New Honda City now with RM2k rebate in 12.12 sales

Brand new models typically don’t come with discounts, but here’s one. Honda Malaysia has announced a “12.12 Special Sales” promo for the new Honda City, which was launched here in mid-October.

The 12.12 promo is offering a rebate of RM2,000 for the City S and E variants. The V – which is the range-topping 1.5L petrol variant until the City RS i-MMD hybrid joins the family next year – is excluded from the promo as it’s by far the top-selling variant now.

This promo is from today till December 12 – you can book the car in this period and registration of the car can happen until December 31. Customers will receive the rebate once they fulfil both booking and registration requirements at dealerships nationwide. Of course, buying the car this year means that one will also enjoy the 2020 sales tax exemption from the government.

The petrol City variants are powered by a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC engine, which is a new DOHC version with 121 PS/145 Nm. Power goes to the front wheels via a CVT gearbox. Claimed average fuel consumption is 5.4 litres per 100 km, or 18.5 km/l. The E and V variants get steering paddle shifters.

Prices for the City S, E and V are RM74,191, RM81,664 and RM86,561 respectively, on-the-road excluding insurance, before the 12.12 rebate. When the 2020 sales tax exemption expires, next year’s prices for the City will be RM76,800, RM84,800 and RM89,800. The price of the RS hybrid is yet to be announced.

To see which variant gets what, check out our spec-by-spec comparison post and launch report.

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L E with Modulo bodykit and options

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Azroy Roy on Dec 01, 2020 at 11:22 pm

Terbaik HONDA. Bungkuslah Vios and X50 like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
    • More toxic commentators from honda on Dec 02, 2020 at 1:25 am

So after honda fanboys and all of haters have learnt their mistake from few days back, these honda fans are now coming back to square one for hating other brands again, except to all haters from other brands that have already put to halt. Seems like honda fans are not taking more serious to make our blogs more peace and making other people to decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • kokatoa on Dec 02, 2020 at 1:44 am

I’d believe your shtick…if you weren’t the exact same person that’s been posting multiple Honda-bashing comments in the same story under different names and emails.

• Lets See on Dec 02, 2020 at 9:34 am

One month after launch and already needed to give 2k discount on top of SST free reduction?

Why?

Tak laku macam X50 ke?

Didn’t HM claimed to have 9k bookings until end of this year?

If 12.12 discount offer, how are they certain to deliver before end of Dec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • 9k most likely also including cars registered as test drive units. Once the initial wave of loyal fanboys slow down, Honda will need to give more incentive for fencesitters to choose the City. Not an easy task when the X50 and upcoming facelift Vios are around.

• azrai on Dec 02, 2020 at 11:30 am

Abang-abang who only can afford 10 years old and above Bangsa H.

• Real perceptions on Dec 02, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Baby Az! not sure where you plucked your magic data! Kindy share the fantasy site’s link, FB? The X50’s perception currently on another level now, New X50 flagship’s owners coming in a drove from the previous ‘atas-an’ MB, BMW & Audi crowd tho! Even the famous vlogger, youtubers & social influencers booked it too!

• The fact that H salesman Azroy have so much free time to troll here is proof enough why the new City already need rebate: Slow sales!

• azrai on Dec 02, 2020 at 7:22 am

So sure to get your car registered by 31st Dec? Gimmick only meh.

• Honda is coping with their car orders so I don’t see no problem

• azrai on Dec 02, 2020 at 3:26 pm

‘Don’t see no problem’ is the same as ‘do see problem’ in grammatically isn’t it.

• sam123 on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:00 am

tak laku lah tu

• Vanguard on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:28 am

Unwanted and old stock?

• A little star on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:55 am

Sorry I’m trading in my gm6 for proton x50. This new city is a good car, but x50.. I can’t deny it is more valuable

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 02, 2020 at 9:45 am

More valuable ONLY in showrooms. Once roll out to the streets, HABIS-LAH…!!! Loses more value than the ever volatile Bitcoin…!

• Brian on Dec 02, 2020 at 1:18 pm

Do you buy a car to drive or to keep inside showroom in hopes that its value will appreciate?

• David Lindhagen on Dec 02, 2020 at 9:52 am

A decent looking car only to be made crappy by that infotainment screen. It’s such a compelling purchase, but honestly, the Almera’s interior looks more polished

• Walley on Dec 02, 2020 at 11:42 am

For a car 80K discount 2k is not a big deal to post in here Paultan. Don’t waste resources for this kind of news.

• But it is kinda strange for such a new model to get rebate so early.

• kon_tol on Dec 02, 2020 at 12:11 pm

newly launched already give rebate ah? no more hot cake title like before..need to clear stock fast for base model..hahaha

• C0N-Tul on Dec 02, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Yo Honda Malaysia, please solve your brake disc/rotors problem before selling another single unit of City /Civic la. Alot of drivers are unaware or indifferent to this is issue which I hope to enlighten potential buyers here :

HONDA CITY BRAKE ROTORS WARP EASILY!!!

and how they resolve this? They issue standard protocol to their service centers to SKIM THE DISCS! Come on! Such a reputable brand name have to resort skimming brake discs? If it’s other countries they’ll probably be faced with some class action lawsuit or forced to do a recall and replacement over safety issues.

Anyway if you as a buyer have already made a decision to purchase, one precaution you can take is DO NOT WASH YOUR CAR WHEN THE BRAKES ARE HOT. It’s a pity we have to resort to such inconveniences. Otherwise look for some other better brands.

• Test driven the new city, a bit disappointed to its power delivery

• Truth on Dec 02, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Honda Malaysia, improve your car quality and services 1st

• Ben Yap on Dec 02, 2020 at 11:46 pm

The honda city gets a better value and another brands do not even stand a chance. i’ve been seeing a lot of honda city on the road.