2021 Hyundai Elantra open for booking in Malaysia – 1.6L Smartstream engine, IVT; AEB, LKA, BSM, ACC

The seventh-generation CN7 Hyundai Elantra will be launched in Malaysia before the end of 2020, with an estimated price of RM1XX,888. This was revealed by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM), and interested customers can now place a booking for a fee of RM777.

To go along with the announcement, the company also provided a spec sheet for the C-segment model, which is being offered in just a sole variant, powered by a 1.6 litre Smartstream engine with four drive modes (Eco, Smart, Sport and Comfort).

The naturally-aspirated four-cylinder mill outputs 123 PS at 6,300 rpm and 154 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm, with drive going to the front wheels through Hyundai’s Intelligent Variable Transmission (IVT) that has eight virtual speeds.

As for equipment, the Elantra will be equipped with projector LED headlamps, LED taillights and 17-inch wheels with 225/45 profile tyres on the outside. Moving inside, there’s a 10.25-inch Supervision TFT digital instrument cluster, an eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system with support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, along with a wireless smartphone charging pad – more features will be revealed closer to launch.

A big plus point for the Elantra is the inclusion of Hyundai’s SmartSense suite of safety and driver assistance systems, which includes forward collision warning, blind spot collision warning, rear cross-traffic alert – all with Avoidance Assist – along with Lane Keeping Assist and Lane Following Assist, Smart Cruise Control (adaptive cruise control) with stop and go function, driver attention warning and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

All this tech is packaged in a body that measures 4,675 mm long, 1,825 mm wide, 1,430 mm tall, with a wheelbase spanning 2,720 mm. These figures make the CN7 longer (+55 mm) and wider (+25 mm) than the previous sixth-generation AD Elantra facelift, while having a larger wheelbase but lower height (-20 mm).

Said body is styled following the carmaker’s Sensuous Sportiness and Parametric Dynamics design themes, creating a look that is truly distinctive in a segment occupied by the likes of the Honda Civic, Mazda 3 and Toyota Corolla.

We’ll only get full details and final pricing when the Elantra is officially launched here, which should take place really soon, seeing how 2020 is set to come to an end in just a few weeks’ time. Would you pick the Hyundai C-segment sedan over its contemporaries? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• M & B on Nov 27, 2020 at 2:51 pm

Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Better looking than civic and more fierce…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • 25yrsOld on Nov 27, 2020 at 2:54 pm

It has everything, except underpowered compared to local cars.

Previously Forte Elantra 1.6NA RM85k range still sell reasonably, game changer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
    • Eddie on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:31 pm

Of course, it is reliable even bringing underpowered engine but you should test drive then you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Cant compare to the older models doh, cuz of more safety features added in…plus our currency dropped like hell, thus the CBU units are more exy these days

• Drop like hell against what? Won or USD… Check your fact laa brother if USD yes but against Won our RM appreciate. Korean cars should be cheaper unless cbu from US

• YB Albert on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:49 pm

HYundai ,is a force to be reckon with,in terms of automobiles .
      Hyundai is now the 12th largest car manufacturer worldwide.Geely is 17th.
      The only setback ,here in Bolehland is the hefty price tags and poor RV.
      Like GLC UMW,Sime Darby is pricing its Hyundai vehicles way beyond the reach of many of its loyal car enthusiasts.
      To add salt to the car buyers wounds,the poor fellas have to cough out a tidy sum when they sell the vehicles,as the RV has plummeted badly by the 7th year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • Life is good on Nov 28, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Toyota is number 2nd worldwide,Honda 6th worldwide & Nissan 8th worldwide.

• Veyron Owner on Nov 27, 2020 at 6:54 pm

Waja & Gen2 CPS had that output like 12 years ago. Hyundai seriously regressed in 10 years.

• But 10.4 sec with 195 km/h, is good power enough

• Jonn Dol on Nov 27, 2020 at 2:55 pm

Nice. same Agresif garang design mimic the Lexus IS

• steering on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:00 pm

change to n line steering wheel and a turbo, then its perfect.

• DieselPower on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:07 pm

Nice looking car but bad choice of engine. Should have bring in the T-GDI model instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Wow so full spec? Sure around 120k-130k.
    To those who bash korean cars for nothing, i had the elantra md for 7 years, and only wear and tear requires replacement. And the 1.6 on high way is also surprisingly fuel efficient. Not too mention Korean cars are so solid compared to Japanese rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Sure... on Nov 27, 2020 at 7:37 pm

There’s a lot more Japanese models that’s much more reliable than a KIA & Hyundai models combined. I have a Japanese turbo from 98′, that’s very well over 20 years. 450,000km, turbo serviced & re-balanced only once, that’s bcos i feel it was needed when it passed 200,000km mark, not bcos it has a problem whatsoever. Got repainted once. Seats all seasoned though not broken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:16 pm

Waiting for 1.6 turbo n-line…..

• Senior Citizen on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:17 pm

How about technical details by fuel efficiency and suspensions?

• jomteka on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:19 pm

estimated price of RM1XX,888.

Okay lets guess the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Chow Wei Zhen on Nov 27, 2020 at 3:33 pm

Come with ckd or not. Hopefully this will be ckd

• Louis Lee on Nov 27, 2020 at 4:29 pm

Too pricey for Korean car on 1.6L natural aspirated engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
  • Hong Yee Hong on Nov 27, 2020 at 5:30 pm

Everything is nice, however the 1.6L engine is a bit potong steam. Understand they did that because of costing.

• Dong gor on Nov 27, 2020 at 5:33 pm

1xxk…pui. Might as well not talk about the price at this point at all. We don’t expect it to be priced below 100k anyways!

• FudgeMeSideways on Nov 27, 2020 at 6:10 pm

Way underpowered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • Way underpowered just because 123hp is lower than any competitors. You should try new engine from Smartstream once this car launched here

• Jessica L on Nov 27, 2020 at 6:31 pm

Better than X50 – dont have RCTA

• Jon G on Nov 27, 2020 at 6:33 pm

Ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • Aiman on Nov 27, 2020 at 8:31 pm

Funny enough big brother Sonata didn’t come with SmartSense while smaller Kona and Elantra available with it. For pricing don’t expect this 1.6 engine CN7 Elantra to be price like old MD 1.6 Elantra because of full of kit and feature. I’m sure the price will sit between civic and corolla but not at mazda 3 price.

• Zoom zoom on Nov 27, 2020 at 9:15 pm

Why a Kona B segment come with 2.0 engine but the Elantra C segment only 1.6? My guess… CBU 138,888

• Copy and Paste II on Nov 28, 2020 at 8:23 am

Copy and Paste II: “ For pricing don’t expect this 1.6 engine CN7 Elantra to be price like old MD 1.6 Elantra because of full of kit and feature. I’m sure the price will sit between civic and corolla but not at mazda 3 price.”

• powerbank on Nov 27, 2020 at 10:56 pm

Hyundai all the way

• Yamseng on Nov 28, 2020 at 1:04 am

Better than 2.0 Elantra AD where very hard to find on the road

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2020 at 1:51 am

123PS and 154Nm of torque is way too low. a honda civic turbo delivers 50ps more and almost 70Nm torque more than Elantra. looks like the civic is going to continue to dominate the market. In malaysia, Brand Image, country-of-origin effect and price vs specs are the main influence in consumers buying decision. Hyundai should’ve benchmark the elantra vs the dominating honda civic in terms of price vs specs since it has lost out in the brand image and country of origin. it should maintain the features but include in the 1.6 turbo version and yet bring down the price about RM20K cheaper than the civic by selling it for RM120K. I don’t see this new elantra is going to compete anywhere close to the civic sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Ben hates everything except his honda on Nov 28, 2020 at 1:36 pm

Ben, please bro, enough of these hatred against Hyundai, Proton, Toyota and Nissan. Time to get rid your toxic comment for good to make our blogs more freedom. We are all very tired of you. Let their people to decide based on design, specs and quality, instead you are always forcing everyone to buy your favourite brands.

• Personally i think Ben observation extremely right. But he missed out on Resale value, which honda civic is sorely lacking.

• civic copycat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Jordana on Nov 28, 2020 at 8:13 am

Elantra all the way

• Lmao virtually almost all praising korean car like some deities. But on the road, it says otherwise. Sometimes I think these viva drivers just wanna comment for the sake of comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Opinion on Nov 30, 2020 at 8:28 am

Bro, we are not viva drivers. They are here for just their opinion based on design, spec and quality as people wanna to try this to have more interest.

• I book dark blue

• Gosh…have to wait till my loan ends in mid 2022….By then sure i will so so so jelly to those who got it already….huhuhu…so syg to trade in my MD so better keep it for my parents at kampung

• Is the rear suspension multi link or torsion beam

• I_love_all_cars on Nov 30, 2020 at 9:52 pm

Oh my, Hyundai Smartsense is finally coming to Malaysia. For those who aren’t aware, Hyundai Smartsense (assuming this is the high-end version) is one of the best and most natural in the world. I’d be happy to pay RM120,888 or RM125,888 for this package.

I’ve owned a K5 since 2012 and I’m proud to report that my car has never given me any problems since day one, just usual wear-and-tear maintenance.

• killer A on Dec 02, 2020 at 11:58 pm

is the audio player full screen or with button