2020 Honda Accord launched in Malaysia – two CKD variants; 201 PS 1.5L VTEC Turbo, RM186k-RM196k

Following the start of order taking for the all-new Honda Accord just over a week ago, Honda Malaysia has now officially launched the tenth-generation D-segment sedan in the country.

Buyers will be able to choose from two variants – 1.5 TC and 1.5 TC-P – both locally assembled at Honda Malaysia’s Pegoh plant. The base 1.5 TC retails at RM185,900 on-the-road without insurance, while the range-topping 1.5 TC-P is priced at RM195,900.

Four exterior colours – Crystal Black Pearl, Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and Platinum White Pearl (a RM400 option) – are available, and all units come with a five-year/unlimited-mileage warranty with five times free labour service (within 100,000 km or five years).

The new Accord wears a more dynamic suit than before, with a fastback-like profile complemented by a sweeping roofline. Adopting cues from the current-generation Civic, the big sedan sports slim headlamps flanked by a large chrome wing that sits above an extended, upright grille. There’s also a kinked window line, upswept rear deck, wraparound taillights and integrated twin exhaust exits that are part of the exterior styling.

Dimension-wise, the Accord measures 4,901 mm long and 1,862 mm wide, making it 34 mm shorter and 12 mm wider than before. The roofline sits 15 mm lower than before at 1,450 mm, contributing to a centre of gravity that is 10 mm lower than before, while the 2,830 mm wheelbase has grown by 55 mm.

Under the bonnet, the new Accord gets the same 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder petrol engine as that found in the Civic and CR-V already on sale here. However, unlike those two models, the Accord’s mill offers higher outputs, providing 201 PS at 5,500 rpm and 260 Nm from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm

Drive is directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams continuously variable transmission (CVT), and the Accord will accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in nine (1.5 TC) or 9.1 seconds (1.5 TC-P). Both variants will hit the same top speed of 190 km/h and offer two drive modes – Econ and Sport.

By comparison, the CR-V comes with 193 PS at 5,600 rpm and 243 Nm from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, while the Civic serves up 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. On a related note, the Accord’s figures represent an increase of 11 PS and 17 Nm over the tune seen on the Thailand and Indonesian versions of the Accord, which are rated at 190 PS at 5,500 rpm and 243 Nm from 1,500 to 5,500 rpm.

In terms of standard equipment, the Accord range gets full-LED headlamps with daytime running lights, LED taillights and fog lamps, 17- (1.5 TC) or 18-inch (1.5 TC-P) alloy wheels, keyless entry and start (with remote engine start), four front and rear parking sensors (eight total) and a multi-angle reverse camera.

For the interior, there’s an eight-inch Advanced Display Audio head unit with 10 speakers, a subwoofer as well as support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. Other items inside include dual-zone climate control with rear vents, a seven-inch digital instrument cluster display, leather upholstery and powered front seats (eight-way driver with memory, four-way passenger).

The similarities continue with the safety kit, which includes six airbags (front, side and curtain), Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), Agile Handing Assist (AHA), ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and Hill Start Assist. However, the 1.5 TC-P is the only variant that gets the Honda Sensing suite of safety and driver assist systems, which was also found on the outgoing ninth-gen model.

The feature set includes Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW) and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), while the Low Speed Follow (LSF) function is a new addition for the tenth-gen car. The Accord comes with a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.

Aside from the Honda Sensing suite, the range-topper also benefits from LaneWatch, a 360-degree camera, Cross Traffic Monitor, Smart Parking Assist System with rear Brake Assist and a tyre deflation warning system.

Honda Malaysia is offering a range of optional accessories for the Accord, including a Modulo Package for RM5,414 that includes front and rear under spoilers, side skirts and a trunk spoiler. The options list also includes a front digital video recorder for RM749 as well as a range of window films from 3M and Ecotint, with prices ranging from RM1,478 to RM2,293.

There’s also an Urban Package (door visor, illuminated side steps, rear bumper under garnish) for RM2,777, Utility Package (boot tray, boot organiser, windscreen sun shade and car cover) for RM865, and a Protection Package (wheel lock nuts, glass body coating and window coating) for RM3,007.

Find full specifications of the new Accord on CarBase.my.

2020 Honda Accord 1.5 TC-P

2020 Honda Accord official photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Tyler Wong on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:06 am

No one is buying Honda with low aftersales service and low quality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 9
    • Mr Visionary on Feb 26, 2020 at 1:27 pm

Yea better top up a bit and get the game changing Toyota Camry which will last a lifetime yet with a superb chassis setup and double wishbones which allows for racing around genting against German rivals but at least wont kaput beside the road like German cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 62
      • Celup King on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:17 pm

I am still waiting for your gamechanging hybrids but Toyota hybrids are gameover. Now Toyota is begging for EV technology from Geely. If Geely doesn’t give it, Toyota will be gameover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
        • Haidi on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:37 pm

1st turbo D-segmen Jepun sedan, mantap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Muafakat Nasional on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:59 am

Prices have gone up because weak ringgit. 60 years of corruption and pintu belakang make our ringgit weak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
          • Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:31 am

So much of instability because of greedy abang abangs. This is why our ringgit is falling and car prices from baht pricing is going higher.

The King of Thailand is clever to unite his people

• Taik Muafakat on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:42 am

I hope prices go down. Now D segment is dead because so expensip

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang Gagal on Feb 26, 2020 at 9:20 pm

Prices are crazy. Why prices are crazy? Very simple. In Malaysia, Honda is DRB and DRB is a lembap GLC that is overbloated in staff.

So, DRB needs to keep prices high to make sure they get the money to feed these overbloated GLC staff of theirs.

Look at how China can do things, so efficiently and fast. Until they can turnaround dying PRoton to be profitable. Li Chunrong, in 6 months, could identify all the leakages that our local abang abang CEOs could not identify in 25 years.

Make sure Geely buys up Honda in Malaysia and run it efficiently. We need more Mainland people to come into Malaysia to make things run more efficiently.

You will see Accord will come dwn in price to RM138k like before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 17
          • Lets See on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:22 am

Under BN, got 1.6mil government servants but no price hikes and cars remain affordable.
            Under PH, got 1.6mil government servant but price hikes macam haram jadah.
            Why so big difference? To feed the overbloated PH servants, it is for a reason the difference between BN government and PH government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 28
          • Taik Muafakat on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:45 am

Too much of time and money spent on wanting easy life and easy money until the lazy people forget to serve the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Spin Too Much on Feb 27, 2020 at 5:04 pm

That is why PH collapsed, they talk and promised to serve the rakyat but when come to power, they only serve themselves. Better give the power back to BN, at least they take care of the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
        • Gamechanger on Feb 27, 2020 at 12:18 am

ROFLMAO. Comment win. #Gamechanger #gameover

• Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:09 am

I hope the dungu in Gomen now sort out a stable Government cause our ringgit is falling.

So dumb. Cannot even decide on stability.

• Muafakat Nasional on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:55 am

Our Greedy UMW and DRB make their Camry RM200k

Who can afford? They want us to buy the junk Perdana I think

• The only most greedy is Honda runs under DRB. Very expensive. Both Camry and Accord sells nearly RM200K. But Accord is CKD whereas Camry is CBU at the same price. SUCH A GREEDY DRB HONDA. Even DRB Honda sells very high price with no AEB, low quality and low after sales services.

• X70 Buyer on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Pay just Rm 123k for the X70 and you will save Rm 73k to buy the X50 for your wife. Such a good deal! 2 good cars for the price of one Accord. What’re you waiting for!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
        • Mr Visionary on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:50 pm

But the dct gearbox from proton might just kaput after the warranty period which means the owning cost of the 2 cars might exceed 300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
          • Low Vision on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:19 pm

Honda SA Detected!!! Honda CVT Gearbox kaput

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
          • His Friend on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:50 pm

“Might just kaput” and it might just not. So you are assured to enjoy using both X70 & X50 for a very long time. No problem buying them

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang Gagal on Feb 26, 2020 at 9:24 pm

When you have abang abangs fighting amongst themselves, they have no time to ensure we consumers get reasonable car prices.

Time to kick all these people out and bring in Mainland people who can run MAlaysia better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • Fake News on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:25 am

Agreed. Time for MN to kickout DAP and replace them with Mainland people.

• Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:32 am

Thai Baht has gone up 30% against the weak ringgit because of political instability and greedy people trying to hijak the Government.

We suffer with high car prices now

• Spin Too Much on Feb 27, 2020 at 5:05 pm

Time to kick PH out. Oops! They ardy kicked out, so time to keep them out for good. Then our currency will go up again.

• Zero vision on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:36 pm

Toyota salesman detected ! German cars kaput ? Are you high ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
        • Mr Visionary on Feb 26, 2020 at 6:20 pm

Seen several times a german car die beside the road, in other news sky is blue

• mengembek on Feb 26, 2020 at 8:28 pm

Shows u never owned a german car before. Let me give u a hint audi piston ring repair cost rm40k. Get it.

• Y do u need to repair piston rings for nothing? I use Conti car (Audi) & never do that…car is ok so far

• Mrs.Right on Mar 06, 2020 at 4:48 pm

yeah, better top up abit get maserati

• Haha top speed 190kmh je. 9th Gen Accrod 2.4 can go higher.

But being a CKD Honda both share rubbish quality and reliability.

• awg1031 on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:06 am

premium accord , surely the best in class. bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 77
  • Aaron Stone on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:11 am

186K to 195K with expensive repairing cost without getting rid of quality problems

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
  • azhar on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:16 am

Terbaek honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Honda LOW RV on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:17 am

In 2017
    CRV 1.5 TC-P – RM163K
    CX5 2.2 – RM167K

In 2020
    CRV 1.5 TC-P – RM109K
    CX5 2.2 – RM135K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
  • L1988 on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:18 am

this pricing is ouch… people dont really look forward on the horsepower but instead the car quality and build quality of the car… who would want a executive sedan to go in factory to claim warranty often…

IMO (CBU)Mazda 6 2.0 now really is cheap comparing Camry (dull interior) and Accord (quality)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • Nearly RM200K, right. Better buy Camry or Passat or wait for Hyundai Sonata. I am afraid that buying this expensive car, cannot last longer. Have to waste more money for getting new replacement parts and always cannot get rid problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • taknakhonda on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:21 am

Enjoy honda cvt gearbox. But will be short term, because there are too many problems of using cvt gearbox, feels jerking. And ask you to pay more costlier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Sam KK Loo on Feb 26, 2020 at 10:49 pm

Enjoy poodua dino 4AT gearbox. But will be short term, because there are too many problems of using their dino 4AT gearbox, feels jerking and severely unresponsive and finally koyak, even such ancient gearbox like that also can’t get it right (don’t believe, ask M***, A*ai or B***a owners). And ask you to pay much more costlier which they don’t mind, even have to borrow money here and there to change gearbox.

• Kenny K.Teh on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:26 am

I will rather go for Volkswagen Passat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Haiz. on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:23 am

Please just go ahead, is your choice if u can afford it.

• Everyone has a choice. Nowadays people will not buying honda, they will rather go for Passat, Camry, BMW or Mercedes. But this is only your choice to buy Honda Accord. But mark our words that honda service and quality is really terrible

• romance on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:27 am

(Like) Toyota Camry
    (Dislike) Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • Hafiz on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:27 pm

Up a bit & can get proper german lux brand albeit baseline 3, A4 or C class…that kind of price is too much for generic product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • eVaz88 on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:33 am

Interesting.. CKD price very stiff.. compared to CBU camry, not much diff tho.

• Pakatan nasional on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:34 am

Every creature on planet earth: eagerly waiting and curious about whats going to happen with government

Honda: we are happy to launch new accord in Malaysia which has been in worldwide market for more than year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • burger on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:36 am

With this car, many will not buy this city. honda marketing team and management are just too greedy and arrogant.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:20 pm

It is nothing much Honda Malaysia can do as this price hike is mainly due to Thai baht too strong. Honda is seeking government to provide some sort of incentive to keep their price as before about RM 170k unfortunately government did not support.

Just like Toyota unable to price down the Camry due to strong Thai Baht. If coming with dynamic forced engine and 8AT the camry will likely sell RM 220k. By then nobody will give a shxt to buy camry as top up a bit can get brand new C class or 320i.

• Lol... on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:22 am

T Old tech 2.5L n gear box selling at Rm 200k also not selling well bro…. Better offer better specs and technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Heartdoc on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:38 am

My god..close to 200k..you’re better off buying a passat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • harga kete jepun makin lama makin mahal la…kete europe rasanya makin turun je….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • RIDZUAN on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:42 am

CKD accord is almost same prize as CBU Camry and more expensive than CKD Passat elegance? good luck honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Samantha on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:44 am

By looking at these comments from Facebook, it is high time to cancel order my new Accord today. That’s very risky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Faizul on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:48 am

Class leading D segment sedan. Good price for the specs and equipment. This new Accord is benchmark against the 3 series and E Class and its much cheaper than the 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 61
  • Looks very boring for inside. Especially outside one, looks terrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Haiz. on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:25 am

Front n interior design OK, rear lights ammm… Honda you can do better…

• Anonymous_C on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:50 am

This kinda price range, consumer will just continue to buy Proton X70 and wait for next reasonably price sedan

• msia driver on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:51 am

wish proton re-badge geely D segment car here and sell rm120k++…lolz

• Sohai on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:51 am

Pui, this kind of price HONDA can close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Gunasilan Muniandy on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:53 am

Too expensive for Honda Accord. I rather add few thousands for BMW 3 Series or A200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Honda Regret Owner on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:53 am

My civic always problem but sell off like faulty part plus for some Honda models. EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem. Therefore, as I went in to the Honda showroom, Honda people didn’t greet me. This shows that Honda Customer Care is very terrible as well. This is actually why Malaysian is cheated by Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Haiz. on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:29 am

Habis lah with ur comments, if is true… 2nd H Fc no values already… Ppl may not consider it anymore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • Honda Regret Owner on Feb 27, 2020 at 10:27 am

The truth is that Malaysians had sell off their Honda cars. They know that Honda Customer Care always never care including Honda people. You go and ask Former Honda Owners about their experience for driving Honda cars. They also said about major issues for driving Honda Cars

• basketballboy on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:56 am

RIP Civic and Accord

• Datuk on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:01 pm

Low front, tall tail, uncle looks. Where are the rear view photos… hahahaha

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:04 pm

wow, this is absolutely EXPENSIVE japanese car man! Btw nothing Honda can do coz most components are from Thailand and Thai Baht is just too strong.

BMW 320i is RM 244k, if buying pre-reg it will be around RM220k. How many people will go for Accord if the gap is only RM20k different. Remember BMW is premium badge and it comes with 5 years service package. Or ya, if buying VW Passat it is slightly cheaper than Accord low spec (discount at least RM7k now).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • honda is luxury car? on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:07 pm

for that price i can go in bmw,Mercedes and volvo showroom to get a pre reg car with low mileage and when i balik kampung driving a bmw i have more muka then driving a honda but nobody know my ‘luxury car’ is cheaper then a honda accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • liew tan on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Why don’t want to show the ugly crab design at the back?

• Sick & Tired on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:26 pm

A RM140k Civic and a RM196k Accord when an Accord used to be RM156k. Thank you for your Price Hikes legacy! We will never vote you ever again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Syerin on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:28 pm

The interior chimes preve.

• JOACHIM on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:39 pm

Same sausage as Civic only longer.

• Mason on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:40 pm

CKD also selling at this price range n somemore this kind of look.

I can only said bye bye honda accord. I will see u lesser on the road for sure.

186k-196k there is a lot of bettee option out there.

• Science Experiment on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Feels like wanna to type like science experiment theory, “As I buy Accord with price higher, servicing and getting new parts and turbo with price also higher”

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Wow extra 10k for the little bit extra kit?

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:54 pm

The D segment is dead.

• Ang Ang on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:57 pm

Price rocket high

• Matilanak on Feb 26, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Honda Civic XXL Size
    In 2017 2.4 litre
    In 2020 1.5 litre
    In 2025 0.5 litre

• Martin on Feb 26, 2020 at 1:40 pm

Planning to buy Honda Accord with expectation of CKD is around RM160k. Sorry i am ou. bye bye Honda

• vivizurianti on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:05 pm

Today, the cheapest BMW is better than the best Honda Accord.

BMW has more class and prestige……while Honda has er, er, err, er….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • mengembek on Feb 26, 2020 at 8:35 pm

But bmw means banyak makan wang, banyak masuk workshop, banyak masalah wei,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • rubbish mengembak man on Feb 27, 2020 at 10:08 am

Another honda fanboi detected! Seems you didn’t own bmw or merc. By the way, bmw & merc will improve their services soon than honda

• Angelmonkey on Sep 11, 2021 at 7:38 am

Who can’t afford conti car will keep saying conti better than Japanese car.

• correction on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:17 pm

Hey Gerard, I believe this 1.5 vtec turbo unit is a gen2 unit with exhaust VTEC results in earlier and higher torque (not designed in Civic/CRV 1.5 vtec turbo mill) and slightly different oil gas separator.

• bringbackmanualcars on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:19 pm

ugly AF car. 200k better buy other brand

• Ben Yap on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:24 pm

with the price increase in honda, now going after girls is much easier. the moment they see you drive a honda, they know that you are successful already. girls will go after you and you just have to sit down there and sell expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • choha on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:30 pm

the ugliest Accord ever with that crab face…..i wonder who the designer is…..

• Ongtk on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:02 pm

The taillights are similar designs to those of the Subaru Forester. That on the Forestor looked better anytime. Anyway, the Camry is outselling this Accord in the US big time!

• Azlan on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:13 pm

RIP accord & camry …wt that kind of price might as well get the base germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • This car will be less seen on the road…coz of the price….

• msia driver on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:20 pm

BMW 330i just 240k, actually same price with this 200k accord exclude the 5 years services

• Rulered on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Honda must be doing really well these days, one day I walked in their showroom and noticed all their sales exec busy with their handphone. After look see for a few minutes, I walked out and went to Mercedes showroom, the rest is history. True story.

• spliffrolla on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Even the previous gen 2.4 vti-l advance with TC gearbox at 169k much better buy

• spliffrolla on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Even the previous gen 2.4 vti-l advance with TC gearbox at 169k much much better buy

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:47 pm

When I bought Passat 2.0HL couple of months ago people said why not go for Camry, I said no affordable coz I bought pre-reg at RM160k. And they said wait for Accord, luckily I didn’t wait coz I still not afford to buy. Nowadays driving a German car is less prestigious than Japanese car.

If Thai baht didn’t goes down by 2025 the facelift Accord will price same level as Merc C class and BMW 3 series. And the Civic FL will be same price as VW Passat in 2025. Poor man drive German car and rich guy driving Japanese. Terbalik sudah

• The only brand increase price is Honda – and with the newly launch Accord making it close to RM200k, it just too aggressive…

However, we have to take note that D segment started to go with this price tag, starting with Toyota Camry, Mazda 6, Volkswagen Passat… I expect Hyundai Sonata, Peugeot 508, Kia Optima will follow to closer RM200k range. This will push BMW and Mercedes Benz closer to RM300k tag – please mark my note and keep your eye on the next-generation W206 Mercedes-Benz C200.

A same price tag of Honda Accord vs Toyota Camry vs Mazda 6 vs Volkswagen Passat… specific target to Executive level (senior manager, general manager, director) with age of 35 to 45 years old, will it works? Or this range of customer willing to push themselves to next limit for Merz C200 / BMW 320i while it still remain around RM250k range… Don’t forget that most of this executive level (successful managers) have a dream while they was young – driving a Merz / BMW balik kampung just sound too nice… :)

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 7:03 pm

Not really. The price increase is mainly attribute to Thai Baht. Since Euro is stable Merc and BM may not increase the price which make their entry level become “affordable”. If you compare the old W204 and new W205 C200 the price is less than RM10k hike. If factor in “pre-reg” car then the W205 is actually cheaper.

• Tinybobo on Feb 26, 2020 at 5:31 pm

Looking to trade my Honda Accord for a new 1…but sorry Honda Malaysia, I’m going to pass this round with such pricing.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 6:43 pm

Many people bashing Accord and Camry selling so expensive but never ask why. It is mainly due to THAI BAHT as it has climb 30% over the past five years. However Continental brands mostly maintain their price or slightly increase and this attribute to stable Euro currency. Euro is maintaining around 4.5 for the past 5 years. If Thailand government still unable to control the Thai Baht by 2025 the accord will sell around RM 240k after conversion.

Pls don’t bash on weak RM, the exchange rate to other countries currency aren’t weak except Baht, USD and SGD. Baht is exceptionally strong which make them hard to do export business now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Jzhen on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:45 pm

But then people will still buy Camry CBU cost RM196K with more reliable rather than Accord CKD RM196K with bad quality and unreliable

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 27, 2020 at 11:56 am

I can’t deny your statement coz Toyota has better QC control than any car manufacturer. Hxnda has their famous chassis problem such as absorber issue, lower arm, stabilizer link, axle etc after use of couple of years. For Hxnda cars more than 7 years we have to be careful of the driveshaft as it may “break” out of sudden. I did asked car repair technician they said Hxnda design their front driveshaft differently and less support compare to others (mean more fragile).

That is why can see in used car market 5 years old Accord second hand value is 20-25% lower than 5 years old Camry but they are nearly identical selling price when they are new.

• Sad... on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:35 am

Why Malaysia a country full of resources, yet RM still weak and drop? Where is the Wawasan 2020? Sad…

• Wawasan 2020 is to change gomen like change underwear. Hahaha

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 27, 2020 at 11:41 am

You thought RM strong is good thing? Do you know how hard China and US trying their very best to “depreciate” their currency by wasting tonnes of money. What is the benefit of high currency in this slow economy globally? Do you know Thai government is out of control to keep their Baht increasing and this leand to one by one company pulling out from Thailand and investing in another country.

Do you know high Thai Baht bring catastrophic impact to their tourism business. Not only Malaysia tourists decrease but other countries tourists also decrease tremendously.

• Jack d rippa on Feb 26, 2020 at 6:54 pm

At this price the Germans are a better buy with a little topup (im talking about you tooo Camry!)

For the Accord, ill rather have the previous 9th Gen 2.4 vti-l advance with a 5 speed conventional transmission than this cvt with pseudo gears with puny turbocharged engine. AT an almost 30K discount.

Seriously though rather buy a Cx-5 turbo at this price

• No HondaBoy on Feb 26, 2020 at 7:07 pm

Manufacturers clearly price D-segment saloon closer to RM200k to avoid price clash with D-segment SUV

• No HondaBoy on Feb 26, 2020 at 7:08 pm

Lumbar Support: Good
    100% rear seat fold: Bad

• Lost my jazz on Feb 26, 2020 at 7:16 pm

Damn ugly eyebrow lol. And that wheel is just too small with fk up proportion

• Tried Accord 2017 top speed after few months purchased. Drove the car in normal and downhill road at night time no crosswind. The car barely reach +- 215km/h with v-power racing. The wind sound is just crazy after 180km/h until it makes me deaf for few seconds. The aerodynamic just failed, the car no stable at all plus the steering so soft at high speed. (Steering speed sensing not detected). Thank god this generation accord they limit the top speed to 190 km/h.

• For certain people it could be attributed to lack of driving skill, because I drove the same stock standard 2.4L model during the daytime at 210kmh-220kmh with no stability issues at all.

• Sashi on Feb 26, 2020 at 8:52 pm

This will be a non starter… Almost 200k for an accord is ridiculous. ..honda will kill itself

• Rassti on Feb 26, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Interested! ))

• Noobie on Feb 26, 2020 at 9:59 pm

Wth! Almost 200K for the Accord? Lol. Malaysian should avoid buying Accord, Camry n whichever overpriced vehicles! Let them keep the vehicles in showroom or store forever!

• ryan lee on Feb 26, 2020 at 10:03 pm

overall impression like it undergone heavy cost cutting. exterior design look like fragment patching exercise. amateur work. interior omg. city look more luxurious. this accord indoor look so spartan and really nothing suggest the price tag of 190k

• kenneth Fook on Feb 26, 2020 at 10:27 pm

I really pity malaysians sometimes. This exact same model have been in the states for almost 2 years now. And they are only bringing it here now after 2 years and charging ppl close to 200k for this. One mans trash is truly another mans treasure. Dont get me wrong. its a good car but come on honda malaysia, for a car that has been around the globe for 2 years already… Why not bring it in earlier…

• Hazri on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:09 pm

Nampak potongan mcm Perdana. Cuma Perdana RM 100K lagi murah, nmpk lagi exclusive , dalaman lagi besar. Cuma tec. outdated sikit. Tapi masih berbaloi.

• Baik beli 8th-gen Honda Accord, the original. Lagi berbaloi.

• Hafiz Hisham on Feb 28, 2020 at 11:11 am

Bila Honda Malaysia mau jual 8th gen Accord BAHARU dgn harga RM 99k? Sy mau beli. Boleh tunjukkan?

• altimatesss on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:15 pm

Honda – If you want to match the accord to the new camry pricing, then you should have brought in the 2.0 T version, not this 1.5.. I owned the outgoing Accord model but when I found out the 2.0 is not coming, I switched to something else. No thanks, I’ll pass. Good luck with the sales.

• Knightrider on Feb 27, 2020 at 12:15 am

Two words ! over price & nothing special!

• Kavitha on Feb 27, 2020 at 12:47 am

AYO AYO so expensive for japanese car. My bf will buy german car. Beter standard la when i go market.

• Azman on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:40 am

The new Accord was launched overseas more than 2 years ago, with a range topping 2.0 turbo with 250hp. Sad to see it took Honda this long to launch it here in Malaysia and limiting it to the sad 1.5 turbo version. Shows what Honda really thinks of us here in Malaysia

• Holofanboi on Feb 27, 2020 at 10:56 am

Approximately one-hundred-ninety-thousand.

For a non-sports Honda.

Har har har. Toyota and Honda think they are luxury marques or something? At this kind of price ranges most will just directly opt for the german compacts.

The kind of people in the 150k mark and above are vastly different from beneath it. The monthly net income has a clear segment between the ranges. 2-4k, 6-9k then a huge valley in between that suddenly jumps to 20k onwards.

At this kind of pricing, its targeted to a barely-existent monthly income of 11-15k. The group of potential carbuyers in this income range is too tiny.

Unless they are they aiming for the 6-9k income who has no existing commitments?….

• I agree with you. For those earning between RM13k-RM18k monthly, for RM190k they wouldn’t want to buy a model which shares a badge with the ugly BRV. They will most likely look at VW or higher up Germans now as monthly installment differences will be just a few hundred.

• taweel on Feb 27, 2020 at 4:14 pm

No HUD fitted like US and AUS?

• With that price, its going to be as rare as the Camry…most ppl will top up slightly & get the german lux instead….3/C class/A4 will benefit from this silly pricing by Honda

• Athies on Apr 25, 2020 at 4:55 pm

Only idiots will pay 185K for a 1.5 cc car!!
    Regret buying Honda

• bamkai on Mar 30, 2022 at 11:48 am

accord 2020 less than rm150k now hehe ..