2021 Toyota GR Supra launched in M’sia: 48 PS more at 388 PS, chassis upgrades, RM590k with SST rebate

Official Toyota distributor UMW Toyota Motor has introduced the 2021 GR Supra in Malaysia, less than a year after the launch of the original model. As was previously teased, the model year update adds a significant power increase, while some chassis tweaks help rein in the extra horses.

These added bits come at a considerable cost – specifically, it’s a RM43,880 premium, the 2021 model now retailing at RM611,880 on-the-road without insurance. With the government’s 50% sales and service tax rebate, the price drops to RM589,987, which is still quite a bit more than before. As usual, the price includes a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

That extra money at least buys you a heaping amount of added punch. Retaining the BMW-derived B58 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six, power has jumped by 48 PS to 388 PS, a 14% increase over the previous Supra. Peak power is also made further up the rev range at 5,800 rpm, while the unchanged torque output of 500 Nm is now sustained over a wider range, from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm. This shaves 0.2 seconds from the zero-to-100 km/h time, the car now completing the century sprint in 4.1 seconds.

All this means that the Supra is now on par with its twin, the BMW Z4 M40i, that still isn’t sold in Malaysia. As before, the engine is mated to a ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox, with drive sent to the rear wheels. And no, we still do not get the 2.0 litre four-cylinder variant that was recently introduced in the US.

The car also receives several revisions to the suspension, including new aluminium front bracing to increase lateral rigidity, uprated front and rear bump stops and retuned dampers. The electric power steering, adaptive damper system, stability control and active rear differential have also been reprogrammed in concert with the hardware changes, making the car more stable through quick transitions.

Other than the addition of the Toyota Supra script on the front brake callipers, the rest of the car remains the same as before. Standard equipment continues to include 19-inch alloy wheels, Brembo brakes, adaptive dampers, a rear limited-slip differential, eight-way power-adjustable seats with driver’s side memory, black leather upholstery, carbon fibre trim, dual-zone climate control, a head-up display, an 8.8-inch centre touchscreen, a reverse camera and a 12-speaker JBL sound system.

Safety-wise, the Supra is fitted with a full complement of driver assistance systems, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane keeping assist, blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert, traffic sign recognition, and adaptive high beam. Seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and hill start assist continue to be standard fit.

As before, the Supra comes as standard in Prominence Red paint, with Lightning Yellow, White Metallic, Silver Metallic, Ice Grey Metallic and Black Metallic costing an extra RM5,000 (Deep Blue Metallic has been discontinued). Matte Storm Grey Metallic is a RM12,000 option, and with this, the wheels are now finished in full matte grey instead of the usual two-tone look.

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota GR Supra 3.0 (US spec)

GALLERY: 2020 Toyota GR Supra 3.0 in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:22 pm

Ouch

• Am i the only one who thinks this car is ugly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Jonathan Khan on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:38 pm

It has the Icon, and Power and Handling.

As good as BMW M3 Comp now, feels like a BMW M6 Coupe Rival too. even BMW M6 RM 1,000,000 also only 4.2s to 100km/h, but at 1.9 tonnes it’s more like a cruising car.

BMW M2 looks cheap for Amoi. Amoi dont expect it to be more than RM500k despite RM630k rrp.

Got money can buy Toyota Supra and Alphard/Lexus/BMW Sedan/SUV

for Track Drive and Family car

• No Alphard pls. on Jul 15, 2020 at 10:44 pm

Pls count the mini van Alphard out. All my sexy gf hate to climb into my Alphard and say they prefer I drive BMw than the roti car. they said the body van look outdated and rough just for school aunty or old man. They say getting out from a BMW look classier and prestige. I don’t fetch people just some girls most of the time feel so regret bought the stupid van with stupid gearbox. Nvr buy from recond again. I always buy from new car dealer just that Alphard cheaper so much compared to the umw Gila price and man..engine rattle after a month drive and float like Gila. Prefer my BMW more. More comfort, more class, more chick, more power.

• TexasLoneStar on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:38 pm

I admit, the Supra design has grown on me.

Alhamdulillah I live in the U.S. Even someone who is a few years into their professional career will be able to afford a nice car, at least as an engineer. I plan on buying the LC500 convertible Inshallah. In the future maybe a used Supra. I just browse Paultan because I’m Malaysian and am curious how the automotive scene is there. Plus it’s quarantine.

Just a showerthought but I realized how insane even Proton prices are. A basic Corolla costs around 1/3 of a entry level engineer’s annual salary in the U.S. In Malaysia, a basic Proton costs almost all of the the entry level engineer’s annual salary, if not more it depends.

Back to the Supra – in Malaysia, this car will much more accessible if it wasn’t for the ridiculous taxes. Now it’s not as accessible as it should be due to low wages, but just more. There is a need to abolish excise taxes, displacement based taxes, and more. A proper country should be able to survive without going overkill on vehicular taxes. I’m sure the government can do that but I doubt they will unfortunately. Hopefully one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Hopefully the facelift comes with a better looking steering wheel, a classier instrument cluster and a new face….

• Heskey on Jul 15, 2020 at 2:55 pm

RM 590K? Better buy Volvo S60 408HP 299k saje.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 15, 2020 at 3:06 pm

Go ahead. Or better yet, get a Proton Saga for a much cheaper RM/hp rate – only RM345 per hp compared to RM693 per hp for the Volvo.

*Sarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • I've been watching this from afar on Jul 15, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Why lately Hafriz sooo RAJIN komen2 on this site… Semua komen menyakitkan hati pulak tu. Aisehmen

• pop the corn on Jul 20, 2020 at 9:34 pm

I guesstimate the above poster’s intention was to emphasize the supra being overpriced even after factoring in duties and relevant taxes relative to other countries, just that he did not word it clear enough by using a non appropriate analogy. a suitable example id bet on is Ford Mustang which its price here in msia differ by a huge margin vs usa.

• johnwick on Jul 15, 2020 at 2:59 pm

sour plum who cannot afford will come and complain this is not pure toyota because it is using bmw engine

in 3 2 1………………………..

• So what, Toyota sourdoughs have been complaining that X70 is not a pure Proton ever since it came here and dominated the SUV market.

The shoe is now on the other foot. So time to wear it.

• pop the corn on Jul 20, 2020 at 9:41 pm

your train of thought is akin to not black, must be white and vice versa. a context, maybe in a bit of exaggeration, let’s say proton launches a limited edition iriz selling at 120k with no major difference from the regular top spec variant, would u buy it? calling it overpriced=sourgrape loser who cant afford, yes?

• I prefer coming kia stunber with 2.5 turbo and 4wd.

• the fact and figures looks good. but the boring AUTO gearbox and e-Brake eliminate the fun factor