BMW Malaysia now offering 8-year/160k km warranty for plug-in hybrid batteries; 530e, 740Le PHEVs benefit

BMW Malaysia has announced a longer plug-in hybrid battery warranty for its PHEV models. The new eight-year or 160,000 km PHEV battery extended warranty programme is an upgrade from the previous six years or 100,000 km PHEV battery warranty. This is separate from the five-year unlimited mileage warranty for the rest of the vehicle.

This upgraded 6+2 years PHEV battery extended warranty programme benefits the premium brand’s plug-in hybrid range, which includes the G30 BMW 530e – available in Sport and M Sport trim levels – and the G12 BMW 740Le LCI.

According to the extended warranty’s fine print, the prerequisites include full maintenance at a BMW authorised dealership in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications, which is expected.

“This shall not be treated as a preventive replacement warranty policy. Only confirmed faulty modules will be replaced as per BMW diagnostic protocol, technical findings, etc,” it says, which means that if the battery’s not faulty, it won’t be changed, and the judges’ decision is final.

“The vehicle must be regularly charged to ensure the hybrid batteries are fully functional in order to provide driving pleasure to the customer,” the fine print adds.

This extended warranty package – which is available from June 1 to December 31, 2020 – can be transferred to the car’s next owner as long as the package remains valid.

As for existing owners of BMW PHEVs, the extended two years and 60,000 km coverage can be purchased. The cost is RM2,200 for the F30 BMW 330e M Sport, F15 BMW X5 xDrive40e and G30 BMW 530e Sport/M Sport. Extending the PHEV battery warranty for the G12 BMW 740Le xDrive will cost the owner RM7,600. The BMW i3s full EV, launched here last year, has an eight-year/100,000 km warranty.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Should give unlimited mileage. the whole purpose of PHEV is good mileage. They boast it gives so high mileage….like 1000KM with one tank…….who will use 20k km in one year year? Most petrol users also do about 30k ine one year.

Sincere company will give unlimited mileage warranty, otherwise, don’t boast that PHEV saves petrol. Most PHEV buyers buy PHEV cars to save petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Datuk on Jun 01, 2020 at 11:45 am

How about the PHEV drivetrain warranty?

• Btool on Jun 01, 2020 at 11:53 am

Kudos to Beemer MY

• Low cost for battery warranty, BAGUSS

• Battery warranty doesn’t cover wear and tear dude. If the battery kongs you still need to fork out Rm50k to replace it.

• seriously? on Jun 01, 2020 at 3:34 pm

then what is the warranty for genius? to not charge labour is it? bodoh tu simpan sikit bro

• Bieight on Jun 01, 2020 at 11:56 am

Why not 10 years 200k??

• Hybrid bmw is more reliable and cheaper than hybrid benz

• nik azlan riak botak on Jun 01, 2020 at 12:04 pm

All these hybrid will be costly and problematic in the long run. Just get the normal petrol or diesel beemer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • M & B on Jun 01, 2020 at 12:13 pm

The best of bmw

• how abt 330e sport?

• Wow…I just collected my 2020 Bmw 330i. They give huge discount 50k, 0pct, 3 months free installment and fleet discount for 2019 make 530e new car which after all discount only RM270 plus. Which was below my 295k 330i which net at 303k after add on. I believe normal ppl will opt for 530e as it is higher class but the battery is really a problem for me living without charge point, the super tiny fuel tank and the hassle after warranty. I’m happy with my 330i btw. Lol.. I think when you buy BmW you ll get heart attack because their promotion vary month to month and it is really unfair to consumers. Buying it in March differ from April then again differ from May promotion. You end up feel stupid. SomInget a 2020 make 330i..without any promotion and feel great that it will not be discount until very end of year. Lol

• Hi, does anyone knows if the current 530e battery is upgraded from 9.2Kwh to 12 Kwh?