2020 Proton X50 due out soon, order books open?

Social media can be a treasure trove of information, but not everything smells of roses, and not all things ring true. Many a time, unconfirmed rumours and downright fake news gets spread around faster than you can imagine.

The automotive side of things isn’t immune to it. Take the Proton X50, for example. There has been plenty of buzz around the national automaker’s new compact SUV, from it being ready to be launched as soon as July, to early bookings already open for deliveries as early as September and just about everything in between. You’ll pardon the headline, but this is precisely what is meant when anything can be ventured.

There has been plenty of discussion around its pricing as well, with countless guesses and ranges thrown about. Some quarters have even ventured the possibility of the new SUV going as low as RM50k – a direct conversion of the base model sold in China – which, to be frank, sounds as far-fetched as baloney can get.

As of right now, there is no official communication or any confirmation coming from Proton itself regarding the upcoming model. While we do know it’s coming this year, nothing has been offered on its arrival timeline (and really, who knows what the MCO has done to deployment plans), and there’s definitely nothing on its pricing. The short of it is this – all information claiming otherwise is purely conjecture.

Still, talk is talk and remains harmless, until it involves money changing hands, and that’s when it gets a little alarming. Rumours now abound of sales agents or dealers asking for early booking fees, for which you’d be guaranteed to be first in line to receive the cars when they eventually arrive.

As order books have not been officially opened, we advise car buyers to not issue any payments or booking fees directly to personal SAs, and to wait for things to become official before you part with your hard-earned money. Any transactions should only be done through official dealerships with a receipt and a guarantee that the booking fees can be refundable.

Looking at Proton’s pre-launch campaign for the X70 in 2018, the company made an official announcement when the order books would be opened for the SUV. Only then would any bookings be valid and any queue for early deliveries formed. This remains the case for the X50. Until it’s official, there’s no queue or waiting list to be at the top of.

For any real updates on the X50, stay tuned to paultan.org.

GALLERY: Proton X50 spyshots

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• romance on Jun 23, 2020 at 6:48 pm

(Like) Proton X50
    (Dislike) Honda HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 16
    • Proton D55L Kembara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 41
      • X70 Buyer on Jun 23, 2020 at 11:18 pm

King X70 has a new worthy successor: Proton X50!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
        • Long live the king! Hail P1!

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:01 am

X70 kuat makan minyak tak?

(Like) YES
            (Dislike) NO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
          • Bro, local pipu so hadap jepunis brand bah.

• Lets See on Jun 24, 2020 at 12:37 pm

Makan minyak? Lets see:
            Compared with 2.5L NA with similar HP, TIDAK.
            Compared with Kancil 660cc engine, YA BETUL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Won ton mee on Jun 24, 2020 at 12:13 am

If the Covid-19 pandemic continues, I’m afraid that this Chinese rebadged Proton X50 will be Game Over as the launch date will always be delayed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
        • Darren on Jun 24, 2020 at 9:56 am

Dulu 4x P1 sales, you say gameover.
          Then 3x P1 sales, you still say gameover.
          Last year 2x P1 sales you masih say gameover.
          Now 1.7x P1 sales, still gameover kah?

Only thing I see gameover is your failed marketing strategy to shit on P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • His Friend on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:39 am

Only midgets and those without legs could be comfortable inside dinky D55L. Normal persons should can go for X50 and be done with it.

• Geely No 1 on Jun 24, 2020 at 1:13 pm

Affordable but low end brand. Thats all. Still needs more than 10 years to catch up Japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Damon Lee on Jun 24, 2020 at 2:31 pm

Nah, I don’t think their Japanese masters will ever allow Perodua to come within 10 years of them. They don’t even have a hybrid, so we’re looking at 20 years away to catch up with Japanese level.

• Proton Geely on Jun 23, 2020 at 7:04 pm

(Like) Proton X50 X70
    (Dislike) Honda HRV CRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 12
  • Ken Yap on Jun 23, 2020 at 7:10 pm

If safety wise and all features all in for X50. This will be ended for Honda HRV to lead as B-segment car. Moreover, HRV reliable is very terrible anyway. And soon you will see more honda owners are turning away from buying Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
  • granny on Jun 23, 2020 at 7:31 pm

can. R.I.P Persona Iriz.

It’s A B-segment blanket answer. kaodim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Civic EK9 on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:13 am

Persona and Iriz are dinasaour and ugly to the eye at the name of B-segment.

park beside city vios malu….

X50 B-segment can replace them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • batman on Jun 24, 2020 at 4:15 pm

Iriz still looks good, but Persona is really fugly because it’s an elongated Iriz.

I really want to buy a Persona but it’s just too ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • osman on Jul 18, 2020 at 11:29 pm

grow up, don’t yuck at someone’s yum

• Honda City 1.0Turbo on Jun 23, 2020 at 7:35 pm

Wait for Honda City Thailand mari….
    AEB, 360camera, VSC, ACC.

all also got.
    got badge lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 83
    • Loser Honda Fans on Jun 23, 2020 at 8:01 pm

hahaha! Honda City New dont have AEB, ACC and 360 camera but only Landwatch (no much use as blind spot monitor more suitable) already confirmed la! The end of Honda Journey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Prefer 6th Gen City But Not 7th Gen City on Jun 23, 2020 at 8:04 pm

New City not nice. Current City looks greater and cost also cheaper. Since sst exemption has given which is more cheaper, this is the best time to buy current city now before new uglier honda including new city arrives next years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Kumpul together turbo on Jun 24, 2020 at 10:53 am

Aduhai.. Looks design or entry level small TURBO is more important than SAFETY features?? Buy car criteria for year 2020..

Must be Honda sales person very desperately for sale target..

• Lollapalooza on Jun 24, 2020 at 4:59 pm

At least you got the “badge” part correct. That maybe the only reason left to buy a Honda.. which is not a good reason. Imagine this dialog –

Person A: I just bought a new Honda City.
      Person B: That’s great, how much?
      Person A: Just above 100k with a lot of freebies.
      Person B: 100k? wow! Full features?
      Person A: Mostly, but it doesn’t have AEB, ACC & 360 camera.
      Person B: Really? For that price?
      Person A: Yeah, but at least it got the badge!
      Person B: …..

That sort of scenario..

• Rm50k? Really?

• X70 Buyer on Jun 23, 2020 at 11:20 pm

Like X70 is 70+20k, X50 will be 50+20k. Still worth it for your money. Better than crap Aruz and will be far better than Perodua small crossover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • dah nama x50…rege kenelah rm50K…huhu

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 24, 2020 at 10:55 am

Not a chance in hell.

A more realistic price will be starting from low 80s. Given the amount of tech this is due to arrive with, this is to be expected.

• batman on Jun 24, 2020 at 4:17 pm

Duh. If 50k, who is gonna buy Iriz, Persona? Don’t dream.

• iriz persona are ugly and dated, makan minyak by 2020 standards.
        Just stop the production chain.

Full swing x50 turbo rm50k can already.

• vivizurianti on Jun 24, 2020 at 12:04 am

Honda sales oredi half-dead, now will be completely slaughtered by X50.

Kesian Honda salesman and salesgirl…..cannot cari makan now.

• Henry on Jun 24, 2020 at 9:13 am

Nice. (Thumbs up)

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 24, 2020 at 10:47 am

Is Proton still a national car from a tax point of view, not complaining, just want cheaper vehicles

• Damon Lee on Jun 24, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Proton is doing national service by absorbing SST price hikes all these while, if that is what you meant by “national car”.

• Balooney on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:03 am

50k ? Book me 10

• Msia driver on Jun 24, 2020 at 11:57 am

Faster launch …I need buy 4 units, hot cash 300k in hand already…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2020 at 12:24 pm

don ever rush in to buy new car

• Proton - please read on Jun 28, 2020 at 1:49 pm

Proton, I together with many…are calling your dealers asking when we can put our hard earned money to secure one while there is 0%SST. If you are launching it this year, please just get it done quickly and simply. It will sell even if you can’t get a nice launch event this year. But if you keep quiet for a long while, i am just going to put my money on a different manufacturer that sells a new car <RM100K. Just be truthful if you can't sell the X50s this year. Don't need to keep us guessing and losing your potential customers to the D55L.

• Jennifer Foong on Jul 09, 2020 at 4:24 pm

What is the price? Proton X50 Thanks

• Abdul Halim Bin ismail on Jul 26, 2020 at 7:53 am

I would like to booking 1 unit of x50, please share model and type also version of colour

• Julia on Aug 27, 2020 at 10:27 am

Proton X50. Please inform once the launch has been comfirmed. Thank you