IGP : Crackdown on exhausts for safety, not money

Responding to allegations that the recent crackdown on noisy motorcycle exhausts across Malaysia were a revenue raising operation, Malaysian Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador said this is not the case. The checks are to ensure motorcycles with noisy exhausts do not cause a nuisance to the public, reports The Malay Mail.

Denying claims the checks are being done out of spite and to cause a burden to the motorcycle riding public, saying such action was taken after public complaints. “I have to make it clear that the PDRM (Royal Malaysian Police) is not out to collect money from these checks, but we are doing it for the safety of all road users and motor vehicle owners,” said Abdul Hamid.

“There are those who said PDRM are being insensitive by conducting these checks and issuing summons to the people during a time when everyone is strapped for cash,” he added. “What I have to say is money can always be found or earned, but once you are dead or seriously injured, then what are you going to do?” Abdul Hamid said.

However, an explanation on how a noisy motorcycle exhaust would be considered a safety hazard as opposed to a noise issue was not forwarded. The nationwide operation by police against noisy motorcycle exhausts began March 1 and saw 10,166 summons issued, with a potential penalty of a RM2,000 fine or six months jail term.

Various riding groups have come out to protest what is seen as overly onerous action by police against a single group of road users, especially at a time of restricted movement orders curtailing the public’s ability to earn a living and make ends meet. Police have attempted to address this issue by carrying out an operation against their own personnel.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• John doe on Mar 23, 2021 at 7:27 pm

For SAFETY the cops should be giving tickets for not using turn signals and not stopping at STOP signs !! Exhaust should be of least importance if you’re talking about safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • YB Albert on Mar 23, 2021 at 9:03 pm

How to have safety when most of the “delivery riders”,almost 80 percent of them in pink and green,blare their horns,beat traffic lights,weave in and out of traffic,stop suddenly to attend to phone calls,one hand carrying the handphone..Hello..these are the real ,CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER.Some of them have perished in horrific crashes.
      I dont encounter noisy exhaust speed demons,but mostly these ‘taikor of the road ‘ riders.The law is a myth to them.When they recieve an order,u better slow down in your Rolls Royce and give way to them.
      PDRM should launch campaign besar besaran all year round against them.Your auntie or datuk could be the next victim while crossing the road.
      Time ,we tackle the real issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Brian on Mar 24, 2021 at 11:10 am

Clearly this is a car biased blog, and the comments shows. Both sides of the divide have plenty of grievance against each other but you only see comments from the biased side.

Malaysia is far from achieving maturity of discussion and understanding of each other. Stereotypical fanboyism of what vehicles they used, which brand they support, the manner of personal attacks.

Rather than condemn the other, one should see their own actions and reflect themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • Melania Rosmah on Mar 24, 2021 at 12:52 pm

What a load of crap u r talking,Brian?
          There is no need for biased views.YB Albert is just bringing out the facts..those delivery riders recklessness is a real issue.
          My aunt was nearly knocked down by one of these dudes in pink.
          We r not against people who need to cari makan.Just follow traffic rules.You may be the next victim,if you persist in talking about biased views.

• Donno on Mar 24, 2021 at 1:38 pm

Reckless riding is NOT caused by noisy exhausts!!!

It is the nut behind the handle!!!

• Brian on Mar 24, 2021 at 3:50 pm

No need to defend yourself la Albert. You want to complaint about motorcyclist, everyone have equally amount to complain about reckless drivers, no signal use, speeding, running redlights, lane hogging, road bullying, illegal mods and such. Easy to talk right? Facts is facts, stop getting antsy about the stink from other side when yours is a pigsty.

• Ayer Nipah Dawun Khartoum on Mar 23, 2021 at 10:27 pm

good education starts from young. big problem nowadays too many bad mentality bad habit uncivilized non-courtesy lack mannerism when riding motorcycle or driving vehicle on the road.

• Donno on Mar 24, 2021 at 1:41 pm

Load exhausts does not cause bad manners.

If it is REALLY about safety, then a mandatory 1 week community service plus road safety education should be the penalty, not paying summons!!!

• 8 plus one dragons on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:42 pm

our honest IGP should be worried of cartel conspiracy then ambikesah citer2 ekzos…

• John doesnt doe on Mar 24, 2021 at 4:46 pm

while your point may be valid, the noise pollution is something that WE ALL CAN CONTROL EASILY.

you do not seem to appreciate how noise pollution causes issues for the public.

• If it is an safety issue why not go and bust the shops selling the illegal exhaust too!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • gt3 rs on Mar 23, 2021 at 8:27 pm

under what law?

• Kim Jong Din on Mar 23, 2021 at 9:09 pm

Only certain shops with special licence should be allowed to sell these ‘power”exhaust(for crime busters to catch gangsters etc)
      It boils down to control.If every Tom Dick and harry can sell,there is no control.It is a free for all.

• shteo on Mar 23, 2021 at 9:39 pm

not true. when the buying stops, the selling stops.

• Copy Paste on Mar 23, 2021 at 11:21 pm

Copy paste: “Loud exhaust but not excessively loud can actually save a bikers lives, seen many car accidents on various highways in malaysia where a couple sometimes several cars have been in a rear ended collision due to car drivers not paying attention to traffic ahead maybe because they were busy on their mobile phone.

Nuisances ? Double and sometimes triple parking is a major Nuisances commited by the very same self entitled car drivers fussing about loud motorcyle exhaust..!”

• Idiot on Mar 23, 2021 at 7:34 pm

Why not raid and seize those loud exhaust from the bike shop instead? As long as shop still selling, it will never stop. No brainer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Copy Paste on Mar 23, 2021 at 11:25 pm

Copy paste: “The law has to make it illegal for such importations and AFAIK they are not contraband items so nope.”

• Nicholas Liew on Mar 23, 2021 at 8:51 pm

thief will not hang a sign say i am a thief

• Chill on Mar 24, 2021 at 12:15 am

Noisy exhaust has been in the market for as long as I can remember. By the way, isn’t bali polis sentul is just walking distance from the famous row of motorcycle accessories shop. Just walk to the shop set a booth there…they could easily catch the seller and buyer of the noisy exhaust, tayar sotong, geng tayar besar, etc.

• The loud exhaust problem should be tackled by firstly issuing directive to shops and suppliers. Then move to giving grace period to motocyclists lasting till after MCO. This is an ill-timed operation. Police personnel should be used to fight the pandemic first. There are also other serious crime issues that need the force’s attention. Why stress yourselves over a largely nuisance problem affecting very few people?

• If for safety then they should also crack down on all motorcycle riders doing whatever they want – running red lights, running stop signs, changing lanes like their father road, stopping on pedestrian walkways on intersections, parking on sidewalks and more. Motorcycles can be a nuisance in Malaysia

• Driver on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:05 am

Somehow, i got a quieter neighbourhood now. Yes i saw a few big bikes has put back the stock exhaust. They use to be loud and annoying every morning and evening during working day

• Susukotak on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:30 am

Some said why not raid the shop? Ask back why you buy even know it wrong?

• simon on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:44 am

again, whose duke 250 is that?

Mohan is it yours? i thought you got duke 390?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:52 am

Why are they saying that the cops are hurting them financially? In the first place, these idiots spend more than the amount of their fines when purchasing and installing those annoying exhaust pipes! This just proves why motorcyclists are a constantly inconsiderate bunch, just like smokers

• John Doe on Mar 24, 2021 at 9:33 am

Mohan the motorbike Robinhood is strikes back.
    Still trying to justify his RM500 exhaust by pulling in other non-compliances to downplay the seriousness of an illegal exhaust.

• Mr Cent-sible on Mar 24, 2021 at 9:52 am

For safety, huh? Go check also kopi-o driving/riding license. The license holders are like time-bomb on public road.

While on safety matter, go check bikeriders at secondary schools. Some bikes are evidently modded, while riders could be riding without valid license and insurance.

PDRM, for real please Walk the Talk.
    Not just Talk and Talk.

• Chill on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:25 am

Durian stall at the roadside are also dangerous to road user since drivers sometime slowdown to look causing other road users to brake suddenly. Some also parked at the durian stall as if they own the road. Why no police complain these stalls are a safety concerns?

• Ah Chong on Mar 24, 2021 at 11:32 am

Hmm, looking at the comments, I think is very typical Malaysian lah. If it affects me, I make a lot of noise, if not then I stay quiet. When saman cars, car people will say please go after rempits; when police goes after rempit exhaust, they will say car also modify why not saman them because they are richer. I’m sure if police crack down on double parkers, they will say drunk driving cause more problem; and when they crack down on drunk driving, fingers will be pointing at motorcycles again.

Haiyooo. What to do. Everyone so emotional and don’t bother to do fact checking anymore.

• kalerfool on Mar 24, 2021 at 1:18 pm

nope..drunk driving is the pinnacle. just bust them already. nobody would argue.

• i bet the plate number size ops,
    also is “FOR SAFETY”

• Exhausted on Mar 24, 2021 at 4:01 pm

The main cause of accidents these days are drivers busy looking at their phones. Secondly, freakin drunkards followed by drugs.
    Also some people tend to be immersed in their conversation with their pessangers forgetting that their driving on public roads. Hence, last minute turns.
    Looks like the police and transport minister is not doing their jobs professionally. Main teka – teki sahaja.

• Rider on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:33 am

HahahahahahHHAaahahahahahahaha

• Ben Yap on Mar 26, 2021 at 10:49 am

These motorcyclists say that they are strapped for cash to pay the summon but ironically, they are not strapped for cash to buy the noisy exhaust.