2020 Honda Civic facelift at the top of the C-segment chart – over 6,500 bookings; 2,900 units delivered

The 2020 Honda Civic facelift, launched back in February this year, remains at the top of the C-segment charts. According to Honda Malaysia, more than 2,900 units of the Civic have been delivered to customers nationwide, representing an estimated market share of 70%.

It’s currently the third best-selling Honda model in Malaysia, with the central region contributing to 44% of the total sales, followed by 17% from the southern region and 15% from the northern region. The White Orchid Pearl is the most popular colour, with 42% of customers opting for the paint.

As of June 2020, the company has recorded over 6,500 bookings for the new Civic, and states that the current waiting period is approximately one month. Sales have also picked up thanks to the sales tax relief, which saw prices for the locally-assembled Civic drop by up to RM5,000.

Honda Malaysia managing director and CEO, Toichi Ishiyama said: “With Malaysia moving into Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) period, most businesses are resuming operations in accordance to guidelines and standard operating procedure set by the government. All industries, including the automotive industry, are eager to recover from the pandemic and help the nation towards economic recovery.”

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.5 TC-P facelift

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.5 TC facelift with Modulo accessories package
GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.8 S facelift

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jiangshi on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:03 pm

Altis makan asap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 02, 2020 at 8:30 pm

ASAP nak makan pon xde

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Super Goof on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:40 am

In terms of design, reliability, safety features and tech, both Altis and Mazda 3 are obviously better Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • citi-zen on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:06 pm

haha bad quality still sellable, msian are out of options.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
  • Hayenadeblue on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Hi Mr. Ishiyama, have Honda Japan solved the quality issue regarding the installation quality, especially about panel gaps inconsistency? This is not Alor Gajah plant’s problem. It is worldwide, happened in US too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • No major facelift changes on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Looks too outdated. No changes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Brooooo on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:11 pm

also the Jap C-Segment car with most prob?

• turbo CVT on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:14 pm

New generation civic already being spied…
    FC Civic 2016 is expired.

• Creed on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:14 pm

The truth is how come it is still too expensive with AEB for high variants while the another two variants doesn’t come with AEB even though it is cheap. How come Honda Malaysia?

• romance on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:16 pm

(Like) Corolla and Mazda 3
    (Dislike) Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
  • Thats why it is good time to clear all current honda stocks including this before new uglier honda arrives next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Looks like honda fanboys are so proud of having 6500 units that have booked. No wonder, this is the reasons why honda fans are always hurting buyers in other articles like toyota, proton, nissan, mazda and etc.

• HFakone on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:25 pm

Ppl buy honda since it is cheap that exempted from sst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • kaizen on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:47 pm

The 2020 Honda Civic FL the real Power of Dreams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • Chris on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:48 pm

For your doing, sales is so important as what you are doing now rather than focusing other customers lives that many honda cars have breakdown, unlike other brands

• msia driver on Jul 02, 2020 at 5:58 pm

x50 should come out now, if not civic will fly the way…

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 02, 2020 at 8:27 pm

The much rumoured X50 is unlikely to impact Civic sales because different segment and different body style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Honda Low Safety on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:35 pm

Today, bought this Civic but several months later got hear so many noises and have to wait get the parts for 1 month. But yet after replacing new parts, still got problem. Honda Is Such Low Safety

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 02, 2020 at 8:28 pm

Low safety? You mean low quality?

• Littlefire on Jul 12, 2020 at 10:22 am

Yes. In term of safety & quality Honda is not on the top now. Subaru & Mazda nowadays score even better on both segment rating compare to Honda anytime.. Only Malaysian think Honda cars like god car..

• Marty on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:43 am

Today bought, several months later got problem? What are you, a time traveler? Did you convert your Civic into DeLorean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Dinasuaur always good. Legen

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:39 pm

DRB Honda and Proton going stronk after MCO! Well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Even Toyota also going to be stronger, aside DRB Honda and Proton, after MCO

• suomynona on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:43 pm

Interesting story :P
    Take it how you may, my friend’s brother is looking for a new ride. At the budget he got, he could get the fully loaded X70.

But apparently waiting list for X70 is up to 6 months long, so he opted for the mid-spec Civic TC instead.

• Keely on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:47 pm

Using Earth Dream CVT always got problematic

• azrai on Jul 02, 2020 at 8:05 pm

200 units for PDRM.

• Wonder where the cry babies who said civic will flop that this bla bla bla. Malaysians give importance to price, no doubt altis and mazda 3 looks good as well but I can get a full spec 1.5 turbo cheaper than the first range of both Toyota and mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • But the truth is, even though Civic is actually same price range as Corolla which Civic is CKD and Corolla is CBU. Honda service cost is not so cheap including labour service charges as well as even the honda owners need to go for service so many times without ending problems. Compare to Toyota/Mazda, both brands are reliable which can run for last longer. Plus, service charge will be cheaper as well.

• no wonder i start seeing some civic on road again.
    didnt realised it was facelifted unit.

• Mason on Jul 02, 2020 at 9:48 pm

Nothing to be surprise on this results.
    Civic can consider sure win in this C segment. The answer is simple, because it is CKD.

Its greatest rival Altis/Corolla, current generation become CBU and price sky high.
    2nd rival Mazda3, current generation(super sexy) also become CBU and price sky high.

So base onvalue for money, it left the rakyat no choice but to choose civic!

• Rulered on Jul 02, 2020 at 10:59 pm

If it is cheap(er) than all non national C segmen cars, Malaysian will buy. Saved 20-30k, quality is secondary. Afterall it’s Honda maa..

• Monana on Jul 03, 2020 at 8:33 am

These pictures are from the premium variant:

https://s1.paultan.org/image/2020/02/Honda_New_Civic_15TC-P_Malaysia_Int-9.jpg

https://s1.paultan.org/image/2020/02/Honda_New_Civic_15TC-P_Malaysia_Int-10.jpg

https://s3.paultan.org/image/2020/02/Honda_New_Civic_15TC-P_Malaysia_Int-3.jpg

I wonder, what is the blank buttons for, for the more superior variant in Japan? I know at the steering is the steering wheel heating function and at the right panel is for HUD, what about at the gear lever centre console? Why Honda Malaysia cannot give HUD in Civic and CR-V?

Hate blank buttons in any top-most variant in any car. It keeps reminding the driver that he/she bought a lower variant but actually is not.

Also, where are the USB charging ports for the rear passengers?

https://s1.paultan.org/image/2020/02/Honda_New_Civic_15TC-P_Malaysia_Int-24.jpg

• Ben Yap on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:13 am

over and over again i’ve been a strong advocate for the honda civic as i know it’s the best value malaysians can get in the C-segment. those you want space and performance, this car is the one to get. the NVH is also above its class. people may bash me and dislike my comments, but i tell the truth about the car. it’s a very very competent car that can rival german makes as honda benchmark it against the continental cars. it is true too that the national sales of the cars went up because of civic as we can see from the bookings. all of them knows quality is not an issue as these are sour grapes commenting on the civic but in reality the complaints is extremely low to none. i’ve been using the first generation civic when it was first launched and i don’t have any issues at all. maintenance for the turbo is still afforable. if one travels below 10K km for 6 months, they need to service only once. if more than 10K km, they service twice. also, the service is much much cheaper than a Mazda 3. my CVT gearbox and my turbo still works like new and power delivery and drivability is excellent. it’s the car that one should get if they are looking for a C-segment and there is no regrets getting a Honda Civic especially the turbo as the car can do 8.2 seconds from 0-100 and still save a whole lot of fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:06 am

You’re having a laugh, mate? Whether you’re delusional or just trolling, please stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Not welcoming Honda cybertroopers on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:46 am

Dear Hafriz, he always trolling here again and again. Please permaban Ben Yap forever/do it now, better still. We majority cant stand him anymore for sure. He didnt research from the website. And yet, he always said that Honda is better than any other brands including continental cars, with high RV. He didnt not said why Honda is so unreliable with expensive charges which already heard from FB page. Besides that he didnt discuss why Honda Malaysia didnt give more safety features to more Honda models and also why Honda RV is not longer be good anymore.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:55 am

Sure, Mario. Sure ;)

• Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:37 pm

CP: You can start to do something with these kind of comments below. Even Ben Yap’s trolling isn’t as eye-shredding to read.
            Copy pasted: “I am sure that the third national carmaker DreamEdge will do well since it will be using Toyota’s Game-Changing technologies. As you can see from the picture above, the sedan has a stunning design and most likely will be fitted with advance safety features. This is why Proton must be fully aware of the upcoming third national carmaker, it has the potential to Game Proton Over.”

• Trolls exist becoz mods let them stay. It is not enuff to just block their comments, but mods must reprimand them and let them knows this. Worse r those that copy pasta the same bollocks which became less believable over the years they keep copy pasta. Worst r those that hijack other pipu usernames to spew that same copy pasta bollocks. Some idiots even keep summoning me when i just want to laugh at them, so dun mind me screwing them upside down for their immaturity. As long mods allowed this to happen nothing will change lorr.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:43 pm

Should we reprimand you then? You’re one of our most frequent trolls and argument starters too.

• If i did wrong pls do. But i havent come here that often anymores.

• jinggo on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:34 pm

spot on, haf bro. kipidap, we gotcha back.

• Engineer on Jul 04, 2020 at 12:04 pm

I have read john’s comments before he dropped off lately and I will say this from my personal PoV, his are far less an issue with this site as compared to our regular trollers toxic brand of trolling which, I will stress, still continued til today.

Likely you just don’t catch them because they keep changing names and all that but the messages are always the same crap. But yeah they are the real clear and present danger to this site. Just my PoV.

• Why still NFA on Game Over Trolls? on Jul 04, 2020 at 1:17 pm

Sure you can do that, then what? They can just change to another email. Btw those trolls with “Game Over”/GO” punch line will be suspected originated from your side, early target to boost traffics from thousand arguments between him and the opposing team, so thats why they never stop since PT never really care to filter/ban their emails and zero warning pointed specifically to these GO’s posts up until today. Action creates reaction, you may expecting the opposing team to defend furiously and factchecking those arguments non stop on each comment daily. No way these 2 factors – numerous backlash from car brands and resident readers, pushing you to moderate and counter these troll arguments per article. You probably never care to upgrade to higher automoderator system in blocking troll entry into PT articles as these hardcore trolls are just hidden instructed keyboard actors with scripts to perform in a certain way on stage. Since no action against them, are PT trying to balance out & neutralise the POV or RP?, by promoting daily Debates? the followup counter arguments will be based on fact even though the instigator GO’s arguments are totally weak and baseless with no factchecking supported evidences.

• vivizurianti on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:17 am

Alas, the “crab” rear light refuse to die and continue to give eye sores to poor road users…..

• By the time, next year, launching new civic 11th gen, Honda Malaysia will have to wait for another 5 years. So don’t dream that Honda Malaysia can bring new gen in 2022.

• matjava on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:46 pm

Ooo patulah the old model jual to PDRM, kasi habis old stock

• meladam on Jul 03, 2020 at 1:42 pm

my friend bought used 1.8 basic civic for RM80k cash and make up kaw kaw for less than RM10k incl new paint and red interior finish. Damn super lucky with no turbo problem.

• freedom on Jul 12, 2020 at 10:16 am

1.8 basic civic of course no turbo problem la bruhhh. Another troll perhaps… lolzzz.

• Zoom zoom on Jul 04, 2020 at 3:40 pm

Wondering why most ppl commented civic is a lousy car. Altis and Mazda 3 way better.. But otr hardly see any new altis / mazda 3..but civic is everywhere..and many are top of the range TCP. This is very weird.

• John Doe on Jul 06, 2020 at 4:12 pm

6500 units of uneven body panels to be distributed out in the road…
    Until now they can’t get it right, the most mind boggling thing is they can actually answer you this is within their tolerance, just not yours.