Since its launch in February, the 10th-generation Honda Accord has gone on to be the best-selling D-segment sedan in Malaysia, commanding as much as 40% of the market share (as of June 2020). To date, Honda Malaysia said it has received more than 920 bookings for the car, of which close to 500 have been delivered to customers.
In terms of bookings, the Central region is the largest contributor with 42%, followed by the Southern region with 23% and Northern region with 19%. Unsurprisingly, Platinum White Pearl is the most popular colour, accounting for 33% of total bookings.
Honda Malaysia managing director and CEO, Toichi Ishiyama said: “The Accord was introduced to excite the market and redefine its segment with the combination of elegant design, enhanced 1.5L VTEC Turbocharged engine and the full suite of Honda Sensing.”
“Since its launch the bookings and sales performance for this flagship model have gradually increased, where the major contribution was during the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) period that helped continue its momentum,” he added.
To briefly recap, the locally-assembled 10th-gen Accord is only available with the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine, putting out 201 PS at 5,500 rpm and 260 Nm from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams continuously variable transmission (CVT), and the Accord will accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in 9.1 seconds (9.0 seconds for the entry-level 1.5 TC). Top speed is 190 km/h.
Standard safety features include six airbags, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), Agile Handing Assist (AHA), ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and Hill Start Assist. However, the top 1.5 TC-P model is the only variant to get Honda Sensing, featuring Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), and Low Speed Follow (LSF).
For pricing, the 1.5 TC is currently going for RM178,203, whereas the 1.5 TC-P will cost you RM187,390. These are SST-free prices which will remain in effect until December 31, 2020, otherwise the cars would retail at RM185,900 and RM195,900 respectively. You may browse CarBase.my to check out their specifications in detail, and watch the video review below to see what we think of the latest Accord.
GALLERY: 2020 Honda Accord 1.5 TC-P
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
a bit trouble on the serivce…
I’m driving CRV TCP.
I need to visit SC every 3 months.
oil change follow by car service..
!!!!!!!!!!!
you have to, if not turbo bocor
vtec turbo dont rev too high.
for fun can, for sayang2 careful
Even though old campro turbo is not that powerful, it is more reliable and long lasting than vtec turbo
Many complains in China for the engine oil leakage, the 1.5T might be over-boosted to 200hp
This is because of Denso Fuel pump.
In China there are cases reported the CVT oil leakage for new Accord.
That is becoz of faulty fuel pump problem. This is a Japanese after all
Better top up for RAV4 or Mazda CX8
Better save abit for Honda CRV 1.5TCP 190hp.
Not worth to buy when comes to maintenance
But Not many new accord on the road. People prefer to buy Beemer and Merz and even Mazda 6 and Camry
(Like) Honda Accord 1.5 Turbo
(Dislike) BMW 330e M Sport
(Like) BMW 320i Sport
(Dislike) Honda Accord 1.5 Turbo
People buying this dhits? RIP automobile!
It looks great tho
500 delivered since February, 2020
Much less than CR-V Sales
Average 100/month
https://paultan.org/2020/02/26/2020-honda-accord-officially-launched-in-malaysia/
Mesians made the right choice again! Ugaiz rock!
Honda better close shop so people can drive better cars and we don’t want the same boring god cars again.
I doubt with this figure, don’t seem any on-the-road. Anyone saw it before?
Actual car is more beautiful than in picture or video
https://paultan.org/2020/08/25/mercedes-benz-explains-maa-reporting-omission-suggests-using-jpj-regs-as-more-accurate-measure/
Mercedes benz know the sales figure
But then again it does not represent the true number or sales because they will register it with JPJ and then put the vehicle in their approved used sales warehouse to be sold as pre-reg cars.
Do you know that VW and BMW have been doing the exact same thing you said above for years….they call it pre-reg.
It doesn’t matter whether the showroom pre reg or not because end up these cars will put on sales in huge discount. In fact it is worth to buy pre reg as many of these cars are completely new and mileage is as low as 60km but the car was being discount 15% at least.
In other countries such as Taiwan, Camry 2.5NA same engine as Malaysia is selling at RM152k while the BMW 320i is RM 310k. The different is 104%. While in Malaysia Camry sell at RM190k and 320i is RM249k. Different is only 31%. If buying pre-reg the 320i is only RM 220k. If I got 200k budget I seriously will go try out the 320i rather than Accord.
I have only seen once on the road. I’m also puzzled how it is leading the sales in D segment.
That tells you how bad this Camry generation sales had been so far.
But If you look on the road, there are Camrys on the road than Accord. Even I saw some of Mazda 6 on the road as well. Unlike this new Accord.
Older generation of Camrys, yes, but not the new one.
@ Gary.
Errr not really. Saw more camry l on the road than accord which he said is correct
Agreed, I have not seen even one yet however there is a growing number of the new Camrys on the road.
This suited for 920 ah beng ricers. While most of ah lians will buy bmw/volvo/mercedes/volkswagen
the new tnga based camry is better
no doubt bruh, its toyota camry or nothing!
Looks like we’ll be seeing more on the road compared to the latest camry which is soo rare. I saw more C class or 3 series compared to the camry. Even the passat is seen more these days compared to the new camry…..
New camry only available in 2.5. Thats why its rare. Should bring in the 2.0 version!
I saw 3 since last few weeks in KL
Sold 2 cars when no one else has sold anything also make u a leader.. But nothing to shout about. I spend an Avg of 2 hrs on the road everyday but have yet to see an accord.
Aiyo, why pay for this joke. This is SUV generation. Those D segment uncle’s stuff are well forgotten.
Not really bro, D segment more comfortable compares to SUV for long journey. If the D segment sedan price well under 15Ok than will sell well.
The majority of the uncles are the ones with real money to spend on high ticket items though… :X
Most of the 20-30s you see decked in bmw and mercs are either using daddy’s gear or pretenders with 35% gross income spent on loan.
Before or after JPJ registration!
Syukur and syabas Malaysia. Despite worldwide COVID19 pandemic while many business folded or financially affected, or unemployed…..there are still orang-orang kaya can afford buying brand new car worth RM150K++
It’s the proof that Malaysia berjaya dan kaya!
surprisingly until today i didnt notice any new accord yet on road…
compared to last time the civic launch in 2017, it was everywhere ^^
nobody would have imagined an accord costing nearly 200k a few years ago
Too ugly
Crappy look
900 units seems low… no wonder Toyota no longer manufacturing Camry here in Malaysia.
the honda civic turbo is faster as it can reach 207kmph.
civic or accord turbo, its our power of dreams.
The power of turbocor!
But Over took by auntie’s bezza Low hp Low Torque i wonder why?
1st year sales might be ok. 2nd year onwards sales will drop due to countless quality issues!
Never buy a Honda!
i see more new camrys than this accord leh…..
why they say they are sales leader?
cakap syok sendiri?
All self-registered units, will be sold as pre-reg aka used car
Car for jaguh kampong