A90 Toyota GR Supra launched in Malaysia – 3.0 litre turbo straight-six; 340 PS and 500 Nm; from RM568k

One of the most highly anticipated cars of our time has arrived in Malaysia, and yes, we’re talking of course about the all-new A90 Toyota GR Supra. First previewed by the FT-1 Concept back in 2014 before celebrating its world debut earlier this year at the Detroit Auto Show, the fifth-generation of the iconic nameplate has now been officially launched in our country.

We’ll answer the most important question first: how much will the reborn sports car cost you? Well, the Supra is offered in a single GTS variant that is priced from RM568,000 on-the-road without insurance. The model comes fully imported (CBU) from Austria, where it is assembled by Magna Steyr at its Graz plant.

For the sum, you’ll be getting a 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six petrol engine that develops 340 PS (335 hp) from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 500 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,500 rpm. Yes, this is essentially the B58B30 mill from BMW, which is also used in the G29 Z4 M40i.

As many of you already know, the Supra and Z4 were developed as part of a sports car collaboration involving both carmakers, although both companies had different philosophies and set off on separate directions once the fundamental platform specifications were agreed upon.

Anyway, the 3.0 litre powerplant is mated to an eight-speed ZF automatic transmission, with drive going exclusively to the rear wheels. In terms of performance, the Supra will get from zero to 100 km/h in just 4.3 seconds, and hit an electronically-limited top speed of 250 km/h.

Other driving-related goodies include a 50:50 weight distribution, Adaptive Variable Suspension (AVS), an electronically controlled rear limited-slip differential, and a red-themed Brembo brake system, with 348 mm discs and four-piston fixed calipers at the front, while the rear sees 345 mm discs and single-piston floating calipers.

In terms of standard equipment, the Supra is fitted with 19-inch five twin-spoke two-tone wheels shod with 255/35 front and 275/35 rear Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyres, eight-way powered seats with driver’s side memory, black leather upholstery, carbon-fibre trim, a dual-zone climate control system, Toyota Supra Connect infotainment system (8.8-inch touchscreen, iDrive-style controller and a 12-speaker JBL sound system) and a head-up display.

The safety kit includes seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), VSC, traction control, ABS with EBD, and brake assist. There’s also the Toyota Supra Safety suite of systems, which includes Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Adaptive Cruise Control, Adaptive High Beam System, Rear-end Collision Warning, Speed Limit Info, Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

Customers will get to choose from eight exterior colours, although not all options are priced equally. The Supra in Prominence Red is RM568,000, while Lightning Yellow, White Metallic, Deep Blue Metallic, Silver Metallic, Black Metallic and Ice Grey Metallic will come at a RM5,000 premium. Lastly, there’s Matte Storm Grey Metallic, which costs an additional RM12,000.

The Supra will be sold through the newly announced GR Garage, which will sell all GR-branded products, including the Supra and official merchandise. The GR Garage concept was introduced in Japan some time ago, and Malaysia is the first market outside Toyota’s home country to also offer it to customers. As a start, there are five such outlets – three in the Klang Valley (Fokus Tetap ,Shah Alam; PCM Motor, Klang; Wing Hin Automobile, Balakong) and one each in the Northern (Telagamas Motors, Kulim) and Southern regions (Mutiara Motorsports, JB).

Find full specifications of the Toyota GR Supra on CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rashid Sidek on Sep 20, 2019 at 6:44 pm

This car already got thousands of orders overseas. Toyota is hard pressed keeping up with the demand.

Because overseas, the car is very reasonably priced. Here, UMW has to price the car very expensive because it needs to untung a lot to feed its overbloated staff. GLC mah. 10 people do 1 persons job.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 24
    • noname on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:25 pm

how much should they sell?

• Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Many are hard on Toyota in Malaysia. Actually, you must blame our lembap UMW who never negotiated for cheaper pricing and more airbags and VSC for Malaysians.

Global Toyotas all had VSC and 9 airbags in every Toyota since 10 years ago.

Only in Malaysia, all Toyotas started having VSC just 2 years ago. Toyotas in Malaysia had only 2 airbgs until 2 years ago also and this included top models like the Camry

But overseas, the Camry had about 10 airbags.

Blame the lembap UMW aka GLC staff who were too lembap to negotiate with Toyota Japan a better deal for us Malaysians.

It is UMW that has shortchanged Malaysians.

• Brian on Sep 21, 2019 at 1:47 am

The same racist comment as usual by our game over troll.

• Li Peng on Sep 21, 2019 at 8:42 am

Where is “overseas”, where are your sources? Demand for cars like that is low, that’s why BMW and Toyota worked together to share the costs for development.

• Axia style on Sep 21, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Im buying new fl axia after see this supra price high up in the sky.

• Aris Saidin on Sep 21, 2019 at 3:06 pm

UMW has been ripping people for past 30 years. All the CEOs and Board of Directors all get minimum 12 months pay just to do nothing.

• Furby on Sep 21, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Those overseas people also have high gdp per capita, no subsidy mentality and racist policies. Too bad.

• Otai2 AP jual Supra rekon 400k… durian runtuh lg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • 4bini on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:01 pm

All those AP abang abang are so lazy and want easy money again. They need to be abolished. Pemalas is the word. Just want to goyang kaki and get easy money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • kiski on Sep 20, 2019 at 8:10 pm

just killed all of them

• casual rider on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:24 pm

you cannot afford to buy then put the blame on others, so what’s the different between you and those abang?

• Razif Zaini on Sep 21, 2019 at 2:51 pm

we pay high prices all the time to support the lazy type in our country

• Which on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Buy Z4 – RM480K rather than rebadge Supra – RM560K

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 17
      • Bobogui on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Z4 480k is 2.0 engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Razif Zaini on Sep 21, 2019 at 2:53 pm

BMW trust Toyota so much they share engines. Pity us, only China company share engines with us.

• Dupe buster on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:12 pm

Trust or paid hundreds of millions to BMW? Better get your fact right.

• Jeremy on Sep 21, 2019 at 7:31 pm

China that company shares their Volvo engines to us at a cut price. I pity Japan was stupid to pay full prices for BMW engine.

• X70Again on Jun 17, 2020 at 10:48 pm

Wrong. The X70 does not have a Volvo engine. It is an old Mitsubishi engine. Get your facts right.

• 4bini on Sep 20, 2019 at 6:47 pm

I wish Malaysia also can come out with a sports car like this. I don’t know what the abang2 in Proton have been doing the past 20 years. Their best achievement is the Proton Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • VW Group fan on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:12 pm

I also don’t know what they’ve been doing. People said that the people working there are car enthusiasts, but not one have they made a rwd layout

• Tikus kusut on Sep 21, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Oh yeah, when is Perodua going to rebadge the 86? Should be easy because you always said Perodua same as Toyota right? Why always only give EOL cars to Perodua?

• Ambitious pricing. Drive away price in Australia only $104,393 equivalent to max RM300K after currency conversion. Good luck UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • aaron on Sep 20, 2019 at 6:56 pm

a90 supra only costs $50k in the us…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Right price, usually price from us directly X10 is our price in RM

• BMW Credit on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Damn, the price is super unreasonable!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Bobogui on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:26 pm

70k more expensive than I expected. 570 you can get m2, maybe competition package as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:33 pm

Does the price come with any maintenance package (probably not since its not a BMW)? Also what is the warranty period? The price does seem expensive, but you have to consider that it is CBU from Austria. Same factory that makes the Z4 and the G Wagen. And is quite highly specced. If I had the dosh, I’d get it in storm grey. Shmee has the same colour, and it looks amazing. Also, the performance figures are not correct. BMW, I mean Toyota, tends to under rate it.

• Syer1n on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Hahahahahahahahahhaha.

no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • UMW Bodoh on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:52 pm

Who is the top management UMW? Banyak set mahal punya harga.

• Now have to wait 2-3 before you can get a nice used one. And of course you going to sumpah this car into a street racer.

• Ethan on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:09 pm

What a joke!

• Super expensive. Below 500k would be more reasonable.

• Gerald tan on Sep 20, 2019 at 11:42 pm

Too much money for too little bang

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 21, 2019 at 9:18 am

There are lots of more performance oriented, more power, more style cars out there to choose from, with cheaper price. With extra cash, I could upgrade the car samor………guaranteed to smoke this gaijin Supra easily.

So, no thanks Supra.

• Sohai on Sep 21, 2019 at 10:38 am

Better set the price at rm799k.
    Is the same. Nobody will buy at rm568k also.

• Talk abouy legendary on Sep 21, 2019 at 10:45 am

This or the original legendary GTR.
    Very easy choice really.

• There is nothing breakthrough bout this car and yet the price is so unrealistically high

• sohai on Sep 23, 2019 at 10:11 am

Better get the Civic Type R at RM330k. Slightly less hp and torque but cheaper road tax, manual gearbox and seats 5

• emmet on Oct 20, 2019 at 10:34 pm

when some old bimmer’s owner busy hunting on JZA80 for engine swapping, these newer Supra just drop BMW B58B30 inside the hood as a main powertrain. What a game changer there ..

• Just checked Toyota Japan website, a GR supra selling less than 5mil Japan Yen, and a 3.5L Alphard selling more than 5mil Japan yen. In Malaysia, 3.5L alphard selling less than$450k, but Supra selling $570k.. Appreciate someone can give me answer, it spec, engine different? Or I saw the less than $5mil Japan yen GR supra not for a 3.0L? Tq.