Proton X50 SUV: why no Apple CarPlay/Android Auto?

One of the big questions asked by you readers about the recently-launched Proton X50 surrounds the lack of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionality. The latest Geely Key User Interface in the car, GKUI 19, is one of the most advanced infotainment systems on the market, yet it doesn’t come with these two features that are becoming commonplace in Malaysia.

Our Chinese-language colleague Jason Chung wrote a great article to explain why that is. Seeing as Proton’s partner Geely is a Chinese brand, it’s no surprise to find that the decision not to support these in-car operating systems has everything to do with China.

You see, the Middle Kingdom has blocked Google, Facebook and their respective services as part of a state-wide censorship operation. This has had the knock-on effect of severely curtailing the number of applications you can use in Apple CarPlay in the country, such as Google Maps, Waze and WhatsApp. Android Auto isn’t even available there – then again, it isn’t officially supported in Malaysia, either.

The restrictions placed on international companies, coupled with the sheer competitiveness of the local technology industry, mean that Chinese users simply prefer their own apps and services. Navigation apps like Alibaba’s AutoNavi (which powers the navigation system in the X50, by the way) and music streaming services like Tencent’s QQ Music take the place of big names that are unavailable in China, such as Spotify.

These services are usually either natively integrated into the car’s infotainment system or can be used in indigenous screen mirroring services like Baidu CarLife. As such, there’s little incentive for Chinese carmakers to invest in Apple CarPlay or Android Auto-compatible infotainment systems, and while some brands have made the effort, Geely isn’t one of them.

What does all of that have to do with us, you ask? Well, the answer is cost. Proton may be part of the Geely group, but the fact is that Malaysia is a small market in the grand scheme of things. The national carmaker’s input is limited to translating the GKUI system from Chinese to English (by the way, the system is only capable of a single main language, so stop clamouring for a BM version) and localising certain functions with the help of a local joint venture company, ACO Tech.

Developing a new version of the GKUI system that supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto would cost a lot of money, which wouldn’t make sense given the small userbase. At the moment, customers are served by the QDLink smartphone connectivity function, offering MirrorLink functionality for Android users and a rudimentary screen mirroring feature for iOS devices.

Could Apple CarPlay and Android Auto eventually find their way into future Protons? Perhaps with enough demand, the company could justify spending the extra cash on building a compatible system. Another possibility would be through the European market – Lynk & Co will be bringing GKUI to the continent later this year, and with the greater demand of these features there, Geely may well be forced to add them to the system. The functionality could then trickle down to Proton models – we’ll just have to wait and see.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 28, 2020 at 5:32 pm

Volvo has Android Auto and Apple Carplay

• Not Dr. Li on Oct 28, 2020 at 6:00 pm

What about system in Volvo.. Proton cannot use?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Volvo has two versions of its Sensus infotainment system – one was developed in-house, the other uses an Android-based system as part of Google’s Android Automotive OS initiative. Both of these systems are fundamentally different from Geely’s GKUI system and likely cannot be made compatible with the X50 without a comprehensive (and hideously expensive) rework of the hardware.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:38 am

Hang on a sec. Wasn’t GKUI based on Mercedes Benz MBUX system and AFAIK MBUX supported AA, CP, & Baidu? Can GKUI natively supports AA & CP? I believe so if they could bake them in.

Somehow, perhaps due to PC, your original writer conveniently omitted that one main reason for these omission were due to Trump trade ban on all US tech companies barring them from working with China. Remember last year how Google and Apple abruptly bailed from China, with Chinese branded phones no longer receiving Android & IOS updates anymore? This is related to the topic on hand.

Google Maps, Playstore, FB, Twitter, Apple Store, iTunes, all of their ecosystems no longer works in China. Even Pixel phones got pulled from sales. This all goes back to Trump’s trade war with China. Its not just material & goods that are barred but IP usage too, and AA & CP comes under this scope.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 29, 2020 at 11:47 am

GKUI has nothing whatsoever to do with MBUX. Not related at all.

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Ehh this?
            https://paultan.org/2018/10/10/proton-gets-ai-company-behind-mercs-mbux-to-develop-malaysian-english-voice-recognition-system/

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:56 pm

That’s the voice recognition only, not GKUI itself. Plus of course the company won’t share IPs between brands.

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:26 pm

Hmmm… oddly that GKUI full functionality does mirror a lot with MBUX, having many of the same controlability over the car’s functions and both even includes a startup ‘Hi’ command. The resemblance is no way uncanny if not lifted from one to the other. About IP thing, no one can stop from licensing to others much like how Android OS are available as vanilla or customised.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 29, 2020 at 2:05 pm

Well, BMW’s Personal Assistant voice command system has the same set of controls too.

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:44 pm

And according to this, it can be made available when the green light is given?
          https://paultan.org/2018/10/11/proton-x70-gkui-android-based-infotainment-system-detailed-music-streaming-live-traffic-gps-navigation/

• Overprice piece of not even suv on Oct 29, 2020 at 7:54 pm

Wait to charge for upgrade. Thats all

• Brian on Oct 29, 2020 at 9:13 pm

Charge for upgrade? Well even Beemer has monthly subscription for their HU system so what? But you know what, Proton is giving free monthly data use as part of the car and they have been giving free OTA updates so lay off the wee dude.

• Elon Mask on Oct 31, 2020 at 8:21 pm

TESLA pun x offer Apple Carplay nor Android Auto… Apa ada hal… Sigh..

• Proton China Milik on Oct 28, 2020 at 6:10 pm

Made in China .. what you expect ?

Mandarin songs is complimentary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • lilytan on Oct 28, 2020 at 6:13 pm

And last time i heard geely want proton to take on the south east asian region. 500 mil ppl is small meh? If android auto and apple carplay also cant give then its justifies why ppl say proton is back to rebadging business. Just change the badge and sell here in msia only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:01 pm

Forgot about all the work that goes into converting a car to right-hand drive, didn’t we?

Also, Southeast Asia typically sells around three million vehicles a year. China sold more than two million in September alone. As lucrative as our market is, it is very much outstripped by the People’s Republic in terms of importance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 31
      • Cheely on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:20 pm

Come on, how difficult is it to convert from left hand to right hand drive? I really don’t believe it is that difficult as they put it to be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
        • Very difficult. Look like Peugeot, Ford, Mercedes. Not too proper and had something unpractical after converting to right hand drive. For example Ford Mustang, hand brake lever still at the left side even already converted to right hand drive. Proton is one of the perfect right hand drive conversion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:41 am

There are literally articles written here with regards to the actual effort of converting LHD to RHD, detailing the right way and wrong way to do it. You just have to use the Search function to find them. How difficult it is to use the Search function?

• Mohd Alif on Oct 29, 2020 at 7:15 am

Very difficult and costly to convert into right hand drive. That is why many rhd cars are not as good as their lhd counterpart. Even for luxury cars. For example is offset pedal position in rhd audi bmw and mercedes. This happens because they are originally designed for lhd.

• You sounds like you can switch your current handwriting from one side to another side immediately.

• Read more on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:28 am

Since you seems like so clueless, here is a link about conversion for you: https://carfromjapan.com/article/industry-knowledge/rhd-to-lhd-conversion/

• Hantu Raya on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:38 am

Right…because you thought so, therefore it is so?

• Tokok on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:48 am

Wa, why don’t you do it and show us how easy it is to convert LHD to RHD. Typical tin kosong!

• tyuris on Oct 29, 2020 at 11:42 am

“The entire process to convert right-hand drive to left-hand drive is not a simple process and thus should be done under the supervision of the expert. Any minor mistake while the rhd to lhd conversion can result in some issues with not only the car but also for the people driving in the car.

The following are the car’s components that are processed for the process to convert rhd to lhd:

Repositioning of the steering wheel
          Repositioning of the dashboard
          Exchange of rack and pinion
          Replacement of shift knob
          Angle adjustment and repositioning of the side mirror
          Though the above steps may appear easy and simple, the overall process of rhd to lhd conversion is way more difficult and complicated. Here are the following steps to convert right-hand drive to left-hand drive. Have a look:

1. Repositioning Of The Steering Wheel
          Dismantle the entire steering wheel along with the portion beneath the steering wheel. The main need is to reposition the steering wheel to the other side of the car. Take good care while repositioning the steering wheel and the associated components of the steering wheel as many internal features like the braking system, the steering system, and car’s engine have to be modified with that.

2. Steering Rack Replacement
          The next step is to replace the assembly of the steering rack. While doing so, there can be a bit of effect on the airbags so special care and attention should be taken while replacing the steering rack to avoid any damages to the airbags.

3. Pedal Assembly Repositioning
          Once you are done with the replacement of the steering rack, the next step to proceed with for the rhd to lhd conversion is the repositioning of the pedal assembly. If you have a manually-driven car, you need to dismantle and remove the three pedal’s mounts. Following this, you need to reinstall them on to the other side that is towards the left-hand side.

convert right hand drive to left hand drive
          Pedals are completely transferred.
          4. Repositioning The Brake Master Cylinder
          As brake master cylinder is one of the most important components in the car, you need to apply special care while repositioning it to the other side to successfully convert right-hand drive to left-hand drive. Properly realign the brake master cylinder on the left-hand side of your car.

It is advised to allow a mechanic or a car expert to do this as even a minor mistake in this step can be extremely dangerous for your safety. If the brake master cylinder is not aligned properly, you won’t be able to apply the brakes properly after the rhd to lhd conversion which can eventually be dangerous while driving.

5. Reposition The Firewall Accessories
          The firewall accessories include:

AC ducts
          Blower motor
          Cables and wires, etc.
          As all these firewall accessories are in between the passenger compartments and the engine bay, you may have to remove the engine for accessing these and removing these accessories to convert rhd to lhd. If you have knowledge about your car, you can also do it. But it would be more preferable if any expert can do this, as it will then be done with extra care and focus without the risk of any faults or failures.

6. Adjusting The Doors And Wiper Mechanism
          The last step in the rhd to lhd conversion is to adjust the doors and the wiper mechanism. If the door controls in your car are in the middle section, then there is no such need to change it or reinstall it anywhere. The need is when the door controls are with the doors on the right-hand side.”

This is from the first website result I got when googling “how difficult it is to change a rhd car to lhd”. Why don’t you try it some time?

• Raja Kamarul on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Complexity of the engineering is one thing. The cost is massive. The X70 I believe was converted PROPERLY to an RHD at a cost of about 200m.

Car engineering is not cheap, bro. To make thousands of parts work together is not chee cheong fun easy. The Iriz cost Proton 800m, with an engine ready. If they develop a dedicated engine, it would be more than 1b.

It isn’t merely putting the left on the right. The headlamp angles have to change too. The harnesses have to be re-designed. The firewalls have to be re-looked.

• In house GKUI or third party who cares. Shopee sells many chinese made headunits tht have apple carplay, if proton wants to give surely they can. Too bad they dont. Huawei sells million of google-less phones in china, more than rest of the world. But outside china they strive to make US apps available to meet what market wants even with US ban. Market should dictates production, not the other way around. But hey its proton. Cant expect much.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:29 pm

And yet, 22,000 people ordered the car.

And yet, 200 orders of the X70 come in daily.

No, you can’t expect much from Proton if you are just a ranter.

• EDITOR on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Read: “Well, the answer is cost. Proton may be part of the Geely group, but the fact is that Malaysia is a small market in the grand scheme of things….Developing a new version of the GKUI system that supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto would cost a lot of money, which wouldn’t make sense given the small userbase.”

• Looks like the troll brigade is so free nowadays to come and upvote their own comments. I guess the X50 really did affect their sales, so now they have extra free time…

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:56 pm

I can bet you today, their showrooms are eerily quiet for a holiday when people are flocking to buy cars.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 28, 2020 at 6:20 pm

Billions of ringgit given to MIMOS bajet every year. But still none tech apps to showcase, other than the game changing myJaring.Net

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:20 am

Billions of ringgit given to MIMOS to improve internet and what you do with it? You come here with irrelevant complaint on billions of ringgit given to MIMOS to improve your internet. Perhaps they should take back the money used to improve your internet and send you back to the Stone Age?

• MIMOS forte is coming up with new design proposal for Proton cars, esp Proton Suprima X, stretched Perdana & Proton Bayu just to name afew. but really dem good design concept i must say from MIMOS our National research and development centre for information and communications technology…

• Rip Mimos on Oct 29, 2020 at 7:28 am

Proton is privately held by Geely so Mimos has nothing to do with it. But you are right. Blame the Mimos management .. billions spent, nothing to show but a nice place for tour by VIP/politicians

• Wait for facelift upgrade, now using dinasaur tech

• Meladam on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:48 pm

I feel the same too. Even their design look a lil bit outdated. Idk why people hyped so much about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Raja Kamarul on Oct 28, 2020 at 6:54 pm

I own two cars that have Apple Car play and Android Auto, but I never use them. Am I the very few or am I part of the middle majority? Serious question here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
    • Ha jemie on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:29 pm

same here too Apple Car play and Android Auto both I never use them. still preferred to listen Sinar fm when driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Is better to have it and not need it, than need it but not have it, right? People who uses it frequently will appreciate its benefits and also be available to those who want to adopt to this feature. Just my opinion. You have it and don’t want to use it, its your choice since its already there. Maybe la, next time when you’re selling your car, it could even be a selling point of yours compared to other similarly priced cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Raja Kamarul on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Yeah I know it is a personal choice. All I am trying to assess is if I am odd or nornal… LOL!

• Using one feature more or not won’t gauge us normal or odd lol. There isn’t any database that tabulates Malaysian drivers who uses android auto more or not, so how do you expect us to generalise odd from normal. There isn’t even a base line of reference and Android Auto isn’t officially available in our Playstore. Most of us sideloaded the app into older phone models anyway.

I myself uses Android Auto sometimes. Either to stream my Spotify playlist and easily have “Hey Google” to search things or calling my contacts. But I do have times when I just didn’t bother connecting my USB for Android Auto during my commute. So, I’m sorry but I couldn’t objectively answer your question for categorization.

• There may be some or alot of users who uses AA frequently. So I wouldn’t ignore them altogether and generalise the norm from odd.

• Ol Skool on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:24 pm

The only thing I’ve ever use was the google maps, and that was only occasionally. I’m definitely good without touchscreen at all.

• Alihms on Oct 29, 2020 at 6:14 am

My car has Android Auto. I don’t use it everyday too. But when I do use it, it is extremely useful. Having separate larger screen keeps me not fumbling away with tiny smartphone screen. Feel safer that way. Navigation instructions are clear and when the voice comes out, the radio volume is toned down. Easier to pickup what being said, having it not fighting with the radio.

• Lpost on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:26 pm

Trade war issue lah. I buy made in china products but at the same time i try to avoid to buy china brands as much as possible. I hate communist, same as i hate dumno, micX and dap-g.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • azrai on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:39 pm

How about 3rd party jailbreaking? Any take?

• Bruh... on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:19 pm

GKUI is not an iOS, before you change to “rooting” it’s not an Android either. The problem is how to integrate those OS into the system with hardware support to work with the car. Not unlocking them with 3rd party developer app and tools when neither OS even exist in there to begin with.

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Yes it is an Android based system but not so straightforward to replace the OS.
        https://paultan.org/2018/10/11/proton-x70-gkui-android-based-infotainment-system-detailed-music-streaming-live-traffic-gps-navigation/

• RahmanH on Nov 12, 2020 at 5:41 pm

I was told by the x50 salesman that proton give free 1gb /mth for 5 yrs for its internet users after which owners will ve to purchase to asess to their internet (x50) ie map etc

• David on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:47 pm

Junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Faris on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:21 pm

Should start working on AA/ACP if Proton wishes to forward into S.E.A market

• My Malaysia on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Clarion Fauresia Malaysia infotainment has CarPlay & Android Auto. And it’s cheaper than the X50 infotainment. But the X50 infotainment contract was given to China eCarX. It doesn’t benefit Malaysia.

• Yeah same like last time. The only difference now is the crony vendors are from china instead of msia. They dictate what proton should get.

• Ben Yap on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:55 pm

who neeeds Proton? Honda can support apple and android. make a wise choice now. consumer dictates what they want. not car manufacturer dictates what they can offer or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • Li Peng on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Proton or Honda. drb win

• You mean like how Malaysians want the new 1.0 turbo engine, but Honda still bring in the old 1.5? Looked into a mirror lately?

• madmoz on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:14 am

And it seems that the majority have or are choosing Proton though.
      I’m not in the hunt for cars around that price segment, but to be honest, despite my reservations on its generic looks and kinda nonsensical choice of having the dashboard top being red (no amount of experimenting will result in a red tone that gives less glare than the standard black I suspect), it is hard to recommend anything else over the Proton X50.

Apple CarPlay I only use when I need Waze, but I would also admit that it is useful and not having it is a negative.

• normal_user on Oct 29, 2020 at 7:31 am

Agreed with Hafiz that screen mirroring is pretty useless. Proton seriously needs to upgrade to Apple Carplay & Android Auto of it wants to recapture the market from Honda. And I’m sure even Perodua’s D55L soon going to be equipped with AC & AA.

• how much time you spent in the car fiddling that touchscreen infotainment thingy while driving?

just drive the damn car!

unless you are chauffered, then u can complain about no android auto/apple car play…

• Alina on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:04 am

The reason why i don’t bought that Chinese car (X70 & X50). Lack of Apple carplay is really troublesome for me.

• Harold on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:30 am

Most Chinese made head units has android auto and Apple car play support. It’s not china and the ban but rather a decision by the car makers executives.

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:54 pm

Most of these players are using open source Android OS and almost never paid royalties to Google, hence never get updates unlike Android based in-car systems that is licensed by Google. These updates includes security patches so you do want a legalised Android system unless you feel charitable to share all your data to shadowy organisations and loved to get hacked.

• Slirh on Oct 29, 2020 at 11:50 am

Not having Apple Play or Android Play to me is a cop-out on the product quality. Also to argue that Malaysia is a small market, then why Geely came into Malaysia and acquire Proton? Again my views are based on on going business concerns for the future.ASEAN market has about 400-600Million population and is fast becoming 4th largest market outside US, China, and Japan.I do hope Proton would address this as Apple Play and Android Play is fast becoming lifestyle apps for our younger people. Also integration of gadgets as part of our quality of life.

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Not having AA or CP function has nothing to do with product quality. Are you saying an S-class without in-car system has lower quality than an A-class with such a player? That so funny.

• FunnyThing on Oct 29, 2020 at 11:51 am

I don’t bother too much about this car play thing. And its a stupid assumption that these are essential features. Someone said it’s “safety” to have these apps. Why? Does it help you drive your car, or does it prevent you from accident by magically teleporting you to somewhere safe? Don’t be such a cry baby over something unimportant like this!

• R J Loo on Oct 29, 2020 at 2:25 pm

Instead of this article, perhaps Paultan teams need to come out with this article also:

Berukdua: why their ‘cheap’ cars don’t have engine temperature gauge? and why Mivee G3 removed engine temperature gauge?

We all eager to know.

• newme on Oct 29, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Well, the better question is who is the owner of Ecarx, that supplies the head unit to Proton.

• Juan Tamad on Oct 30, 2020 at 7:07 pm

If PILIPINE coolray not have no AA&Carplay, then ALSO must MALAYSIA PROTON X50!! HAHAHA!!!

Must SAME positioning!!

• X Trailer aka Rogue on Oct 31, 2020 at 6:46 pm

Well, you get what you pay for. It is Chinese anyway. I am happy with my new X trail. Apple play anytime. Waze, Google map, messenger, Siri .. it is just a breeze. Good luck to X50 buyers.

• Xtrail very kosong for the amount of money you pay. Indeed as someone said, more cents than sense but good luck to you anyway.

• Johnny English on Oct 31, 2020 at 8:16 pm

TESLA does not come with Android Auto nor Apple Carplay too

• Minotaur on Nov 03, 2020 at 1:22 pm

Well, I think I can only speculate it is about US-China embargo issue. I am sure Geely also want to include Apple CarPlay & Android Auto but maybe permission not granted. So, be patience there is no rush when comes to buying car.

• Faris on Mar 29, 2021 at 5:02 pm

Hi paultan admin, I have seen in Geely’s Philippines website that their infotainment unit has this apps called G-Netlink which is an apps officially by Geely. Suprisingly, this app supports Apple Carplay & Android Auto. So our folks in the philippines are able to enjoy the carplay in their “X50” ?
    this is the link to the web : https://geelyph.com/intec/g-netlink/