Honda City e:HEV RS launched in Thailand – first in ASEAN, 27.3 km/l, new Obsidian Blue Pearl, RM113,100

While the Malaysian reveal of the hybrid version of the Honda City, the e:HEV, was billed as a “world premiere”, our neighbours to the north are actually getting the car first. The petrol-electric B-segment sedan has just been launched in Thailand – alongside the City Hatchback – with mostly the same specs as what we will eventually get.

Just like in Malaysia, the e:HEV will be offered in the Land of Smiles in just a single full-spec RS variant, priced at 839,000 baht (RM113,100). That’s a significant premium over the standard petrol-powered RS, which retails at 739,000 baht (RM99,700), although the latter is with a 1.0 litre VTEC Turbo three-cylinder engine instead of the 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-pot we get over here.

As we’ve reported previously, the e:HEV receives the smallest version of Honda’s Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) hybrid system, utilising a 108 PS/253 Nm electric motor that drives the wheels. It is juiced by a 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine that develops 98 PS from 5,600 to 6,400 rpm and 127 Nm between 4,500 and 5,000 rpm, with an integrated electric motor acting as a generator and a starter.

Honda City e:HEV RS launched in Thailand – first in ASEAN, 27.3 km/l, new Obsidian Blue Pearl, RM113,100Honda City e:HEV RS launched in Thailand – first in ASEAN, 27.3 km/l, new Obsidian Blue Pearl, RM113,100

There’s no traditional gearbox driving the front wheels, but the petrol mill can clutch in through a single-speed transmission to provide direct drive at higher speeds, where it is most efficient. Honda is claiming a fuel consumption figure of 27.8 km per litre on the NEDC cycle.

Befitting a range-topping model, the e:HEV gets a few additional features over the petrol RS, such as steering wheel paddles to adjust the amount of regenerative braking, a seven-inch instrument cluster display, an electronic parking brake (facilitated by the addition of rear disc brakes) and rear air-con vents (standard on all Malaysian-market models).

The e:HEV is also the only model to come with the Honda Sensing suite of active safety features, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam. Also exclusive to the e:HEV in Thailand is the LaneWatch blind spot camera (our top petrol model, the 1.5 V, gets it too).

Beyond that, the standard equipment is as per the petrol RS. The “Road Sailing” models come with a unique look that consists of a honeycomb grille, a carbon fibre-look front bumper lip, straked fog light surrounds, a black boot lid spoiler, a rear diffuser, a gloss black grille bar and door mirrors, and 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels. Inside, you get faux leather and suede upholstery, red stitching and alloy pedals.

Standard equipment includes LED headlights, fog lights and taillights, keyless entry with remote engine start and walk-away automatic locking, push-button start, single-zone automatic climate control, an eight-inch infotainment touchscreen with Apple CarPlay connectivity, eight speakers, a reverse camera. Safety-wise, the e:HEV comes with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control.

Unique to the e:HEV in Thailand is the Obsidian Blue Pearl paint you see here, which we don’t get. The RS models also substitute our Passion Red Pearl for the less orange Ignite Red Metallic, but the Platinum White Pearl, Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl hues are identical to ours.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• English Teacher on Nov 24, 2020 at 6:27 pm

839,000 Baht now no longer 83,900 ringgit. Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • And pitiful, we also unable to buy it at RM 83,900 for better spec.
      Only can get a kosong no AEB ADAS Proton, Honda, Toyota now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Copy Paste on Nov 25, 2020 at 11:09 am

Copy paste: “Last time bashers complain our car prices are highest in the planet but today even Thailand car prices are higher than ours. Thailand must not be from this planet. Maybe from Asgard.

BTW at that prices, Honda can keep their car. Proton X50 at that prices is far better deal.”

• 2021 AEB no? on Nov 24, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Yaris hybrid achieved 35km/l.. lagi hi tech

But well, 27km/l?
    Come laaa, why show at Malaysia launch at Thailand first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Lolita on Nov 24, 2020 at 7:07 pm

The Obsidian Blue Pearl paint is beautiful, please offer it here on the petrol models. I’m bored of seeing 50 shades of greys, red orange maroon paints already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
    • Perodua on Nov 26, 2020 at 9:42 pm

You can write to Honda Malaysia, the more people who write to them about this they might just release this color

• Haidi on Nov 24, 2020 at 7:12 pm

Mm… I thought it is reserved for Malaysia? Oh no, Honda fans do not appreciate it, Honda is a lil bit angry now.

• Powderful on Nov 24, 2020 at 7:37 pm

Reading this article, I’m really disappointed with Honda Malaysia actually. They limit the colour for the RS spec to only three colors white, red, grey which you can choose from if you buy the lower specs. I get it they want to keep it “special” for RS specs by limiting the colour but they could at least release a special colour for RS spec such as this Obsidian Blue. It looks really good and I’m quite sure it will attract more buyers and people can differentiate the RS from the other specs more easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Perodua on Nov 25, 2020 at 3:28 pm

I agree with you. It feels like we got conned. It’s only fair that the RS Spec gets a different color to differentiate from the others

• Kena tipu ka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • H Con Badge on Nov 24, 2020 at 8:49 pm

RS – Road Sailing…. hahaha
    GR – Gazoo Racing…. wait, that sound awesome
    Type R – Type Ricer….. bwhahaha
    AMG – Aufrecht Melcher Großaspach…Still awesome
    Si – Sailing indefinitely….. wkhahkawhaha
    M/// – M Performance…. now we’re talking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • While the Malaysian reveal of the hybrid version of the Honda City, the e:HEV, was billed as a “world premiere”, our neighbours to the north are actually getting the car first.

LMFAO…pity us not get the car….we just preview it ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • banglaman on Nov 25, 2020 at 7:31 pm

Our neighbours to the north paid more for the car. Surely getting the car first…3rd world reality.

• Rizal on Nov 24, 2020 at 9:04 pm

Kena Con lagi.. intro “World Premier” @ Malaysia, But Thailand get the Car 1st. Now Thailand and Indonesia spearheading EV Car battery manufacturing. Malaysia bz with seat numbers at parliament.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Sushi Wheels on Nov 24, 2020 at 9:12 pm

RM113k/RM99k Highest spec petrol

So, it expected at least 14% higher.
    RM99k Malaysia expected HEV price, baru ada AEB

• mesinrumput on Nov 24, 2020 at 9:12 pm

harga dah macam civic 1.8

• Avenger on Nov 24, 2020 at 10:14 pm

Last time bashers complain our car prices are highest in the planet but today even Thailand car prices are higher than ours. Thailand must not be from this planet. Maybe from Asgard.

BTW at that prices, Honda can keep their car. Proton X50 at that prices is far better deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • After reading this article, I’m quite disappointed in Honda Malaysia. Malaysia gets the Honda City RS in only three colours which is the Passion Red Pearl, Platinum White Pearl, Modern Steel Metallic and these colours are able to be specced with the lower variants. I get that they want to keep the RS spec limited to few colours to keep it “special” but they could at least release a special colour for the RS such as this Obsidian Blue Pearl. It looks really great and differentiates the RS with other variants more. Potential buyers would actually be interested with it more because it stands out from the other variants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Bangkok on Nov 25, 2020 at 10:11 am

i live in bangkok cost of living is high everything is expensive car prices much much more expensive than malaysia i feel everything is cheap in malaysia from cars,food to houses everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Copy Paste on Nov 25, 2020 at 11:10 am

CP: Does it mean Thailand also now gets to assemble Honda hybrid cars? No more exclusive to M’sia?

• IMO, this colour discontinued on the Honda Accord cause much less people buy the Honda Accord BUT if Honda Malaysia were to offer this on the City I think it will be a hit as they have more sales from their B-Segments. I’m hoping it will be available from the City RS as I’m one of their buyers and this is such a striking colour from the usual Red, white, grey