New Honda City bookings close to 9k, 2.4k delivered

The new Honda City, which was launched on October 13, has amassed close to 9,000 bookings. Of this total, Honda Malaysia has delivered over 2,400 units to customers nationwide.

Of the total bookings received, HM reveals that the V variant is the most popular, with 54% of names opting for it. The fifth-generation B-segment sedan is available in four variants – the S, E and V are powered by a 1.5L naturally-aspirated engine, while the City RS i-MMD hybrid will go on sale in January 2021. The RM86,561 V is the highest spec petrol variant.

Platinum White Pearl has been the most popular colour so far, with 28% of customers choosing the sparkly white hue. The central region contributed 44% of total bookings, followed by northern at 22% and southern at 19%.

“The fifth-generation City is very well received in the market and the bookings has increased by an additional 80% within a month of its official launch. This outstanding Honda model continues to capture the hearts of Malaysians be it working adults, young executives or young families. We are very grateful to have received positive feedback from Honda customers and we would like to thank our customers for their continuous support,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Toichi Ishiyama.

The City S, E and V come with a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine, which is a new DOHC version with 121 PS/145 Nm. Power goes to the front wheels via a CVT gearbox. The claimed average fuel consumption is 5.4 litres per 100 km, or 18.5 km/l.

The RS’ i-MMD system – which replaces the previous generation i-DCD – consists of a 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine (98 PS/127 Nm) and two motors. The ICE functions mainly as a generator with the help of an integrated electric motor, which also acts as a starter. A larger second motor, which churns out 108 PS and 253 Nm, sends drive to the wheels. However, the engine can provide direct drive during high speeds as it’s more efficient than the motor in that situation. The battery is a 1.3 kWh lithium-ion unit.

In the safety department, Honda Sensing makes its debut on the City, but is reserved for the RS. Driver assist suite aside, the new City comes with VSA, hill start assist, emergency stop signal and four airbags (dual front and side) as standard. The V and RS add on curtain airbags to make it six in total, and Honda’s LaneWatch left-side camera. All except for the S get a reverse camera hooked up to the centre screen.

Prices for the City S, E and V are RM74,191, RM81,664 and RM86,561 respectively, on-the-road excluding insurance, with the 2020 sales tax exemption factored in. The 2021 prices for the City will be RM76,800, RM84,800 and RM89,800 respectively. The price of the RS hybrid is yet to be announced.

For more on the new City, check out our launch report and full spec-by-spec comparison. Also considering the Proton X50? See our servicing costs comparison.

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City RS e:HEV

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L V

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L E with Modulo bodykit and options

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City RS e:HEV, outdoor

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• (Dude) on Nov 19, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 173
    • Rakyat Chinna on Nov 19, 2020 at 5:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 149
      • rosdi on Nov 19, 2020 at 7:14 pm

That 1.5L NA engine more reliable n save fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • newuser on Nov 20, 2020 at 12:52 pm

wow..so many dislikes…there are so many P1 keyboard warrior still work from home due to covid…

• Brian on Nov 20, 2020 at 5:18 pm

Bodoh piang logic. Most are coming from bored Toyota salesmen la. Can see all you bored Jap fanboys crawling in tereds lately throwing likes & dislikes at each other. Got nothing better to do kah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • No wonder HM doesn’t improve their cars for Malaysia, people keep purchasing their products irregardless if it is poor or not.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 13
  • simon on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:10 pm

almera?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Why So Serious on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:10 pm

While pales in comparison with ketam Civic it does look better compared to new Audi Civic.

• newme on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:17 pm

Booking figure is not bad considering all the restrictions put on them and protections given to foreign brands with national car status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:44 pm

For the same price, 27,000 rakyat chose to be patriotic and buys local.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 10
      • Honda also ckd locally same as proton ckd
        And proton is china owned now
        So no such thing to be patriotic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
      • Basher on Nov 19, 2020 at 8:07 pm

Why binyue sales in China is just so so? Is it because china people less patriotic?

• Amran on Nov 20, 2020 at 9:20 am

1.6million 1.5TGDI engines were sold meaning 1.6million cars were sold, out of which most likely 1million of them were Binyue SUV. 1million sales is just so so? Where’s your maths gone?

• newme on Nov 21, 2020 at 10:42 am

Most likely?
            The fact is best selling car model is not Binyue or any Geely model in China. Best selling SUV in China is not Binyue or Boyue. Best selling car brand is not Geely but VW in China.

• Basher on Nov 22, 2020 at 10:41 am

I talked facts not maths. Go Google china car sales by brand sep 20 you will see vw and honda as top 2. You just made yourself look silly by making the assumption based on what proton boasted about the 1.6 million engine sales.

• Rakyat I Sinar on Nov 19, 2020 at 9:25 pm

Local designed the nice LOCAL grill. Canggih sekali. Thank you for supporting tong san.

• newme on Nov 21, 2020 at 10:37 am

This honda model is also built by Malaysians. What patriotic are you talking about?

• Azroy Roy on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 166
    • Yor Yorza on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Like – Vios, Almera Turbo, X50 AEB
      Dislike – City RS AEB

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 6
  • lilytan on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 134
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:47 pm

City from 10 years ago generation suffered chronic CVT gearbox failures that requires expensive replacements and super expensive servicing cost when need to replace all 8 sparkplugs in idsi engine (if each plugs cost Rm100, that is Rm800 from pocket burnt). That’s why we rarely see flowerhorn City anymore, all condemned in scrapyard and 2nd hand car dealers with no buyers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 14
      • Basher on Nov 19, 2020 at 8:04 pm

Guess you can’t differentiate CVT with startup clutch (old) and CVT with torque converter (current). Honda CVT has improved by leap and bound and was dubbed one of the best CVT in class. I have seen 2 cities clocking 200km and is still running strong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
      • 10 years old city gets u the 5th gen that uses 5 speed auto box. Flower horn city is 18 years old. 18 years old proton gets u wira. 3 speeder, rust prone n jammed power window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • King of RV on Nov 19, 2020 at 9:27 pm

After 5 years. City can trade in for 2 5 yrs old chinese suv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 125
  • Truth on Nov 19, 2020 at 4:43 pm

beauty is in the eye of its beholder but personally speaking the design sucks…..also to add Honda Malaysia services are of poor quality for the past few years…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 9
  • azrai on Nov 19, 2020 at 5:51 pm

I think the big chunk of the booking are for the old city which automatically converted to the new one due to of EOL.
    So UMW and DRB-HICOM control 85% local market then.

• Pity the old car buyers
      Not sure if they love these new design, as which inspired by Malaysian Tapir nose
      Dashboard also can be out of alignment

Should give us Jazz 2020 Japan dashboard.

No wonder still keep with minimum safety features, no AEB, BSM, RCTL, etc
      And even use R15 small wheels like Bezza, Saga, Axia Style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • For previous generation, there is no much choice for B-segment, so City was a good buy. But now I would say Vios and Almera are both better. For SUV definitely X50.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 19, 2020 at 8:04 pm

myvi better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Life is good on Nov 19, 2020 at 8:23 pm

Congrats Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
  • 2.4k delivered? really?

I did not even see one on the road… lmfao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • newuser on Nov 20, 2020 at 12:55 pm

maybe u live in rural areas.hahaha..not kl.i have seen it more than 10 times on the road..

• Brian on Nov 20, 2020 at 5:19 pm

Are you Honda salesman or something. I do concur I haven’t seen the new City except showroom test cars.

• Mentis on Nov 22, 2020 at 11:03 am

He is honda salesman because he was too jealous about X50 sales. This is why honda salesmen spend their free time to bash x50 and bash there

• X50 fans on Nov 20, 2020 at 9:40 pm

In Seremban 2,I have seen 10 units of this City.I dont see X50 or Almera.I’m qurious about 27,000 bookings of X50.Im waiting for my X50 for 3 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Copy Paste on Nov 20, 2020 at 10:16 pm

Copy paste: “Are you Honda salesman or something. I do concur I haven’t seen the new City except showroom test cars.”

• Can cry all you want numbers don’t lie lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • sam123 on Nov 20, 2020 at 8:06 am

seen 1 or 2 on the road only

• xoxox on Nov 20, 2020 at 10:39 am

No AEB feature for petrol models…

• Terrible design.. 2nd or 3rd City was way too better than this. Sigh…