Gov’t needs to review kapchai ban proposal – police

Gov’t needs to review <em>kapchai</em> ban proposal – police

The government needs to review the proposal on banning small underbone motorcycles, or kapchais from the streets of Kuala Lumpur, said the Royal Malaysian Police in a report by Bernama.

Datuk Rusli Ahmad, Crime Prevention and Community Safety Department director at the RMP, said the authorities should take into account the considerations of those in the lower income bracket using such motorcycles, and not just focus on reducing carbon emissions and snatch theft cases in the city centre.

“In terms of safety, we’re not denying that imposing such a ban can reduce snatch theft cases as previous studies revealed that most of the offenders were kapchai riders,” said Rusli Ahmad. However, he suggested that the ban be enforced at crowded areas such as the night markets and public event venues as these places attracted snatch thieves riding the kapchais.

On Monday, Federal Territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor mooted the idea, which has received mixed reactions from the public. In a response, Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar refuted the notion that the ban will help reduce pollution, and said proper research is needed before proceeding with such a move.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Polis need kapcais to do patrols…

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:44 pm

The gov need not be apologetic in what it plans and executes because everything is for the rakyat. We need to play our role and be more serious in defending whatever the gov says. After all, every single drop of blood in our body rightfully belongs to the gov. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • Wise Guy on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Police just ride horse… no need to buy motorcycle. Jimat minyak and kurangkan pencemaran.

• Wud be gud if real. Then polis can teach horsie to pee on any yellow troopers.

• anonymous on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:17 pm

totally brainless people talking.. ban kapchai to reduce snatch theft? wth.. root cause is you impose gst, 1mdb, currency issue etc. rakyat suffer and then has to steal. if all gov care about rakyat and get rid of corruption make malaysian wealthy, kapchai or what, no more snatching.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:23 pm

This sounds like the usual lame thing, come up with a stupid proposal, infuriate people for a while, then the G will say this proposal is not gonna happen bcos ‘ we care about the rakyat’.. And those mentally challenged ppl all fall for it, and vote for the same thing… This year definitely got election!

• Bernard on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Best to stop selling motorcycles below 249cc.

• I do concede I have a slight bias in my views on kapchai as I wholeheartedly dislike the notion of these 2 wheel manace. But I digress, it’s not something that can be implemented with urgency.

The completion of the MRT project as a whole as well as increase frequency of existing trains and Buses in the city will be integral as well as reducing ridership cost, add to that, there should be more covered/ underground walkways, manned by security forces to contribute to a easier accessibility of the millions who work and live in Kuala Lumpur. In Japan, Singapore and South Korea, most of its shopping districts can be found underground connecting major hotspots or shops and is something I wish to see implemented in Malaysia.

Until than, as much as I desire to have these two wheels off the city, it’s not something I will support.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Too much “dedak” has congested his heart and his brain is starved of oxygen. This is how Jabba come out with this “bright’ idea.

• Saya sokong DS Tengku punya idea..bernas..dengan syarat semua harga motor bukan kapchai turun 80%-90% agar kami pengguna2 kapchai yang tak pernah buat masalah ini mampu beli..

• kamarul on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:34 pm

What they need to ban are after market exhaust modifications, which degrades/removes the muffler (catalytic converter?). It’s what makes it so annoyingly noisy and smelly with all the poisonous gasses escaping filtration. Please pass this on to PDRM/JPJ/Ku Nan, please take action and saman all the rempits who ride with choking trails of white smoke and force them to revert to the original exhaust.

• Bum_Bum on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:35 pm

DBKL should ban any private vehicle entering KL during weekdays , except 10pm to 6am

i repeat “privately own vehicle”

can solve congestion, pollution, snatch thieve, carbon emissions, parking, couriers lead time, bus punctuality and even security threat like car bomb

• Rich people idea..i bet he never ride a kapchai..

• Madrid mayor must be even richer to ban cars from coming into city

• Police prefer using kapchais to patrol also. This ban is stupid. Just ban cars/kapchai above 10 years old. This will solve your emission problems and congestion

• Sparcov on Jan 18, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Nothing to do with police, police should encourage the ban of kapcai in order to reduce crime. Not to encourage it. What is your agenda?

• Naik banyak, Turun sikit on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:15 pm

yeah……another half-bake idea from truly Govt and the gang.

• Ben Yap on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:59 pm

why can’t these ministers discuss among themselves first in the meeting room before calling the media to release the statement?

once all agree, no need to refute here and there. efficiency is the keyword.

• zamri on Jan 18, 2017 at 5:08 pm

How come a kapchai with small engine and consumed less fuel can emit more pollution than bigger motorcycle, cars and trucks! Is the minister statement was true?

• Minister on Jan 18, 2017 at 6:16 pm

The capabilities of the ministers and mayors need a review also.

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:11 pm

I sense that Rusli Ahmad of Crime Prevention & Community Safety Department director is trying to do Damage Control here.

Before our Gov intend to ban Kapcai, it’s ministers must first learn to think & talk like a First world Minister.

If you think banning Kapcai will reduce pollution, this may not be the Best time yet. As for snatch thieves, maybe a stiffer penalty would dither the offender.

• Seriously? Of all matters, this is the only thing you can come up with?