Proton explains importance of X50 Flagship having Level 2 semi-autonomous driving – it’s not autopilot!

Cars with Level 2 semi-autonomous driving have been sold in Malaysia for some time now, but the Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship will bring the technology to the masses for the first time. The B-segment SUV is poised to become the cheapest car with such a system, and buyers might not have come across it before.

In the X50, the Intelligent Cruise Control (ICC) system bundles in adaptive cruise control with stop and go and lane centring assist, enabling the car to maintain a set distance from a preceding vehicle and stay in the centre of its lane. It works at speeds of up to 150 km/h.

There is certainly a worry that owners might think that the X50 can drive itself, thus removing themselves from the task of driving the car. Director of group engineering Hazrin Fazail Haroon admitted that the feature – part of the X50’s Advanced Driving Assistance System (ADAS) – is difficult to explain to a layperson, but said that the system is supposed to be an extension of Proton’s safety suite. Nothing more, nothing less.

“If you look at MIROS [Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research] data in 2011, out of the total accidents that happen in Malaysia, 86% is purely due to human error. JKJR [Road Safety Department] data on the fatal accident rate in 2019 [also shows that] out of five fatal accidents, four is due to human error.

“These features that we add in assist the driver and hence, able to support in minimising human error. That is our objective, not so much about the car [being able] to drive by itself,” he said.

Intelligent drive specialist Muhammad Zulfadzli added that education is key in making buyers understand what ICC can and cannot do. “There is a lack of understanding and knowledge of Level 2 automation in general. So what we’re doing is educate the customer; we’ll provide them with enough information at the point of purchase on how to operate the car, what [the system] is used for and its limitations.

“Hopefully, when they know what its limitations are, they will use the car more responsibly, and they will know that [the system] is to be used more for assistance, not so much for autonomous driving,” he said.

Again, ICC will only assist in driving the car, so at no point should you be doing anything other than focusing on the road ahead. The system is not foolproof – the onus will still be on you to maintain full control of the car, and if you get into an accident when using ICC, you will still need to take full responsibility. In other words, don’t use this as an excuse to use your phone while driving.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• At least Proton isn’t like my company proclaiming our cars can drive itself.

• Roti john on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:19 pm

Hello PT team, looks like you have been posting a lot of articles about Proton X50 repeatedly. Can you pls summarize all of them into 1 article? This way PT blog will be cleaner and easier for readers to find other Game-Changing articles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
      • Baris ancobid on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:46 pm

We all Proton fanbois same thinking too.. Proton could’ve priced the X50 much lower, saving all these precious marketing $$$. only to be spent on all these walls of Paid articles about Proton X50,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • His Friend on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Lol! Why the hurt my friend. When PaulTan did multiple articles detailing bit by bit for Aruz launch, you were jumping up and down jizzing in your pants and nonstop pounding the keyboard (with dupes on top) extolling your car until heavens can smell the stank.

Today you just come across as a sore loser. Lighten up my friend, take it easy and don’t come to PaulTan for the next few months.

• Wan carsguide on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:51 pm

Agreed with HF
          Kindly pls be patience, its PT tradition though
          Its the option, details, short, targeted, impact that PT’s focus on, probably from the experiences & feedbacks.If the article too long, the readers will feel ‘bored too fast, too much to handle in one go’
          Since its short, readers could just selectively pick which topic favors to them. Consider this as an option.Just skip the topics that non related to your interest, you will be fine then

• this L2 driving perfect during my 16hour Balik Raya trip back to Pantai Timur from tol Gombak n Karak long slow jam.

• sardin on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:14 pm

Sometimes a little too much hype is just too much…perhaps this is an overkill, if that. When I saw the photos, pre-launch videos from various Youtube creators and specsheets, that is already more than enough. Now all become ‘basi’ already because everything else is old news because we just want to know the price if its good or not compared to its competitors.
    It is still a rebadge.
    It is still not a Proton ride-and-handling tuned.
    So what would make it worth is how much $$ to cough up. (and whether I should cancel my booking on Kona…hihihii)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Ghani on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:45 pm

You want to see hype, yeah as poster on top said Tesla is the king on self driving hype. I don’t proton hyping over what this car could actually do, and from real world test it performs as advertised without the bombastic claims as what Tesla had done.

• sardin on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:50 pm

all this media junket stories are just stories after all…x50 is not new, not anymore. most importantly its not even proton just like any of its SEVERAL prior models before.
        specs, features and reviews are readily available with binyue and coolray all around the world wide web.
        yang kita belum tahu cuma harganya di pasaran tempatan saja. untuk ditimbangtara berbaloi atau tak berbaloi.
        so the stories…tons and tons of it, are just hype. or infused advertisements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Lets See on Oct 02, 2020 at 9:37 am

Knowing the price is important of course but this aint the full debut so granted they havent revealed the pricing yet. If you feel there is too much to take, nobody is forcing anyone to read them all. You can skip all these writeups if so choose.

• Norlia on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:16 pm

Can apply my makeup now^^ tengkiu x50!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Geng Abang Nuar on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:41 pm

Can use henpon… oh wait..

• XHubby on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:57 pm

‘Again, ICC will only assist in driving the car, so at no point should you be doing anything other than focusing on the road ahead. The system is not foolproof – the onus will still be on you to maintain full control of the car, and if you get into an accident when using ICC, you will still need to take full responsibility. In other words, don’t use this as an excuse to use your phone while driving.’

… or applying your makeup babe. Kiss kiss

• Adam KH on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:45 pm

Hi Jonathan, i need some enlightenment from this ADAS on the X50. I am an owner of the CRV Premium with Honda Sensing. The X50’s level2 ADAS will be same (and little better with extras) to the Honda Sensing. I am having slight concerns with the Honda’s sensing especially when it rains heavily! The radar sensor (beneath the Honda emblem) tends to “easily malfunction” and prompts the meter console to light up the “Wipe Radar” indication. Though its stated in the drivers’ manual that sensing effect may be affected by “rain, snow, fog” but I find this quite stupid when the LCW, LKAS, ACC & LSF will all get “dis-engaged” each time “Wipe Radar” turns on. Heavy rain/snow/fog IS THE TIME that drivers tend to require the assistance of these ADAS…but it seems that this is NOT the case! Guess the design flaw in ADAS is only “…100% effective during clear bright sky and condition”.

Not sure X50’s ADAS will have such exclusions in its Level-2 autonomous features.

Hope you can help enlighten me or those that may have this issue?

• Monana on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:39 pm

Yes, that is the real problem. It is not the problem of radar bcoz radar can penetrate water, but the problem with the camera. I believe Honda disable that just to be safe. Honda Sensing is among the best in Lane Keeping Assist, they do not need another technology like Lane Centering in Toyota to be centre in the lane. There is a video from F TV channel if i’m not mistaken that shows Corolla Altis is better in heavy rain. I believe that is just ACC (radar) and not the LKAS+Lane Centering (camera).
      There is only F TV channel (from Malaysia) that like to review these features on cars. I look forward for F TV to review the ACC, LKAS and the Lane Centering in X50.

• Its like a warzone right?
      You have all these defence equipment such as radar, guided missile, drones, and other weapon to help defend yourself from the enemy.
      However when condition does not allow u to use these high tech weapon, u go back to good ol guns & bullet.

Trust me, even military grade equipment have its limitation…their limit is much2 higher than our consumer grade equipment but its there.

Maybe we just need to wait until such equipment/tech becomes viable aka affordable for civilian use.

• percayalah on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:17 pm

Tesla also cannot autonomous in the rain
      Drive yourself

• Adam KH on Oct 01, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Thank you all for commenting. So can conclude that Honda Sensing may be THE best ADAS compared to the others. I did surveyed and reviewed FTV post on ADAS comparison. And globally, Honda Sensing has been rated as THE best ADAS. I just wanted to be sure that this “disability” that I am facing IS a common issue for Hondas’ with HS or that it IS a common issue for ADAS as a whole in general?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Wanna bet? Our Tesla can self drive anytime day & nite, we just can’t yet guarantee you getting where you want to be in one piece.

• Monana on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:54 pm

First of all, I strongly believe u should ask at C-RV FB page. Here at PaulTan, u can get rubbish answers only. I am not a Honda or Toyota owner but I do seek for car/suv with ACC and good LKAS. From my study, yes, Honda Sensing is best for its LKAS but with Toyota Lane Centering, the difference is not much. To answer your question, I believe it is normal for the system to shut-off the system during heavy rain. But as i pointed, ACC during heavy rain, the best I believe is Toyota.

• Adam KH on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:55 pm

Why the thumbs down? I am NOT claiming that HS is THE best as I dont find it so. I am merely referring to “Monana” comment saying HS LKAS is good enough without having Toyota’s Lane Centering thingy.

To keep it short… will all the ADAS available in Malaysia in all those car makes have SAME ISSUE of camera disabling the ADAS system if HEAVY RAINS?

• “Director of group engineering Hazrin Fazail Haroon”, as an ordinary Malaysian like many out there, we pledge Proton to extend Proton Safety Suite to all variance, at least make it as Option items so buyers still have a choice, not just exclusively offer for top spec only. If possible, we hope we can save as many Proton drivers as possible, not just those have pocket to blow who opt Top Spec, thier life matters. That’s fine driving car with smaller tires and rim, no leather seat and halogen lamp. But it is for sure autonomous brake system can save more life, like claimed “4 out of 5” fatal accident causes by human error. Isn’t it?

• klguy on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:46 pm

might as well change this web address to x50.com until the official launch of the car….

• Chavez on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:30 pm

After the official launch of the car, this web address change to x50problems.com ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Aura89 on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:15 pm

Things are looking good for Proton!

• Hyundai on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Should call this page Protontan.org

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:33 pm

OMG, look at the excessive amount of ads/promotions for this X50 here.

• newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:35 pm

If it can sell, it will sell. No need 1 article for every tiny bit of information.

• Saladin on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:02 pm

This car sure will sell at first. The design very nice. But to maintain the sales will depends on owner experience. If gud fc n maintenance cost then the sale will sustain. For me just wait n see. Dont need to rush.

• Crasher7 on Oct 01, 2020 at 7:29 pm

I just worried on Malaysians who will most likely to take this tech for granted

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 02, 2020 at 11:11 am

It’s not autopilot.

Hahahaha ….. Never underestimate the ignorance of Boleh-Land kopi O lesen drivers.