2020 Volkswagen Passat R-Line launched in Malaysia – 2.0L TSI engine with 190 PS and 320 Nm; RM204,433

As promised, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has launched the Passat R-Line via a virtual event today. The sportier-looking D-segment sedan arrives around nine months after the standard facelifted Passat, adding a few key features along the way.

First, let’s talk about pricing. The Passat R-Line retails at RM204,433 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of the full sales and service tax (SST) exemption valid until December 31. That gives it premium of around RM21,600 over the regular Passat 2.0 TSI Elegance.

Included in the price are a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a three-year free service package and five years of free roadside assistance. Buyers will also receive a free 300-watt boot-mounted Helix soundbar for a limited time, while stocks last.

For that, you get the same 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine as the Elegance, churning out 190 PS from 4,180 to 6,000 rpm and 320 Nm of torque between 1,500 to 4,180 rpm. All this is sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed DSG wet dual-clutch transmission with paddle shifters. Fuel consumption is rated at 6.5 litres per 100 km combined on the WLTP cycle.

The R-Line trim level adds the usual assortment of look-faster bits. There’s a far larger bone-shaped front air intake with gloss black C-shaped corners, plus deeper side skirts and a gloss black rear bumper insert with fake quad tailpipes. It rides on larger 19-inch Verona multi-spoke alloy wheels and continues to come as standard with LED head- and tail lights with sequential indicators.

Inside, the Passat R-Line comes with a thicker flat-bottomed steering wheel, aluminium pedals, black headlining and black Nappa leather upholstery with a carbon fibre-like pattern. In terms of infotainment, the car is fitted with an 11.7-inch digital instrument display, along with the range-topping Discover Pro navigation system with a 9.2-inch touchscreen and wireless Apple CarPlay and wired Android Auto connectivity.

The rest of the kit list includes keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone climate control, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, cruise control, eight speakers and a reverse camera. Also fitted are 14-way power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory and massage, Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) adaptive dampers and an XDS electronic differential lock, features not offered on the Elegance.

Like the Elegance, the R-Line does not come with autonomous emergency braking, but it does have six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert, a tyre pressure monitoring system and ISOFIX child seat anchors at the rear. Browse full specifications and equipment of the Volkswagen Passat on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2020 Volkswagen Passat R-Line official photos

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• romance on Oct 14, 2020 at 12:50 pm

(Like) Passat R Line
    (Dislike) Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 14
    • Jamesfoo on Oct 14, 2020 at 1:34 pm

The power of dreamING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 14, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Nice but I cannot imagine the RV… potentially lost 50% value in 2 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Ex VGM staff on Oct 14, 2020 at 5:05 pm

buy brand new VW Passat RM104k @ DRB autofest.

• chuan on Oct 14, 2020 at 5:18 pm

owner of a passat B8
          1) 1 week after after 7th service, car’s radiator cracked , have to wait for tow truck to tow to SC
          Use 3 years lose 60pc of purchase price

• chuan on Oct 14, 2020 at 5:18 pm

owner of a passat B8
          1) 1 week after after 7th service, car’s radiator cracked , have to wait for tow truck to tow to SC
          Use 3 years lose 60pc of purchase price

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 15, 2020 at 4:01 pm

If you don’t afford the lost of RV pls dont ever consider European car. Have you seen people who drive BMW, VW, Peugeot, Renault concern about the RV? Sorry but it is true where people who concern about RV are always driving Toyota or Honda. Other Japanese cars are not guarantee of good RV though.

• Power of NIGHTMARE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • this Volkswagen Passat R-Line riding on MQB platform, the similar revised platform also used by Audi A8…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Oct 14, 2020 at 3:05 pm

The A8 uses the longitudinal MLB Evo platform (MQB is for transverse engine applications).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Fuyoooooh on Oct 14, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Man don’t like to be corrected gives thumbs down.

• Honda Accord TC Premium has Honda Sensing as standard and is around 15k cheaper i think. Obvious choice is safety. Granted the VW has the badge, but a badge can’t save your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
      • vw has the badge?
        dude… vw is common folks average brand like H, T, N & M

it’s not audi/bmw/merc…luxury car

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 15, 2020 at 4:04 pm

It is not luxury badge but they do have luxury brand like Porsche, Audi and even Lambo. And VW has sub brands which is cheaper than it which is Skoda and Seat. So VW is not luxury but in certain extend is still premium than Accord unless Honda has sub brand at cheaper price.

• ABTguy (Member) on Oct 15, 2020 at 8:41 am

Since VW already charging RM20k extra, where the hell is the bloody ACC and AEB ?!

Damn….

• Pro Life on Oct 14, 2020 at 1:20 pm

Without autonomous emergecy braking, it is not a good option to buy. My query to VM, you have this feature in Europe but why forsake it for Malaysia? Life ain’t cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Susah la on Oct 14, 2020 at 2:41 pm

People used to drive without all these AEB thingy, now you call it not a good buy because of this AEB despite the Passat being one of the most powerful, elegant, well built vehicle in its segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Raymond on Oct 14, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Can’t say like this. Before smartphone, people use feature phones. But once you have smartphones, people expect all the features to be there. Let’s say in today time, can I sell you a smartphone which can’t download apps (missing feature), will you buy?

• Susah la on Oct 15, 2020 at 10:17 am

You’re misunderstanding my point here, the lack of AEB shouldn’t be deal breaker for such a good car. People simply can’t rely on such feature, you are the one who should be responsible for yourself on the road.

• Biasa la bro, some ppl ask for this and that, end up not buying…if give aeb, later they will ask for acc. If give acc, later they will complain why so expensive…haaa

• hantu raya on Oct 15, 2020 at 9:02 am

true. future drivers end up being snowflakes. not knowing how to use middle peddle or pay proper attention while driving. government might as well be handing out licenses to everyone, for free, without tests.

• Dude, pls dont steal my name

• Sayang on Oct 14, 2020 at 1:34 pm

So sad to see there are so much active safety features missing here. Even the RM43k Axia has AEB.

• Susah la on Oct 14, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Passat stock brake can easily outperform the Axia with or without AEB, why do u even bother to compare an Axia with a Passat LOL if u pay attention while driving, u won’t need AEB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • sayang on Oct 14, 2020 at 7:07 pm

Lol. AEB is a feature. You have to admit that this passat doesn’t have it which is a shame when a RM43k axia has it. Passat sold elsewhere has this feature but why it is being omitted in our country? Dont you think we deserved to have them too?

Yes stoke brake can outperform axia IF you brake on time. How about you didnt brake on time? Axia will stop automatically but your passat will crash onto something. Lol axia definitely win hands down lol

Please learn more about AEB and why it is being invented before backing up cars without one. Cheers

• Susah la on Oct 15, 2020 at 10:05 am

Please read again my comment, “IF YOU PAY ATTENTION WHILE DRIVING, YOU WON’T NEED AEB” AEB is NO MAGIC especially for car like Axia with its cute little disc brake on front and drum on rear, how fast can it actually stop to standstill? You’re the one should learn how to drive properly, not relying on such feature.

• hazzif on Oct 15, 2020 at 11:53 am

íf everyone pays attention, such feature is not required at all but its technology that ässist” driving. perhaps u should drive cars from 1990+ only.

• Sayang on Oct 15, 2020 at 4:25 pm

AEB is programmed to stop the car immediately if it senses incoming crash. It already been adjusted to the braking capacity of the axia. Doesnt matter the brake disc is cute or small as long as it can stop on time.

“IF YOU PAY ATTENTION WHILE DRIVING, YOU WON’T NEED AEB” <<– If you think like this, then i believe all safety features is useless for you. I bet your car doesnt have, airbags, ABS, stability control etc LOL.

Safety features is features to HELP minimize RISK and accidents! dont you know this? OMG!

I suggest you learn more about AEB because it seems like you didnt want to have this amazing lifesaving features which is avaiable in passat sold elsewhere. Because of people like you, VW didnt bring in the feature. Shame on you!

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 15, 2020 at 3:58 pm

Although I do upset with VW where the latest models launched still missing of AEB but it is not shame as Axia got but Passat lack of. VW is using radar basis AEB gadget where Perodua is using camera base.

I have installed the AEB gadget on my Passat and it comes along with ACC and the original equipment only cost me RM 3k aftermarket. FYI, AEB start working when it is very fast approaching and very close to the front object. with AEB equiped driver need to change the driving behaviour as well. When we sitting in middle lane and wanna cut out to right lane, we need to keep a distance from the car in front of us. If we very close and when we accelerate to cut to right lane (most of us doing so) the car will EMERGENCY brake. Because it sense we are to close to the car sitting in front of us in middle lane although the car is 45 degree cutting to right lane.

And in certain circumstances the AEB restrict the car manuever if there are objects sensed. Btw I do agreed to have AEB rather than none but we need to change driving behaviour if equiped with it.

Btw radar based AEB is more accurate than camera based.

• Don’t waste ur time bro, obviously he is Axia potential buyer but not Passat…haaa

• sayang on Oct 15, 2020 at 8:42 am

You guys cannot accept that people is dissapointed with the passat without AEB lol and start to do personal attack to me. Spend 200k but no AEB HAHAHAHAHAH! What a shame!

• Susah la on Oct 15, 2020 at 10:08 am

Its’ ok, his money his choice

• Sayang on Oct 15, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Yes your money your choice.. You choose to spend 200k on a car that doesnt have AEB is your choice.

Cars with AEB is always a win over cars with no AEB. You have to admit this. Dont live in denial. lol

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 14, 2020 at 1:42 pm

As an owner of B8 HL, this R line look weak. The DCC and XDS is similar to B8 HL but the power output is lower 190ps as compare to the B8 HL 220ps. This Passat R Line although has new features like blind spot monitoring and tyre pressure system but it missing of lane departure assist as found in B8 HL.

To me the most disappointed thing is not the power output but the ommision of lane departure and still no AEB but the selling price is even higher than previous Passat B8. The gadget of AEB is just RM 3k and people who afford to buy a car more than RM 150k definitely afford to pay for the AEB. People can live without the XDS and DCC which cost more than RM 10k but AEB still absent is truly embarrassing. Even the new Almera offering for all models but not found in any one model of VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • autodriver (Member) on Oct 14, 2020 at 1:44 pm

My car model is 2016 and without AEB is still fine but in year 2020 launching the face-lift still absence with price increase. Speechless.

• I really wonder what is vpcm’s problem, for being so adamant and stubborn about not including any form of active safety features in their cars, i really do……

• Sorry Naik Lorry on Oct 14, 2020 at 2:52 pm

Helix sound bar? HAHA crank it up 20% and you can hear lots of rattles in this car interior.

• Ben Yap on Oct 14, 2020 at 6:40 pm

no full fledge safety features but still need to pay a more expensive price. it’s a big no-no. better get the Honda Accord.

• Does accord has 2.0 turbo with dual injections or not?

• Ben Yap on Oct 15, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Honda accord got 2.0 meh? their 1.5 also produce more power already.

• Chris on Oct 15, 2020 at 6:56 am

There is fuel gauge problem occurs in this model, wondering it has been solved in this new facelift

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 15, 2020 at 3:44 pm

it is only sensor issue as missing reading of remaining fuel. At best the car is ran out of fuel but when refilled it can run again. If the model affect it will be fixed in first service interval.

Unlike Hxnda it is fuel pump issue where car totally cannot start and run if problem trigger.