Rossi confirmed for Petronas Yamaha SRT in 2021

It is confirmed multiple world champion and fan favourite Valentino Rossi will be joining Petronas Yamaha Sepang Racing Team (SRT) in 2021. The announcement was made via SRT’s website and Rossi is designated to ride alongside Franco Morbidelli whilst current SRT rider Fabio Quartararo moves up to the Yamaha Factory team.

Rossi has struggled to match the pace of the current crop of MotoGP riders but the 2020 race season saw him take a third place in Jerez at the Andalucian Grand Prix. Rossi is currently placed ninth in the world championship standing with 58 points.

In a note on the SRT website, team principal Datuk Razlan Razali said, “it is an absolute honour to welcome Valentino Rossi – an iconic rider and legend into the team next year. His experience will be a great asset to the team as we move into our third season in MotoGP and we are sure we will be able to learn a lot from Valentino.”

On the MotoGP race calendar this weekend is the Monster Energy Catalunya Grand Prix at the Barcelona Circuit. After today’s time’s in Free Practice 4, Maverick Finales, who won last weekend’s Gran Premio Tissot dell’Emilia Romagna e della Riviera di Rimini, is fastest with a time of 1’40.315.

Second fastest is Pol Espargaro of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, clocking 1’40.335 while in third is Joan Mir of Team Suzuki Ecstar, who posted a time of 1’40.352. Rossi posted a lap time of 1’40.374 to stand in fourth place ahead of Qualifying and Race day tomorrow.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Haidi on Sep 26, 2020 at 10:47 pm

Petronas using our national oil money to perfect team Valentino Rossi n Hafizh Syahrin the rider El Pescao…syabas!

• Michael Chong on Sep 28, 2020 at 7:49 am

Pity our local riders cannot beat Mat Salleh level of competence.

• There are a billion Caucasians vs 30mil M’sians. The odds are we will have a hard time “beating” them. Anyone would, that is why we don’t see a Korean or Japanese winner until today.

• Chavez on Sep 28, 2020 at 8:54 am

Valentino Rossi gaji EUR30juta masih murahh

• Firdaus Asri on Sep 28, 2020 at 9:30 am

“Sepang Racing Team exists to showcase Malaysian talent and potential on a world stage and is supported in this objective by title partner, PETRONAS, who bring their expertise, passion and prowess to the track.”

Above taken from their website. Apart from Pawi, who else is Malaysian riders in their team? And considering the above is their primary objective and they still getting funding from government, then why are we nurturing non Malaysian young riders in Moto2 & Moto3?

I refuse to believe that they don’t get a dime directly and indirectly. SIC gets closed to 40 mil funding from KBS for this year and some of it meant to flow towards international racings. And it’s logical to relate that SRT would be getting some. Even it is penny amounts by their standards, we also can’t forget that Petronas although privatized entity but it is National Oil Co. hence their money is also government money. Our money.

I also know Petronas is getting fed up with grooming motorsport talents hence they outsource it to SIC. Wouldn’t want to get their hands dirty for intangible business outcomes.

Bottom line is, I don’t mind that they don’t employ a single Malaysian but take out their canvas moto that their fundamental existence is to groom young Malaysian riders. Skewed too much from my eyes.

• our local riders practice dem hard, rempit2 woi