. umno goons? or ph goons? both goons are goons
He got so much free time to comment what others say ke? Why not he comment what I think about his incompetence and bumbling in his job as the worst Minister of Transport we ever had?
Stupid Loke is at it again. 70kmph is slower than a fast moving lorry traveling at highway speeds (80-90kmph), so what happens when a lorry speeds up to a kapchai? slow down and give way? As if a lorry can brake that soon. What a stupid stupid STOOOPIIIDDD idea!!
Has he even done study what caused kapchai accidents? It is riders attitude and attitude of other road users not respecting kapchais, you fool! A 70kmph speedlimit doesn’t prevent a rider from crossing a red light and hitting pedestrians. Neither does it prevent inattentive cars & lorries from doing last minute turns that would collect kapachai riders.
Think again Mr Minister! You are fast turning into a Mr Mime.
diam la rempit
Talk like an Ah beng who hogs the fast lane traveling 80km/h.
dont ride kapchai ez
Then ride what? Posmen, foodpanda n grab food riders all want to use what bike sorhai.
Car/van/truck, take a pick. Have some sort of incentive for them to switch from kapchai to something else. Bikes are already unsafe among others.
1 million capchai emit less carbon than 100,000 vans and small trucks combined. Bikes are not UNSAFE… its the attitude or riders, attitude of other drivers, road conditions, weather conditions which effects safety.
good law. but if not enforced what is the point? currently a lot of laws but none are being enforced even. those rempits still flying on the road without a care…
another way to rob our money isn’t?
DAP= Don’t Ask Please. Just be another brainless supporter and follow.
A slow bike is more dangerous than a fast one.
Let the Minister try out first by riding a kapchai on 70km/h, can stand or not. Please la, understand the rakyat feels. You should improve the motorcycle lane first, make it wider with a proper light during night time, no sharp corners.
yea, yea, yea…….later the minister gonna say P2 kancil car very small…..need to limit the speed too…..
Anyway, simple enforcement by the Govt hardly done right after all these donkey years, despite increase of manpower, increase of enforcement fleet, equipment, budget every year.
At this rate, PH govt gonna last only one term…
90% of cars on the road/highway dont even follow the 110km/h speed limit. In fact ive seen people go over 190km/h. Just let us kapchai users at least hit 110 on the highway
put electronic speed limiter onto buses and lorries…that is more useful
Its useless… Just give heavy fine for those doing superman or the rempit. Same to the car… Very rude driving, change lane without cautious, tail gating, impose them with heavy fine… Learn from chinese govt how they discipline the road user…
for their own good, motorist die the most … but the most stubborn
those who buy Y15 kapchai will cry…. pay so much for a bigger cc in the end have to go the same speed as EX5.
Honestly, how many drivers keep left if not overtaking???
Govn should penalise motorcyclists who doesnt queue up during traffic jams but instead cut in and out of traffic in a zig zag fashion which is annoying and at the same time dangerous.
No point introducing new laws. If there is no enforcement in the first place, whats the point of setting new laws?? The enforcement of laws in Malaysia is very weak, what makes you think the majority will follow the new rule?
The MAIN issue here is ENFORCEMENT. No enforcement, the majority will not take it seriously.
made bumpers all the highways ..lets all vehicle speed only 20-30km ..stupid proposal and alang2 made it stupid forever
Minister should ban all motor to highway. In most of the other country all kap chai is not allowed to use high way line only use motor line. This is always an issue and accident cause of motor.