Touch ‘n Go to remove parking fee surcharge by Q1 this year – top up cards using eWallet app by end-2021

Touch ‘n Go Group CEO Effendy Shahul Hamid, in an interview with The Star, has confirmed two big changes that are set to take place this year, which are sure to delight users.

First up, the surcharge on top of the fee for the parking rate when using Touch ‘n Go cards will be removed by the first quarter of this year. The company had previously said it would end the surcharge rate in stages, and it looks like it is following through on this promise.

“I’m very happy to say that by the end of the first quarter, we’ll take away all parking surcharges. It requires innovation and some sacrifice on our side, but I think it’s the right thing to do. Basically, we’ve been able to convince our parking operator partners and ensure the surcharge is removed by the end of the first quarter,” said Effendy.

The other big change coming our way by the end of 2021 is the ability to purchase TnG cards that can be reloaded directly from phones using the TnG eWallet app. This makes it even more convenient for users, as they no longer need to seek out places to top up their TnG cards.

Currently, the only link between a physical TnG card and the eWallet app is the PayDirect function, where the toll charge will be automatically deducted from the eWallet balance instead of the balance on the linked card.

However, should there be insufficient funds in the eWallet, only then will the fare be deducted from the card’s balance. This can be prevented by enabling the auto-reload feature in the eWallet, which is performed through the phone app via credit or debit card, online banking or TNG Reload PINs with no additional fees.

Still on the topic of top ups, Effendy said the company is continuously working with its agents to remove the 50 sen fee required when topping up at certain locations. “The first thing to understand is Touch ‘n Go does not receive any of the reload surcharge when cards are reloaded,” he explained.

“The surcharge has historically been levied by our reload agents to defray the specific cost of providing the reload service. And when you reload your card, we actually pay the agent that reloads the card for you,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• An observer on Jan 29, 2021 at 7:03 pm

Sacrifice? They have been charging the surcharge for years! Since more parking operators are implementing different methods of payment, plate scanning, VISA, etc, which offer more convenience and no surcharge they are forced to remove it to stay competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • stupid system. this is just like a bad game : released first and get all the gamers into rage due to major bugs, then only fix the bugs…
    without proper system, the app was launched. how many of you stuck at toll booth thinking that you have so much credit?

• TH Yeo on Jan 29, 2021 at 9:47 pm

When is Tngo gonna pay us interest for the float in our cards that you have enjoyed all these years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 29, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Wait a minute so all existing TnG cards will not be able to support the ewallet reloading feature?

• Lucifer on Jan 30, 2021 at 10:21 pm

Nope. The old card uses MIFARE chip, so transactions can only take place upon contact with a card reader. This new card will use a different chip

• BigBoys Toy on Jan 31, 2021 at 11:58 am

Exactly

• Way overdue

• C.P. MOHAN on Jan 30, 2021 at 11:55 am

TNG is primarily a “product” of toll, now everywhere including ES-wallet with some government/taxpayer support. Since tax/excise duty already paid, surcharge deletion should be immediately .

• ex VGM staff on Jan 30, 2021 at 12:41 pm

the past 5 years they were stupid. not so much now. a little bit still.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 30, 2021 at 12:48 pm

not only this, i am annoyed by the malls that force u to use tng cards with surcharge but do not provide any alternative payment methods

• Can reload TnG from eWallet by end year 2021? Very2 slow action even under the same company. Lousy in all

• Jim Sia on Jan 30, 2021 at 7:53 pm

Disappointed at tng. Difficult to top up at booth or many dealers. Many times cause many cars to back up even 10 sen short in kad. Why ewallet cannot top up tng card? Stupid system

• sloan on Jan 30, 2021 at 7:57 pm

When scrolling Paultan, the first news I read is Tesla driveable new roadster rolling out this end of 2021, and a few of cybertruck will be handling to potential buyer also end of 2021 and then second news is touchngo removing surcharge in quarter 1 of 2021 and top up to card by end of 2021, this 2 news side by side really make me wonder, Malaysia standard really that bad ?

• Mikehighseas on Jan 31, 2021 at 9:54 am

While n this topic, wondering what happened to the RFID implementation? Seems like it is not progressing as Smart Tags lanes still exist substantially, oh and Proton is offering Smart Tag installation instead of RFID stickers, does that indicate a reversal in the process? Any info appreciated. Thank you.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Jan 31, 2021 at 8:01 pm

Thanks for the convenient provided to the users. We are moving closer and closer to Negara Maju 2020.