GALLERY: V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan in Malaysia – A250 AMG Line vs A200 Progressive Line

The V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan isn’t technically a new debutant here in Malaysia, having made its maiden appearance in April 2019. During the launch, only the A 200 Sedan was previewed, and while we acknowledge that it’s taken some time for us to catalogue the A 250 Sedan in pictures, it’s also because the press car had slightly different specs, so we chose not to publish those.

Now, just like the W177 A-Class hatch range, only two variants of the A-Class Sedan are available. The entry-level A 200 Sedan Progressive Line is priced at RM229,888 (RM2,000 more than the A 200 hatch), while the A 250 AMG Line retails at RM267,888 (RM4,000 more compared to the five-door hatch). Both prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

As a quick recap, the sedan’s longer profile offers 420 litres of boot space, which is 50 litres more than the hatch. Both sedan variants get LED High Performance headlights (not the top-spec Multibeam units) with auto high beam, twin exhaust exits and 18-inch five-spoke alloy wheels.

The A 250 AMG Line adds aggressive bumpers, side skirts, larger cross-drilled front brake discs and AMG-badged alloys. The A 200 comes with run-flat tyres, while the A 250 rides on standard tyres and adds a tyre repair kit.

Inside, it features a wing-shaped dashboard that’s dominated by a large freestanding display panel with round turbine-style air vents. There’s also the new Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) with twin 10.25-inch displays, 64-colour ambient lighting system with 10 colour themes, and Mercedes me connect with voice recognition system.

For interior accoutrements, the A 200 comes with black open pore linden wood trim and Artico faux leather upholstery, while the A 250 gains heated sports seats with integrated headrests, a Nappa leather-wrapped flat-bottomed steering wheel, brushed aluminium decor and Artico and Dinamica microfibre upholstery.

Standard equipment is identical to the hatch and includes keyless entry, push button start, power-adjustable seats with memory and four-way lumbar adjustment, cruise control, single-zone automatic climate control (no rear vents), auto-dimming and auto-folding mirrors, illuminated door sill plates, hard disk-based navigation and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionality.

Under the bonnet is the same story – the A 200 is powered by the 1.33 litre M282 four-cylinder turbo engine, developed in conjunction with Renault. It makes 163 hp at 5,500 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,620 to 4,000 rpm, and is mated to the new Getrag seven-speed wet dual clutch transmission. Performance figures include a zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of 8.1 seconds, a top speed of 230 km/h and a combined fuel consumption figure of 5.4 litres per 100 km.

Meanwhile, the A 250 gets a revised M260 2.0 litre mill, producing 224 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm between 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. It hits 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds, reaches a top speed of 250 km/h and delivers fuel consumption rated at 6.3 litres per 100 km. This one gets a revised version of Mercedes’ own DCT, which is also a wet clutch unit.

Both models ride on comfort suspension, with passive dampers and a 15 mm lower ride height than standard. The A 250 is the only one to come with multilink rear suspension, whereas the A 200 receives a new, simpler torsion beam setup. Safety-wise, all models get seven airbags, Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking), a tyre pressure monitoring system and Active Parking Assist with a reverse camera.

GALLERY: V177 Mercedes-Benz A250 Sedan AMG Line

GALLERY: V177 Mercedes-Benz A200 Sedan

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• azrai on Jun 10, 2020 at 1:32 pm

So for this CKDed merc at Pekan, how much saving due to 100% sales tax waive?

• Why A-class when you can get a C-class?
    Who is buying this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 10, 2020 at 5:41 pm

MBM sales reps keep saying CKD coming soon but they were saying this since last year. No wonder this sedan so rare on the road coz customers will wait to wait and I’ve not seen even one A250 sedan in the flesh yet.

• EView on Jun 28, 2020 at 5:54 am

What kind of stupid question is this? I think you also posted similar question about C-Class like: Why C-class when you can get a E-class?

While car model selection is purely a personal preference. Simply someone who prefer latest MB design, MBUX interior and don’t need C-class extra space will prefer this instead of a 2014 design C-class.

• ..and still without the rear aircon vents.
    is the aircon unit automatic now ?

• Bieight on Jun 10, 2020 at 4:16 pm

For this price but no power boot!

• Ben Yap on Jun 10, 2020 at 4:43 pm

my honda civic turbo can do 8.2 seconds… can cucuk an over RM200K car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • I bought one for a250 hatchback recently. Unfortunately as customer. I am really quite dissapointed with mercedes service centre to be more specific is hup seng star service centre. I am rakyat marharen who start life using proton. After a few years of hardwork and got some money to buy other car. Me decide to buy a250 after test drive and compare with c200(old man target market i think).

The problem detected after i bring out the car from sales office. The mbux got a problem. So the sales person make arrangement to send a car to service centre. Yes i got no problem with that because i think maybe need software update. After send out. Well.. Turns out need to wait for a part like more than 2 weeks. I am ok with that.

So just use the car with some defect with mbux system. After more than 2 weeks. They call me and told me i need to leave a car more than a day. So i need to arrange again all my work schedule.

Yes after 24 hours, i contact them asking about my car. Still unsolved. Lol. They dont know whats the problem. I am starting feel mercedes is crap. But i tried to be rational. Again i need to reschedule my work schedule because the car still in centre.

Late in the evening my car is complete they said because i chase them up coz i need to be in pd on that night. When i want to take the car key, they said the main problem still unsolved. Hahaha… What a crap. They just repair a lagging issue by replace some part and update.

So now my issue still unsolved. Really, i didnt expect for a car like value to quarter of million ringgit got a service team who cant communicate with expert team to solve a tiny problem. Never had bad experience with proton service centre before.

Aftet i visit mercedes service centre a few times, i noticed something. Most of mercedes owner didnt care minor problem. They like just pay or let mercedes repair and take how long they want because it is brand i think. So they dont compaint much. Looks like i am the only person who complaint a lot. Lol.

But for rakyat marharen like me who buy car not because of the brand. Rather about the interior is beautiful. I thinks mercedes service centre failed to satisfy me as a new user.

As a ex user of proton, kia, ford and toyota.
    . My experience with mercedes centre is worse and wasting a lot of my time and money to arrange my time and grabcar.

My suggestion for a new owner. Test all function in your mbux system first before you sign the document. Otherwise you will be like me. Wasting a lot of time to go centre.

• Cycle and carriage service centres just as bad both in pj and batu caves

• In terms of rear seat space, which is roomier is compared to BMW 218i Grand Coupe?