BMW Malaysia has announced the official pricing for the BMW i3s – the all-electric vehicle, which was launched in April at the 2019 Malaysia Autoshow, is priced at RM278,800 on-the-road without insurance, which is almost identical to the estimated pricing of RM279,000 that was suggested during the introduction.
The i3s, essentially a sportier version of the i3, is powered by a rear-mounted synchronous electric motor offering 181 hp (135 kW) and 270 Nm of torque. A 42.2 kW, 120 Ah capacity lithium-ion battery – located on the vehicle floor -provides the car with an operating range of 345 km on the WLTP test cycle, or around 260 km under more realistic daily usage conditions. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.9 seconds and a top speed of 160 km/h.
The car is equipped with Type 2 AC and Combined Charging System (CCS) connector ports, and via the AC route the battery can be charged from zero to 80% (about 180 km of range) in about 3.1 hours through a BMW i Wallbox Plus (RM8,897), which delivers 11 kW of three-phase AC power to the onboard 11 kW charger.
A three-pin home charging cable comes standard with the car, but an optional quick charging AC cable can be purchased for RM1,360, and this will allow drivers to charge the i3s via the ChargEV network of chargers in the country, which is part of the BMW ChargeNow service offered under the BMW 360° Electric programme. Depending on the location, ChargEV chargers have outputs of 3.7 kW, 7.0 kW, or 22 kW.
Design-wise, the i3s gets more aggressive front and rear bumpers, which are complemented by gloss black accents on the front apron and grille, compared to the standard i3. It also features a 40 mm wider track. A number of exterior colour options are available for the car, including Fluid Black and Capparis White solid shades as well as Mineral Grey metallic, all with BMW i Blue highlights.
Standard fit in the local specification includes full LED headlamps and 20-inch BMW i light alloy five-double-spoke (Style 431) wheels with staggered tyre sizes (175/55 front and 195/50 rear). Performance enhancement bits for the variant include a dedicated Sport drive mode and specially-developed springs, dampers and anti-roll bars, and it also sits 10 mm lower than the standard car.
Inside, the car features an BMW i Interior Design Suite, and is dressed in Dark Truffle Vernasca leather upholstery and Carum Spice Grey headliner. Two display screens are to be found – a 5.7-inch TFT-LCD unit serving as a digital instrument display and a 10.25-inch unit on the dashboard, which is linked to a BMW Navigation System Professional infotainment system and iDrive operating system.
Safety kit includes a Driving Assistant Plus package, which includes a rear-view camera, Park Distance Control (front and rear), active cruise control with Stop & Go function, Collision and Pedestrian Warning with City Braking function plus Traffic Jam Assistant in the mix.
GALLERY: BMW i3s at 2019 Malaysia Autoshow
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Maybe we can see some of these on the road in some upscale neighbourhoods…
True that. If we take this balik kampung to Kota Baru. Jz gotta stop otw in Gebeng to recharge.
Tired of waiting game changinh Proton Iriz EV. If Proton doesn’t launch it soon, might as well buy this game changer instead
Thank you for moving out of the line so I could move ahead. Now go play with your ancient NA engined Peroduas. Soon you will see them in museums.
At least Perodua don’t say things which they can’t make. Heboh here and there how ‘good’ their tech is but just hot air.
Only if they have more disposable income to waste.
Government and MAI asked us few years ago to move into EV. They said Government was encouraging everyone to move into EV and Hybrid.
But I see EV car like this….mahal gila. Also Nissan Leaf mahal gila also over RM200k.
Government must be mad. Also where is our national EV and Hybrid car?
I have been waiting for Iriz EV now for 6 years
Not going to be viable here as some genius who kept demanding for local EV vehicles will be making his own EV car powered by AA batteries. Watch this space.
Where is Perodua Hybrid? Perodua said the Kenari Hybrid they shown to us in 2003 is feasible for production. We have waited for 16 years.
Prices are still too high moreso the battery price. Someone here might keep demanding for local EV car as an alternative but will still complain on the high price of replacement battery. He should make his own EV car that runs on cheap AA batteries.
Only for rich ppl, Lolz
Owning a BMW does not tell us you are rich .
Many premium brands like Mercedes, Volvo , Audi and Land Rover which are more expensive to own than BMW and yet the owner of these premium brands never say they are rich ppl yet.
only cheaper to own and buy BMW owners says they are rich ppl . What a Joke ..like . living in Fantasy Island..forever
Wow.. “optional quick charging AC cable can be purchased for RM1,360” so to access ChargeEV network, you prepaid RM1,360. Good one! The cost was never about the cable in the first place.
That is like buying USB3.0 certified cable to access USB3.0 speeds.
Bmw should have a subscription program for this car instead of selling it
Wish I could get a RWD EV, but looking at the price of the i3s, think Malaysia needs to make it more attractive to buy EVs. For now, only the rich can afford them.
The next generation BMW technology come with the previous generation BMW interior design quality
Get a Hoda Jazz for RM100K. another RM180K for petrol. i think will last you for 150 Years if weekly petrol was RM100
Problem is, Petrol will decimate in 20 years.
the ugliest bmw ever
Very beautiful and good car, just that it is too pricey
The steering looks damn ugly
Simple calculation, buy e.g. Honda Jazz RM69,000 (on-the road price). Use balance RM 209,000 for petrol; you can get 35 years with monthly petrol of RM500. So more jimat with Honda/similar cars rather than BMW i3s EV.
based on your logic, better buy honda kapchai la. this bmw is not for jimat person. drive axia la if want to jimat. same-same design also, both are compact & ugly. aiyoo
Kapcai is different category, cannot compare. If rich using BMW then no need to concern for petrol la, so no need to jimat2 using EV. EV cars is currently not suitable in Malaysia yet, very expensive, very long duration for charging, full charge cannot go distance beyond petrol cars, limited place for charging station, expensive spare parts etc. Perodua & Honda sales is better than BMW, so its not that ugly since people like to buy it, lol.
No thx. Im gonna wait for Tesla Model 3 RHD recond importing from UK soon.
Why not bring in a more practical version of i3?
i3 ReX, range extender version. A motor at rear to help to charge the battery when runs flat. It is very useful for long distance driving so that it won’t depends only power plug charging.