Proton X50 – Geely releases official info on new 1.5T PFI port injection 3-cyl turbo engine for the first time

Here’s more on the Proton X50, this time indirectly, from Geely. The soon to be launched B-segment SUV will come with two engines, a 1.5 TGDi for the Flagship and the 1.5T for the Standard, Executive and Premium variants.

The 1.5 TGDi is a direct-injection three-cylinder turbo engine developed by Geely and Volvo. With 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm, the X50 Flagship’s fuel consumption is officially rated at 6.4 litres per 100 km (15.6 km/l). Paired to a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission also seen in the CKD X70, 0-100 km/h should be similar to the 7.9 seconds quoted by Geely for the Binyue a.k.a. Coolray.

More mysterious is the 1.5T engine in the rest of the range. This is because the engine will make its debut in the X50, and before the media preview last week, many did not know of its existence. What we know officially so far is that it’s a port-injection version of the 1.5 TGDi three-cylinder turbo, it has 150 PS/226 Nm, and claimed fuel consumption is 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.4 km/l).

Well, here’s Geely to shed some light on the new 1.5T engine, for the first time. In an article focusing on the 1.5TD engine range and interviewing Hakan Sandquist, Geely’s director of powertrain strategy at CEVT, the company explained the rationale behind the 1.5TD engine family, which houses the X50’s two engines.

We’ll go deeper into the company’s reasons for downsizing and three cylinders later, but here’s the origins of the 1.5T and the 1.5TD engine family. The 1.5TD range was jointly developed by Geely and Volvo at Volvo’s R&D centre in Gothenburg, CEVT China Euro Vehicle Technology in the same Swedish city, and the Geely Research Institute in China. The Volvo Engine Architecture (VEA) developed by Volvo under Geely forms the foundation of the 1.5TD.

The 1.5TD range was designed to support electrification (mild hybrid, hybrid, plug-in hybrid) and currently, the modular engine series has three base variants. The range starts with the 1.5T PFI, which is the 1.5T in the X50. PFI stands for port fuel injection. The next one is the 1.5TD using direct injection – this is the 1.5 TGDi in the X50 Flagship.

Lastly, there’s a 1.5T Miller. Designed specifically for hybrid applications, the variable valve timing in this PFI mill is adjusted to enable the engine to run on the more fuel efficient Miller cycle.

All three engines in the 1.5TD family are 1,477 cc three-pot turbos with similar bore and stroke measurements of 82 mm and 93.2 mm. What differs is the compression ratio, which is expected because of the different fuel injection systems – it’s 10:1 for the 1.5T PFI, 10.5:1 for the 1.5TD (1.5 TGDi) and 11.5:1 for the 1.5T Miller PFI.

Geely has also shared the minimum Brake Specific Fuel Consumption (BSFC) of the engines, which is 238 g/kWh for the 1.5T PFI, 232 g/kWh for the 1.5TD (1.5 TGDi) and 220 g/kWh for the 1.5T Miller PFI. BSFC is used to compare the fuel efficiency of internal combustion engines – the lower the figures, the better.

Lastly, power and torque outputs. The 1.5T kicks things off at 150 PS (110 kW) at 5,500 rpm and 226 Nm of torque available from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm; the 1.5TD (1.5 TGDi) on RON 95 does 179 PS (132 kW) at 5,500 rpm and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm; while the 1.5T Miller is good for 143 PS (105 kW) at 5,500 rpm and 215 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 4,000 rpm. The 1.5TD figures will be 177 PS (130 kW) if tuned for RON 92 petrol, and 177 PS and 255 Nm, which is what Proton quotes.

So there you have it, an official mention of the 1.5T PFI engine by Geely and its lineage. This also proves that the 1.5T is a global engine from Geely-Volvo’s global engine family and not a “Malaysian special” commissioned by Proton for local use only.

We’ve already covered the X50 extensively from the media preview that happened last week, and you can check it out here. Below are the spec-by-spec differences that we know so far. Bear in mind though that the images you see here are of the top Flagship variant – Proton has yet to reveal the other variants in the metal.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard
Gets as standard:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder MPI engine
  • Around 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • Four airbags (front and side)
  • LED headlamps and DRLs
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Quad exhaust pipes
  • Full carbon fibre-print bodykit
  • Fabric seats
  • Rear air con vents
  • Digital instrument cluster
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • Reverse camera
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive
Adds on:

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Automatic headlamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Leatherette seats

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium
Adds on:

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with red brake callipers
  • Powered driver’s seat
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
Adds on:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection three-cylinder engine
  • 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Panoramic sunroof

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:19 pm

soon to be launched… again???

• LIKE X50, Almera, Vios Facelift, Persona
      DISLIKE City, HRV, BRV, Jazz, Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • With free car loan moratorium, go buy car now!

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Get the PFI… No need walnut blasting maintenance like Direct Injection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
          • Poor engine on Sep 24, 2020 at 8:57 pm

All the best and good luck

• Haley on Sep 24, 2020 at 9:12 pm

Don’t see any problems for using TGDI direct injection X70, so it shouldn’t be any problems for using X50 too

• Hantu Raya on Sep 24, 2020 at 9:48 pm

Get an oil catch tank, no need for your nuts blasting anything.

• I’m curious why you do not add Aruz or Avanza or Rush or Altis or CHR or Sulphy ? Or other models of Toyota, Nissan, Hyundai and Kia or even other China brands to make it more genuine instead your personal bashing of Honda ? City and HRV are in the same bracket in term of price (City) and model positioning (HRV) but BRV, Jazz and Civic are not. Hyundai and Kia just launched competitor models for X50 as well, why are they not on the list, Would you care to justify your like dislike line up ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
        • So any difference? Even honda fanboys also did the same thing for bashing proton and other brands too for previously article as well. So what’s wrong with that. LOL

• 3 PLY on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:23 pm

You must understand that no matter what it is, BRV, Jazz, City and HRV are still same segment as B segment, so BRV and Jazz are compatible to compare with X50 which considered as B segment and yeah, Civic is C segment. Even Civic is not same segment as HRV, Civic, City and Jazz, still also can compare with performance and features between Civic and X50. And for now, it is not possible to compare between Altis, CHR and Slyphy and X50. It is not personal bashing bro. Everyone have their own opinions. Please bro, open you mind. Cheers…. :) You too

• BTW, before you shout Honda Fan boy, I own a Volkswagen, and also owned 2 Proton’s, Perodua, Ford, Hyundai, Citroen, Opel and 2 Subaru’s. In fact, I never owned a Honda. I just prefer objective discussions on vehicles as a fellow car enthusiast. Chill and be happy safe drivers. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • hmm I asked proton’s salesman about the vibration of 3 cylinder engine. Does it vibrate a lot or not? He asked me to wait until the test drive units are out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Thats confidence right there from the SA, rather than trying to convince u with salestalk he prefers to let the car do the talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • Raja Celup on Sep 24, 2020 at 3:57 pm

If really confident then give 10-years car warranty unlimited mileage.

Ada berani?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
          • Lee Cun Giler on Sep 24, 2020 at 8:07 pm

I’ll wait until BMW and Merc also provide 10 years warranty.

Ada ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Akira on Sep 24, 2020 at 4:05 pm

No, he himself also not sure.

• I never seen a confident salesman who has to talk more than he shud. One such is the troller below.

• Roti john on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:11 pm

That shows the salesman’s uncertainty. He does not know whether the 3 cylinder engine vibrate a lot or not. But I believe, the engine will vibrate a lot. You should wait for Game-Changing Perodua D55L, I test drive a Toyota Raize months ago in Japan and the engine feel so smooth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Bro, Toyota Raize also 3-cylinder engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
          • Bruh... on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:42 pm

Hahah…terciduk

• Kamal AutoGuide on Sep 24, 2020 at 7:27 pm

Dr.Håkan Sandquist, the Director of Powertrain Strategy at CEVT claims that with the use of sound dampening tools like counterweighted crankshafts, low noise timing belt (sigh), single balancing shaft, on top of the engine compartment and vibration dampener have “effectively eliminated perceivable engine vibrations”.
            This is on par or better than some models that are equipped with a 4-cylinder engine.
            On the topic of Reliability, Dr.Hakan claims that this new engines are designed to last 15 years or a distance of 350,000 km. Both figures are much higher than the industry standards of 10 years or 200,000 km

• Haf bro oredi told u not to spread fake news and he has to come and sound u again. Betaubat sikit lorr.

• Troll Slayer on Sep 25, 2020 at 4:47 pm

This troll’s BS is getting more ridiculous. From his ‘200 countries’, ‘I own a Persona’ to this latest ‘I test drove the Raize in Japan’ all are stories he made up in his imagination. For all we know, he is living in his parents’ basement working as a paid troll after sacked from Nissan.

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:19 pm

That’s basically saying “Proton memang macam ni”

• TAJUL AMAR on Sep 24, 2020 at 7:03 pm

fed up of waiting … getting to be anti climax …poor admins

• Reality Check on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:28 pm

Whoever said that the engine have nothing to do with volvo can eat their own words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • This also blows out of the water on the notion that X50 are using China engine. Fact is, this Geely-Volvo engine is more global than so-called “Japanese VVTi engine used in over 200 countries worldwide” fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • Bob Marly on Sep 24, 2020 at 1:35 pm

Sad to those X70 owners who is using 1.8TGDi 100% manufactured by Geely in China and it cost more as well which makes sense since it is bigger in volume.

• Messenger of Ular saw plank on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:55 pm

They do wish to acquire Koenigsegg powertrain into their portfolio as well

• Got volvo input, but build by Geely and don’t meet volvo requirement, but own Geely standard.
      Geely haven’t know how to design maa, learning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Bravo Geely Chinas!

• lilytan on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:57 pm

Volvo or not its a downgraded engine for low end customer. Even Pinoys dont get such treatment. Well done protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Here's another comment on Sep 24, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Lower end customer would go for HR-V or P2. X50 have raised the bar significantly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • lilytan on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:39 pm

If so, the downgraded engine will end up with high end customer (wannabe). Way to go protong. Thats how u treat ur msian fanboys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • The difference is cost of engine, lower grade trim would understandably benefit from having a cheaper engine, but instead of puny 1.0T which is the other option from Binyue, Proton/Geely had been fair to customers of lower trim line with a slightly inferior engine that still sufficient for daily usage.

• Here's another comment on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:38 pm

That’s for sure my man. Not only those wannabe will get a powerful engine very close to the top variant Civic-tcp, they will also get a premium interior and good safety features. HR-V is a big joke in comparison, engine wise, interior wise, design wise, very lame. P2 is for real for a low end.

• This x50 vs HRV saga is so lame. One is far older model. Better the new city with persona instead. See how the fanboy react

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • Joke B on Sep 24, 2020 at 11:57 pm

Lol! City, HRV are also so lame. Better X50 and others

• Lower end customer also can go for RM60k Haval M4, 3961mm x 1728mm x 1617mm, 105hp 138Nm

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:56 pm

No port injection engines can manage to pass the strict euro 6 standards (even proton campro NA and CFE only euro 4 compliance) unless it is used in conjunction with electric motor band.

• lilytan on Sep 24, 2020 at 3:49 pm

Really? So the dirty engine for msia then. Great stuff protong.

• Anonymous on Sep 24, 2020 at 10:15 pm

The “dirty” engine is the lowest option for the more budget conscious. We still do get the Euro 6 1.5T direct injection. But the cheaper engine is still a Euro 5. People “bitch” about wanting cheaper options, yet when given one that is actually good it’s somehow a “disgrace”. What is it that you people want?

• Dong gor on Sep 24, 2020 at 12:59 pm

The company wants to keep it low profile until launch, so lets help them by ignoring it from now till then. No point doing free ads for them now Ya…

• Bruh... on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Why not, More views more money wor. This site want to make money too.

• pratang on Sep 24, 2020 at 1:57 pm

oooo perhaps u rather have that 1.0 engine isn’t it? very economical mindset… good

• Master of Darkness on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Too bad they ditched out campro engines.

• Zack Zane on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:19 pm

I read somewhere that port injected engines are quieter than direct injected engines. Is it true?

• Ol Skool on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:50 pm

That’s true. Direct injection got a very high pressure fuel line in order to inject petrol straight into the cylinder, just like a diesel engine. That’s why you got to hear rough sound coming from engine, hearing from outside of your car. It’s the sound of fuel injectors.

• azrai on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:21 pm

So no more argument on 3 port or 4 port. Tak ambik port langsung.

• azrai on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:25 pm

Before this, a day after P1 news or announcemnet sure will followed up by P2 announcement. But since last 3 weeks it is silence on any news from Rawang. Now they are realising that silence is golden.

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 4:28 pm

Long before this, P2 already said won’t release any model this year. Btw, only rent seeking company scold consumers when their junk can’t sell and even challenge the public “how much you know about car?”.

• pomen on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:25 pm

manufacture lain semua sudah sibuk buat electric car…proton baru nak sibuk dengan direct injection…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • U cannot charge it from your 14th floor flat

• Reality Check on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:57 pm

Cold hard truth. The ultimate reason most people in downtown US aren’t buying a Tesla. Though unclear government guides, policies and politics are a big part of EV aren’t feasible here in MY. At least for now

• Can....... but people will steal the charging cable for sure haha on Sep 24, 2020 at 8:11 pm

Elon Musk

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 2:30 pm

Previously we have clowns posting “Preve is better” in every single article, tak kira related to local of foreign brands article.
    Now we have articles saying the same thing over and over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • i think it’s always happen here in malaysia. we’ll get a de-rated product at same price. if we want similar to overseas, we have to pay more (flagship model). samsung phone is a classic example. samsung note20 overseas got a snapdragon chipset, whereas malaysia got a exynos cheaper and weaker version

• newme on Sep 24, 2020 at 5:21 pm

It’s different in auto industry. Just like Proton giving better quality sage to UK at lower price while el-cheapo version to Malaysians at higher price.

• That old story from your gramps, its 2020 ady

• newme on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:57 am

Of course you hope old stories won’t be remembered. Proton always hoping the public will renew their trust on them over and over every time they screwed up.

• Celup King on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Do people care how bad the first Samsung phones were? Or that the first Japanese export cars were milo tins? Oh lets bring back these anecdotal history every time your screwed up comments appears.

• Newne on Sep 26, 2020 at 8:00 pm

You are talking about samsung. Not some kampung company that syok sendiri.

• newme on Sep 28, 2020 at 10:29 am

Samsung sold in developed countries now? Can your Proton or Geely sell? Japanese cars sold in developed countries. Can your Proton or Geely sell?

• Ol Skool on Sep 24, 2020 at 6:24 pm

IMHO, It’s a marketing strategy. If you read the article above there’s a mentioned of “director of powertrain strategy”, I believe they the one decide those engines for X50 variants.

Basically, they may thought there’s no better option to make the X50 flagship more appealing. So they resort to use port injection. Only a slight power reduction, but still keeping those variants relevant.

Salesman can sweet talk “flagship more powah”, in reality it’s only a slight power bump. Well, TBH they’re as powerful as C-segment already, but the flagship took it even further.

• lily love on Sep 24, 2020 at 4:51 pm

No diesel?

• Bruh... on Sep 24, 2020 at 6:26 pm

This is a small car, diesel powertrain aren’t justified.

• Littlefire on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:38 pm

Why not, india got a lot of small diesel engine running in their cars even from Japanese car manufacturer? If you say it is due to public perception or environment concerns maybe that reason is more acceptable.

• good thing is the same family of engine…not source from somewhere else…

now…how is the price?
    hope the 1.5T (PFI) is way cheaper than the 1.5T (DI)…finger crossed

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 24, 2020 at 10:00 pm

bye bye kona. straight to coma.

• Jeffreyee on Sep 24, 2020 at 10:31 pm

Anyone can guess, what would be the 0-100 for the 1.5T engine. Hopefully around 8.5s

• David on Sep 24, 2020 at 10:54 pm

Launch soon.. Soon.. Soon. Very soon. That’s very long for China made car.

• No one is seen to be worried about
    1. Dct transmission made in China reliability in the long run. Plus our weather and traffic jams
    2 direct injections with our very clean petrol.
    3. In my experience this cars will be a nightmare to maintain after 3 years and to expensive after warranty is over. Not to mention we don’t know how the rest of the cars qualify of components.

• Class E licence on Sep 25, 2020 at 12:40 pm

In your experience with what car? Those earlier DCT models of western brands?

I’ve been driving two company’s X70 past 85k and 100k km already. All your concern above has been addressed flawlessly, and that’s a pure Geely TGDI developed without Volvo assistance. Really, the only concern is whether you’re comfortable with the DCT slightly juddering when you don’t really push the throttle during acceleration.

• Nice design.

• RON92? … err … RON95 add ayak ketum ke?