REVIEW: Honda City RS e:HEV first impressions drive

Unless you’ve gone completely off the grid in the past few months, you would have most certainly caught wind of the new kid in town. Meet the fifth-generation Honda City, one which will be making its official Malaysian debut sometime in October 2020.

UPDATE: We have extensively tested the City RS’ i-MMD hybrid system. You may read our latest in-depth account, here.

At least four variants are expected to be launched, including the most advanced City RS i-MMD Hybrid. Prospective buyers can expect two powertrain options, the first being a new twin-cam (DOHC) 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC mill, which in India makes 121 PS and 145 Nm and is paired to a CVT. This is likely the standard configuration for the non-hybrid S, E, and V variants.

For the first time, the hybrid is positioned as the range-topping e:HEV variant (the previous City Sport Hybrid i-DCD sat below the City V in the line-up), featuring Honda’s latest two-motor Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) hybrid system. It even has nearly the full range of Honda Sensing, and is the sole variant to get the sportier “Road Sailing” RS treatment.

Looks aside, what really got people talking was its torque figure – a full 253 Nm to be exact, or just 2 Nm shy of the Proton X50’s 1.5L turbocharged, DI mill. Not quite apples-to-apples there, but we imagine many drawing comparisons between the two (not forgetting the Almera, of course) for obvious reasons.

Unlike our neighbours in Thailand, we won’t be getting the City’s new P10A2 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine. Instead, the decision to introduce the i-MMD hybrid came straight from Honda Japan. If you haven’t read already, Honda Malaysia’s upgraded factories in Pegoh, Melaka is now at the same level of sophistication as Honda Japan, which means the automaker will very likely introduce more CKD i-MMD models in the future.

Now, the i-MMD hybrid system works slightly differently from the hybrid cars you and I are more accustomed with. Most of the time, it’s the larger of the two electric motors (called the Traction motor, which spins up to 13,300 rpm) that powers the car. The 98 PS/127 Nm 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle i-VTEC four-cylinder port-injection unit, on the other hand, functions as a power unit to recharge the 48-cell lithium-ion battery (likely a 1.3 kWh pack, but this has yet to be confirmed) via the Generation Motor, which also acts as a starter.

It’s not classified as a full electric vehicle with a range extender, though, because the internal combustion engine (ICE) can provide direct drive (Engine Drive mode) via a single-speed transmission and a lock-up clutch. The ICE only assumes propulsion duties at cruising speeds, because it’s more efficient at higher speeds compared to the electric motor.

It’s called Multi-Mode Drive for the very reason that it offers three drive modes. The car will always boot up in EV Drive mode by default, and here, the electric motor does most of the heavy lifting. You’ll hear the engine spring to life once in a while to recharge the battery, ensuring that there’s constant supply of juice for the Traction motor. In our brief experience, this operation is executed fairly smoothly and quietly.

When full acceleration is required, the hybrid system switches to Hybrid Drive mode. The Traction motor is still the primary propulsion unit here, but the engine will rev higher to generate more electricity to recharge the battery. The i in i-MMD stands for intelligent, meaning it automatically alternates between the most efficient drive modes depending on the situation. Sounds complex at first, but not so much now, isn’t it?

Interestingly, at full pelt, the engine revs rise and fall to simulate actual gearshifts in a conventional slushbox, but does little else besides providing some sense of speed. There is still a fuel tank, obviously, but you can expect fewer trips to the gas station with this setup. Much like the outgoing i-DCD models, the air-conditioning compressor is an electrically-driven unit, so there are no belt-driven ancillaries.

The new Jazz i-MMD hybrid that’s sold in Europe shares the same powertrain, allowing for a century sprint time of 9.4 seconds and a combined fuel economy of 4.5 litres per 100 km (WLTP cycle). The City i-MMD shouldn’t stray too far off from these figures, plus a head-to-head drag race proves that the i-MMD is indeed quicker than the City Sport Hybrid i-DCD.

To put it simply, driving the City i-MMD is a lot like driving an electric car – you get the full 253 Nm of torque right out of the gate. Surprisingly, outright acceleration didn’t quite feel as brisk as we had expected, but we suspect the hybrid system could have been nearing its thermal limitations during the test session – we were just one out of nearly two dozen people who sampled the car at full whack, repetitively.

Maybe we’re wrong, but there’s only so much to be “felt” with just two-thirds of a lap around the Melaka International Motorsports Circuit. We’ll save the in-depth analysis for a proper, full review once the car is launched, but so far, the i-MMD system will have much to show for if it intends to deliver or exceed the level of engagement its Sport Hybrid i-DCD counterpart offered.

Still, having that much torque makes for effortless standstill acceleration, and power gets channeled to the wheels quicker when flooring the throttle pedal out of a corner, negating the input delay experienced in the already well-tuned City i-DCD. Traction levels are high, too, possibly a result of better suspension tuning and wider front and rear tracks.

Honda Malaysia is positioning this fifth-gen City as a family car, evidenced from its marketing emphasis on style and safety, rather than the blatant fun-to-drive messaging perpetuated at the launch of the City Sport Hybrid i-DCD. Is the new City more matured, less edgy around the bends, more comfortable on pockmarked roads, and more practical than it has ever been? Perhaps.

One thing is for sure – it is better equipped than ever before. For the first time, the automaker’s advanced Honda Sensing suite of safety and driver assist systems is deployed on the City, which is a first in its segment. There’s adaptive cruise control, collision mitigation braking system (AEB), lane keeping assist, road departure mitigation, lane departure warning (with steering vibration), and auto high-beam function.

There’s even forward collision warning with nighttime pedestrian and cyclist detection, whereas the monocular camera now provides a wider field of detection. It should also do a better job at recognising road markings, although the existing system in the Civic 1.5 TC-P facelift that we recently reviewed performed just fine.

The ACC (with distance control) is commendably polished, as is the steering correction for the lane keeping assist system. Short of Low Speed Follow, this is near Level 2 automation – pretty high tech for a B-segment sedan. The RS also gets Honda LaneWatch with a wide-angle camera, a feature that’s available for the V variant, too.

Size-wise, the new City is 111 mm longer (4,553 mm), 54 mm wider (1,748 mm), and 10 mm lower than its predecessor. There will be at least five colours on offer, starting with this Passion Red Pearl, Platinum White Pearl, Crystal Black Pearl, Lunar Silver Metallic, and Modern Steel Metallic. So, what do you think of the City i-MMD hybrid so far? Torque to us, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jessica L on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:42 pm

The front black lid mouth looks like gigi besi…Dental braces

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • Copycat on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:50 pm

Thats right. rear look like 3 series

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 0
      • And unpractical for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • Dont compare china to Jepun on Sep 26, 2020 at 2:33 pm

China car is not in world class ranking at all. Surprise people take it to compare with X70. X70 more for china and 3rd world market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
          • Rosman on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Volvo XC40 disagrees with you along with its clutch of COTY awards, including those accolades from Jepun. Malulah siot Jepun! A China car won at their home.

• You called X70 as 3rd world market? Honda is becoming more like 3rd world market.

• Chris Lau on Sep 26, 2020 at 8:41 pm

And surprisingly this version looks better than 3 series

• Ghazali Hamdan on Sep 26, 2020 at 11:31 am

What most Malaysians are waiting for is not this car but the Proton Iriz EV

Where is this car now? Proton took billions from LHDN to do research on this car. We have been waiting so long for this wonderful car.

I am also so eager

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Ashley on Sep 26, 2020 at 7:22 pm

Such as shame, nearly a decades until now, honda still giving asking for recalls for any faulty parts for many honda vehicles, the same goes in here as well. No wonder, honda still asking billions for tongkat from japan gomen, especially for pandemic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • EV/PHEV are way too expensive for the average Proton buyer not to mention the cutthroat replacement battery price. Even MINI EV is a Rm20k premium on the regular version so expect a Rm50k regular Iriz would cost you Rm70k for EV. Hardly a sum an average Iriz buyer would consider.

Factoring all that, you don’t save any on fuel cost but you suffer worse on depreciation. With such issues, there is little incentive for Proton to come out with EV/PHEV atm.

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:38 pm

Copy paste: “I believe use EV not affordable in Malaysia. Our electric tarif is not cheap unless charging buy solar.”

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:39 pm

Copy paste: “…and petrol is cheap, compared with other countries.”

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:43 pm

Copy paste: “Buts… U cannot charge it from your 14th floor flat”

• Brian on Sep 27, 2020 at 2:17 pm

Even Tesla with all their inhouse capabilities could only try to lower their cost price per car down to Rm100k. How lah our troll wants Proton to make & sell EV cars for Rm50k saja and not make massive losses.

• Don’t forget our reviewer is also wearing gigi besi

• tricycle on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Unfortunately from this article, i have to say that it intrigues me to test the car.

Reason being:
    1. Torque figure
    2. Adaptive cruise control

But if the hybrid version comes with the turbo engine it would be perfect.

• Class E Licence on Sep 25, 2020 at 9:32 pm

IMHO No need turbo when this is enough for charging the battery. Electric motor is more efficient and powerful at acceleration. I doubt anyone could feel the turbo power at cruising speed (in this setup)

• Round on Sep 26, 2020 at 5:30 pm

But electric motor can be many disadvantages. Not all brands

• Dredd on Sep 26, 2020 at 10:22 am

I’d buy the car straight away, not some cheapos mengada2 buang masa org go to test drive the car for free. Kemon lah

That name Honda City Turbo is really gamechanging.

• Neutral Shift on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:17 pm

You mean “at full pedal” not “at full pelt”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:35 pm

He does mean “at full pelt”. Read the dictionary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Neutral Shift on Sep 25, 2020 at 9:25 pm

Ohh I thaugt it’s like hurling or bombarding. So its actually a broken term(informal) for “going full speed as quickly as possible”. Nice one.

• English Teacher on Sep 25, 2020 at 9:58 pm

Bad English proficiency among local grads mmg teruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • English Lecturer on Sep 26, 2020 at 12:47 pm

Yours isn’t any better. You used a double negative and in a different language. *facepalm*

• Copy Paste on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:14 pm

Copy paste: “Can’t expect much from UEC grads. The pitfalls of learning only mother tougue”

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 25, 2020 at 10:59 pm

Haihhhh. Jangan lah lagak pandai kalau pandir sebenarnya…

• Copycat on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:53 pm

Front – uncle face
    Rear – 3 series

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 0
  • Good luck to h owners. Get ready to become next complaint soon

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
  • Joke god car. LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • Jay Jay on Sep 25, 2020 at 11:41 pm

what’s the damage? RM?

• Win 10 on Sep 25, 2020 at 11:43 pm

Next Please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • This is absolutely for family car, but for not younger gen that used to drive 4th/5th/6th gen City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Saladin on Sep 26, 2020 at 12:08 am

that 253nm torque can only last for few second. Bcos the batt is too small 1.3kwh. Can only use for short overtaking but not for hill climbing.

• xoxox on Sep 28, 2020 at 10:06 am

definitely you didn’t understand the whole design and give comment..

• Looks like a boat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Maximoff on Sep 26, 2020 at 12:38 am

this wheel tyre rims can be stolen. So nothing can be secure about honda

• People buy this, because of badge, not because it is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Sutte on Sep 26, 2020 at 1:16 am

Useless advertisement when there is no price stated for the car yet. Learn from Nissan

• Ryan Tan on Sep 26, 2020 at 7:06 am

Hello Matthew

• Hennesy on Sep 26, 2020 at 8:05 am

As long as bringing this brand of hybrid, we won’t buy same problems again that made them even more headache. Trust us as owners have face with idcd hybrid

• vivizurianti on Sep 26, 2020 at 8:29 am

Instead of fuel pump kong, now GB will be kong very soon…..

Happy Accelerating and potong kereta, Honda FanBois.

• City: “Unsafe for Everyone”

• Leafable on Sep 26, 2020 at 8:50 am

Stupid tech. You either do full ev or full iced. Hybrid is obsolete tech.

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 26, 2020 at 10:19 am

9.4 secs century sprint is not very bad at all. My CPS powered proton should still be by its side. Along with myvi 1.5 lagi best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Dont compare china to Jepun 2 on Sep 26, 2020 at 2:39 pm

China car is not in world class ranking at all. Surprise people take it to compare with X70. X70 more for china and 3rd world market.

You can be very proud to stick to your potong product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Rosman on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Volvo XC40 disagrees with you along with its clutch of COTY awards, including those accolades from Jepun. Malulah siot Jepun! A China car won at their home.

• Bob Zam on Sep 26, 2020 at 10:27 am

Hope u can compare it with hyundai ioniq,tq

• Damon Lee on Sep 26, 2020 at 10:34 am

In the end, with a straightforward turbo engine like X50 1.5T I could bring to my bawah pokok pomen to do servicing and troubleshooting after warranty ends. With the complex City 1.5Hybrid, no pomen willing to do servicing thereby forcing me to go back SC for servicing after warranty. This would burn a big hole in my pocket eventually.

• Truth on Sep 26, 2020 at 12:46 pm

honda malaysia car qualities are poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • POTONG or NIPPON on Sep 26, 2020 at 1:02 pm

(LIKE) X50
    (DISLIKE) CITY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
  • pomen. on Sep 26, 2020 at 4:02 pm

engin hybrid..bateri kalo melingkup ..berapa.riban kena bayar? warranty 10 tahun ka..? lepas 3 tahun resale value drop 60%..

• john is otak batu on Sep 28, 2020 at 10:32 am

u r right brader! long term cost is in the battery that drag this type of car’s performance down.

• Power of Issues

• Drivers on Sep 27, 2020 at 11:35 am

This shown Honda Pegoh Melaka has done a great job that gives Honda Japan to have confident for this new system locally assembled. The same for having civic type r launched in Malaysia among other ASEAN countries.

• Firdaus on Sep 28, 2020 at 9:40 am

Never buy a Honda….you’ll be much happier driving a Proton!
    Coming from a previous owner of a Gen5 CR-V 1.5TCP!

• xoxox on Sep 28, 2020 at 10:12 am

hmm…based on the design…the engine is using fix ratio (high gear) to run the car…i doubt the car still can move from 0km/h if the traction motor dead? hmm..

• Hello World on Aug 02, 2021 at 5:39 pm

After driving the car numerous times I don’t really believe the 253 NM, I have driven a competitive brand Hybrid, a Small 1.6 European Diesel (overseas) and both of them have much more grunt in the form of pulling power and overtaking ability. It maybe the e-CVT that’s the culprit but im doubtful of the Camry 2.5 crushing ability. Or something is wrong with the car I’m driving…