New Proton Suprima – C-segment hatch rendered

Proton may be focused on building its range of SUVs right now, but that doesn’t mean we can’t dream of what might come next, right? Enter our resident Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin, who has conjured up renders of what a next-generation Suprima could look like.

Unlike his past Proton renders, this isn’t based on some existing Geely model, with the only parts coming from Geely being the Emgrand GS’ wing mirrors and Vision S1’s Y-spoke alloy wheels. In fact, this imaginary car is largely based on the latest fourth-generation SEAT Leon.

The design cues of the Spanish hatch are clear to see, including the long-bonnet proportions, curvaceous surfacing, upswept window line (intersecting with the rear windscreen here) and full-width tail lights, although the headlights have been lifted from the Renault Kadjar SUV. All these combine to form a handsome – if rather anonymous – European-style C-segment hatch, just like the original Suprima S.

As for the probability of a new Suprima heading to production, let’s just file that in the “unlikely” category. Proton is currently focused on the growth of its domestic sales, and the C-segment is a shrinking market – hatchbacks even more so, judging by the original’s lukewarm reception. As much as we loathe the appearance of yet another player in the SUV market, we have to say that the national carmaker’s approach is the right one. But there’s no harm in dreaming of more offbeat cars from the company, is there?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Look south on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:04 pm

Looks good! Hope Proton will produce a good hatch as the Satria GTi or Suprima in 4 door form. The Suprima although did not do well, is a good looking car with good performance. Downside was CVT gearbox hesitation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Mid-sized hatchbacks are dead as SUVs are taking that marketshare. While I applaud PaulTan and team’s call to revive Suprima S, there is little economic justifications yet. I would prefer if they revive Gen2 line with a new fastback hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • romance on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:04 pm

(Like) Toyota Yaris, Proton Suprima
    (Dislike) Honda Jazz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
  • Rendang ayam on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:05 pm

Excellent render by Theophillus Chin! I don”t think Proton can design such Game-Changing car, the next Suprima will just be a rebadged of Geely’s hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Sigh. You just don’t get it when PaulTan actually actively bans your umpteen various fake accounts for the umpteen times, don’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • The Observer on Feb 21, 2020 at 9:25 am

hello Alan, this Rendang guy is Roti john, not the other regular troll that you meant.

• Troll Hunter on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:51 pm

We only have 1 troll here that keeps coming and coming and never learns his lessons.

• Failed Troll Hunter on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:08 pm

You’re hugely mistaken then. Kunta and Roti john are 2 different trolls. The former has been around since 2013 earliest, while the latter only started appearing in 2018.

• Vader on Feb 22, 2020 at 10:07 am

You can change your name but we can still smell your shits from 2016 and I have been here far longer.

• This comes here, then jazz can stop production & selling to the customers.

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:11 pm

For Proton to succeed in Europe it will badly need A segment hatchback, B segment hatch and C segment hatch along with an EV or hybrid version of each as well as a hot hatch.

Otherwise just maintain the current line up for Asia market.

Bear in mind also some Europe countries will start banning sales of ICE cars as early as 2025. expect the same thing to take place in Asia around 2030 onwards.

• JOACHIM on Feb 21, 2020 at 8:54 am

I don’t think it’s wise for Proton to go back into EU market right now. There is just no profitable reasons atm.

• Jia Chin on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:11 pm

People will choose to buy this brand instead of Honda. They also don’t want to buy any honda with bad quality and services. Honda M’sia also give kosong specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • I really hope they can revive the Suprima S nameplate and sell us cars with some familiar names. We know how well the Suprima S drives and it has potentials to become a hot hatch.

• Not a fan of hatchbacks but i might say, that is a sweet looking one
    better than vw mk8

• p1 shud have 1halo model. hot hatch just perfect

• Dream on. There will be no new suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • the problem with the previous suprima, it is just that its body dimension ratio terrible off… instead of making it look fast and with great stance, turn out to be slouch and tortoise look by its sillhoutte…
    it is very nice to draw on paper… but always fail when it comes with the real thing…

• Chavez on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:01 am

The main problem was it doesn’t have a butt. If it came as a fastback, the sales will meletup like Gen 2. Until today, Gen 2 is still in demand by many.

• Krayao on Feb 21, 2020 at 7:21 am

Put a good geely engine in it. Dang sure gooding on the road.

• Halim Tahir on Feb 21, 2020 at 7:39 am

Proton now is improving. My Iriz is ok.

• People dun bilif especially those from P2, H and T until they get a foot on it.

• nice!

• jack rabbit on Feb 21, 2020 at 8:20 am

Its a handsome looking car. Most of Theophilus’ renditions are better than some cars currently on the road. Nicely done Theophilus.

• Kuinosan on Feb 21, 2020 at 8:50 am

The sheer size and proportions of the original Proton Suprima was ideal as a compact SUV from day one, and it baffles me to see how Proton decision makers at that time miss out on the golden opportunity to package this car into a sporty compact SUV that could have made it a sales hit at the time??? What a missed opportunity and a lack of foresight from the people in Proton back then.

• Please produce a good performance car such as satria. I hope new gen for satria will produce by proton.

• Ksatria on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:05 am

Should’ve used this form factor on Iriz.
    Good render Theo

• newme on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:32 am

Suprima S? Ouch… why bring up old wound. Jangan buka aib orang.

• Judge the Cars by its LOOKS on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:00 pm

management MALAS, staff MALAS, kerata pun MALAS nak jalan
    konon ITS IN THE DRIVE
    Tuned by World class Auto Enginners

• Mahmd on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Just give us a fking manual suprima

• Phil.O on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Theophilus designs better than any of the Proton designers.

• Chaon on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:13 am

How to boom market ? Add manual trans

• Pak Toh on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:56 am

Render is nice, suprima is ugly.