Proton X70 CKD 7-speed wet DCT: more efficient than VW DSGs, >350k km lifetime, meets Volvo standards

Proton has recently confirmed that the locally-assembled 2020 X70 will come with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, and ahead of its impending launch, the national carmaker brought a select group of media to Ningbo, Zhejiang in China to learn more about the new gearbox.

The wet clutch unit, developed by Geely and Volvo, is being built in Geely’s Chunxiao and Changing plants in Zhejiang province, and it is currently found in variants of the Volvo XC40 and a range of Lynk & Co and Geely models that use the new 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine. Some Geely models, like the Boyue the X70 is based on, also get the DCT with the existing 1.8 litre turbo four-pot mill.

In those models, it replaces the six-speed automatic from the Geely-owned Australian gearbox manufacturer Drivetrain Systems International (DSI). In fact, Geely no longer uses gearboxes from DSI, as the six-speed auto offered on the Boyue Pro – mated, confusingly, to the 1.5 litre engine – is sourced from Aisin.

Back to the DCT, which is said to be of roughly the same size as the torque converter auto and weighs less, at just 75 kg. The gearbox comes with a BMW-style shift-by-wire electronic gearlever and paddle shifters, and can shift gears in as little as 0.3 seconds and has a maximum torque rating of 330 Nm. This frees up an extra 15 Nm from the 1.8 litre engine, bringing the total up to 300 Nm. Power remains the same at 181 hp.

Geely claims the DCT provides class-leading efficiency, and it says it actually benchmarked Volkswagen’s dry clutch DSGs (which provide lower driveline losses than Wolfsburg’s wet clutch units) here, with an overall efficiency figure of 94.6% and a maximum figure of 97%.

The latter number is close to a good old-fashioned manual gearbox, and it enables the Chinese-market Boyue to achieve a claimed fuel consumption figure of 7.5 litres per 100 km with the 1.8 litre engine and front-wheel drive – down from the 7.8 litres per 100 km the outgoing six-speeder is capable of mustering. Geely says the gearbox is also more efficient than Aisin’s eight- (88%) and six-speed (89%) autos.

But aside from being efficiency champions, VW’s dry clutch DSGs have also been beset with reliability issues, something Geely is confident it’s able to avoid. Apart from the inherently more robust nature of wet clutches, the company says its DCT conforms to Volvo’s stricter durability requirements, designed for a service life of more than 350,000 km – significantly higher than the industry standard of 240,000 km.

The company has also conducted numerous tests in extreme weather conditions, with hot weather tests in Turpan, China, Alice Springs, Australia and South Africa, plus cold weather tests in Jokkmokk and Colmis in Sweden and Heihe and Yakeshi in China. High altitude tests at the Kunlun Mountain and the Alps, wet weather tests in Hainan and city driving tests in Chongqing, Shanghai, Gothenburg and Stockholm have also taken place, and all in all, the gearbox has racked up over nine million kilometres in testing.

Further improving reliability and efficiency is the use of proprietary low-viscosity transmission fluid – particularly important as DCTs require a different formulation compared to traditional automatic transmission fluid. While Proton has yet to provide specific figures, it did say the service intervals are comparable to the regular automatic, and in fact the fluid is cheaper than the ATF it uses for the CBU imported X70.

Production units of the 2020 X70 are rolling out of Tanjung Malim as we speak, so the launch will happen sooner rather than later. We had a brief test drive of a Geely Boyue Pro in China with the same engine and gearbox combination, and you will be able to read about it shortly.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mark 2 on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:29 am

Dct gearbox only 350k lifetime? Question is, how much to fix or to change new 1 nextime after it kong?
    Still 4at god car gearbox last longer no matter how pipu bash. My 1st gen vios now clocked 600++km never have any gearbox problem. And my 1992 landcruiser mark 2 clocked 900+km also gearbox never show any problem. My corolla ae101 also never have ay gearbox issue. 4at toyota gearbox is like undestructable. As long u take good care of it. Just use back factory standard gearbox oil and it last longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 41
    • Honda - The Power Of Sucks on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Exactly! Anyway, overall Proton DCT and other gearbox such as Hyundai, Toyota and Mazda are more reliable than Honda. That’s why Malaysians are already turning away from buying Honda Cars. Besides, sooner, when launching new Honda City and Jazz without AEB, land departure warning, rear cross traffic alert and others. Malaysians will buy other brands instead of Honda. Even Malaysians also complaint about service and car quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 12, 2020 at 11:57 pm

After 12 years of hardwork since VW introduced the dry-clutch (DQ200) back in 2007, I hope Geely really got it right finally.

• Engineer on Feb 01, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Question is, is there many who will use the car up to 350,000 km lifetime? Furthermore that is the rated lifetime of constant usage so for normal lifetime use, you can bet it will easily last 500,000 km with regular DCT oil change. And for a car as affordable as the X70, you will be changing to the next generation X70 way before that.

• Habislah x70 incoming gearbox problems.
      Habislah x70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Choose on Feb 01, 2020 at 4:06 pm

So, do u guys prefer dct gearbox wif 350k km lifetime or toyota 4at 20 years gerenti no problem gearbox?

• Does Toyota gerenti 20 years no problem with their gearbox? Where did it stated that?

• johnnas on Feb 06, 2020 at 2:48 pm

u must be extremely young to not know what Luke is talking about, son. Stop trying to be a smart-arse.

• Azman Malek on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:37 am

Everybody knows for a fact that DCT cannot be stuck in jams and cannot tolerate hot weather.

This is no rocket science. Wet or Dry does not matter. DCT cannot handle KL jams at all.

In overseas like Sweden and Europe, mana ada jams?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Proton X70 RV = VW Passat RV on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:55 am

Proton is not a Volvo. Otherwise, nobody will buy a Volvo.

Remember that.

Don’t think you are getting Volvo quality. There is always B grade and C grade in the manufacturing industry.

Geely or Volvo will never give the expensive version for a cheapo car. Rm400k Volvo car gearbox is not going to be given to a Proton

Be careful. When rosak time, you will pay nothing less than RM30k to RM50k to repair a DCT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Wow you so salty because can afford buy car or because you already want to die and jealous of younger gen better high tech.

• Be smart and choose wisely on Feb 02, 2020 at 5:43 pm

Be wise and be smart to all of you before buying cars. honda is bad choice to buy. Because when you buy honda in here, there will be too problematic for quality and always went to service center many times. They always promised by resolving problems but in the end, still got problems. Even making appointments, also want to tell lies to arrange another week. Especially for launching honda cars here, Honda Malaysia will always remove safety specs like aeb. Honda Malaysia doesn’t care about your lives as I they only care about profits and sales.

• John Gelisah on Feb 03, 2020 at 8:34 am

Geely better give 20-years warranty on the DCT gearbox to prove it with sincere honesty.

Agree ??

• D Wayne on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:48 pm

You champion looohhh

• Mark 2 on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:32 am

Dct gearbox only 350k lifetime? Question is, how much to fix or to change new 1 nextime after it kong?
    Still 4at god car gearbox last longer no matter how pipu bash. My 1st gen vios now clocked 600k++km never have any gearbox problem. And my 1992 landcruiser mark 2 clocked 900k++km also gearbox never show any problem. My corolla ae101 also never have any gearbox issue at 900k++km. 4at toyota gearbox is like undestructable. As long u take good care of it. Just use back factory standard gearbox oil and it last longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • Apek saga on Feb 01, 2020 at 4:13 pm

My 30 years old saga megavalve since bought new until now never have problem also. Milleage cannot count anymore already pas 999,999 haha. Engine original but overhauled once only. I careful wif engine. I more salute older proton car. Saga blm saga fl just 2 3 years already a lot komplen gearbox.

• Azman Malek on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:46 am

Happy now because so smooth the gear change but outside warranty, when the gearbox rosak, DCT will cost RM30k to repair.

This is why Ford and VW cars after warranty got no RV

• Proton X70 RV = VW Passat RV on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:52 am

History always repeats. Big companies like VW can bear the losses but can small companies like Proton bear such great losses?

X70 DCT gearbox is just another name for DSG

• To those Jepunis fanboys who say X70 got no Volvo tech: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
  • Hj Shamsul Annuar on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:15 am

China is a cold country. Wet or Dry dual clutch is okay. But Malaysia is super hot.

Malaysia is one of the hottest countries in the world. Some say we are even hotter than Saudi Arabia even because humidity is the highest.

You can rest assured you will see many breakdowns

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 40
    • Aura89 on Feb 01, 2020 at 3:48 pm

“hot weather tests in Turpan, China, Alice Springs, Australia”
      Right now Aussie is burning, yes even hotter than Malaysia. Malaysia never get above 40C so if it outlast Aussie summers, it will outlast Malaysian weather easily.

• Malaysia is being hotter than saudi arabia..are you for real…please read on weather patterns of both countries before commenting….saudi/kuwait during summer months night time is between 39 to 42 deg c daytime it ranges from 58 to 62 deg c…Doubt you will see such temps here

• Tun F on Feb 01, 2020 at 5:27 pm

Dude… It’s wet clutch

• 9MillionKM Thru Extreme Weather on Feb 02, 2020 at 8:27 pm

The company has also conducted numerous tests in extreme weather conditions, with hot weather tests in Turpan, China, Alice Springs, Australia and South Africa, plus cold weather tests in Jokkmokk and Colmis in Sweden and Heihe and Yakeshi in China. High altitude tests at the Kunlun Mountain and the Alps, wet weather tests in Hainan and city driving tests in Chongqing, Shanghai, Gothenburg and Stockholm have also taken place, and all in all, the gearbox has racked up over nine million kilometres in testing

• That is the problem when bashers have reading disability.

• volvere on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:22 am

The Volvo standard is that the car cannot go faster than 180km/h. No wonder it lasts longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Engineer on Feb 01, 2020 at 7:30 pm

They should have used Bezza standard (115km/h max), then it would last 700k km.

• History of Motoring in the World on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:30 am

Do you know why companies like VW and Ford failed big time in Malaysia?

These are the two biggest car companies in the world. They spend billion on research and development and they know everything about dual clutch.

When the two companies cannot solve their own dual clutch issue, do you think a China company can be trusted?

Geely started in 1997

VW and Ford started in the 18th century!!!! They were around before 1900 la

I think I better bilip VW and Ford. They themselves cannot find a solution for their DSG/ Dual clutch.

How can young 1997 Geely know more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 51
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 01, 2020 at 3:37 pm

Geely can succeed where others failed because they are hardworking compared to VW & Ford. And the reason why is because they learnt how to be more productive from our abang-abangs in Pekan. Our DRB workers are even more productive than VW Germany, so unlike stuck up Westerners, Geely was humble to learn how to work hard from our DRB workers.

• It’s obvious you didn’t read that Ford put the problematic DCT into its cars knowingly.

• That’s why younger generations do things better. If it’s not because of the younger generation invention and improvement, we might still using telegraph to communicate until today..

Do you think that all the older companies doing things right? Sometimes they stuck at doing thing their way that they can’t even fix the error that starts even during the design of the product. If they know everything about dsg/dct, they won’t stupidly have the guts to put the dry clutch dsg in our climate per say, now they are using the wet clutch for current production and things are better nowadays, hence your claim is wrong already, they didn’t know everything about the so called dsg they invent..

If you look at it, the geely dct design is pretty much differ from the one used in vw and ford. We can only judge once it’s on our road.. i do hope that the dct could actually work, or otherwise better stick to torque converter for our market

• WongTack on Feb 03, 2020 at 9:01 am

I cannot believe there is a st***d malaysian like you. It is actually Volvo. Volvo does all those works. But since Geely is the parent company, they announce it as Geely. There is nothing wrong with the statements. I am not sure when Volvo was founded but it is not as late as 1997 and not as early as VW and Ford. Yeah, banggalah dgn Ford hang tu. Dah dpt perintah mahkamah to pay the buyers gantirugi.

• Tow Truck Association of Malaysia on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:49 am

Our retirement has just been taken care off!!

• Open Letter to Geely on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:55 am

If Proton is so confident about their gearbox, pls give us a 15 year warranty on the gearbox alone.

Can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • yanggang2020 on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:45 am

Open letter to an idiot.
      How long is a toyota warranty? Honda? BMW? Bently? I believe there is no car manufacturer in the world dare to give 15 year warranty for their transmission. Does that mean they didn’t have confident on their product? If a top car manufacturer didn’t even do it why should proton? I believe in criticism but a stupid criticism is in whole another matter

• Newme on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:57 am

Meet what standard? Volvo quality is crap to begin with. Look at the x70 quality survey report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Frozen on Feb 01, 2020 at 3:56 pm

Which survey? Oh you mean THAT paid survey which nobody trust anymore? You mean THAT survey kah? Kah kah kah kah!

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2020 at 4:14 pm

Lol very true. Volvo does not rank high in vehicle reliability so I don’t get why some Malaysians speak as if Volvo can last forever. If you want the top ranking reliable vehicles in the world you look at Toyota but the X70 quality survey has nothing to do with Volvo. The Boyue has no input from the Swedes. It’s a purely Chinese engineered vehicle with parts sourced from all their subsidiaries.

• Jeremy on Feb 03, 2020 at 2:06 pm

It does rank higher than BMW mate. What is your concern here?

• U knows with Volvo benchmark quality, ur P1 cars are assured to last 350k km usage. Tahniah P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 01, 2020 at 12:19 pm

For a MT driver like me, the DCT is still not as good & flexible as manual clutch gearbox. You cant jump gears fast enough to match the vehicle speed changes in hard driving conditions. In MT driving, very often we declutch to play with car momentum before re-engaging the right gear & powering up on the gas to provide a smooth & swift drive rather than stepping on the brakes before changing gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • You can tell that for majority driver who usr auto haha

• Bored with clever people on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:48 pm

You very clever lah. Clap clap clap. Go on, keep driving your MT car as long as you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Brian on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:51 pm

Well for certain we cannot Takumi Fujiwara with a DCT box

• Thorough testing regiment, sportier driving feel, better fuel economy and lower maintenance are all good indications. The only thing to know now is whether will hike up the X70 CKD price or not.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:09 pm

Of all the places Geely tested their DCT, they forgot to test it in our local weather. Not only do we have hot and humid weather, we also have flash floods which contribute to a lot more humidity than other countries which aren’t in our tropical climate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • In parts of South Africa where the car is tested, like Durban, the weather there is very similar to ours. So going by their test regiment, I see they had done their homework thoroughly.

• Apricot on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:11 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia and their arrogant attitude that gives a car with many issues on quality and aftersales services. Even upcoming City Turbo and other Honda models doesn’t have AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Nobody will touch this brand. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 15
    • Case123 on Feb 02, 2020 at 11:29 am

My Honda Accord 2.0 litres gave a lot of problems to me after 3 yrs only.
      Catalyst converter spoiled,
      Airbag problem due to seatbelt buckle
      Fuel warning indicator out of order

My Camry before Honda AC never had these headaches.

Traded in my Honda AC for X70 Executive a yr ago.

• Levin on Feb 03, 2020 at 3:50 am

Wow… looks like you’re a die hard Honda basher. Fact of the day, Mazda CX-5 has a known issue of fuel pump failure. Try look at CX-5 facebook group and you will see how many units affected. One of my close friend bought brand new CX-5 broke down after 6 months and less than 3,000km traveled. Root cause: fuel pump
      Another fact, Honda sold 85k units vs Mazda at 10k units. Obviously after sales is going to be tougher on Honda due to the sheer volume. I bet if Mazda even managed to sell twice or thrice more, they’re going to have tough time with after sales.
      Anyways, the problem here is consumer law & enforcement. Due to the lack of thereof, we’re all taken for a ride for paying premium price on low quality/spec vehicles regardless of the make/brand. Try to read about Lemon Law and see how it helps to protect the consumer and also focuses on delivering a better quality product to the consumer.

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 02, 2020 at 2:11 pm

Car manufacturers claim all sorts of things in the name of sales marketing. The prime target is only one – influence prospect to become buyers.

Lets handle all the rest after.

Well, thats what happened to VW.

Same thing happening to Ford Malaysia. Lucky Sime Darby still has the Ranger as it’s last piece of hope. Fiesta, Focus, Lynx, S max, Mondeo, Transit are all a failure.

Saab is totally gone, so was Skoda. Chevrolet did not survive after one time heart transplant, opel had it’s slow death.

If all those advertisements are good, Cherry is a big name in Malaysia today. And face it – even Malaysian Chinese didn’t support this product from mainland China.
    OK. That was in the past.

Who.is buying Haval today? Coming soon Borgward?

Bleh. I stick to my 4 speed auto vios. Top.notch reliability. still holding value strong after 10 years. 650km easily.per full.tank of 40.litres.

200kph.max speed from.tiny 110bhp.motor
    Sampan handling? Not under the expert hands..

What else can one want?

• Darren on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Good luck walking out of an accident from your 10 yo milotin when you lose control of your car. I pray for you to realise that before its too late to buy that X70.

• Paul Teh on Nov 19, 2020 at 3:05 am

Many macai will burn you but I believe in you because you mentioned Ford. This geely box is sluggish and is no where near VW dsg. It’s a dumb dual clutch that made me cancel my order on the x50. A simple 6 speed aisin feels a hell lot better than this China box.

• Golfer on Feb 02, 2020 at 8:58 pm

It’s easy to just say reliable. Until it’s really proven to be reliable, it’s all just sales and marketing talk.

• FireAce on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:35 am

>350k km lifetime?? Hahahaha

Put a warranty on that and I will believe you

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 03, 2020 at 8:00 am

I am not sure how can Geely having such ambitious to called its DCT is class leading while VW had been using this tech for decades and yet to claim their DSG is class leading. Btw the wet clutch problem is far lesser than dry clutch and Geely is comparing its wet clutch to dry DCT isn’t apple to apple. VW wet clutch had proven in worldwide basis while Geely DCT is mainly used in China market. It has yet to be recognised and proven in other markets.

Don’t forget in Malaysia our weather is hot and high humidity, Geely has tested in China extreme hot or extreme cold but yet humidity is much lower than tropical country like Malaysia.

• How come compare wet geely with dry vw? Vw wet never had dsg problem lorr.

• Engineer on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:12 pm

If you read closely, they are comparing in terms of their wet DCT having better efficiencies than VW dry DSG but with the reliability of VW wet DSG. Basically the best of both worlds and nearly as efficient compared to a manual but do remember, human shifting will still be inefficient compared to robotic clutches in real world usage.