Proton X50 – first mods debut with this ‘Bumblebee’

It has hardly been a week since the Proton X50 made its official debut, but the first aftermarket modifications to dress the SUV up have already come about, as shown by these photos of a sported up example on the All in Proton X50 Accessories Malaysia Facebook page.

The Citric Orange shade on this particular X50 has been ditched for a new bright yellow exterior hue, courtesy of a wrap job. New wheels have also found their way on, in this case 20-inch five double-spoke black alloys, clad with Michelin Pilot Sport 4S 235/40 profile rubbers.

Additionally, the SUV’s already prominent double front lip gets an additional layer to make it three with the inclusion of a gloss carbon front lip extension, and the front fog lamp surrounds now house a new three-bar daytime running light assembly, which doubles up as a vertically-oriented sequential turn signal, complete with amber lighting.

Further along, you’ll find matte carbon side mirror covers, along with a new, more aggressively-styled two-toned S rear spoiler. Incidentally, you can also specify the three-piece front lip extension in gloss or matte black if carbon isn’t your thing.

The X50 also features a powered bootlid, courtesy of an electric tailgate kit. The install apparently works with the OEM part from the Boyue Pro, ensuring a perfect fit without the need for cutting and drilling. This should be the unit as listed in the optional accessories pack for the SUV.

The key fob has also been given a matching yellow wrap treatment, but the adventure doesn’t end here – an audio system is currently being installed, and we were informed that there are plans to upgrade the brakes and suspension next.

We’ll have a more detailed story on this X50 project soon, but it is worth reminding that some modifications will void the vehicle warranty, in case anyone has the idea to go down the same route. Nonetheless, quite garang eh, this look, don’t you think?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• here come the Ah beng’s X50.
    as if able to get 7.9s to 100km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • X50 design engineer on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:34 pm

fuh if this one, evoque pun kalah! X50 all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Veyron Owner on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Next Transformers movie should consider using this car as the next Bumblebee. Guarantee you will plenty of Chinese fans.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:26 pm

Wow… We like it.

• Chavez on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:46 pm

Sport rim gaya 20″, bodikit tiptop. pakai tayar celup seken murah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • Upon inspection closely in high res photos, it’s a Michelin PS4 tyres.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:37 pm

More like Harimau laa

• azrai on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:47 pm

So kaya can splurge into those unneeded AB accesories while not even the first installment out of 108 months is paid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Medic on Nov 03, 2020 at 5:13 pm

Perhaps the owner bought it cash

• simon on Nov 03, 2020 at 5:30 pm

marketing ploy.

• Veyron Owner on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:02 pm

Even the rich terpikat hati to buy this car.

• TowTruck on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:32 pm

3 months later, car got repossess by bank. Didn’t pay installment. Good business for my Tow Truck with so many buying cars but don’t even have 6 months spare cash for rainy days.

To all those buyers, just pray you don’t lose your job during this challenging period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Amran on Nov 04, 2020 at 3:35 pm

3 months later, lost your job is okay. Bank can extend loan moratorium until ur rezeki is back.

• FUGLY on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:48 pm

Trying so hard to grow up .. its but a BINYUE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Haidi on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Oh yea… no other color is more suitable than this to put on the X50. Funky + sporty.

• Susah la on Nov 03, 2020 at 3:56 pm

Triple layer of diffuser on front – so u can aerodynamic while u aerodynamic
    Exhaust tips that are more than its actual cylinders, well done

• Veyron Owner on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:06 pm

Unlike first gen Myvi SE with “quad exhaust pipes” this one is functional. All 4 of them.

• Be a bit +ve on Nov 03, 2020 at 8:10 pm

Yes triple layer a bit too much for me too.

But the engine, i am quite sure its a 1.5T with that letter T at the end. So its ok to have 4 tips. Best to put a downpipe without cat, and 4-3-1 muffler, before ecu tune.

• Bruh... on Nov 04, 2020 at 9:43 am

It’s only 3 cylinders, got no place for 4-3-1 muff….no that’s a configuration for manifold.

• PositiveSketBro on Nov 03, 2020 at 8:11 pm

Yes triple layer a bit too much for me too.

But the engine, i am quite sure its a 1.5T with that letter T at the end. So its ok to have 4 tips. Best to put a downpipe without cat, and 4-3-1 muffler, before ecu tune.

• Made in China

• Ongtk on Nov 03, 2020 at 4:07 pm

Saw a orange colour X50 in Bayan Lepas this afternoon. Doesn’t look that good in real life.

• Vader on Nov 03, 2020 at 4:22 pm

Abang-abang much preferred this bright yellow, light blue, green & white hues ala2 Ford mustang. Cant wait to see more modded X50s otr!

• johndoe on Nov 03, 2020 at 4:23 pm

so lalabeng

• too much Ah beng, worse than Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • X50 upright design’s silhouette, over the top! on world class ‘sporty category’ design cues found on RM400,000 – RM900,000 thousand price range of SUVs. Whatever kind of simple touches or a full blown custom kits you guys throw at it, it will be amazing! and guys please dont embarrassing yourself by comparing this with those trying too hard low level City, HRV and the worst of them all is the accident prone My.v

• jayjay on Nov 03, 2020 at 5:34 pm

Sorry but looks low class. The stock itself already very ‘ricer’ looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Ah, after transformer, every yellow car is bumblebee.

• vivizurianti on Nov 03, 2020 at 6:26 pm

…………and they all forgotten about improving engine performance?

• Only got their hands on it 1 week ago, what kind of engine miracles do you think they can do? Even pro-tuners cannot do magic when they have nothing to base on to work within 1 week timeframe.

• Why proton always come out with this type of modification that not many ppl actually want. Should release something even more premium or upmarket with better color option to increase revenue and market share. I believe only 1 out of 10 buyers would go for yellow, orange or purple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 04, 2020 at 11:21 am

Read plis. See “but it is worth reminding that some modifications will void the vehicle warranty, in case anyone has the idea to go down the same route”. This clearly tells you the mods above is 3rd party.

• Why some people always never read before commenting…Should have read and understand properly before criticising anything. Otherwise, these people just make themselves look foolish.

• That is typical basher attitude. Lazy to read, not their purpose in life to read but to bash.

• azrai on Nov 04, 2020 at 6:12 pm

They read, but only the headline. This is due to small font on smartphone.

• Fast Cars on Nov 03, 2020 at 8:44 pm

Fuyoh Myvi pun kalah. Finally we found a new replacement; soon will have many King Of The Road with fast & flying SUV in Malaysian road.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2020 at 10:08 pm

cahaya automotif in segambut….

• Azmin on Nov 03, 2020 at 10:51 pm

where are those P1 bashers? contracted Covid ?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 04, 2020 at 11:23 am

Under 14 days quarantine. Even internet pun tak boleh sentuh unless they risked spreading their hate virus everywhere.

• Henry on Nov 04, 2020 at 9:32 am

Two thumbs up! :)

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 04, 2020 at 10:20 am

Colour is personal more so when the interior has flashes of red, too me a non-issue just marketing to sell.

• still no match to the all time beng car the Flying Myvi