Proton X70 to get Here Maps, QDLink phone mirroring via OTA update this month, replaces Baidu Maps

Owners of the Proton X70 have received periodic over-the-air (OTA) updates and can expect a useful one in the coming weeks. At the media preview of the new Proton X50 last week, the carmaker revealed that the X70 will receive Here Maps and QDLink smartphone mirroring “this month” via OTA.

Here’s the deal. The X70 infotainment system’s navigation function currently uses Baidu Maps, but there will be a new AMAP app that uses Here Maps. In January this year, it was announced that AMAP – Alibaba’s maps app – has selected Here Maps as global provider of map and traffic data outside of China. Previously owned by Nokia, Here Technologies is a Dutch-based company that is majority-owned by a consortium of German automakers.

Proton promises a better user experience with the Here Maps-powered AMAP. The new X50 will ship with AMAP as part of its latest Geely Key User Interface GKUI 19 system, which you can read about in detail here.

The other new feature that X70 owners can expect in the coming weeks is the new QDLink smartphone mirroring function that the X50 will ship with. While the X70’s current MirrorLink only works with Android phones, QDLink lets one mirror both Android and iOS phones on the car’s main screen – this is good news for iPhone users. This somewhat makes up for the lack of Android Auto and Apple CarPlay compatibility in the X70 and X50.

Note that these updates will only be for the X70, and not the Premium variants of the Saga, Persona, Iriz and Exora.

As for Joox Music, Proton will persist with the online music streaming service, but says that it will continue to improve the user experience according to customer needs. Joox replaced the X70’s previous Unlimited Music service in March.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Very boring screen, better use Waze or Google Maps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Jeremy on Sep 21, 2020 at 4:23 pm

You want it simple and easy to see so as not to get distracted on the road. No amount of feature rich safety tech in X50 & X70 will save you if you’re distracted mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 22, 2020 at 10:44 am

Can. Just plug phone in using QDLink and can screen mirror your favourite Waze or Google Maps. No longer boring, right?

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 21, 2020 at 4:07 pm

Oh well better than the Baidu maps at least. The mirror link is also useless since usage is not permitted when the vehicle is on the move so…why?

• Arthur Leywin on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:05 pm

actually, connecting the phone to the car, only app like youtube cannot work when car is being driven. But waze and spotify supposedly will work even when driving.

• Jeremy on Sep 21, 2020 at 4:22 pm

So X50 & X70 will get German developed mapping technology. Who said this China cars doesn’t have German tech huh? This is great news for these owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • newme on Sep 21, 2020 at 4:29 pm

Having a non-removable sim card to track your location 24/7. Never trust them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Lolwhut? on Sep 21, 2020 at 5:06 pm

You should bury your phone in layers of lead and wear a tinfoil hat. They might try influence your mind to think logically. Never trust them.

• oldme on Sep 21, 2020 at 5:40 pm

U dont have a smartphone?
      U sure even without a sim card u cant be tracked?

• Engineer on Sep 21, 2020 at 6:57 pm

Don’t worry. Your made in China iphone have been tracking you since Day One.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • newme on Sep 22, 2020 at 9:03 am

There’s a different between made in china foreign brand and china brand. How much can you trust a gov that do arbitrary detention?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Lol! Your Iphone have been tracking you for both China & USA! So if you don’t trust either of them which phone you use? Nokia 3310? Ha ha ha ha

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 22, 2020 at 10:41 am

Whether your phone is iPhone or Android, good old US intelligence services is already tracking and spying on you. Still trust them???

• newme on Sep 22, 2020 at 11:54 am

Oh, the US is much trustworthy than arbitrary detention and disappearance, only to reemerge months later pleading guilty at the mainland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Avenger on Sep 22, 2020 at 5:27 pm

Really? See Guantanamo, Diego Garcia, and black prisons in Poland. Only to reemerge months later pleading guilty at the mainland.

• dumbyou on Sep 22, 2020 at 6:14 pm

Looks like you have been well-fed with Western propaganda. USA more trustworthy? Please lah, use internet to search how true is that statement rather than always posting nonsense. Here are some suggestions: MKultra, CIA’s Prism program, GCHQ scandal. You are convincing me that you fits the moniker ‘dumbyou’ really well.

• Geely Proton memang terbaik!!!

• Silthice on Sep 21, 2020 at 5:21 pm

My favorite here maps unfortunately they removed the voice “Surfer dude”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 21, 2020 at 9:49 pm

please remove joox

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 21, 2020 at 10:42 pm

Slowly but surely, USA companies who preached for decades a level playing field will be left out.

• Dilbert on Sep 22, 2020 at 9:12 am

These are the same companies today pleading for protection & tongkat now that better competitors have reached their level playing field. Ironic.

• newme on Sep 22, 2020 at 10:17 am

Here map is probably good in the Europe but their Malaysian map is a joke.

• McQueen on Sep 22, 2020 at 1:59 pm

Apple CarPlay / Android Auto would be a great option to bring the infotainment system on par with the non-local makes, even if it comes at a reasonable surcharge.

• Trump don’t allow Google or Apple to bring AA or CP into Chinese cars.

• Should also update for the media player to be able to recognize folders in USB!